2014 Honda Accord 2.4 to be upgraded to six airbags?

honda_Merdeka_promo
HONDA-ACCORD-ENHANCED-2

If you check out the Promotions section on Honda Malaysia’s website and click through to the Merdeka Bonus promo, you’ll notice something interesting. There are two different versions of the Accord 2.4 listed.

The normal Accord 2.4 has a RM3,000 Merdeka bonus but there’s another Accord 2.4 with the suffix “FMC Enhanced” that only has a Merdeka bonus of RM1,000. This piqued our interest, and a few readers sent in enquiries to our mailbox asking what this FMC Enhanced meant as well.

Upon checking with a few sources, including Honda sales advisors, we found that Honda Malaysia is in the midst of upgrading the top of the line Honda Accord with curtain airbags bringing the total airbag count to six, up from the current four. This would bring the top-of-the-line Accord’s safety package in line with the rest of the lineup, as the City and Jazz can both be had with six airbags (here’s a comparison of all three).

2014 Honda Accord 2.4 to be upgraded to six airbags?

This would be a good move by Honda Malaysia. From what we understand, there are limited units of the older model left, so for those who feel they can make do with four airbags, there’s the additional RM2,000 discount (the RM3,000 versus RM1,000 mentioned above).

A formal announcement is said to be due sometime next week. We’ll know then if there are any changes to the price of the 2.4 litre variant with the additional airbags. In the meanwhile, have a detailed look at the specs and equipment of the current Honda Accord at CarBase.my.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• heybadigol on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Does that mean the extra airbag’ed Accord will come with a higher price tag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:34 pm

As long as it’s not UMW Toyota, it will have new technologies and more air bags.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 5
      • Yazid Md on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:38 pm

What big bull is this. In the US this car 2.4 has 9 airbags as standard and the price is US$20,000. That is about RM60,000.

In Malaysia, because Syed Mokhtar is the true Prime Minister and everyone in the cabinet worship Syed Mokhtar like King, he can price this car at any price with any amount or airbags and no one can question him.

This car is priced at RM180,000 with just 4 airbags? Now increase to 6? What nonsense is this?

Already Honda Malaysia ie DRB is making a big killing off this car. Buta buta at least RM100,000 profit from each car sold plus our Honda is CKD and it should be much cheaper than the CBU Accord at US$20,000.

When will Malaysians realise we are being cheated? Double whammy cheated.
        1) Price 3x ganda
        2) Safety spec reduced tremendously
        3) Fully Made in Malaysia CKD with lower quality than Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 55
        • kiasu on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:48 pm

why Syed Mokhtar?
          Why not Tan Chong??king also ma

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Why them? all ministry report to captain, of tax/duty structure implementation.

It should b captain call instead of crews.

• Same L0rrr (Ori) on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:44 am

When I share fact and raise more awareness, retards come to masquerade/impersonate.

German, Sushi, Kimchi, all have their pro and cons. There is no perfect car in the world. But when you come to relatively cheaper + reliable, Toyota still the best choice, other Japanese cars are equivalently good.

When comes to JUNK, so far ONLY ONE car maker I always refer to :- The almighty Proton and its 5S lifestyle.

1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sales Carnival
            5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • kzm (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:10 pm

where in ASEAN u get those price? brunei? in ur dream la even Brunei CBU(thai) 2.4 is bout B$59k(~RM154k)n come with interest rate of 4.2% 7 yrs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
          • kzm love Brunei on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:17 pm

kzm always talking about Brunei. Hoi budak kampung, do you know Brunei GDP per capita is 5x that of Malaysia? This means Brunei people earn 5x more than Malaysians and their purchasing power is 5x more than Malaysians.

Fresh graduate already earn B$5000. That is RM13,000 per month. If he don’t eat, the fresh grad can pay his car off in 1 year.

In Malaysia, fresh grad get RM2000 also so lucky.

Also Brunei got no tax, petrol is cheap, free education, free healthcare.

kzm, if you cannot understand what GDP per capita, go back to your kampung. Tak payah tinggal di bandar lagi. Better you stay away from the city and wetting all the public toilets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Ok, so if Malaysians realize that we’re being cheated. I think many already know. What are we to do? Only buy second hand cars? Vote out the current govt?

