Mercedes-Benz C220 CDI AMG Sport passes diesel quality test in Malaysia – demo cars for sale soon

C220CDI-1

If you work in Menara TM and happen to be a car geek, you’d probably have noticed a fleet of W204 C-Class with the AMG Sport kit tucked away in parking bays belonging to Mercedes-Benz Malaysia. The badge on the rear of this particular C-Class fleet is what makes the cars interesting – the badge says C 220 CDI, which indicates a 2.1 litre four-cylinder diesel engine under the hood.

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia hasn’t featured a passenger car with a diesel engine in its line-up for many years. It used to though – the pre-facelift W211 E-Class line-up had a E 270 CDI variant that was packed full of features, including a solar panel on the roof that could power the air-con blowers while the car was parked under the sun so you’d have a nice cool cabin waiting for you when you got back.

Yours truly bought one for just over RM100k off the used car market a few years ago, and it was my first experience owning a diesel car. I was amazed that I could make trips to Johor and back on a single tank with plenty of fuel left over. After that, I was hooked on the instantaneous torque and superior fuel economy, so my next two cars were also diesel cars.

MBC220_Ext_07

Anyway, the days of the E 270 CDI on the showroom floor was in the early 2000s. After that, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia decided to stop selling diesel cars because at that time, our diesel fuel was pre-“Euro” standards, while the new diesel engines that were being developed required something better. Our fuel only became Euro 2M in 2009.

That makes this fleet of C 220 CDIs very interesting, because it marks the potential reintroduction of officially imported Mercedes-Benz passenger diesel cars in Malaysia. Basically, the C 220 CDIs were adapted and prepared for the fuel quality in Malaysia and assembled at MBM’s assembly facility in Pekan.

Yes, these cars are CKD units. They were built for internal testing, and internal testing has officially concluded with positive results. The C 220 CDIs are modified, in that the particulate filter has been removed and a water separator added.

“During the internal test, a cumulative total of almost 400,000 km was covered with absolutely no technical issues. This gives us confidence that diesel variants can be considered in the future, not only to continue support Malaysia’s initiative on becoming an EEV hub, but potentially to also offer customers of parallel import market diesel vehicles in future an alternative for which they get full warranty coverage bought through our authorised dealer network,” said Kai Schlickum, vice president of sales and marketing of Mercedes-Benz Malaysia.

We took a short spin in one earlier today just to have a feel of the car. The 2.1 litre oil burner under the hood produces 170 PS at 3,000 rpm and 400 Nm of torque at 1,400 rpm. A diesel engine is of course going to be louder than a petrol engine, and it certainly made itself heard in the car, but not any more than the engine in this car’s only direct competitor in Malaysia, the BMW 320d.

The massive surge of torque that kicks in just a split second after your right foot calls for it seemed to match perfectly with the 7G-Tronic seven-speed auto gearbox, with each gearshift bringing the engine’s revs right back into the middle of another neck-straining wave of acceleration.

During my 36 km journey from Menara TM in Bangar to MAEPS, where we stopped for a quick photo op session, we consumed just 6.3 litres per 100 km. I would say I drove in what I would consider a fuel efficient manner, but certainly not as though I was trying to win some fuel efficiency contest, as there were bouts of acceleration thrown in here and there wherever necessary to weave my way through Klang Valley’s traffic without ending up getting stuck behind a Sunday driver.

The beautiful thing about diesel engines is that you get up to speed so quickly, thanks to the big wave of torque, then you can just let your car coast along because of a diesel engine’s inherent lack of engine braking – that way, you don’t actually hear your engine that often.

On the way back from MAEPS, I decided to gun the engine a lot more and ended up with a 8.1 litre per 100 km average fuel consumption. I think any attempt to get the fuel consumption of this car up to a petrol car’s 10 litres per 100 km would probably involve driving in a life-threatening manner.

Among the equipment that the diesel W204 gets include an AMG Sport exterior, interior and 18 inch staggered wheels, and adjustable dampers which are 15mm lower. You can refer to CarBase.my for C220 CDI AMG Sport full specifications and equipment, or compare it against the 320d.

So what happens to the fleet cars now, you ask? You can actually buy them, as they will be put under Proven Exclusivity, MBM’s approved pre-owned car programme. These cars are about nine months old on average, and they will get a warranty extension to bring the warranty up to the original four-year unlimited mileage warranty that every new MBM passenger car gets.

