Bugatti Veyron – wild 1,500 hp successor due in 2016

veyron replacement acr

Word on the grapevine suggests that the Bugatti Veyron EB 16.4’s successor, slated to debut in 2016, will be that bit faster – the problem will be to see if it really stacks up to what’s claimed.

Autocar reports that Bugatti’s insiders say that the new car (as visualised by the publication, above) could well do 286 mph (or 460 km/h) and have a 0-100 km/h time of 2.3 seconds, based on current computer simulations.

As if the 1,184 hp found in the current car’s Super Sport configuration isn’t enough, the new one is set to have 1,500 ponies running off a hybrid powertrain using the same quad-turbo 8.0 litre W16 engine in place now, and this will be paired with a seven-speed dual-clutch transmission and multi-plate-clutch, four-wheel drive system.

Transformers_4_03

The Veyron’s 268 mph (431 km/h) top speed, achieved through a Super Sport version, was already a bit of a stretch to obtain, given the limitations of the tyres then. With the new one, the publication says that unless tyre tech can keep up, the road-going rubber could well disintegrate before the new vehicle reaches its maximum speed.

Like the Veyron, the new Bugatti will feature a carbon-fibre monocoque and seats two in a highly luxurious cabin, complete with all the very latest in connectivity tech. Production is expected to be limited to around 450 units.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Wow, look futuristic!!!
    2.3sec from 0-100km/h is crazy!
    As long as it’s n

• Vader (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Wow, look futuristic!!!
    2.3sec from 0-100km/h is crazy!
    As long as it’s not UMWT, it will have new technologies!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Same L0rrr on Aug 07, 2014 at 1:20 pm

This is what we talking about when you come to high speed cornering, smoke others, leave others in dust.

With the pathetic Iswara, Saga, Persona, Satria, Waja, Wira (ALL of them have no VSC, mostly not even airbags) on the roads, put everyone in danger, syok sendiri with the flowery handling… I also feel pity for you guys.

Got money, buy a Bugatti; no money, go buy EA Need for Speed: Rival (Around RM100). Maybe your life worth nothing but don’t endanger other drivers on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 36
    • Conrad on Aug 07, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Sorry, what are you trying to say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:32 pm

If you want to speed, get a REAL sport cars or get a PC racing game.

Stop driving the outdated junk Proton (mostly no airbags and definitely no VSC) and keep on imagine in the car that you can smoke this smoke that. You only endanger others on the road.

Still dun understand? Want me send you the phone no of British Council for your english class?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
        • hahahhaha! i laughed so hard at your reply to the hodor above

• Lorat on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Because you’re trying to compare Proton with a Bugatti, a supercar.
          So, again, what are you trying to say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
          • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Why can’t compare Proton? proud of malaysia.
            Suprima and Preve can smoke this bugatti(pergi mati) any time.
            Prove by Tun DrM comfirm himself Global brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • Samad Jain on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:26 pm

proton name always get stinks no matter what is compared with it.

• Conrad on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Yes, please share the phone number.

Before you do, note that –
          you can’t have “a” and “cars” in your sentence structure. Singular to describe Plural?

Why do you presume other ppl drive junk Proton? No meaning in the message.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Vios, lord of all cars. And it ‘has’ VSC ….

• Burong on Aug 07, 2014 at 1:36 pm

This is state of the art. Show off your wealth and push the engineering to the limit.

• droll on Aug 07, 2014 at 1:48 pm

it’s not just the tyres, I recall the rims also have to be changed ever 2 tyre changes to ensure integrity of some seal.

what an insane car!

oh yeah here it is http://www.motortrend.com/roadtests/exotic/1206_2013_bugatti_veyron_grand_sport_vitesse_first_drive/

“Michelin will only allow two sets of tires — they cost about $42,000 a set — be fitted to the Veyron before the rims — $69,000 a set — also have to be replaced to ensure the integrity of the bead seal at high speed.”

• tombyron on Aug 07, 2014 at 2:06 pm

sultan johor sure will get one of this..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:15 pm

already book mine…thanks to money earn from AP

• abuyat123 on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Pembohong! Ko tak mampu nak book even takde tax sekalipun. Ko ingat harga dia cam harga ayam goreng pasar malam ke? Get the fact.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Just buy Proton no AP tax and import tax build quality comfirm by Tun DrM.
      AP system is good for Gov can help improve automotive in Malaysia.
      Thanks to AP system we can drive a car like Suprima and Preve.
      Toyota is for uncle’s.

• Josh Ling on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:18 pm

and i thought bugatti will be closed down after the production of veryron ended. seems i was wrong. bugatti is still very much alive! really wish they could come up with some ultra luxury limo like they used to tease few years back.

• mmaker on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Just press Start Engine button and it already uses 1 litre of petrol. Push gear to D and you already use 2 litres of petrol

• Mirzan Mahathir on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:55 pm

this I like!

• niterunner99 on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:58 pm

next super duper special special version, they’ll put a jet enjine on top…0-100km/hr?…TBA.

• jackchaivoonchoon on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:42 pm

My BMW quad turbo can smoke this without flexing muscle.Should I trade in my Z5 to this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • rambo on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:59 pm

finally..the car i’ve been waiting for all these years. You see…i was too late in booking the earlier version but the dealer promised me the new facelifted version will be mine. Now that it’s here, i can’t wait to drive this beauty to pasar malam near my house and “action” to my neighbors

• ecu shop monstermax on Aug 07, 2014 at 6:40 pm

bugatti veyron tyre from michelin, michelin use rubber to produce tyre for this supercar..

rubber is taken from..malaysia…

• anakjambi on Aug 07, 2014 at 6:55 pm

cant wait to drive this car to pasar malam to make other people jealous of my wealth.

• Mr Curious on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:28 pm

Where you wanna go? Moon?

• lalalalilu on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:10 pm

I guess this is Bugatti’s answer to the new hennessey

• Sam Loo (used kimchi) on Aug 09, 2014 at 10:34 am

I bought this for my maid to go pasar in the morning.