Give some recommendations la, bro. We can’t read your agenda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • clutch_plate on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:34 am

Dah beri 4 nak 6, dah bagi 6 nak 9 airbag pulak. Kalau dah beri 9 nanti ada la pulak manusia yang mintak 12 airbag pulak kot.. Oh Malaysiaku..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
        • Bataman on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:15 am

So?? Tak suka?? KELUAR LOR.

What can you do? All car manufacturers subject to the same tax structure. So? Apa rempit mau lagi?

At least Honda is progressing with better features and new tech…unlike Toyota, forever same inside, facelift outside.(tm)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Tim Chew on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:48 am

Yazid Md, That was just a spot on comment you made. I agree you with the part u mentioned about the profit they make and the car is a CKD. Honda quality has declined drastically since now that they allow proton to rebadge their cars hence the new proton perdana. Reputation of Honda tainted!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
        • kolejeon on Aug 07, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Why suddenly Syed Mokhtar come to the picture? what in the world he has to do with the car pricing? Honda Motor Japan is the majority shareholder of Honda Malaysia.

• “In the US this car 2.4 has 9 airbags as standard and the price is US$20,000. ”

LOL. I live in the U S. 9 airbags?? Wow where can I buy it?
          Furthermore the Accord starts from US$22,000 before licence, registration, tax AND freight. Registration and tax etc vary depend on where the buyer live.

• Warren on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Why can’t they upgrade all to 6 airbags across the specs for Accord. If 90k city can get it, why not Accord?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
        • 4G63T DSM on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:59 am

The 2.0 version still come with only 2 airbags. Very poor showing for a D segment. Its not even an option to get more airbags.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:38 pm

It remind me of 140k Toyota Prius used to have 7 airbags. It was high tech, fuel saving, safe (with VSC) and cheap. But not cheap for now.

Ask your government and almighty PROTECTED Proton why it is so expensive now.

As long as it is not kimchi, it will have RV.

As long as it is not Proton, it will have build quality.

As long as you can afford a Toyota, old and new technologies are equivalently reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 63
      • Disgraceful Toyota Salesman on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Disgraceful Toyota salesman. No honour. No shame. Sales so bad, RV so bad, only 3 years warranty, old 4 speed gearbox, suck fuel like Godzilla and now he comes here to bad mouth other people’s brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
      • Disgraceful Toyota Salesman on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Disgraceful Toyota salesman. No honour. No shame. Sales so bad, RV so bad, 3 years warranty, old 4 speed gearbox, suck fuel like Godzilla and now he comes here to bad mouth other people’s brand

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • toyota on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:22 pm

typical toyota salesman, harping on RV….blum buy the car sudah concern abt RV, i tau le most toyota buyer will quickly sold off their cars after driving it for a while…its too boring to drive…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
        • Toyota JUNK on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Toyota sales is just very very bad.Nobody wants a useless junk Toyota anymore. You see the new City and Accord already dump the rubbish Vios and Camry into grave.
          Only those sorhai that know nothing about cars will buy the coffin car like Vios Altis and Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Only a real idiot will buy a Honda. Like I said, old tech is reliable, why change it?

Clever people buy Toyota. Good RV. IF you don’t own a toyota, you should work harder in life!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 74
        • toyota on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:25 pm

rich ppl dont bother abt RV ler, they just want to enjoy their cars & they can effort it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
          • toyota on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:25 pm

“afford” : typo

• Same L0rrr (Ori) on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:45 am

When I share fact and raise more awareness, retards come to masquerade/impersonate.

German, Sushi, Kimchi, all have their pro and cons. There is no perfect car in the world. But when you come to relatively cheaper + reliable, Toyota still the best choice, other Japanese cars are equivalently good.

When comes to JUNK, so far ONLY ONE car maker I always refer to :- The almighty Proton and its 5S lifestyle.

