Infiniti Q50 2.0t now in showroom, Merc turbo, RM249k

Infiniti Q50 2.0T Standard- 1

Say hello to the Infiniti Q50 2.0t, the variant that will spearhead Q50 sales in Malaysia. With a Mercedes-derived 2.0 litre turbocharged engine under the hood, this is the first and only Infiniti model in our market that doesn’t come with a large naturally-aspirated engine, immediately raising its chances in a competitive segment dominated by the BMW 3 Series and Mercedes-Benz C-Class.

This writer was driving past the Infiniti Center on Jalan Tun Razak when he spotted two fresh units of the compact exec beside the striking red Q50 3.5 Hybrid Sport that we recently tried (stay tuned for the test drive report). Made a loop for another look and spotted 2.0t badges on the cars, which led to these pics. Fresh to the showroom, I was told.

Infiniti Q50 2.0T Premium- 24

The Q50 2.0t is powered by a 2.0 turbo engine with 211 hp and 350 Nm of torque from 1,250 to 3,500 rpm. The direct-injection four-pot is paired to a seven-speed automatic gearbox with manual mode and Downshift Rev Matching. The drivetrain is from Mercedes-Benz, and can be found in the W212 E-Class facelift. The upcoming W205 C 200 is expected to carry this combo as well.

Zero to 100 km/h is done in 7.2 seconds and top speed is 245 km/h. That’s comparable to the 184 hp/270 Nm BMW 320i, which is good for 7.3 seconds and 235 km/h. The W204 Mercedes C200 does 7.8 seconds and 235 km/h, so they’re all in the same ballpark. Like the German duo, the Q50 is a rear-wheel drive sedan. Claimed combined fuel consumption is 13.6 km/l

Infiniti Q50 2.0T Standard- 17

The Q50 2.0t Standard, at RM248,800 on-the-road without insurance, looks like good value for a CBU Japan import, and that’s before you scan the very decent spec sheet.

Auto LED headlamps, keyless entry and push start, 10-way powered driver’s seat with memory (8-way for passenger), power steering adjustment, dual LCD screens, rear view monitor and tyre pressure monitor (TPMS) are all standard. Customers can choose from three leather colours – black, grey and beige – to go with the nicely-textured “Kacchu” aluminium trim.

Should that be not enough, Infiniti is offering a RM30,000 upgrade package that includes 18-inch alloys (with obvious Enkei branding, 17-inch on Standard), a 14-speaker Bose sound system and Direct Adaptive Steering, among other things.

The latter “steer by wire” system is the headlining tech act in the Q50. Operation is entirely electric, though there’s still a mechanical link for the direct steering in the form of a safety clutch – our man Jonathan likes this pioneering system, and you can read his review of the Q50 Hybrid here.

Both the 2.0t Standard and 2.0t Premium have the regular Q50 face, as opposed to the Q50 3.5 Hybrid’s “Sport” appearance, which comes with a more aggressive front bumper and 19-inch alloys. We’re expecting the Hybrid to be priced at under RM400k, which means that it will be a rare sight. The 2.0t on the other hand, is competitively kitted and priced, and has the right drivetrain to take on the mainstream Germans.

Infiniti Q50 2.0T Standard

Infiniti Q50 2.0T Premium

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• gaviny on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:20 pm

sweet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
    • Otak Udang on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:10 pm

It is silly to buy this car at RM249. Even today, you can get a virtually brand new 2013 BMW 520i or a 2013 Mercedes E250 for RM250k. I know because my immediate neighbour just bought a 2013 520i with just 6000KM on it plus warranty left for RM250k. The car was then 10 months old. Very good price considering a brand new 2014 BMW 520i is RM370k.

So, why should anyone pay so much of money on a car, like the Lexus, that people think is just another Japanese car on the road?

You come out of a Lexus ES250 or think Infiniti, nobody even bothers to look at you. There is NO status element. Its just the same par as a Camry or an Accord.

You see, Lexus and Infiniti is worth buying in overseas cause they are priced far far below German luxury brands. But in Malaysia, their prices are very close to German luxury brands. So, there is no incentive paying so much to get “another Japanese car”

Lexus and Infiniti are still new in Malaysia. Nobody wants it in the 2nd hand market. That is why buyers of Lexus and Infiniti lose a lot when they are selling their cars. For example, 2013 Lexus LS460L, top of the range car can be bought for RM350,000. Brand new RM800k. In 2 years, car can drop nearly RM500,000!

This Infiniti will be the same. Wait one year, you can buy this car for RM150,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 155
      • show me the link that 2013 LS460L that sell 350k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 9
      • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:35 pm

No money yet talk so much.
        Proton the only true brand. Wait for GSC storm the world.
        Proton Suprima and Preve can always smoke this car even bugatti lose, infiniti no changes at all.
        Buy Proton talk less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 57
        • Sama Lor on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:18 am

No money can only talk Proton.

Proton’s awesome fuel consumption and build quality will suck whatever money you have left.

You think you save more with Proton? Think again.

