UMW Toyota offering RM2,000 Merdeka cash rebate

toyota-showroom

More Merdeka offers for the Malaysian motorist. This time, it’s UMW Toyota Motor (UMWT) and the promo period is from now till August 31, so if you’re considering a Toyota…

Headlining the campaign is a RM2,000 Merdeka cash rebate on top of any ongoing offer for the Vios (E, G, TRD), Corolla Altis, Camry and Hilux Double Cab. Those who purchase the Vios J get RM1,000. In the MPV department, the Innova and Avanza now come with “attractive downpayment rebates” while there are “special deals” for buyers of the Alphard and Previa a.k.a. Estima. Click on the links to read more about the cars.

In conjunction with the festive season and Merdeka celebrations, UMWT will be hosting a Hari Raya Open House on August 16-17 and a Merdeka Showroom weekender event on August 23-24. Light refreshments will be served and test drives will be available.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 5:30 pm

As long as not UMW Toyota, it will having new technologies!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Let’s the sales figure tell the truth:-

Projected strong sales from Honda on Q3, Q4 as new City delivered more.

VW greater than Hyundai Inokom.

Suzuki is dying, even Hino(lorry) 1 level above. remember few years b4 have withdraw out from US market.

Isuzu even better than Kia.

BMW & MERCEDES top of luxury seg. Better than the cheaper Peugeot.

Market Share Jan-Jun 2014 (total=333,142) :-

P2: 94480, 28.4%
      P1: 63040, 18.9%
      Toyota: 51122, 15.3%
      Honda: 37203, 11.2%
      Nissan: 22113, 6.6%
      Mitsu: 7578, 2.3%
      Ford: 6520, 2.0%
      Mazda: 5794, 1.7%
      VW: 5402, 1.6%
      Hyu/inkm: 5333, 1.6%
      Isuzu: 5104, 1.5%
      Kia: 4763, 1.4%
      BMW: 3724, 1.1%
      Merz: 3455, 1.0%
      Peug: 3269, 1.0%
      Hino: 2944, 0.9%
      Suzuki: 2581, 0.8%
      Chevr: 1181, 0.4%
      M Fuso: 1081, 0.3%
      Subaru: 844, 0.3%
      Lexus: 816, 0.2%
      Audi: 814, 0.2%
      Daihatsu: 617, 0.2%
      Volvo: 493, 0.1%
      Land Rv: 462, 0.1%
      Scania: 409, 0.1%
      Mini: 296, 0.1%
      CAMC: 280, 0.1%
      Chery: 186, 0.1%
      Sinotruk: 180, 0.1%
      JAC: 159, 0.0%
      Chana: 139
      Bison: 130
      Porsche: 122
      Ssangyg: 121
      Renault: 74
      GWM: 57
      MAN: 56
      Auman: 55
      JBC: 45
      Yutong: 38
      Bei Ben: 32
      Grand Tiger: 11
      NAZA: 11
      BAW: 8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
      • AVH (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Not that I do not believe but can u at least share a link to back up the legitemancy of this statistic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Again the sales figure tell the truth, no need syok sendiri taking about new technologies and handling.

Your eye ball is ten thousands years old design and it is can last 100 years old if you take good care of yourself. So what’s wrong with old technology?

Toyota specs maybe a bit old but RELIABLE. Toyota has good technology too, like the Hybrid Synergy Drive. Sorry if you can’t afford our hybrids now.

Toyota hybrids used to be cheap and full safety features, it is the government tax to push it to A4 price range, thanks to the Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok but helpless Proton.

New and old technology, Toyota is reliable. And Malaysian market appreciate it.

That’s why Perodua sold so much more than Proton. People buy Proton, simply it is CHEAP. High end Proton Preve and Suprima S only stay at showroom/warehouse and Proton not even dare to announce their sales figures. Lol

Now everything make sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 36
          • dreaming of maserati on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:40 am

As long as its Toyota, you will be cheated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
          • Toyota DESPERATE DESPERATE DESPERATE on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:46 am

Your eyeball is the best. Do you see any new Altis on the road like how you see old Altis on the road?

One year Altis launched and hardly can see the car.

Now you can see, Same Lorr is the biggest bullshitter in PT at the moment. Sad salesman. Worried about his bad sales

• Brandon on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Strongly agree, Reliable is most important for us. No 1 prefer visit to workshop after they buy new car after few week driving.

• Yazid Md on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Nobody wants a car with 3 years warranty. Even Honda gives 5 years warranty.

