Chery A3 hatchback with number plates seen on Malaysian roads, ‘Cruise’ A3 sedan to be introduced

CRUISE-4

Is Chery Automobile Malaysia preparing to enter the hotly contested B-segment market? We were passing by 3 Two Square near our office in PJ yesterday when we saw a bright red hatchback passing by the opposite direction. We quickly made a U turn to get a closer look and snap a photo of it. It turned out to be the Chery A3 (also known as Chery J3) hatchback.

So we went to the Chery showroom nearby to enquire about the car. We noticed that there was a graphic of the sedan version of the A3 pasted on the showroom glass, with the model plate saying “Chery Cruise” – not to be confused with the Chevy Cruze! Chery uses the Cruise name for the A3 sedan in Indonesia.

CRUISE-1

According to the sales advisor, the company has plans to bring the sedan version of the car for the public to buy, but the hatchback version that we saw was just a company car and there are no plans to launch it. They seem to be taking their time though – we first saw the Chery A3 sedan driven on the PLUS highway near Perak with trade plates back in 2012. We tried to ask for an estimated launch date but got none.

The B-segment sedan market is a challenging one right now, with sales dominated by the Toyota Vios, the Honda City and the Nissan Almera (watch these three cars go head to head in Ep1 of Driven 2014). The success of the Chery Cruise would depend almost entirely on how cheap Chery will be able to price it.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:53 am

Looks awful and outdated for both interior and exterior. The plastics, the head unit, tiny buttons.. all scream China-made cheap quality. Is it just me, that the rear lights of the A3 sedan looks so dejavu with Persona and old Rio Sedan. And this time again, the owners can brag that they own an ‘A3’, just like how Haval owners with their ‘M4’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 29
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:47 am

If say out date, it make sense since its concept car revealed since 2006 and its production car at 2008.
      However, the car was designed by the Italian studio Pininfarina as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:28 am

Good looking or not, it is subjective. Some are really impressed by the Saga FLX look but not me.

Hope it is reliable. After all this is what Malaysian car buyers want.

• I wanna vomit everytime seeing rare vios catfish on road

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 7:43 pm

I think the difference between the Saga and this is that the Saga is now many years old, but still looks like a modern car. It has a rather timeless (though bland) design. Put a VW badge on it and (from outside) no one would be surprised to hear it’s the latest Polo.

The Chery looks like a car from 10 years ago.

• OMG…at least look better than P1.Good job Chery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 18
    • A: Wow, u r driving A3, u must b rich!
      B: No la, its just a normal car.
      A: But it cost >RM180k.
      B: Nope, its only RM60k. Its Cherry A3, not Audi A3.
      A: ……..(speechless)

Just a joke. dun take it serious

• Aero (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:03 am

This is a terrible car, avoid at all costs. This Chery A3 came out in 2008, it’s already way too old. Just read the overseas reviews for it, the only real redeeming feature is its low price.

However, the new 2014 Chery Arrizo 7 is a genuinely good Chinese car, and if Chery brings it here, prices it at around RM50 to 60k, it will stand a far better chance than this obsolete A3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Drive Your Way (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:07 am

It’s pretty hard to believe Chery Arrizo 7 is a Chinese car if the badges are removed. It looks truly good. When it comes to Chery A3 hatch (sorry, not the sedan), it’s a headturner to me and I would have thought it’s an Italian car. A quick survey proves it – the car is designed by Pininfarina design house.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • Avoid ALL China cars. on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:56 am

Never trust the Chinese in China. The problem with Chinese in Malaysia, they cannot think straight when someone condemns China. They get defensive.

Truth is, China products are so low in quality. Chinese people in Malaysia always think it is an attack upon them and their race if you say China product is so low in quality.

Nobody can deny this. Buying handphone is one thing. At the most, we lose RM1000. But do you dare spend RM50k on a china car?

Those who talk big about China cars, why you yourself not using Cherry in Malaysia? Why is Cherry sales so bad that you can never see any on the road?

Many in PT talk big. They become keyboard warrior and support Great Wall and all that. But ask them what car they will really buy, they secretly will buy a Toyota or a Honda.

The same with TVs. If you support China so much why do you go hunting for the Samsung LED all over KL? Why you don’t buy Akira or GC (Gelombang Cekal) LED TV? Then they come online and say China products are so good and got QC and all that but go to their house, you see a Samsung LED.

Handphone also, why not buying Huawei, ZTE and Xiaomi? I know so many people so clever to be keyboard warrior and say Xiaomi is the best phone and all that, but see their pocket, they will take out a Samsung S4 or S5.

Remember one thing, if China can go to the extent of putting melamin in baby milk and killing so many babies, they are capable of doing anything.

Globally, everyone will forgive China because nobody dare penalise the biggest global economy and jeaopardize their bussiness and China market. All countries kowtow to China despite all their products being low in quality cause of their vast market.

But do you, as a consumer, dare to cough out RM50k on a China made car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 46
        • DonkeyKong on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:58 pm

For a “disposable” SUV or pickup truck, e.g. for company use, why not. I think many Eastar owners are happy as well. But personally, I will never trust any Chinese brands. Foreign brands that have products made in China will enforce stricter QC rules and that’s why it’s not entirely cheap to produce either. But China companies themselves are willing to sacrifice the customer for the sake of profit. China is all about money and profiting at others expense. If you think China is serious about putting out good products, think again.

