Driven Web Series 2014 #4: Horsepower assault – Mercedes A 45 AMG vs VW Golf R vs Subaru WRX STI

Welcome back to Driven Web Series, powered by the new Petronas Primax95 with Advanced Energy Formula. The lads are all charged and ready to bring you back from your well-deserved break with a bang, as this episode is bristling with pure, unadulterated horsepower.

In our Hot Hatch episode last season, the Volkswagen Golf GTI sailed past the BMW 125i, Mercedes A 250 and Volvo V40 T5 to take our top spot. But now, the guns just got a whole lot bigger.

For a start, we’ve summoned the GTI and A 250’s big bros – the cool, sophisticated Volkswagen Golf R and the stark raving mad Mercedes A 45 AMG – as well as the new Subaru WRX STI, a challenger reborn from the Land of the Rising Sun, and our childhoods.

That’s right, we bring a combined total of nearly 1,000 hp to Bukit Tinggi to see what’s what. No one should stand in our way… right? I mean, what are the chances of, let’s say… a legendary rally driver gatecrashing our party and taking us on in a purpose-built, stripped out track car?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• nelux on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:07 am

Nice!!! my car~~ gogogo “R”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 37
    • OMG…those like Merc Class A click “like”…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 16
    • Wait for DSG to Breakdown on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:49 am

Wait till the DSG fail. Don’t be fooled by some people saying the GTi uses wet DSG and it is better than dry DSG.

Now, VW salesman are going around saying all the DSG rumours are false. They have new modus operandi. they are saying now, VW cars are suing wet DSG.

So confusing, which is it? Wet or Dry. Some say wet better. Other people say dry is better.

Do you dare to take the risk?

All I know is, if you are crossing a river and you ask the villagers whether the river got crocodiles.
      Some villagers say got crocodiles. Another say got no such thing. It is free of crocodiles.

Would you dare swim across?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 120
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:38 pm

First off, engineering problems have solutions. There was a problem with the overall dry DSG package. Volkswagen has purportedly fixed the problem. While it remains to be seen whether their fix for the dry clutch DSG will be a permanent fix or not, it all comes down to the consumer to understand that choosing to buy and use cutting-edge technology carries with it certain risks. Probably anyone who owns a vehicle of German make testifies as such.

Secondly, DSG problems seem to be due to inadequate cooling of the dry clutches in the hot equatorial climate. Wet clutches would have much better cooling and should have less or no such issues. At least, that’s the logic of it. Wet clutches also are able to take higher torque applications.

Third, it is a consumer’s choice to swear off a kind of technology because it is prone to breaking down. That’s why so many people have bought the Toyota Vios, because they prefer to have dated tech that doesn’t break down as much rather than newer tech which *could* be just as reliable but is not as proven yet. But how would we move forward (pun unintended)? Each piece of technology in its infancy has its drawbacks. Over time, these drawbacks would be mitigated, minimized or overcome entirely. Thus is progress.

I am not a Volkswagen salesman. I just find your condemning of all dual-clutch transmissions to be rather paranoid and short-sighted.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 195 Thumb down 13
        • Ali vw on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:13 pm

some writeup based on their bad experiance with the SC for the DSG failure…wait till u experiance one then u’ll know. technology should minimize the prone of failure not incurring more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 31
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:48 pm

When the first cars rolled out, they were unlikely to have been much better than the most common mode of transportation of the day: horse-drawn carriages and human power.

The first cars were prone to breakdowns and other issues and imagine that there were little to no paved roads so punctures should have been very common (sharp rocks and stuff).

If everyone followed the logic of the poster above and not given cars a chance, do you think we would have all these fond memories of metal steeds we have today? We would be stuck with 1 horsepower carriages or if you’re super rich and have a big carriage, you could have a whopping 2 horsepowers. There wouldn’t be a paultan.org or if there would be, it might be about the latest advancements in horse-drawn carriages or bicycles or some such.

People back then, when they bought the first cars, they did it with the knowledge that this is something new and it is something with potential so they put up with the faults and probably gave feedback to the developer behind it. There really weren’t a lot of people convinced that cars had any future back then, just like you all of you who shun dual-clutch tech.

So if you don’t want to be at the cutting-edge of tech, then don’t. Those who do happen to find themselves at the aforementioned place (whether unwittingly or purposely), know that you might not have a carefree ride but be assured that you are indirectly contributing to the betterment of a newer generation of gearboxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
        • redknight AHA on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Obviously..
          CHilled dude Looks like Proton lovers are just like to be in the side line..never want to progress..stuck wil old junk or tech.

• redknight AHA on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Obviously..
          CHilled dude Looks like Proton lovers are just like to be in the side line..never want to progress..stuck wil old junk or tech.