Toyota scared to give more than 3 years? Why?

• toyotsuck on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Hybrid Synergy Test failed off-road test

hahahahahaha hahahahha hahahahaha

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:32 am

Toyota will bring you to your dream – Maserati because you don’t pay extra on the car.

With the Proton, you can keep on dreaming. I heard it is good place to dream at garage/Proton service centre. End up you have no money left (due to its awesome build quality), die die stick with Proton and keep on dreaming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
          • But the number of Toyota got recalled was massive. Toyota now no quality.

• Toyota DESPERATE DESPERATE DESPERATE on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:43 am

The truth is, Toyota sales are so bad now. Official figures are one thing, but your eyes don’t cheat. How many new Camrys and Altis do you see on the road?

Yes there are many old Altis, Camry and Vios. But do you really see any new Altis and Camry? Vios also, very few on the road.

But one thing for sure, seeing the new Altis is like a miracle. Hardly can see the car despite already 1 year since its launch. YES, 1 YEAR!

Official figures is one thing but your eyes will not cheat. I drive 140KM in Klnag Valley alone, specifically PJ to KL and Shah Alam. I hardly see any 2014 Camry or Altis. your eyes don’t lie like how official figures can.

What I see is, so many Elantra on the road. I see more Korean cars on the road. So losers in PT always condemn Korean cars, it seems like Korean cars are overtaking the Japanese brands.

This is no surprise because Japanese brands like toyota don’t care about your lives. Altis at RM120,000k also got no VSC and comes with 2 airbags. The model with VSC comes with 2 airbags but priced at 139K. No wonder Elantra doing so well. Car is bigger than the Altis with VSC and more safety features, yet can buy a brand new high spec Elantra for RM85k. So see for yourself RM85k vs RM139k.

Also, people see the myth about RV. Japanese cars RV now are worse than Korean cars. My neighbour just bout a September 2013 Camry 2.5 for Rm130k. Brand new car RM180,000. In 11 months, the Camry can lose Rm50,000.

Now even 2013 Camry 2.0 also can get for RM105k.

So what RV are the pondans in UMW shouting about?

Go to Mudah, Carlies, Oto and see side by side Korean cars and Japanese cars. Looks like Japanese cars RV are the SAME as Korean cars now.

So that is why Toyota is losing sales. People realise, might as well buy a cheaper Korean car because BOTH also got same quality and BOTH also got same RV.

People now realise that for years, the bored Toyota salesman have been coming here and lying through their teeth about RV and Toyota quality.

Now people see the truth. Anyway, your eyes don’t cheat. See for yourself. Can you really see any new Toyota on the road like those days?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Low Budget on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:23 pm

High spec. Elantra for RM85K, sure or not?

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Sendiri syok only, he is talking about second hand value. In fact, second hand Elantra is much cheaper than this. He get conned.

I also got RM40k high spec Elantra, you interested? The kimchi owners always leave me strong impression of their expression learning the RV of their kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • Vader (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Oh shame loo oh sham loo..
            Already mentioned many times but you keep ignore..
            Please sell me one year old sportage, k5 or sonata at RM35k, another RM15k for you as commission.
            Now you have stock? Yes, sell me RM30k high spec 1.8 elantra one year old second hand car. What is your contact!!!
            But everyone know u only talk kok only.. lol

• Yazid Md on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Same Lorr is a loser. If Toyota salesman can come here and try to promote Toyota, it shows one thing, sales are dropping like a rocket.
            Nobody wants a car with 3 years warranty anymore Shame Loo.

• Toyota DESPERATE DESPERATE DESPERATE on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:55 am

Shameless Malaysians. Kena con by UMW. Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags and Made in Japan fully is sold for USD22,000. That is about RM60,000

UMW sells stripped down Camry and Altis. Only 2 airbags and VSC also they taken out from Altis. So many other features taken out. Like Tire Pressure Monitoring etc that comes standard in the US22,000 Camry.

We get low quality CKD Malaysian made camry for 3x the price at RM180,000.

And yet, you are happy Toyota give you a mere RM2,000 back. Tak malu ke?

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:52 pm

I am sorry if you stay at the area with more Iswara, Wira, Saga, or area with more Lexus, Mercedes, BMW, Audi.

I travel the peninsular frequently and I see a lot of Altis and Vios on the road.

Toyota expensive? Don’t blame UMW, blame your beloved government with their ultimate mission: Protect Proton.