The official price for a brand new W204 Mercedes-Benz C 220 CDI with AMG Sport Package Plus is RM290,888 on-the-road without insurance, but we’ve been told that they will go for about RM247k each under the Proven Exclusivity programme.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Impressive that MBM is actually selling these “prototype” cars off under their Proven Exclusivity complete with the 4 year warranty.

Is this a sign that the next gen W205 which is coming real soon will come with a C220 CDI model too, and possibly an E220 CDI in the near future? I do hope so, BMW has owned this premium diesel segment for ages, and with MBM coming in, BMW would have to consider bringing in the diesels, but with a higher toy count, no more bargain basement spec for the diesels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
    • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 07, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Benz is for cronies, only Proton is for Rakyat.
      German trash engine.
      Proton engine for long lasting, single tank from perlis to johor no problem.
      Just buy Proton no AP tax and import tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 81
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:58 am

Please buy more Proton so the cronies can buy these Mercedes. Their Mercedes Audi BMW Lambo Jaguar are depending on you.

After you bought the Proton, you need to visit garage so often, so that the cronies can get their cars upgraded.

End up you are poor and die die stick with Proton, the cronies sit there doing nothing but just collect money only.

For a few to live rich, all Malaysians have to die poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:06 am

Car mention above no need AP or import tax cuz it CKD…

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:46 pm

what nonsense you talking about. MBM also need AP to bring this car in. Next thing you will tell us is that the car has unsur Yahudi dan kita mesti boikot barangan Yahudi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
          • kzm (Member) on Aug 09, 2014 at 9:28 am

The car above obviously CKD..no need AP. Yes MBM still need AP if import new CBU car but not PEKEMA type of AP which cost RM10k/piece…understand?

• fast5 on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:32 am

Can I know which protong model u’re using single tank?
        This really a joke…

• Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:39 am

He is looking at our Toyota Prius and dreaming that is from Proton.

Proton fanboys are really good with Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok Proton 5S lifestyle. Really good.

• no proton on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:01 am

ai yaa..why mention proton here? proton cars..no style, no status, no quality, no power, no money also can buy..no passion lah ..my girlfriendsss banned me from driving proton cars lah..better take LRT, she says.what to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:52 am

lol, you are right. In most people’s eyes, LRT is more style and safer than Proton.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Says a lot about the education in this country.

Protons launched before the Saga with 2 airbags: Really unsafe. Saga so-so… average. Like Vios. Every Proton is safer than its predecessor. Exora sort of ok, Preve/Suprima/GSC are good. Same standard as a continental/Japanese car that is sold in Europe, much better than some Japanese cars sold in Malaysia (who are on the level of older Proton).

You can’t look at a brand and say all cars are safe or not safe. Prius: Safe. Vios: So-so. Avanza: Might as well jump down a bridge.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:02 pm

You are right. I never say Toyota is the safest car in the world neither.

Just because 2 expensive and not popular models has more airbags and VSC, Proton fanboys proudly announce Proton cars are safe.

They choose to forget MOST Proton on the road (Iswara, Persona, Wira, Waja, Saga, Satria) have no VSC, mostly no airbag, no ABS, no BD, no traction control, no crumple zone, nothing shit!

Proton 5S lifestyle, pity them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:41 pm

Your gfsss is buta and no taste because with u, lrt is for sissy’s only real man drive Proton.
          Proton king of road, real King of RV.

• I am rakyat but i drives BMW. U think all rakyat are poor? Please la. Not only work hard but work smart too.

• fast5 on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Well say work smart and work hard that’s we need to ignore high praise self protong.

• Jules on Aug 07, 2014 at 8:49 pm

I hope the testing of 400k km covered is the total of the whole fleet. If it’s per car…. The price they are selling is ridiculous even if it’s with warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 17
    • Choko on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:14 am

Yeah… If each of the car’s mileage is 400k. It’s crazy to sell with that price even with the warranty. Imagine spending at rm 200k for a 400k mileage car.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:06 pm

If they test it for 400k over 3 cars, how is 120k per engine supposed to prove long term reliability? Do 400k on one engine… Mercedes diesels should last a million km.