• Iniesta leong on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:03 pm

I niticed that you have repeatedly posted this statement, are you being paid by others to sabotage vw by writing this idiotic statement ? Some say u are stupid some say you are smart, so you are stupid or smart ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
        • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:41 am

Suprima smoke all RM 250k above car. Thought you all, Proton makes the best car around. Malaysia Boleh Proton proud of malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Suprima S are also Malaysia safest car, when it is in showroom/warehouse.

No one so far injured or died in a showroom/warehouse Suprima S.

Problem is: The awesome safe Suprima S is either in showroom, in warehouse, under coconut tress, but never on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
        • redknight AHA on Aug 08, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Haha..another Moron Proton Lover

• Enthu on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:50 am

Want to comment at least do some homework. Wet and dry the same? Then why are they different in the first place? *facepalm*

You are a clear example of a typical ignorant Malaysian.

• No facts at all on Aug 07, 2014 at 12:06 pm

It’s amusing that your comment has little facts and a lot of hatred towards VW. VW is trying very hard to rectify the DSG issue and I would say you don’t hear many DSG failures these days after changing the oil to mineral. No car is perfect. I’m not saying VW is. But they are certainly moving in the right direction. Own a VW before you make such comment.

• any technology will have some kind of problems..nothing is perfect…but it doesn’t mean that there is no solution..VW engineers are doing their research and making the technology better..

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:06 pm

haha, good one, very entertaining!

Especially with the Suprima S, I laugh non stop! What a joke. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:36 pm

The Suprima S recipe to win:
        1. No passenger seats
        2. No air cond
        3. No handbrake

No wonder Proton fanboys so proud (syok sendiri).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 53
        • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 2:50 pm

U try to drive yr 86 race with suprima? I am sure suprima or even preve can smoke u.

Proton proud of malaysia. And RM70k can smoke any RM 250K German and Japan car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:42 pm

lol, typical Sendiri Cakap Sendiri Syok 5S Proton lifestyle.

Even McLaren has difficult catch 86 during cornering: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ut55yR2Yu8M

Suprima S?? smoke chicken wings with the noisy, powerless, melting hot engine ok lar.

lol, your joke really make my day! lol

Proton may feel proud of Malaysia. But Malaysian feel damn ashamed of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:21 pm

The 86 is a very capable car. Very underrated, imo. But a stock 86 doesn’t have as much bite as some would expect from a sports car since it is naturally aspirated (no turbocharger, no supercharger).

However, it isn’t fair to say that the McLaren couldn’t keep up with the 86. That was a track-modified 86 vs a road-going McLaren MP4. Very, very different.

Thanks for sharing the vid, though. Good to see the 86 getting the attention it deserves.

• samelorstpd on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:40 pm

86 only depends on hp for max speed, torque wisely it is same with preve.

That’s shame

• Funny video.. hehe.. That’s why some wira can beat GTR.. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
  • Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:25 am

As funny as it was at certain parts and as filled as it is with wtheck moments, I couldn’t really catch the conclusion. Which of the 3 was best? I guess there was no hands-down winner there.

Biggest take away was that a hot car is only as hot as the driver and a stripped out track car is potentially better than a production sports car. Of course, the whole race was staged so we don’t really know who would have won anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
    • SuprimasRock on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:57 am

obviously winner is Suprima S

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 24
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:46 pm

In a real race with real racers (no offense, guys) in the other 3 cars? I have my doubts, even with that track Suprima S’ extensive modifications.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • armandd on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:43 pm

Bro, the Suprima is a race car. The race is unfair from the start. There’s no way those 3 cars could beat it in stock form. In Sepang it clocked 2m 38s. It would take a stock R35 to beat that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • Aquila on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Not to be bias but looking at the cars’ specs and performance figures, even with equal driver skill… I can’t see the Suprima S road or race version match up to the 3 afro-mentioned cars.

• Anti-Establishment on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:05 pm

I think you’ve answered your own question – there are no clear winner & a hot hatch is only as good as the skil,mof the driver behind the wheel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:25 pm

But the video was not clear in its presentation of that, you see. They may have intentionally wanted to keep the conclusion vague but as it stands, it gives the impression that there was no main point to the video to tie in all the observations made.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • fast5 on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:26 am

This is the best !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:29 am

Proton suprima good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 37
  • c~two on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:31 am

guys, u forgot to put sam loo in his 86 sending tofu

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:41 pm

That would have been awesome. Drive alongside, roll down the window and shout “EH! YOU WANNA BUY TOYOTA OR NOT?!”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • AVH (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Does the gutter overtake…..falls into gutter.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:39 pm

That is drama wei.

In real world, no one need to ask, people just come to Toyota showroom automatically and book the cars.