Without Proton, all hardworking Malaysian can drive Bentley.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • Yazid Md on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Disgraceful Toyota salesman. No honour. No shame. Sales so bad, RV so bad, 3 years warranty, old 4 speed gearbox, suck fuel like Godzilla and now he comes here to bad mouth other people’s brand

• If you say Toyota Camry 2.5V should sold at about RM60000,Then no need any tax already and government can die already.In Asia,sold RM100000 is logic.But I agree with you is safety feature in the car sold by Toyota Malaysia they like the 2 airbag with ABS,EBD and BA package.Vios is comfortable but the safety package should improve even China get 5NR-FE engine and Thai Yaris get Super CVT-I gearbox.Toyota have many technology,problem is UMW.

• sametelor on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Yes same lorrr I agree with you. I know the place you talked about.

It’s in your DREAMLAND

*Run*

• AVH (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Not that I do not believe but can u at least share a link to back up the legitemancy of this statistic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:48 pm

You are right, statistic told Toyota will losing to Honda for 2nd half 2014, and also 2014 as a whole for passenget car category.

For sure non-national passenger car top-1 seller will be Honda for 2014. Just wait n see.

Passenger Car:

Toyota: 37696, 12.7%
        Honda: 37203, 12.5%
        Nissan: 19075, 6.4%
        VW: 5402, 1.8%
        Mazda: 5115, 1.7%
        Hy/Inkm: 5054, 1.7%
        Kia: 4763, 1.6%
        Mitsu: 4496, 1.5%
        BMW: 3724, 1.3%
        MERC: 3371, 1.1%
        Peug: 3269, 1.1%
        Ford: 2853, 1.0%
        Suzuki: 2581, 0.9%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • I am pro so listen ok! on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:34 am

July’14 PV market Honda leads 1k+

HONDA NO.1 PV !!

• Sim I on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Wow, Ford baldy hit? Must be that people are finally realizing the car’s flaws!

• Low Budget on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Not surprise. Probably due to more competitive pricing of Jazz,City and Civic than the Toyota equivalents.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:27 pm

I am sorry for all the lazy people and low ranking people who look at Toyota with envy. You want to own this car? Very simple. Work harder in life. Work harder and one day, you will own a Toyota and upgrade your sad and pathtehic life now using a Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
        • Tim Shim on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Just like all the rest of the intelligent people in Malaysia and the world, we work hard to have a better life and better education and livelihood for our kids. We aspire to one day own German or Continental cars.

Nobody works hard to aspire to buy a Toyota. That is like a person without a vision or drive. In other words, someone who aspires to drive a Toyota is considered a laggard, a failure in life with little or no ambition. I feel pity for you, Sam Loo and other Toyota car salesmen. Your days are numbered!

• zeta01 on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:24 pm

kenapa dengan mamat ni ha, terlebih minum air ketum ke?
          kalau kamu ni betul-betul salesman toyota asli, aku nak tanya, enjin apa yang digunakan pada toyota corolla AE86,jawablah kalau tahu sangat, lanj***

• rotitelursatu! on Aug 16, 2014 at 9:53 am

Somehow I see something positive going on at Nissan…just love their news design/concept…new teana is going to be all over current camry…new navara looks good…new x-trail is awesome….I might get one of the above Nissan soon..I think they could be no2 very soon!

• Typical umv toyot offering underspec vehicle @ high prices & pls don’t forget theit lazy+liars salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Hah,,, u mean the salesman named “siam look”

• Vader (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:29 am

Siam look, shame loo, masukroti, samisthehailat, shamedelajunk and bla bla bla.. is same person but different ID.. prfff…
          Whatever, he did spoil the name of Toyota salesman! What a shame..

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:11 pm

I have no idea about those clones …. wonder how u detected them…

• Vaderr on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Talk is cheap.

I am Vader’s clone and I hate sam loo.

• Jimmy on Aug 05, 2014 at 5:37 pm

A 6-percent discount from the original price is something negotiable. Upto 12% for end-of-life CKD model.

• ToyotaFans on Aug 05, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Kia offer > RM8k for Cerato
    Hyundai offer > RM10k for Elantra
    Ford offer > RM7k for Fiesta
    VW offer > RM5k for Polo
    Honda offer > RM3k for City
    Peugeot offer > RM5k for 208

so Toyota, u serious ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
    • fast5 on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Over and over again is UMW and not Toyota that make the offer !!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:45 pm

RM 2k discount and the waiting list still long. kimchi and Proton fanboys don’t get jealous.