I’m a bit surprised by the lack of engine braking, because the diesels I’ve driven and that I remember do have rather strong engine braking. Apparently that is not always the case though…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Paul Tan on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Where did you get the 3 cars number? It was 24 cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
      • AcerMan on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:41 pm

The 3 cars number he got should be assume from the first picture in this article where there are 3 black ones parked together. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • waters on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:59 am

So each car went through about 16,000 kilometres? About 6-8 months of normal ownership.

Well, I should be rest assured that my car won’t fail for 6 months after I buy it! Fantastic!

The 400,000 number is a gimmick. Doesn’t mean a thing if it’s spread across 24 cars.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:54 am

Agreed. They’re not even through a major service yet, on average. At least push each car towards its first major service interval. Or better yet, the second.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Ah, must have overlooked that. If it is 24 cars, that is even worse. Just a gimmick. No matter how lousy the fuel is, how much dirt it leaves in the engine, it might not have built up enough to get to a failure. For all we know 15k km later all of these cars could need a new engine. Test the cars for 400000 km each. With proper diesel that should not be a problem. See how it is with Malaysian diesel.

• driver on Aug 11, 2014 at 7:51 am

Did they test it using the biodiesel: mixture with palm oil?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:18 pm

love the red belts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:36 pm

might be reliable for the warrenty period , how about after that….?
    unless thy r betting that euro4 fuel is coming soon…

• Jimmy on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:41 pm

Congratulations.
    Guys, the new C-class is coming.

• AcerMan on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:44 pm

I think having tested 400k km cumulative over 24 cars does not prove any reliability. On average each cars only run about 17k km which is too low to assume the reliability. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • It was not really meant to test the reliability of the car per se.

It was to test the reliability of the engine using our diesel.

15,000 -20,000 km range on 24 cars, i guess it is already pretty conservative testing.

• IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:36 am

Did BMW did the same test before they selling diesel? And they claim their diesel wont have black smoke.. ask your CEO go behind my exhaust and let me show you got smoke or not.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 3:59 pm

I had no doubt that the engine will survive occasional or short term use of lousy fuel, the big question is what happens if you use it all the time, for many years. A Mercedes diesel should easily last 500000 km, but what if on Euro2 diesel it only lasts 50000 km? 100000 km? Would you want a car where the engine fails so fast? You might be just out of your warranty period, and suddenly you need to rebuild the engine (good luck with mechanics who haven’t seen a modern diesel engine yet) or a new one.

I imagine the dirt can build up in the engine, and after 20000 km it isn’t enough yet to cause problems, but after 100000 km it is.

This testing seems like designed to calm down potential customers, when they really have no clue.

• notsotoyota on Aug 07, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Really enjoy paul tan’s writings. Paul, please write more often as we truly miss ur style of writings. Also not to forget to update the post on.weekends too.

Thanks Paul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • I have the E270 CDI, 60K+ km.. This car had alot problem. Bought it New Unit. Initially the engine too rough and alot black smoke out, then SC said need to update the computer, after that brake failure for twice ! Already sold and replace with 528i. No more german diesel for me ! but the super high torque is damn fun to drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • sick&tired on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:16 pm

Does it have adblue? Some of the grey import mercedes diesel powered vehicles have adblue.

Btw nice to see mercedes bringing in diesel powered vehicles. Give bmw a run for its money

• tishaban on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Paul who do I contact if I’m interested in one? :) I searched the Mercedes Benz Malaysia website and their pre-owned website is showing zero cars of any cars available.

Tempted to get one, but the W205 is coming out very soon too…

• itchy on Aug 07, 2014 at 10:48 pm

how do i get to buy this demo car under proven exclusivity programme?

• IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:41 am

You have to go to one of their dealership and ask for it. I saw some of their showroom have a Proven Exclusive banner. I think you have to be quick, coz only 24 units.

• seancorr on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:22 am

Wow RM290k for a CKD diesel…that’s asking a lot. I hope it comes with more goodies than say compared to a 320d M-Sport which comes in around RM30k cheaper or a demo 520d for RM30k more!

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Overseas a diesel is always significantly more expensive than a similar petrol engine, perhaps cause they are more expensive to make. The only way to make it cheaper than a petrol is to strip away all the equipment.

• klguy on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:43 am

any guy pay 2xx,xxx to 300,000 loan/cash for saving some petrols?

• You didn’t read the article, did you?