• x-city on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Hey, i’m using Huawei phone, for me it’s a good bargin if you compared the price, coz Huawei is the biggest manufacture for broadband modem in the world. But for any chinese car i think better wait for 4-5 years from now lets the quality and design get better and better, i’m sure they will

• Tong Kosong on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:40 pm

in some places – the Cihna Company forces their staff to work “longer hour” with low payment (=to sacrifice to Towkeh income).

remember I-phone Foxconn sucide cases remain ‘silent’.

In principle: Those Who Lies – they cannot be trusted & your weak point/ blindspot is where their GAIN point.

& your are not being cheated – until you discover it as Their objective is MONEY.

The Different Principle: Japanese – they provide The Best (all -out) for Money your SPEND by their Ultimate Research & Discovery to serve the world.
            (but we have to pay 300% here)

• bremm on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Japanese also greedy, why Vios is 90k when picanto can be much cheaper?

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Akira Japanese, no?

I wouldn’t mind buying a Hisense, Haier, TCL or Changhong over a a Samsung LED TV. Though I very much prefer plasmas, either the highest end from Samsung or basically any Panasonic but the S60 (even though that one is great too, and vastly superior over any, and I mean any LED TV).

As for phones… had a HTC. That was great. Then LG… first the memory broke within 1 year, had to send in for warranty. Then later GPS stopped working. Then WiFi stopped working. And it was a mid-range device, not a cheap cheap one. Then my Galaxy Nexus, built by Samsung. The design is great, the software is great (cause that’s all done by Google :P ), but the hardware? USB port failing already… my next phone will be a Xiaomi.

You have to look at the price and the brand when it comes to Chinese products. They can give you good quality made in China (see Xiaomi, Oppo, Lenovo for example), but they can also give you rubbish. Depends on if the company wants to earn a good reputation and do good sales later, i.e. a legit company, or if it is just interested in your money on a very short term. And of course on the money you give them to produce a decent product. Development costs money. Parts do. Materials do. They can be more affordable than their Korean competitors, but don’t expect wonders.

People, especially the Chinese perhaps, are willing to do anything for money, including putting melamin in baby milk. The government is fighting that though and punishes offenders. But it’s a big country.

As for cars… I think in the past few years some companies have learned to develop decent cars, something P1 has taken centuries to do they have achieved in much less time. However I’d only buy one of those very recently developed cars (after they went through some beta testing by early buyers). A new Chinese car, developed 8 years ago? Thanks, but no thanks. It’s the same with the Koreans, apart from their head start.

• Gargantia on Aug 06, 2014 at 10:42 am

In 3rd world country we gets out-dated model but with high selling price.
      Thanks to who? (Father of AP). With him around only suffer with paying high price for ownING a new car.
      Keep supporting him cronies and his loyal fans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
      • Anti-Establishment on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Only a fool would think that they’ll get cheap cars if the taxes are removed. I seriously doubt it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • fast5 on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Is RAKYAT rights or sit down do nothing like u buff shit and not helping.

• rchoo on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:48 am

Rear is a beau. Waiting for the price n performance.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:57 am

Twin tailpipes are a rarity in the B-segment market here. Looks sporty (from the rear, at least. The front looks a bit dated) but does it have the performance figures to match?

• presna (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:28 am

The hatchback isn’t half bad, if it has the right spec sheet with really affordable pricing it could sell.

Now if only the government would make it mandatory for all vehicle make and models sold in the country to display crash test rating, that would allay people’s fear of buying a deathtrap for a vehicle..

• Josh Ling on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:08 am

they should have opted to bring in the hatchback as well, at least this will broaden the appeal of A3/J3/Cruise, and put more of that model on the road.

• drMpower on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:25 am

this chap driving the cherry must really really hate proton. and perodua.

• Low Budget on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Driving Cherry means hate P1 or P2? Why the word ‘Hate’? Most people do not really hate P1 or P2, they just dislike the quality after being experiencing visiting the servicing centers again and again and again… to right the manufacturing faults.

• lazyf on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:30 am

The hatchback version look nice

• Spirior on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:49 am

These A3s are old models. Good news is they have been replaced by Arrizo7 (tuned by Lotus) and Arrizo5. Bad news is, so far there are no plans for right hand drive. Even the old Tiggo has been replaced by Tiggo5, but as with all new Chery models there are no plans for RHD yet.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:23 pm

at the launch of the audi a3 sedan , i bring all my macai and promise them i will buy them A3. well, they should know now which a3 im getting them (the china one)….

• Looks like KIA prior to Peter Schreyer era (KIA Rio year 200). They are also affected by the same disease as Proton designers, ok looking front with butt-ugly butt (excluding Gen-2 and S.Neo in my opinion).

But the Chinese are getting there, rapidly. Just see their advancement in mobile phones (Huawei, Oppo) and computer technology+design+sales(Lenovo). Even the westerners pun takut wooo..

• Midi Yusof on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Chery A3 at Beijing 2008 auto show.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XynRJ3CSnP4

• Heico on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:30 am

euwwww stupid car made by china

• Urzu3 on Aug 09, 2014 at 8:45 am

why the rear design look much better than Suprima..? @__@