Toyota cars are good in quality thus we don’t need RM 10k discount, 10 years free services, life time warranty for power window or under coconut trees sales carnival.

Toyota owners know the moment they get Toyota cars, they are in comfort, hassle free, garage free, good fc and good RV.

These are general fact, no need syok sendiri. Sale figure tells.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
        • dreaming of maserati on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:42 am

AS long as its Toyota. You know you are cheated.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:31 am

As long as not UMW Toyota, it will having new technologies!

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:37 am

Toyota has new technologies, I am sorry if you can’t afford it.

Please work harder then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
          • samelorstpd on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:51 pm

What use of new tech if majority people cannot buy it? Most toyota sold are Vios with old 4 speed gearbox and dinasour aged engine, no VSC summore for whopping 90k!

Ptuih

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:59 pm

The Toyota is so reliable that after you changed your 3rd Proton/kimchi/Ford/Peugeot, your neighbor still happy with his Toyota.

The worse is Toyota old engine is still more fuel efficient than your “new technologies”.

Blame yourself and the government if you can’t afford Toyota new technologies.

Other new technologies will only bring more break down at the roadside. You must be tow truck drivers happy to see people break down, aren’t you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
          • samelorstpd on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:24 pm

I dun wan to use decade engined Vios when Proton ady sells hybrid and can smoke your overpriced 2.5l Camry.

Got it?

• MG250 on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:38 pm

You guys just look at the discount but failed to see the overall picture. Not here to defend anyone but just look at the business perspective. Firstly Toyota must have felt their sales are not that bad and they have to offer big discount. I mean as a businessman, would you give lots of discount if your products are selling well? Secondly, it actually maintain their resale value well by not having that kind of fire sales. Just look at VW, 5K only for Polo. They did offered GTI at 20K and worst still a Golf demo unit at 30K discount. Just imagine how much those who bought the car earlier will have to face the loses. Again, not a Toyota fan but just looking at the scenario..

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 6:02 pm

But the thing is… why would you want a Toyota?

Why buy the Vios when you can get the City, or the Altis when you can get the Fluence or Cerato K3, or the Camry when you can get the Mazda6, or the Hilux when you can get the Ranger…

PS: Pretty sure Sam Loo would not approve of this discount… He says his Toyota sales very good so no discount.

But jokes aside, 2k ONLY. Come on… might as well don’t give anything. 2k is only covering the road tax and probably the 1st year insurance at most.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
    • ben yap on Aug 05, 2014 at 6:47 pm

No one wants a Fluence coz it as has no influence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
      • sudonano (Member) on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:57 pm

At least no one has made a flatulance joke.

Such a lousy name for the Fluence, considering it is a good car.

• Anything else is good

• ben yap on Aug 05, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Everyone gives discount, toyota also gives discount. signs of scared lose market share.

• ah chai on Aug 05, 2014 at 6:52 pm

i don’t like toyota for its out dated tech plus high price tags.
    and i see a lot of people don’t seem to like it as well (at least @paultan.org
    but im just wondering why the 1st quarter 2014 sales that was announced recently, Toyota is still the top dog of all imported species, and it’s also coming very very close to Proton’s figures.
    are we, the netists, just talk and talk but the real buyers are out there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Edwin on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:45 pm

In that figure given, commercial vehicles are also included as well. So pickup-trucks and commercial vans added to the value. Honda does not sell pickup trucks like Toyota Hilux and commercial vans like Toyota Hiace in Malaysia. If minus out those 2 sub-category vehicles, I believe Honda passenger car sales is equal if not better than Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Ananz on Aug 06, 2014 at 10:34 am

Based on past MMA reports, about 30% of Toyota annual sales is from Commercial vehicles like Hilux and Hiace thus the total sales volume for Toyota is always in 3rd place after P1 and P2. If based on passenger vehicles alone however, Honda may for the first time this year overtake Toyota as even at the half year mark Honda PV sales has edged over Toyota by a slim margin.

• Jimmy on Aug 05, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Non-national marques:
      Toyota vs ‘all non-Toyotas’
      or Toyota 28% from (100%-28%-19%)x51% .

• 2k only ah?

• Mr.Skywalker on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Pfft.. This only shows how greedy UMW still is. 2K is nothing compared to how much they jack up their prices & the discounts offered to other car makes. Nothing to see here as UMW will.never.learn.