Not like others have to organise sales carnival under the coconut trees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
      • sudonano (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:05 pm

THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN BRILLIANT.

Someone, give this guy an award. After all Initial D was all about the original 86.

But yeah, I felt like there was something missing here… Like as though the episode got chopped off at the end… Normally I feel quite content after watching an episode, but this one I felt a bit errr…?

Or it was probably I don’t understand Japanese. And I prefer German anyway :p

Speaking of awards… didn’t know Harve took part in Miss Driven 2013… Well at least you can say the little white dress is award winning lol.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:25 pm

I learn both when I’am free….. now after a year thou since, I still unable to even hardly read or write both.

• http://paultan.org/2013/10/18/merc-45-amg-edition-1-officially-priced-rm349k/

RON97 is recommended. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • when the sti will goes on sale?

• Paul Tan on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:59 am

End of this week.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • heybadigol on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Excellent news indeed. STI is a bit too hardcore. The normal WRX is good enough to be used for driving on KL’s extra lubang roads.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Out of fashion, nowadays we need all-in-one package:

Comfort
          Sporty
          Low fuel consumption w/o losing torque-power

Which still suit for daily & family use or racing.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:08 pm

the Golf R sounds perfect for you.

• MazdaTheAwakening on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:45 am

Best episode so far! Gambathe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • mystvearn on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:47 am

I kind of like this episode the best

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • seancorr on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:55 am

Driver experience plays an important role…

• Andrew Tan on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:05 pm

R3 Super Negative Camber Overtake!! XD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • Harry on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:05 pm

hahahahahaha…. Can’t stop laughing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • initial d on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:09 pm

hillarious!!!
    made my day…
    the soundtrack gave me goose bump
    thanks guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • vee-oh on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:25 pm

The Flying Singh really shows his masterskill and that Suprima is like glued to the road during hard cornering..very very fun show guys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Terence on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Hey Paul Tan & the Driven crew,

Good job on the episodes so far. I enjoyed watching them :)

I have a comment, would you be able to put someone on the show that talks about the practicality of the car on a daily usage point of view instead of paying too much attention to it’s interiors?

I do believe that interiors are important and I also believe that not everyone in this world look into interiors (eg: leathered vs cheap plastic). For example, when rating a car, I always listen to them complaining about cheap plastics on the dashboard, etc. But hey, as for myself, I don’t mind whether it’s leathered or cheap plastic (even if it’s leather, it’s of no use to me, except for bragging rights).

Having said that, good job in the episodes so far! Cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Mercedes, an uncles car …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 44
  • When I just start watching, I was thinking is there any mystery car will appear? Then, the Suprima R3 Race car appear, really surprised.

This video really funny! thumb up.

Noticed that the Suprima R3 is manual transmission, hope the production Suprima will have MT option one day.

What is the price for that WRX STI?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • This is episode is fantastic, but it lacks in the ending. Paultan team should have gave a final wrap on which car is the best. I believe this show should be fun as well as informative to watch

• Kelvin Yam on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:46 pm

I laugh so hard on the Japanese dialog!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • prottt on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:49 pm

another stupid video. cmon guys, what we want a review and comparison between the cars, the humour is sub-par. the acting is poor.

the choice of cars are good.

but thats all, no mention on interior quality, ride quality or anything to do with the cars.

Paul, please improve your videos.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 78
    • kobealex on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:14 pm

I second what you just said there.

Was getting excited about the review until the racing started and the review ended without concluding much at all.

Loved all the previous reviews but this time round I thought the humour went overboard. It was kind of a waste as the review did not do justice to the awesome cars at hand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Paul Tan Follower on Aug 07, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Dear Paul …

These guys are right, sorry, as your avid readers, we are truly disappointed with this whole Japanese crap thing without any proper review on the cars ….

This episode is clearly just for fun without any professional input on the cars alone (like your usual episodes).

It is such a waste when you get people hyped up over the great cars and give such a nonsense episode.

Please do something about it.

Yours sincerely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • holofanboi on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:51 pm

*shoves forged pistons up Harvinder and Hafriz’s butt*

Seriously why can’t you both just stand in front of the car like Jonathan? ;_; STOP welding your butts on the car! >:(

A wonderful episode from the start to end :D. This was thoroughly entertaining to watch! Great job guys!

No conclusion did feel a little odd though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • AVH (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:24 pm

I think the lack of conclusion is even better…. all cars are almost different to one another certainly the WRX STI. Stats-warrior will always say the AMG is better, the driver-wannabe will say the WRX STI is better, and the sophisticated will say the Golf R is better. All three suits individuals in a different way, and the clear lack of winner can be use to avert any form of flame-war in the comment section, considering all this cars are actually very good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:56 pm

I don’t agree with a lack of conclusion being better. Even saying “so we leave it to you to decide which the best car among them all is (then continues arguing)” is a legitimate conclusion. Every story has a beginning and an end and psychologists have demonstrated that the human mind expects that. A lack of conclusion to the primary plot (the comparo) here makes people feel weird.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
        • Inception doesn’t hv an ending…

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Inception’s ending is called a cliffhanger and that is a legitimate ending.