1. Sendiri Cakap
            2. Sendiri Syok
            3. Sentiasa Rosak
            4. Sales Carnival
            5. Semakin Mahal

• Toyota JUNK on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Butthurt toyota salesman,sales so so bad that talk bad on other car makers.Now the road is full of new City and Accord,at least they give VSC on higher specs,unlike those coffin car Vios Altis Camry

• ch3 m4t on Aug 06, 2014 at 11:54 pm

dude seriously??..everybody talk about improvements (technologies and safety features) and so on, but u still crying
          about RV??..and only RV??..

everydays life need steps ahead or behind, you lead a good day you will run fast. you have a bad day, you will fall but you still have tomorrow to rise, perhaps run faster. you will get nowhere if you stand still, sure you will survive, but you will lead a pity life..

get a life boss..get a life..

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Typically msian don’t pay a shxt on how many airbags.

The question is after 57yrs merdeka, the same administration untill today NOT ABLE to establish a SOP of the basic safe features requirements for auto industry.

Its same to tinted policy, It took 57 yrs for same administration/ ministry to come out a stupid tinted policy lately that the requirements stated CANNOT be JUSTIFY.

The main purpose of newly established tinted policies Is to legalise to AP MPV with darker glass at rear.

1word to descibe those ppl involved:—> BRAINLESS

What is the point of new tinted policy? Not sure the relevant ministry isntbrainless. ..
      even FORM 5 STUDENT CAN THINK ABOUT IT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 18
    • fast5 on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Upgrade air-bag with promotion offer. This’s improvement from customer feed-back, good job Honda M’sia.

For those kids out there that say: 3rd world country won’t have this kind of offer in m’sia.
      This’s the answer… power of dream, power of feed-back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Only a failure will buy a Honda. Honda buyers are usually Toyota rejects who cannot afford a Toyota but want to show off that they too have a good Japanese car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 58
      • zeta01 on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:10 pm

sekurang-kurangnya honda tak bagi spesifikasi kosong kat accord , tak macam camry.

• Same L0rrr (Ori) on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:45 am

1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:25 pm

You never drive Proton you never feel the greatness. Proton is global car Tun DrM comfirm himself.
            No prefect car? wait until u see Proton GSC.
            Global car with global price. With no AP tax and import tax.

• Toyota JUNK on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Haha he is very jealous that Honda new City and Accord already buried kow kow the Vios coffin and Camrt coffin.Now a happy new City V owner,VSC and 6 airbags and its CVT gearbox can smoke thet coffin car Vios!!

• GTR36 (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:39 am

Pls go dai! What rejects? Throw cash on the floor at Toyota sales office see how many fighting to pick up the money…something like feeding time at the croc pit! See how desperate the T salesmen are now. Goto sec19 showroom..giving out huge, huge discounts for the Camry and the X summore!

• Bataman on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:19 am

Lol. SAM LORR in deep teouble already…Honda is wiping the floor with the new City and now Jazz…Vios sales all dropping like flies…now Accord will sapu all Camry sales…

SAM LORR will be eating maggi soon…if not already. LOL.

• Same L0rrr (Ori) on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:47 am

Dropping or not, sales figure tell. I have been eat Jogoya too much, I am ok to order maggi sup once in a while.

As I mentioned:

As long as it is not kimchi, it will have RV.

As long as it is not Proton, it will have build quality.

• kington on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Ya.. just like Corolla Altis.. Honda Malaysia and UMW Toyota feel as if they are the only companies selling cars in Malaysia.

Sam Loo! Your Camry how?

• Toyota JUNK on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Camry sales nearly zero.Even the GX version launch to boost the sales but people still don’t interested in this coffin car.Now people choose Honda new Accord or even Nissan new Teana.Better than the Camry

• Lance on Aug 06, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Mazda CX5 waiting period is 5 months and CRV are giving discount of RM4K. Just show how much CRV popularity has dropped.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
    • OrangUtan on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:18 pm

just because the waiting period is long doesn’t mean it is popular.

if mazda produces only 1 CX5 per month, the waiting period can be years. doesn’t that mean Mazda is selling more CX5 than CRV?

some people… shoot before they do research. typical keyboard warrior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
      • I am pro so listen on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Omg bro you are so smart.

cx5 in july only sold half of CRV. (FACTS)

their long waiting list is for the cheapest 2wd low spec.

imagine crv 2wd. that will kill cx5 instantly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • brazbuz on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Wow how do u know the sale chart? Even MAA didnt know every single model sales performance. Love to share?

