Audi A3 Sedan – on show at 1 Utama until August 10

Audi A3 Sedan 1U display 3

Two days ago, we broke the news of the introduction of the Audi A3 Sedan in the country. The car – which was announced in New York last year and made its public debut in Shanghai – goes on sale here in two engine variant forms, these being the 1.4 TFSI and 1.8 TFSI quattro.

Now, if you’re interested in catching the booted version of the 2014 World Car of the Year up close, you’ll be able to do so at the Audi roadshow being held at the 1 Utama Shopping Centre. Three A3 Sedans are on display at the High Street section from today until August 10. Fret not if you’re not in the Klang Valley – test drives can also be arranged by appointment at all Euromobil outlets nationwide.

A recap on the most affordable Audi on sale here alongside the similarly priced three-door A1 and A1 Sportback – the A3 Sedan 1.4 TFSI goes for RM179,900, while the 1.8 TFSI quattro is priced at RM240,888, both on-the-road without insurance.

The smaller displacement model runs with the same 1.4 litre turbocharged mill as seen in the base A1 pair, with 122 hp and 200 Nm of torque from 1,400 to 4,000 rpm on tap. It’s mated to a seven-speed dry dual-clutch S tronic transmission.

The 1.8 litre unit, meanwhile, offers 180 hp and 280 Nm from 1,350 to 4,500 rpm, and this is paired with a six-speed wet dual-clutch S tronic gearbox. As the quattro suffix indicates, the version wears a quattro all-wheel drive system as opposed to the 1.4’s front-wheel drive layout.

Both variants look identical from the outside, distinguished only by their respective model designation badges, quattro emblems on the 1.8 and different 17-inch wheel designs.

Audi A3 Sedan 1U display 9

Standard kit includes dual-zone automatic climate control, auto lights and wipers, auto start/stop system and cruise control, as well as seven airbags (including a driver’s knee airbag), ESP and Isofix mounts on the front and rear passenger seats.

Still, there’s quite a marked difference in terms of equipment between the two variants, as highlighted in our earlier post. As for optional items, the 1.8 quattro can be specified with an S line package, which adds on a bodykit, 18-inch wheels, panoramic roof, part-Alcantara sports seats, black headliner and flat-bottomed steering wheel for RM19,800.

We’ll have more of the new Audi A3 Sedan on our Driven Web Series very soon, and if you’re so inclined to compare detailed specs and equipment between the two variants, head on to CarBase.my. Still, nothing like seeing things in the metal, so if this be the case, you know where to head on to.

Audi A3 Sedan 1.4 TFSI

Audi A3 Sedan 1.8 TFSI quattro

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• iluvaudi on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:06 pm

hmm… the 2 round air cond vents are “interesting”…

• Where is Shame Loo? on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Disgraceful Toyota salesman. No honour. No shame. Sales so bad, RV so bad, 3 years warranty, old 4 speed gearbox, suck fuel like Godzilla and now he comes here to bad mouth other people’s brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:31 pm

After Honda Toyota Nissan, sales figure told msian still preferred the “””unreliability””” dsg over Korean,
        France & some dying Japanese brands

Passenger Car:- Jan-Jun14
        Toyota: 37696, 12.7%
        Honda: 37203, 12.5%
        Nissan: 19075, 6.4%
        VW: 5402, 1.8%
        Mazda: 5115, 1.7%
        Hy/Inkm: 5054, 1.7%
        Kia: 4763, 1.6%
        Mitsu: 4496, 1.5%
        BMW: 3724, 1.3%
        MERC: 3371, 1.1%
        Peug: 3269, 1.1%
        Ford: 2853, 1.0%
        Suzuki: 2581, 0.9%……

• Same L0rrr (Ori) on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:42 am

When I share fact and raise more awareness, retards come to masquerade/impersonate.

German, Sushi, Kimchi, all have their pro and cons. There is no perfect car in the world. But when you come to relatively cheaper + reliable, Toyota still the best choice, other Japanese cars are equivalently good.

When comes to JUNK, so far ONLY ONE car maker I always refer to :- The almighty Proton and its 5S lifestyle.

1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
          • Kenny on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:30 pm

The 6th S would be : “Safe by Government, always”.

• samelorsark on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:57 pm

The Toyota cars:

1.Overpriced
            2.Outdated
            3.Out of proportion
            4.Obsolete
            5.On garbage lorry

• Vader (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:40 pm

The quattro all-wheel drive system is great and nice.. =)
        As long as its not UMW Toyota, it will having new technologies!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rrr (Ori) on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:54 am

I am sorry if you can’t afford Toyota new technologies (86, hybrids, Lexus)

Please work harder then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • samelorstpd on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:00 pm

New Toyota tech sucks. 1.9 million Prius got recalled in 2014

Dun buy Toyota

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:02 pm

This is a German junk. Buy a Toyota for good RV. Toyota got old tech but reliable unlike this dry clutch trash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 56
      • audidrver on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Toyota not luxury, only for poor people like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rrr (Ori) on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Poor people still people and deserved respect and care.

Because for a company to stay survive, all Malaysians have to pay so much extra for car.

Because for a few to live rich, all Malaysians have to die poor.

• samelorstpd on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Closing down a company won’t eliminate tax. In your dream

• samelorstpd on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:04 pm

You said poor people deserve respect? In other post you insult thhem just because they drive the car.