This one just ended with Harv crying.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Nope, If i would say the Golf R won, imagine WRX supporter and A45 AMG supporter in the flame war at the comment section. Like I said, provided these car are very different, saying that ‘this’ particular car won is actually rather bias to the fans of the each individaul car. Between a F12 Berlinetta and Lamborghini Aventador, they are both performance car, both capable of around the same paper stats and price, and I say one of them is ‘simply better’, imagine the flamewar I’am about to put the comment section considering one is a no-nonsense GT car and the other a ALL-nonsense playboy car.

One of the few thing I wish the Drive crew will do is to say ‘your opinion may very’ at the end of the video, like how Car Buyer, Evo and all the other European car shows(bar TG) and not the B*llcr*p that is Johnny Lieberman of Motor Trend….rubbing salt in the eyes of fans.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:16 pm

You don’t seem to understand that a conclusion doesn’t necessarily need to say which car is best. Just wrapping up the video and leaving the viewers to make their own decisions would qualify as a conclusion.

• elson on Aug 06, 2014 at 12:52 pm

take off subaru la, put the bmw M3 to compare better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 40
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Not really. The M3 would have definitely outgunned the other two. There would have been no comparison.

• heybadigol on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:14 pm

It wont be a fair comparison. To put the M3, you need to compare to the C63 AMG, Lexus IS-F, and Infiniti Q50 Eau Rouge, amongst others.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:03 pm

No matter what the msg/conclusion was frm da video, I think we all agree that ending was very premature, could hv been more subtle and eventual/gradual rather than full brake ON!

Frm othr reviews online conclusion is..
    Golf R is the best all rounder..
    A45 AMG for track days no one can bare its brittle ride..
    STI stil fun, cheap interior, bt nt much cheaper than the Golf R So the Golf R stil wins!

• dragon on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Wah Lan eh!!!
    I Really Laugh non-stop~~ YAMEHTEH!!!!
    U GUYS SO….TALENT!!!
    Every episode is surprising me ~~
    Great Job~~~ Thumbs up!

Hahahahahahahahahah~~~~~~~hahahahahah~~~
    (really can’t stop laughing) :D :D :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • dragon on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:17 pm

OK! Im Clam down…no laugh.
    Serious.

What is “R3 Super Negative Camber Overtake!! ”

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!

COME ON GUYS…Who write the script? Keep it up~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Kittfoxx on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Totally agree 100% this episode is hilarious!!

The talking bonnet bit was kinda bad.. but the Japanese bits were classic!!

It may not be as flashy with lots of colors like a typical Japanese show but the sound, the voice were spot on!! Add with it the Malaysian elements (Suprima, R3 and Karamjit)… its just really fun to watch.

Brought back lotsa Gaban memories.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Painter on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:19 pm

When you’ve watched too much Top Gear, it’s hard not to compare it with other car show.

The hosts lack individually defined character, apart from maybe, the fatty one, who’s belly is rather a distraction to the comments he made. Sticking out between the seat belts. Maybe he should wear looser shirt.

Not much on the car, but too much on the Karamjit Singh battle considering the short span of the show. Not properly narrated.

The advert on Petronas Primax is so lame. C’mon! A talking bonnet?

Not the worst, but certainly not the best show. Could do better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 30
    • toyotafan on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Watching too much Motor Trend also give you the same feedback.

Need to improve 1 billion times.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Top Gear is…really just like entertainment. Sometimes their verdict isn’t actually very spot on and in most cases, it’s very exaggerated for the sake of ratings and attracting viewers via drama.

• Hey man, I’d rather watch a talking bonnet over a yapping megan tan anytime.

• Silent Reader on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Nice episode…love it!
    Does that mean that Subaru WRX STI is the best car out of all the three cars?

• dodgeviper88 on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:24 pm

If only you included renault megane 265 in it.

• Anonymous on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Very entertaining video!!!!

• Karam on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Karamjit @ the japanese voice already said : The Golf is the best car of this 3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • ria ceria on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:40 pm

evo wanna-be VS gearbox failure VS the sexy gorgeous AMG?

obvious winner here.

by the way, this episode is by far the worst of Driven. too much drama, too little info.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 36
  • mrkthxbai on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:56 pm

hahaha. this is the best episode so far. kudos paul tan and team

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • AMGPOWERED on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:58 pm

the AMG is soooo dam nice. by the way never thought that suprima r3 very fast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • triplez on Aug 06, 2014 at 1:59 pm

love this episode.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • triplez on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:03 pm

sti FTW!