• i am pro so listen on Aug 06, 2014 at 7:06 pm

just see my nick la. I tell you means i got source.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Experienced both, but one thing for sure is:-

The newly developed skyactive is better than earthdream in term of fuel consumption w/o losing its power. Compared on 2.0

In term of space, CRV is the king.

• GTR36 (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:43 am

Pls checkout (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=96Fah4u-LwI) which shows that CRV has better fuel consumption than the so called Skyactive engine. All real Paultan.org fans will have seen this web#2 series. Honda earth dreams engine are for the 2.4L accord not 2.0L yet.

• CRV vs CX5 on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:49 pm

in Asean, CX5 is assebled only in Malaysia but CRV in Malaysia, Thailand and Indonesia…

CRV (average monthly production):
        Thailand: 1900
        Malaysia: 750
        Indonesia: 1250

CX5 (average monthly production):
        Malaysia: 820

(note: source from Marklines)

So, the CX5 need to cover other regional demand whereas CRV able to support local demand.

• Long waiting period doesn’t mean it sold more any other model, just like luxury brand.. cx5 is superb but cramped inside. Their kulim production factory had the quota and capacity

• Talking about enhancements, does the CRV now come with reverse sensors as well? Last time one major complain was that the new CRV doesnt come with reverse parking sensors :S

• AVH (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:42 pm

They added in in both 2.0 and 2.4 guise, and yes it didnt come with it previously.

• Majuperak on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Honda Malaysia ! What about your best seller Accord 2.0 VTI-L version, shouldn’t you increase the airbag count ?

http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/08/04/honda-usprobe-idUSL2N0QA0HC20140804

Wait, have you guys read about Honda Accord side airbag activating after the door is slammed ??

• Mat Yala on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Thailand Honda Accord 2.4 TECH 2014 with 6 airbags and sunroof.

• Elchino on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:34 pm

So, when is Hyundai going to reinstate the 7 airbags for their SanteFe ?

• AVH (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Well its about F***** time.
    Which is funny that when I ask my SA, he said no immediate plans in the future. [grabs piano wire]

• kenot on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:06 pm

what a joke when they can offer 6 airbags for their B segment car but take a lot of time before offer the same amount of airbags for their D segment car.

• karen on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Concerned about safety of airbags in the Honda cars. A recent tragic accident in my town shows shrapnel (sharp object) ejected from a 2003 Honda Civic airbag on driver seat caused the loss of life of the driver. Such cases happened in USA as well and cars were recalled.
    Would appreciate kind people out there to share about the safety of Honda’s airbags

• if they add in the Collision Mitigation System as well

then accord 2.4 will be the safest jap D segment sedan in malaysia

• Toyota JUNK on Aug 06, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Yes smart people will get Honda new Accord.And don’t forget the new Nissan Teana.Every version comes with VSC and 6 airbags.

• totti on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Dear Honda,

No need to increase the Air-bag to get more sale in malaysia. Car in malaysia is damn expensive.

If you want to become top seller in Malaysia, Just sell the lowest specification of accord at RM 119K OTR with 2 air-bag and you will be having the top sale all season.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • don’t add also wrong, add also wrong

damm u kibod warriors lol… or toyota drivers ?

• Corporal on Aug 06, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Totally agree with you. Malaysians just can’t be satisfied with anything. Always condemn and complain for no reason.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:16 pm

100% disagreed.

I think 99% complaint is about the price, pay more get less.

If pay less get less, nobody would complaint.

Like if u agreed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Jimmy on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Good move. Thank you Mazda6 and Nissan.
    There are always first steps everywhere. So we hope in the next decade, 7 airbags become standard in all vehicles above RM100k. And hopefully in 2030, it is 9 airbags or 12 airbags. Omit those paddle shift, auto this auto that items for safety equipments.

