Ducati 899 Panigale now Thai-assembled – RM89,888!

ducati 899 panigale malaysia

When the Ducati 899 Panigale made its debut at last year’s MotoGP race, it was announced that Naza will be bringing in an ASEAN-assembled version by mid 2014. As promised, here’s the Ducati 899 Panigale from the Italian company’s Thai factory, now on sale in Malaysia.

The reason for Thai-assembly is cost savings from reduced taxes, and the 899 Panigale is now priced at RM93,888, with an exclusive offer of RM89,888 for the first 50 buyers. The Italian-made supermid was going for RM108,000, so the savings are pretty substantial.

The 899 is the younger brother of the 1199 Panigale superbike. Built around a monocoque chassis concept and featuring the new 899 Superquadro L-Twin engine with 148 hp, the bike is said to give riders the best of both worlds by providing the thrill of the flagship model with the refinement of an everyday street bike.

SBK-899-Panigale_2014_Studio_R-W_Combo01_1920x1080.mediagallery_output_image_[1920x1080]

Rider confidence is enhanced through Ducati’s Riding Modes and by combining numerous class-leading tech including the latest-generation sports ABS system, Ducati Traction Control (DTC), Ducati Electronic Suspension (DES), Ducati Quick-Shift (DQS), Ducati’s new race-derived Engine Brake Control (EBC) and Ride-by-Wire (RbW).

Ducati Malaysia also announced that by end 2014, 3S centres will be opened outside of the Klang Valley in Penang, Johor, Kelantan, Pahang, Sabah and Sarawak. Owners can also expect group rides, track days, and trips, all of which are on the cards.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• zeek (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 2:36 pm

An absolute bargain of an Italian superbike. Don’t think I’m ready to trade in my Streetfighter 848 though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • Desmo on Aug 07, 2014 at 2:43 pm

DROOOOLLLLSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS @.@

• amirad on Aug 07, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Ahh… big boys toys. Sexy crotch rocket with handling to match. Ferrari on two wheels.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Proton is the real brand of malaysia no AP tax and import tax. Tun DrM GSC a real global car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 17
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:14 pm

it might be more reliable than the italian made version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Same L0rrr on Aug 07, 2014 at 3:29 pm

If not Proton, we would have the assembly line in Malaysia and create more job opportunities.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 24
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Wow, even a motorcycle having such high end technologies like traction control electronic Suspension, Ducati Quick-Shift (DQS), Ducati’s new race-derived Engine Brake Control (EBC) and Ride-by-Wire (RbW).

As long as its not UMW Toyota, it will having new technologies!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:55 pm

I am sorry if you can’t afford Toyota new technologies (86, hybrids, Lexus etc).

Please work harder then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 47
        • Vader (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Show me and sell me RM35k one year old sportage, K5, sonata, 3008, 5008..
          Additional RM15k for you to build your yard!

• Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:02 pm

No problem. I have 9 units currently in the warehouse. When you free to come Petaling Jaya? You have to wait coz everyday a lot of people checking out our Toyota.

I always impressed by the driver emotion while they learned the RV of kimchi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
        • Fu Shin on Aug 07, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Toyota techmology from 86?

That’s 28 years ago!

• Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:56 am

Don’t talk crap if you have never driven a 86 before.

Google it and study why it is elected by Top Gear UK car of year 2012.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Njb:

even if p1 close shop today, same tax duty xxx% applied. This already included into govt income for administration expenses.

w/o billions taxes duty there will added anotber black hole in my admistration, then where I going to dig this huge $$$ from to close this Black hole?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:31 pm

p1 don make bike FYI..bicycle they do built bicycle name p1 t-bolt n t-sprint (i dont know still produce or not)..

• Tikka on Aug 07, 2014 at 4:12 pm

It is being produced in Thailand. Fyi…Ducati planned to have a assembly line in Malaysia together with Naza but some highly intellectual monkeys decided not to make this happen.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 5:26 pm

when they said that? Ducati plant in thai since 2011 if not mistaken

• Jaybond on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:03 am

While the 899 Panigale is currently is the entry level Ducati superport model, I think they should also explore the possibility of a much lower capacity & more affordable supersport/faired model, maybe specifically for Asian region.Not every Ducati fans could afford a 899 Panigale, and Ducati only offers naked bikes in the 600cc-700cc segment (which again not every Ducati fans is fond of). Ducati should create a 600SS-inspired model!!