• neemfa on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Clearly it’s not a battle between A45 AMG/Golf R/WRX STI but rather an advertisement to show the capability of a race-prepped R3 suprimau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • AVH (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:16 pm

I like how there is no definite winner in this battle, and that InitialD/Touge battle? Nani kore? I do agree with some that rather lack of info, and outright brand snobbing gets abit too far at times that can make it very annoying. And that Proton track-tune……High revving 1600cc race-tune NA engine is something I will take over any Turbo car, and as forward as time maybe, and how angry that AMG engine sounds, nothing comes close to the tune of a High-Revving NA engine……with manual, not some CVT bull**it/

As for the cars, the VW Golf R and A45 AMG suits the direct comparison much better, easy to drive, easy to live with while still being fast. I will take the R, the A45 AMG is abit overated, and sex appeal really does loose out the substance which I find in the Golf R. The Subaru WRX STI is really an old school Japanese sports car, manual means potential AMG and R buyers aren’t going to bother much(provided if they can drive it) and just about any STI buyer is not going to leave their car stock. The Subaru personally is a much more drivers car, Fun/l will be much higher but that is it really, a sort of one trick pony.

My ranking goes from Golf-R > WRX STI > A45 AMG…… with the Proton Race Suprima on top.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • Richard Joash Tan on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:41 pm

But for me, WRX STI>Proton>Golf-R>A45

• AVH (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:20 pm

To each his own, I find all three(four?) cars to have different character, for the daily drive, the Golf R, for the weekend racer, the WRX STI. The A45 AMG…..I dont know, II felt like its overhype, its also the smallest and heaviest of the three. Even with more power, it wont be as nimble.

• Hilarious!. Miss Driven 2013. What a title to boost that resume.

• This is just me….those with Mercs (Old chap uncle who are successful in selling sands and vegetables) those have BMW (Youth chap who are successful in MLM’s, insurance and quick rich scheme), those with VW and Cooper (young chaps who taught “as long my salary enough for this car, I’m Happy and live with my parents”)..it’s just me though

• Denaihati on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:45 pm

the best video ever watched. funny too. with special appearance karamjit singh is really amazing. congratulation paultan and team.
    it think each model have different attractive feature.
    Personally Mercedes A 45 AMG looks awesome and Subaru WRX STI looks like real racing car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • hafizan89 on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:53 pm

I cant stop laughing by the time the r3 suprima s made a intro

• therealmaserati on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Probably the worst review I have seen . No mention about straight line speed, handling and not even a drag race???!!!! Come on! These are the basics in doing a hot hatch review!

No mention about the sound all 3 cars make, the ride quality and all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
  • Tim Cook Sambal on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:12 pm

nice episode. very entertaining. sti is the best car imho. a manual transmission with 3 pedals. a ‘real’ men car.

• heybadigol on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Wait, wait. I didnt know the WRX STI, or even the “normal” WRX was available here?? Where did this come from? Think the A45 will still be the most expensive car in the comparo even after the WRX/STI is launched. The STI should be priced more or less similar to the Golf R.

Love the Japanese influence there. I thought it was Initial D, but no its the Flying Singh in a Proton! Hahaha. That super expensive AMG must be pissed, kena potong by a Proton. Anyways, can’t wait for part 2.

• This is more of a entertainment video than a serious car review.Good laugh though….

• macromedia on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:49 pm

An Insult
    An insult to the cars, an insult to the fella who is a pro-driver in suprima-S. An insult to all the cars involved. As entertaining as it was, it’s sorely lacking in any susstance. I understand it is some kind of ENTER-TISEMENT for some petrol brand, but this could have been done better. I suppose the brand wanted VIRALBILITY and it been TALK OF THE TOWN. It is an insult to Malaysian intelligence. Grrrrrr… oh ok, it was fun to watch haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
    • An insult to the reader here, what the heck is the Proton doing there. This video got no value when the proton came out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • unitewestandcollapsewefall on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:17 pm

this is what Malaysian car review all about.it has it own uniqueness compare to others car reviews that r too acting scripted and no sense of humour..well done guys..love this episode..( if u r fan of initial d u will know it..hehehe)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Focus ST on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:34 pm

If all Malaysian still syok sendiri Proton R3 is better than those 3 cars. Mean all Malaysia people have to suffer another 20 years or more for those ridiculous car prices. Work harder to fund those cronies. Good Luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
  • just like that on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:35 pm

u guys lost the plot. (worst episode)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 11
  • the best episode of driven so far…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • No Content Video on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:30 pm

This is not a comedy. Please you guys be more serious, no car review in the way we want to see. Dont be a loser like Sam Loo who talk and show nonsense only lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
  • medic on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Should keep to automotive facts & keep the ‘dry’ humour to a minimum.We want to watch a good car review not a mini sitcom.Get your priorities straight!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • The best and funniest Driven episode everrr!! Really made my cold day became warm with laughter. Love the parody of Initial D and the statement “Eyonggo eyomujji. Uniddoyo ributto, daraiva japannodoyo shiputto!!” is sooo epic.