Hypocrisy

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:32 pm

love the clean simple interior

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Toyota’s interior is better. Latest design from Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 44
      • Vader (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Yup, it is really a kosong design from UMW Toyota!
        As long as its not UMW Toyota, it will have new technologies!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Toyota interior look very cheap

• mozact on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:43 pm

I thought audi A3 use the same gearbox dq200 same like in vw 7speed dry clutch??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Yazid Md on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Waiting for Same Lorr to come here and say that Toyota is better than this car. Shameless Toyota salesman. No sales, so bored, come online busuk other people’s brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Hello, Audi Sell man this car got discount?? or nett rm 180 k for this A3 1.4..

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Buy a toyota. Good RV. This car you buy RM180k, next year you sell, get RM90k also you very lucky.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
  • Cheung on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Nice car
    Currently driving Vios for 3 years. After 2 years, will change to this car ;)

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Njb:
      Thanks in advance for 100+k in taxes & duty contribution.

Pls keep your momentum of purchasing, if possible pls contribute 100k every 5yrs @car cycle.

Thanks again.
      Rgds,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Njb:
      Thanks in advance for 100+k in taxes & duty contribution.

Pls keep your momentum @contribute 100k @every 5yrs @car cycle.

Thanks again.
      Rgds,

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Proton is so cheap they will launch their new car in Pertama complex.

Toyota will launch at Pavillion KL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • cendol (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Proton will launch new car at some padang under some shady coconut trees with 2 big tents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • Curry mee hun on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:13 pm

And curry chicken, fried mee hun, hotdog, cendol will be serve as well

• vedet on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:53 pm

Dun care where it’s sold people still buy Proton. Torque ady 5nm more than this car. LOL

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:24 pm

i think MAZDA 3 skyactiv 2.0 is the better buy compared to the 1.4 A3, similar torque, better HP, looks as stylish, probably better handling, and cheaper.

please arrange a side by side comparison, Paultan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • May be A3 is more spacious as for me, MAZDA 3 is a bit cramp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Oh really? Mind to share more on both dimensions?

I would think mazda 3 is more elegance, if you park both REDs side by side to compare.

• waterman on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:55 am

this car is small as well, just like mazda 3 when i see it yesterday at 1U,maybe just slightly spacious a bit.

anyway overall design it’s good!! the LED from AUDI is really eyecatching.

• Mazda3 is underpower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
  • powershot on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:50 pm

looks…. cheap. does not look premium or luxury. are all audis interior is like this.

I’ve rode in A1 & A3, the interior is quite bland for a luxury brand. BMW’s interior is slightly better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • cendol (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:07 pm

You do know VW owns both VW and Audi??

• cendol (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:09 pm

I will dish out a bit more for 316i anytime of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Iniesta leong on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Why you want to repeat your idiotic statement without substance repeatedly ? Sitting at car showroom with nothing better to do?

• Hahaha on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Rather get a mazda 6 with sexy outlook and more interesting safety packages (RVM, BLIS, LDW, front collision warning, active city brake) bla bla bla… Although driving this audi is nice ppl recognize the four circles but still mazda 6 is better in terms of the stuff i get from what u pay~

• Bataman on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:20 am

Why does the headlights copy Lancer/Inspira??

Audi copy Proton wor.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:41 am

A3 is certainly an interesting car, with looks to kill for. But I would go for Mazda 3 in a heart beat for these reasons:

– Mazda looks better, nuff said
    – Mazda drives better
    – Mazda has better service center network
    – Mazda has better fuel economy
    – Mazda is more focus on driving experience, so the smaller rear legroom is not a problem
    – Mazda has better technology than Audi, Germans cant beat the Japanese in innovation… Japan have PlayStation, Germans have sausage
    – Resale value is much much better
    – cheaper spare parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • I test drove the Mazda 3 and the car feels light. Agility and responsive ness there, but lacks the solid drive that continental cars offer. I think the Audi would still be the nicer car to drive. Other factors i agree with you!

• You obviously never owned a continental, people who owns a german never goes back..

• what are talking abt? u do know vw owns audi infact in msia they’re taking over from drbhicom soon & setting up its new subsidiary Audi Malaysia. And it head office will be based on the Ground Floor of the Wisma VW in Bangsar…aiyoo, its soo obvious. Anyway, fyi…the 1.4ttfsi is the lower tune version of the Mk7 golf 1.4TSI here in malaysia, in UK that engine is used in both A1 & the “Match” trim Golf 1.4. Infact in Spore they are selling 2 version of the mk7 golf 1.4..the 122ps (same engine as per A3) & the 140ps as per Msia Mk7 golf..have a look here http://www.volkswagen.com.sg/en/models/golf_7/trimlevel_overview.html

anyway, its the DQ200 u need to worried abt…ie the dry clutch 7 speed (VW linggo) or called dry clutched S-tronic (audi linggo).

Dont be naive….btw both using same MQB platform as shared wt other VAG stablle mate…ie SKODA/SEAT

• Was told by an old vw salesman that the new mk7 golf 1.4 uses DQ250 gearbox…is this true?

anyone can confirm or is BS from VW sales people..

• azrai on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:31 am

Smart guys get Preve.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • 179K…..without leader seats is unacceptable.

• notoproton on Aug 07, 2014 at 1:01 pm

why would anyone buy the A3? it is fugly !!!!

• Same L0rrr on Aug 07, 2014 at 1:22 pm

RM8000 for LED headlights?? You serious?