Quote: ‘The massive surge of torque that kicks in just a split second after your right foot calls for it seemed to match perfectly with the 7G-Tronic seven-speed auto gearbox, with each gearshift bringing the engine’s revs right back into the middle of another neck-straining wave of acceleration.’

• ..and 400nm of torque from 1,500rpm. thats huge amount of twist! and only using 6-8l/100km under normal/hard real world driving…great!

• truely malaysian on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:29 am

Same goes with diesel driven pick up which is a lot more cheaper, you can enjoy endless torque with engine breaking everyday.

• The Real Sammy Value on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:47 am

Those RED seat belts look so out of place in such a car.

Don’t buy this car as the new model would be arriving shortly.

Ugly rims as well!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Josh Ling on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:14 am

this car is considerable at RM220k, but if really has to get for RM291k, i would say look for something else.

• Clear stock model, Mari mari mari…….

• gaviny on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:12 am

220k for used thrashed and test car?

won’t be surpised the warranty will have fine print covering only defects AFTER being sold, no defects occurred during test phase that were not fixed.

Again German marques trying to pull a fast one on the public, honestly these cars are only fit for Mercedes own company fleet use / courtesy cars (sounds good right) ,not for sale to public at ‘discounted’ pricing of only 220k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • It is way better than BMW Malaysia selling their trashed defensive driving fleet for like 10% off only

• gaviny' on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:43 am

German marques aren’t all that different from each other, 1st sales, 2nd profit, 10th customer

• IKnowUDunnoIKnow (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:46 am

Please let us know which car maker is: 1st customer, 2nd work for joy,….9th sales, 10th profit.

• bttr than BMW 2 years only warranty…merc are giving a 4 yrs warranty just like their brand new cars.

• gaviny on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:19 am

Perodua !!

• I love diesel. My Ford Focus TDCi uses RM64 from Penang to Singapore or 32 litre diesel. I don’t care people say it sound like a taxi but go inside the car, it I serene like normal car.

• Simon Ng on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:38 am

Menara TM’s P3 car park one of the best kept secret for spotting brand new Mercedes. My biggest surprise was spotting an AMG C63 parked outside of the building ready to be loaded onto trailer with its engine running.

• Once saw a C63 AMG white color at CCB PJ.Was told that its belong to that particular somebody.Cant mention name here.
      But the SA said there’s 2 unit in Malaysia.

and yes, both owned by crony.

• longjaafar on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:01 am

We trumpet to the whole world that we are a car manufacturing nation with our fancy NAP and AP and this and that..
    And yet we can’t get our act together and have decent diesel.
    It’s an irony that JB has to stock EURO 4 diesel, imported from Singapore, to sell to our lorries that are crossing over.
    It’s a real shame….

• Quote: ‘The massive surge of torque that kicks in just a split second after your right foot calls for it seemed to match perfectly with the 7G-Tronic seven-speed auto gearbox, with each gearshift bringing the engine’s revs right back into the middle of another neck-straining wave of acceleration.’

That’s actually a nice way of mentioning that there is a throttle lag experienced.

• sammy_no_value on Aug 08, 2014 at 2:18 pm

not excited. basically this design is very old already.

no thanks To Mercedes

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 09, 2014 at 2:45 am

Saw the all new C-Class (surprisingly) in Hanoi last week.

Just wonder which sorhai will wanna get this outgoing model

• Air Jordan 14 on Feb 26, 2015 at 8:01 pm

Bibir hitam berkumis tipis itu menyebut sebaris nama yang telah menghuni hatinya sejak lebih 10 tahun yang lalu. sa.yang. jangan menjawab.” jawabnya tersekat-sekat tapi betul juga bunyi sebutannya.Angin tiada ribut tiada tiba-tiba sahaja taufan melanda apa masalahnya ini?Mereka masak benar akan sikap ku yang perengus.a car came upthe driveway. “In this kind of weather, Nasib baik aku tak ada apa-apa appointment tau. Kalau kau pekerja aku dah lama aku pecat kau Eh ni siapa pulak” tanya Farra bersahaja Dia memang begitu tidak berasa segan dengan sesiapa walaupun mereka baru sahaja berkenalan Airina pula sudah menunduk sudah dapat mengagak Farra pasti berleter kepadanya“Harris. “Tak. Aku tak boleh lemah Semua ni harus berakhir.
    Air Jordan 14 http://www.londonslearning.co.uk/evenfebmonday_9.asp?air-jordan-14-c-25.html