Kudos PT team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Too much dramas, lack of information which leaves most of us here lost. So which was the winner among the 3 cars? Was this a proton advertisement or what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • ski808 on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Frikkin love these guys!!! More vids please!
    The fact it’s localized makes it very palatable, and a joy to view. Ya yaa, Top Gear is what it is, but this is Malaysian!!! Yea for that!

• What is a track car doing in this comparison? It is so out of place. I find it strange that it is Japanese speaking when driving a Proton, when Proton is made in Malaysia not Japan? Sorry to say, Proton has no place to be in this show. I really don’t see the link.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • tokmoh (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:47 am

It’s a parody of Japanese anime, where in battles, the drivers drive while having internal monologue like in the episode.

• Noob.. pls watch initial d and get some petrol head friends for a change

• Got To Go on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Harvinder should have changed his title to ‘Crying Singh’…lol

• hahahaha …another brilliant episode, really enjoyed it! u guys are the best!

• love the blinking DRL on suprima!!!

• MAKE THIS CHANGES QUICK on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:50 pm

What Happen Guys, really bad but nor the worst, but certainly not the best show you guys have put out.

Could do a lot better without the following :-
    1.) What’s with the 80’s rock music, pls put some better tunes, mightycarmods.com, go listen to the tunes in their shows, purchased them and use them if can.

2.) Wardrobe Attire, Jonathan looks like he is dressing up for his reunion dinner in the 70’s, Hafriz is still with those body hugging shirts and the only decently attired person for this show is Harvinder, guys come on….work a little on this, get better sponsors if you don’t have one for Wardrobe Attires !!

3.) That sweet A45 AMG sound from the exhaust and that dropbox gearbox sound when downshifting are just some of the highlights which should have been showcased, and not hafriz bouncing all over the car with body hugging shirts.

4.) Too much drama over lousy written scripts, come on, am sure you all can do better scripts and over acting or over saying childish pranks sayings like let race and what’s your target audience here. And enough over stating and showing on Petronas Primax, mention once, do a normal run to fill up and continue, stop wasting time, nobody bothers about Petronas Primax but we all know they are your sponsors but don’t have to bend over and take it up the a** as how you guys are doing in the show.

5.) The reviews of the cars were badly done, its a car review show, but very little information is given or shown, prepare a standard quantifiable list of reviews for each car and do the same for all cars reviewed, that way audience will know what is covered in your show rather than guessing all time what will be reviewed.

Ending was very premature, could have been more subtle and eventual rather than full brake ON!!!

Make the above changes and you’ve got a good show, else as harsh as it sounds, you guys are going to lose more audience down the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
  • NEED MORE WORK on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:53 pm

What Happen Guys, really bad but nor the worst, but certainly not the best show you guys have put out.

Could do a lot better without the following :-
    1.) What’s with the 80’s rock music, pls put some better tunes, mightycarmods.com, go listen to the tunes in their shows, purchased them and use them if can.

2.) Wardrobe Attire, Jonathan looks like he is dressing up for his reunion dinner in the 70’s, Hafriz is still with those body hugging shirts and the only decently attired person for this show is Harvinder, guys come on….work a little on this, get better sponsors if you don’t have one for Wardrobe Attires !!

3.) That sweet A45 AMG sound from the exhaust and that dropbox gearbox sound when downshifting are just some of the highlights which should have been showcased, and not hafriz bouncing all over the car with body hugging shirts.

4.) Too much drama over lousy written scripts, come on, am sure you all can do better scripts and over acting or over saying childish pranks sayings like let race and what’s your target audience here. And enough over stating and showing on Petronas Primax, mention once, do a normal run to fill up and continue, stop wasting time, nobody bothers about Petronas Primax but we all know they are your sponsors but don’t have to bend over and take it up the a** as how you guys are doing in the show.

5.) The reviews of the cars were badly done, its a car review show, but very little information is given or shown, prepare a standard quantifiable list of reviews for each car and do the same for all cars reviewed, that way audience will know what is covered in your show rather than guessing all time what will be reviewed.

Ending was very premature, could have been more subtle and eventual rather than full brake ON!!!

Make the above changes and you’ve got a good show, else as harsh as it sounds, you guys are going to lose more audience down the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 13
    • Let them do their way, Malaysian way. It’s funny but the message there could be understood easily. Does it really matter to know the century sprinting time of the cars? How many times we push the pedal to the max? And in traffic jams?