• Bro, i think u r too optimistic, in year 2050 is more likely if it is same govt.

• Monolith on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Preve ada 6 airbag for exec and premium x naik harga pon siap ada esc,abs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 5:46 pm

A long overdue upgrade if you ask me.

Well it is good that Honda is going to do it, and they should do the same for the Civic too.

This minor change does change the game a bit, in the sense that for me, the Accord now can actually be recommended, and is no longer on my so-so list. It is dead reliable, decent performance, good interior space and looks quite good too.

But still, the Mazda6 and 508 remain on top of my recommend list, cause of the sheer tech in the Mazda and the 508’s French luxury which is a class above.

• GTR36 (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:04 am

Not agreeing with you on this. When you sit in a Mazda6 2.5, you free wow! cos your heart will be set alight with its nice leather seats, dark interior and all that tech switches, red lightings and sunroof. Def driver’s car but after the drive you feel that something’s missing, due to harshness on the road and cornerings which you will less luxurious when compared to the 2.4L Accord which may not be so sporty like but you feel like a towkay in it. Serious IMO you feel different like Manager and Exec different. The 508 is something like the Mazda, all the buttons in the car and hard-working 1.6L turbo engine and the aircon that cant keep you cool.

Anyway, that’s how I feel..lol!

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Hmm probably different taste I guess. I loved the diesel 508 GT actually (tried both the GT then the 1.6T – bad move cause the GT is so effortless).

For me the thing which put me off the Mazda6 was the lack of any form of MZD Connect as per on the Mazda3. The touchscreen is not that nice anymore when you see what Mazda can do with MZD Connect. As for the leather, the GT 508 comes with a nicer colour and better grain finish, felt the Mazda had that rubber-like aka BMW’s rubbish Dakota leather while the 508 had something that resembled the much nicer BMW Merino Leather. The 508GT did come with quad zone aircon that performed pretty well, I have seen worse…

Have to agree, the Accord will feel really like a big boss car though.

• iskhalifah (Member) on Aug 06, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Why don’t the standard Accord 2.0 and all Civic models get the same safety upgrade?

• Denaihati on Aug 06, 2014 at 9:30 pm

not see yet proton make merdeka promotion.
    Good news if Honda Accord 2.4 to be upgraded to six airbags, pay more for safe car.

• limahpek on Aug 06, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Ooiii… Honda Marketing Executive, if you read this, please la equip the CRV 2.0 with 6 airbags!! You have a good car but poorly equipped.. Cost factor outweight safety? The whole team ought to be fired immediately!

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 12:10 am

They only upgrade the 2.4? That is sad. All versions should have a minimum of 6. Come on, this is the D segment. Other countries A segment base spec come with 6…

• Boycott all D-segment cars without VSC & 6 airbags. Honda Accord shd hv both in d std 2L… like d new Teana.

Both Teana’s & Accord’s performance suck tho. Camry is eveb worse. Better to buy Mazda 6 or Passat (gearbox prob notwithstanding).

• mmmmm on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:09 am

why thailand 2.4 cbu have adaptive cruise control? i dont care la 6 airbag(4 is enough). more siao if hit a bit then airbag keluar. The replacement is not cheap!

WHY DOES CUSTOMER IN D SEGMENT HAVE TO BEG FOR FEATURE THAT ALREADY THERE ELSEWHERE AND PAY PREMIUM SHIT?

i only buy the last facelift for this model. My money…i want honda to worship me like god!!

• AALUN on Aug 07, 2014 at 1:50 pm

K5 more specs.. best safety. most handsome n less price. the best choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Johnny honda on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:23 pm

kia is a decent car in the terms of the built up but the drive is boring. they need more engineers to increase the driving pleasure. then again its subjective.

• Johnny honda on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:21 pm

Better stay away from Honda. I have the 8th gen. loads of problem and after the rebadging the agents are quoting btw 70-80k for my 3 yr old accord. sakit bro. Honda dun really give a shit about their buyers and their cars are problematic. just sharing my exp. up to you guys to judge.