Bugatti Veyron Ettore Bugatti – last legend revealed

Bugatti Veyron Ettore Bugatti-02

This is the sixth and last car in the Les Légendes de Bugatti (Bugatti legends) series, the Bugatti Veyron Ettore Bugatti. It honors Ettore Arco Isidoro Bugatti, founder and patron of the brand, and is based on the historical Type 41 Royale. As with the five Legends before this, only three units will be produced, at €2.35 million (RM10.1 million) nett each.

“Ettore Bugatti always strived for the creation of a total work of art. His ideas and vehicles set the foundation stone for an automobile brand that was lauded then and now as the most valuable in the world. Ettore Bugatti himself is a legend. It was clear from the start that we should dedicate the final Legends model to him personally,” said Wolfgang Dürheimer, president of Bugatti.

Bugatti Veyron Ettore Bugatti-03

Ettore Bugatti was one of the most important figures of the automotive world in the 20th century. He combined his family’s rich artistic heritage with his technological ideas and succeeded in creating the foundation for a design language that shaped the brand for years to come. The brand’s values of Art, Forme, Technique define this unique approach. Two of the best known cars from the era are the Type 57 SC Atlantic and the Type 41 Royale.

The design is based on a 1932 Type 41 Royale with the chassis number 41111 and sports a “yin-yang” colour split. The front part is made of hand-polished aluminium and finished with a clear coating. The vehicle’s rear, sill panels and A-pillar trim are finished with dark-blue exposed carbon.

The polished, diamond-cut wheels were specially developed for this car, while the Bugatti horseshoe and EB rear logo shine out in platinum. The signature of Ettore Bugatti is engraved into the tank and oil cap, and painted in silver.

Bugatti Veyron Ettore Bugatti-04

Inside, Bugatti is using two types of leather for the first time. Traditional calf’s leather – here in natural Brun Cavalier brown – is used throughout the cabin.

Parts that are frequently touched by hand including the steering wheel, gear lever, door handles, centre console armrest and door handle recesses are wrapped in exclusive Cordovan leather. Bugatti is using this skilfully created leather (the tanning process alone takes around six months) for the first time.

The exterior’s blue exposed carbon is present again in the cabin, such as on the door trim and cover of the rear centre box, complemented by the seats’ dark-blue seams. You won’t miss the platinum-coated dancing elephant on the cover of the rear centre box. Originally sculpted by Ettore’s brother, Rembrandt, it’s reminiscent of the hood ornament of the Type 41 Royale.

Bugatti Veyron Ettore Bugatti-01

Other regular Legends features have also been included, namely the leather-clad insert in the centre console extension which bears the Les Légendes de Bugatti nameplate as well as the door sills bearing the portrait and signature of Ettore Bugatti.

Based on the Bugatti Veyron 16.4 Grand Sport Vitesse, the Legends (Black Bess, Rembrandt Bugatti, Jean-Pierre Wimille, Jean Bugatti and Meo Costantini were the five before this) are powered by a 1,200 PS/1,500 Nm 8.0 litre 16-cylinder engine. With a 0 to 100 km/h time of 2.6 seconds and 408.84 km/h top speed with the roof down, the Vitesse is the world’s fastest production roadster.

As mentioned, RM10.1 million (before Malaysian taxes) is all it takes to own this masterpiece.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:48 am

I can only say Wah Lao eh…

The RM10.1 mil pre-tax price tag (About 50mil after tax?) is simply outrageous. Much like many other things about the Veyron.

The choice of material for the interior just oozes luxury and class though I am not a big fan of brown leathers in the interior so I am unable to fully appreciate this piece of art.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Talk so much is no money just buy Proton no AP tax and import tax.

Proton car is a Rakyat car.
      Suprima and Preve can smoke this bugatti any time.
      Proton build quality Tun DrM promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 31
      • blvcktint on Aug 10, 2014 at 5:18 am

come on ah beng supporterrr…it that your best? i just feel disappointed…you should come out worse than this..didnt feel the climax at all. all out for toyota..and just bash and trash that damn proton mannnn…

• The most stupid human being in the world – Congatulation to u for wining this title.

• kzm buda bodo (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:55 pm

My friend kzm told me this car ada elemen Yahudi dan kita mesti boikot barangan buatan Yahudi ataupun ada unsur yahudi

• Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:51 am

Get the Veyron to play at Sepang track or get the EA Need for Speed: Rival (RM100++) to play at home if you want to speed.

Don’t use your lousy Iswara/Persona/Wira/Satria/Waja with no VSC, mostly no airbags, no ABS, no BD and noisy exhaust pipe (what for? Can’t wait to tell everyone you are driving Proton??) to speed on the public road and endanger others.

Your life may worth nothing, but don’t create trouble to others.

Drive safe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Only safe people drive Proton.
      5 star safety comfirm.
      Proton is still King of road and King of RV.
      All German car and conti Japan is idiot driver, smart people drive Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 30
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Go ahead and proudly proclaim yourself “smart people” then.

Proton drivers are so SMART that they will easily earn super VIP access to garage/service centres along with their almighty Proton.

We can’t visit garage that often with our Toyota, we have nothing broken to fix “unfortunately”.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Proton is for the poor people of Malaysia. Those who cannot afford a Toyota are losers in Malaysia who do not work hard and spend their time just surfing the Internet in the office and looking at girls.

Remember, you are poor not because of your luck or the government is unkind or what, you are poor because you are plain lazy. Whilst others are working, you are sleeping in the office or at home.

If you work hard and stop looking at girls in the office, you will be able to afford a Toyota and shed this low life Proton car of yours. You may even have money to buy a Veyron one day.

So, stop blaming the world and work harder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • LeJohnZ on Aug 09, 2014 at 7:10 pm

So i drive a mercedes benz and you drive a Toyota is because I’m more hardworking and you’re a loser compared to me ?

Come on, stop discrimination. People like proton is their problem la. Who are you to call people losers ?

• Ah Beng's neighbour on Aug 11, 2014 at 8:53 pm

yay we hate ah beng..u so noty ah

• forest the tree on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:53 am

how much with tax price? 30mil? 40mil?
    Better buy private helicopter or jet.

• Usavich on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:04 pm

where to park the helicopter if wan shopping at pavillion ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • forest the tree on Aug 08, 2014 at 12:49 pm

can bugati fly over traffic jam?

• Jason on Aug 08, 2014 at 2:34 pm

What the point of flying over traffic jam and you can’t even park for shopping. Hahaha.
          Hanging in the sky, looking at the traffic?

• Usavich on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:53 am

How many years warranty? no mention. Got 5 years free service? no mention.

• Special edtion, and then special limited edition, and then special, special limited edition, and then special limited edition of the limited special edition.
    Man, Vw is milking the cr@p out of these, did they take inspiration from proton?

• sharuz on Aug 08, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Better buy preve lorr..way much coolerr..

• jackchaivoonchoon on Aug 09, 2014 at 4:06 pm

I will not trade in my BMW Z5 for this.

• Samad Jain on Aug 10, 2014 at 11:52 am

So many specel edition….Specel this and that

Reminds me of the tricky-trade of burger daging specel sold at the roadside.