Haiz.

• pompous dude on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:32 am

The target audience is not the queen of england. As you can see from the comments, most malaysians truly enjoyed the clip…campy as it was, it was relate-able…and thats where the business is…

• Boy Racer (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Funny video. Hafriz and Jonathan looked like they were just cruising around and Harvinder was the only one racing the Flying Singh lol.

• They dun have balls to thrash the cars over winding roads ,that’s why

• tujupakale on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:08 pm

since when the wrx sti was launched in Malaysia??? haha

• super cheezy on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:09 pm

the presenter got his facts wrong. Traffic police probably using the evo-x fq360, they aslo made a Mitsubishi evo fq400. So the amg is not the most powerful 4 pot ever made.

• justwaitnsee on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:31 pm

good show PT team.thumbs up..u will not be able to satisfy everyone. hey fellow viewers. many episodes we had seen..sometimes u got to take it easy..smile a bit..as for PT team, just keep up what have u plan for the next episode..this is the world reality…some Malaysian speak as they r the one that know everything..peace ;)

• JustWannaSay on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Lol…they make it serious…u say “cheer up…bright up bit..not to serious”…when they make it like this u say “be serious…too much drama..childish play..wasting time”….this la Malaysian..everything is not right in any ways..but it’s ok when others(NOT M’SIA) do it…then its ok….i see Top Gear they do Car boat…Car caravan…House demolishing(nothing to do with cars)..nobody bats an eye…when Paultan do this Everybody Loose their minds(especially when they see Proton)…nothing can satisfy this “Malaysian”..just saying…cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Wah… I wish this was a longer episode lah

• blvcktint on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:11 pm

immpressaahhhh~

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:15 pm

The Scooby for me, there’s no replacement for manual. No autobox can outmatch the absolute freedom and control a stick shift can offer. Period.

Who cares if its looks is 90s (actually that might be a compliment), this is not a car u buy for looks (consider the Volvo V40 if u really care, since u most likely wouldn’t care about sporty as well, it’s perfect the Volvo is such a comfy car u’d love to daily n destress after a hard day’s work). This is a car u buy to DRIVE. The thrill of driving is not just outright speed, it’s almost exclusively about HOW the car delivers its power.

That’s why you want absolute freedom, absolute control of your car anywhere, anytime. Manual, is the uncompromised way to get just that. Also, it’s the more likely robust transmission in the long run, so good luck matching that, autopussies.

Brofist to you, Mr Singh(s). Real men drive 3 pedals!

• Performance on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:17 pm

The humour was good, it was entertaining to watch. But I was expecting to see a more in-depth car comparison and review and which car was chosen to be the overall winner at the end. Also, I wanted to hear the sound of the Mercedes Benz Engine when the bonnet was opened but it was drowned by the voice of purportedly the engine ‘speaking’. Nice job guys, buy you could have mellowed down the humour a little .

• really entertaining! thumbs up!

the flying singh’s comments are the verdicts. so the guys need not to summarise like what they did in other episodes.

and he also points out that doesn’t matter how good the car is (e.g. AMG has twice the power of suprima), driver’s skill is the most important factor.

simply say, if you let jonathan drive the GTR, he will still be smoked by a skill driver in the inspira.

• Another episode well done. Was indeed a variety. a hint of Kramjith skill. Interesting stuff. I thought you touch based on all the crucial elements of the cars. And these care are meant for aggressive speed drives and you guys just did that, eliminating the back seat comfort, looks and such that you normally look for a family car.

Well done, do make sure you have varieties like this, else it will be damn boring to stick to usual stranded elements. cheers !

• Monkey on Aug 07, 2014 at 12:33 am

The worst episode of driven!!
    I expect a proper car review, not some monkey initial d show.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
  • Part 2- wrx stripped version vs the suprima….
    Love the part with the suprima coming… Wished kamaranjit showed a thumbs down to the wrx to make it even dramatic…. Good 1 guys…

• Jason on Aug 07, 2014 at 6:09 am

This is TOTALLY not a review. They just makes power comparison and fuel consumption test. I doubt they only read that form the manufacturer’s specs sheet instead of ‘testing’.

• This episode on a scale of 1 to 10 only scored 3/10. The best episode was the D – segment battle with 3 pauls and 1 sam loo. But this is far from the worst episode.

That honour goes to the crap megan tan episode. -1,000,000/10. (Yeah you can tell how disgusted I am with that one)

• Great episode of Driven. Hope you guys can do an episode comparing cross overs. I would suggest Subaru XV vs Peugeot 3008 vs Mitsubishi ASX or Mini Countryman….