• noname on Aug 05, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Even they offer RM20k, those car are still considered overprice, looking at the technology they has to offer. For RM2k, Toyota prospective owner and current owner don’t give a damn.

• unitewestandcollapsewefall on Aug 05, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Malaysian now days more concern on brand name rather other aspects. no doubt that Toyota remains their top sales regards their “brand power”…but for how long they ve been using their brand power to fool us ever since..even 2k discount will boost their sales. “BRAND FANATICS R STILL AROUND” just my 2 cents..

• The 2k discouny is on top of existing offers. For example if there is already rm5k* discount for the Hilux, the total discount now will be rm7k.

*5k used as an example only. Real discount amounts have to refer with UMW sales personnel. And no, i am not one.

• UMW taukeh on Aug 05, 2014 at 8:53 pm

We from UMW is Insaf that we ripped our customers off with lower tech products in the past, here is the discount offered to repair our trust…

• mmaker on Aug 05, 2014 at 8:55 pm

2k only? give 20% discount la wey

• Sattian on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Honda giving up to rm5k discount pun tak kecoh… Anyway it seems there will be a new variant of 2.4 accord (FMC Enhanced). Hopefully better safety features, e.g 6 airbags

• medic on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Honda giving up to rm5k discount pun tak kecoh… Anyway it seems there will be a new variant of 2.4 accord (FMC Enhanced). Hopefully better safety features, e.g 6 airbags. FMC enhanced got rm1k merdeka rebate while FMC rm3K rebate. can be viewed at their official website

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:02 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • dreaming of maserati on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:46 am

As long as its not Toyota, you won’t be ripped off.

• Also pls be aware that no toyot salesman will help you if you want to sold your toyot car at the price they promised when you buythe car brand new(“so called good RV”) you will be slap with excuses

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:00 pm

With Toyota, you don’t need to sell your cars that frequently and desperate due to the poor build quality, fuel consumption and low RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • ellym on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Who wants old junky Vios when others ady has Direct Injection VSA Hybrid 10 airbags?

At that time Toyota is the slowest car on road

• Vader (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:37 am

As long as its not UMW Toyota, it will having new technologies!

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:40 am

Sorry for you if you can’t afford Toyota new technologies.

Please work harder and talkok less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
        • When you r losing fact & figures & people know you are selling lies on a daily basis you will atack people who r anti toyot personally ie saying could not afford toyot cars etc…typical toyot salesman

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:04 pm

The fact is Toyota is still selling good. You jealous you don’t have to buy Toyota.

You don’t have to leave Malaysia/Japan also because you don’t buy Toyota.

When Vader can’t afford new technologies, he pretend Toyota doesn’t have one. That is not true. Thus I personally suggest him to work harder to increase his income.

Don’t blame UMW for the expensive Toyota hybrids, blame the beloved government and the almighty PROTECTED Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Initially yes, but decade after, nowadays the billions already located under govt income.

If let’s say now today p1 p2 no longer exist in msia, the tax+duty will still go on, its only will reduce once others taxes / duty to replace.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:04 pm

As long as it’s not UMW Toyota, it will have new technologies! lol

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Government can get back the income via road tax, carbon tax, city entry fee etc., but not limited to car brands, when there is no car brand to protect.

Like in UK/Aus/US/Europe, cars are cheap, but maintenance and insurance are expensive. So Malaysian get more reliable, low emission and good safety cars.

• qctrl on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Same Lorr compared bolehland with developed countries.

That’s plain stupid

• samelorstpd on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:53 pm

As long as it’s not Sam Lorrr’s comment, it’s not silly

• old dog on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Since when we found UMW giving such promo?

Time is bad!! (especially to their Camry),
    now they survive with VIOS + HILUX only i guess..

• Sam Boo on Aug 05, 2014 at 11:36 pm

the only purpose I go to toyota roadshow is to do a survey with chun chick & get a free storage box. What a practical car boot storage box which toyota finally realized what rakyat really wanted to get from a good vehicle

• nabill (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:06 am

there is only so much a company can do to promote their 4 speed auto’s….