• Wesley Lim on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:34 am

WRX STI V11 using Ron95?

• I think that Golf R is the only can use ron95 among this 3

• Eazy79 on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:37 am

My head goes for the Golf R. My heart pleads for the STI. But my ego wants the Merc.

Then my wallet says Suprima…(Karamjit not included but with all the seats).

• hadi75 on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:45 am

Errrr…..got part 2 ka????

• Elchino on Aug 07, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Good entertainment value indeed but is this your objective? I thought as a motor website, your main objective is to let your readers have an informed view so that should they have to make a choice of purchasing one model, they will know which one to choose

• Elchino on Aug 07, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Many of you are avoiding the fact that it is not a stock Suprima but a customised rally car specially rebuilt for rallying! Get The flying Singh to drive the standard model Suprima and it will be a different story altogether!

• Jason on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:57 pm

That is the Suprima’s Track Car. R3 yet to make any rally car for Suprima S. I didn’t like this show. But I’m not a blind reader like you. Please make your research please.

• mim (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:59 pm

So sick la ppl complain this and that..
    You want serious car reviews sampai tidur go watch Fifth Gear or Motorweek la..
    You want overhype entertainment show mcm drama go watch Top Gear la..

This show is quite good considering their tight budget, manpower, skills and sponsorships..

For those who don’t understand this video, they’re just saying that horsepower and all those spec numbers does not really matter in this car segment, because there’s a lot of capability, and these cars were made with different philosophy. Fun factor and driver’s skill are the most important bits. They still rank the cars though, look carefully, it’s STi>AMG>R

A weakness in these cars can also be exploited to become an advantage for the driver.

You want epic numbers, go buy supercars.

• Peace No War on Aug 08, 2014 at 7:44 am

Why need to be so serious?. The message that they want to delivered is no matter how good is your car, but if you are a lousy driver, you still cannot challenge an experience driver with much low end performance car. Both 3 cars is good on its own way and it just a matter of your preferences. If you want more detail about the car, go do some reading.. Mr Google will help you.

BTW, I like this video. Its funny and different with other mainstream car review show. Keep it up Paul Tan team!

• pxp154 on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:32 am

G E M P A K review !!! :) :) :)

i guess its all subjective when you buy them price vs rsv vs bhp vs brand vs etc. At 32age, i admire those premium R & AMG but i share the same old skool love for the sub-sti & m trans. Sad tht evo hs stop production.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Fuel consumption comparison for cars that are meant to be floored?

Sometime i wonder if the director of this episode is from planet earth

• helmi on Aug 10, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Like P.Ramlee movie, I watch this episode over and over again. The best episode ever.

• V-tec fan on Aug 24, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Yet the 3 cars are super hot hatch! then come Track specification R3 hatch car which i think surely sponsor ads, really enjoy this episode, thumbs-up Paul!!

But if you see the 3 car it’s indeed under performance spec which, RR for volkswagen, STi for Subaru, and AMG for mercedez.

really looking forward malaysian boys in house R3 perfomance big boys toys to compete with international performance brand!

• kei-san on Sep 10, 2014 at 8:55 pm

Damn for a moment there my brain believed karamjit was japanese..
    Best driven video by far!!
    R3 Super negative camber! lol
    I thought all driven videos was dull, but this one caught me by suprise, keep em coming boys..!
    This.. I like..

• Dear uploader & any a45 amg owners,
    ive been eyeing this recond japanese a45 amg edition 1 (costs the same as new official unit from merc malaysia, due to its rareness/1 year++ waitinglist), recently got it tested and i have a few questions..
    1) The rev is maxed out at 2000 rpm when revving at P mode, is this normal and why is it so?
    2)Can this car unit accept our quality of fuel?
    3) Warranty is not covered by merc malaysia, but by Opal instead.. Where is the best place open a new book to service & maintain the car in Klang Valley area?
    4)How to i certify the car comes with original parts, internals specifically, aside from bringing a mechanic to check wther parts is original and speedometer wasnt tempered with, do recond cars comes with paperwork certifying car is ori?

p/s: Some say i can still service at merc malaysia with higher labour charge eventhough warranty is not covered..

p/s: The mileage for this car is around 10k Km. is this normal?? they say japanese dont drive that much?

Thanks in advance Paul, and bros.. waiting in anticipation..

• donself on Nov 06, 2014 at 9:02 am

From my opinion, proton can develop high tech car and can be equal to vw, merc etc. However, can malaysian people accept the price then?
    It’s all about malaysian perception that proton car must be cheap but want a quality/standard of a high end car

• U know y protong can sell so many units..bcoz the ppl dat buy their cars are all sotong..nvr upgrade themself..always know how to smoke ppl oni..70k smoke 250k..nvr go skool