• Wee fuk yew on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:14 am

When sales seems to be slowing down,discounts,free gifts,over trade,free service package are offered to the public. If Consumers want more discount from the car companies, it’s really simple- postpone your purchase. The longer you postpone your decision to purchase you can expect even better discounts. The holding cost of keeping unsold cars in the stockyard not to mention the ckd boxes that’s coming in,will pressure the sales team to sell the cars at the expense of margins. In the meantime the production team will have to cut down their production which will be costly to the company. There is no point complaining about overpriced and under specced cars on the net as companies like UMW is here to maximize profit to please their shareholders. They are not charity organizations nor are they a non profit NGO.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • A bit of difference on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:14 am

Let’s put it this way. All companies out there are set up to make money. Some make money in more ethical way. Some make money by maxing the asking price, and then take away most features, and use 20 years old tech, and remove important safety aspect so the purchaser can rot in hell during accident. And remember all company here are charged same tax(except p1 and p2). So ask urself, if u delay purchase(which is a wise choice), would u still go buy from a cut throat company? That is the main reason all the fuss here is about.

• waters on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:34 am

This. That’s all we need to do.

I.e. Do nothing. Don’t buy.

• Mr.Skywalker on Aug 06, 2014 at 10:03 am

No one ever expected UMW to be a charity organization/non-profit NGO. Obviously I have no idea if anyone who wants that is even rational.

When consumers are ripped off at the expense of sellers getting arrogant, greedy & ignorant of consumers’ needs, it’s normal to go complain & spread the word. Or should we just chicken out & buy the product, or make way for others to get ripped off, all for the sake of the company going richie rich while pleasing their shareholders..?

Mind you a good and prolonged business involves win-win between sellers and consumers. Well-informed consumers are a must for that.

• because on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:12 am

unofficial discount could benefit buyer as higher loan will be granted. bank are smart. the higher of discount, bank will tighthen the loan approval

• Bataman on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:18 am

Huh?? But I can already get Rm2k to Rm3k discount for VIOS from SA about over a month ago….(in the end, I bought a new City despite lesser discount)…so what is this nonsense???

• Almera on Aug 06, 2014 at 10:38 am

This discount has been around since March before City was launched. Shows how desperate Toyota is as their Vios sales is down.

• Anti Toyota on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:45 am

RM2,000 discount for a 4 speed vehicle, what a shame.

• Denaihati on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:48 pm

better than nothing, good time to buy, hope more for Prius and Prius C which no more attractive price.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Normal for car manufacturers to give especially on 2nd half of the year to offset the loss of car age in RV.
    But surprisingly this year almost everybody is giving out good discounts.
    I guess it is just a way to bypass the massive tax from the government, they can’t reduce the car price, so they discount in other ways.

• Toyota sold 13,426 unit of commercial vehicle from Jan – Jun 2014, that’s mean they only sell 37,696 units of passenger car, a mere 493 units more than Honda.

Their commercial volume also down from 38% in 2013 to 36.9% in 2014, eating up by Isuza, Ford & Mazda.

Figures can get from MAA website, at page 15 (last page) of the report.

http://www.maa.org.my/pdf/Market_Review_for_1st_half_2014.pdf

enjoy….let the figures speaks….

btw, I do own a Toyota, but recon unit from Japan with better tech, just ain’t giving my money to UMW…

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Njb:
      Firstly thanks for your pass contribution of choosing an expensive 2nd hand car which only happen in Msia.

Your car actual value is only 20% from purchase price.

I’d thanks on behalf my multilevel cronies that we already have shared the 80% $$$ from your car purchase price.

Thanks and pls keep your momentum to purchase again.
      See you again.

• You think when you buy new car you contribute lesser to the cronies?

at least I get better spec for an OLD car than buying a NEW car from UMW.

• georgiee on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Why Toyota never give discount for Fortuner?

• Why? Because nobody give a s*** about fortuner that’s why…clear example of underspec & greedy umw toyota because still offering fabric trim seats for cars >150k

• jacksonljs on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:57 pm

Cash rebate/attractive downpayment rebate or whatsever rebate is just part of their marketing strategies. However , for me, it’s nothing to be shout or boast about unless ESC/VSC (for me, it’s a MUST for automatic transmission cars to have stability control as it’s lot more harder to control especially managing vehicle current speed although it’s lot more easier to drive) and 6 – 7 airbags are standard across the range at no cost option starting for C-segment car onwards (and any other cars costing more than RM100k) meanwhile for lower cost cars, it’s always good to have those safety features although it’s not compulsary.

Anyway, unless you are looking for a new car urgently, it’s still wise idea to hold/postphone car purchase provided if current car still in good condition and/or looking for additional car until car dealers comes out with better deals and/or least better features/specifications.

• Sam Lorr Supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Overpriced so we as a toyota family can enjoy BIG bonus at end of year..up to 12month..low performance also can enjoy up to 5 month..all of u are welcome to join our big family..