Buy Proton, get poorer, of course talk less. Ah Beng is right on this.

• samelorstpd on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Desperate enough to bad mouth Proton. Vios cannot get those brilliant FC numbers in city. More or less like 1.6l car FC. Duh.

• gaviny on Aug 08, 2014 at 7:39 pm

first, everyone has a 5 series, that sucks, second for 240k I will be damned if im buying second hand it will be me who is going to put that dent, print my bum on that seat.

third it’s looks kill the 5series dead, fourth it’s CBU.

and fifth only those that cannot really afford are worried about what else can I get for same price, if I like I buy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
      • You punched holes in your own logic. BMW 520 in year fall from RM370K to RM250K.. why?? Because
        BMW is notorious for high maintenance cost and reliability below that of Japanese and even modern American brands. Some sucker paid RM370K, and hates it so much that he is so desperate as to be willing to lose RM120K on that P.O.S. after only 6,000km.

It’s simple. You want to show you can spend and afford to throw money away, sure, buy BMW. Ther are lots of people with lots of cash who don’t need to show that though.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
        • JB_KIA on Aug 09, 2014 at 7:48 am

his nick tells…

• My previous 3years second hand Bm E60 I bought at Sg $140k, new car at Sg$260/-. I thought I was lucky, then sold at Sg $80k after 4years, coz it sucks so much I paid $30k+ to fix it. That’s why beamer sold so low. Now I’m driving a E250 coupe, care free, still can sell $150k after I bouth it $170k 2years ago. Basically if it was Merc as the only care free car among German, I would go for Lexus/ Infiniti, skipping Beamer and Audi.

• JB_KIA on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:40 pm

dun mislead the public. U can sell at gd price now all becoz of high COE price as compared to 2 years ago…oh, btw, u sell merc?

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 09, 2014 at 1:59 pm

No wonder u call ur self otak udang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Well, be more open minded. More flexible in life. Be unique. Some people even buy cash land rover 1980s for their hobby, RM50,000.
        Is up to you yourself what car you want to drive. You have the choice to choose. Not necessary people must follow your opinion.

• theanswer on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:20 pm

only msian think that lexus or infinity is same as par as accord(teana to be exact) n camry. the only actual reason i think that lexus/infinity cant sell because of their big engine. now infinity start thinking by using downsized turbo that will give good power and efficiency.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:49 pm

But Beemers costs around 6X to maintain plus sui kwan and kwai tai all the time.

Infinitis are so popular in Taiwan that I must they they even outsold Lexus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 10
      • qwerty on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:04 pm

Infiniti outsold Lexus in Taiwan?! When on earth did that happen?

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Sometimes you wonder why so many Beemer owners sell the cars off after 6 months?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • Gaviny on Aug 09, 2014 at 7:55 am

another reason to buy this is, self driving,! No more highway jam horrors

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zY_zqEmKV1k

• JDMftw on Aug 09, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Woots !

Since Subaru didnt bring eyesight technology here, at least we have an “auto car”

• Kl roads where can work. Mrt fellas keep painting yellow and white lines everywhere. So messed up. Systerm failure Error 404 road not found

• gaviny on Aug 10, 2014 at 2:07 pm

lol, if you think that’s for city driving, you shouldn’t be buying and Infiniti or even driving at all

• brazbuz on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Its time for lexus to fitted its IS with NX new 2.0 turbocharged engine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Heng Lee on Aug 09, 2014 at 2:34 am

Mercedes won’t sell them a turbocharged engine. Maybe Lexus has to ask Mini?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
      • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 09, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Didnt u know that Lexus is taking Turbo engines from BMW? Go check out the Lexus Lf Nx turbo..

• kelso on Aug 10, 2014 at 4:44 pm

No they’re not… even the turbo unit is developed in house. Top up lah sikit knowledge

http://www.carbuyer.com.sg/news/314-6-facts-about-the-new-lexus-turbo-engine

• theanswer on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:22 pm

yeap..it’s a must for lexus. toyota put too much effort on hybrid.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Nice, as long as it is sushi cars, it will have RV and reliability.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:16 pm

I got some advice for Proton buyers. Proton is for the poor people of Malaysia. Those who cannot afford a Toyota or an Infiniti are losers in Malaysia who do not work hard and spend their time just surfing the Internet in the office and looking at girls.

If you work hard and stop looking at girls in the office, you will be able to afford this Infiniti and shed this low life Proton car of yours. Or worse case scenario, you can buy a Camry, the best car in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 79
      • Titus on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:39 pm

You so rich, don’t talk a lot la, dumbass.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Toyota just go back to Japan.
        Gov should terminate UMW and let only Proton in m’sia.
        Japan conti all stupid expensive AP tax and import tax and excusis tax.
        Proton win all can even ran down GTR.
        Single tank can go whole m’sia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
        • fast5 on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Thanks to Father of AP system (real owner of protong) that’s y all the import car being tax so high.
          (AP tax, excuses duty tax, import tax and lastest EEV 100% tax)
          Read more history before comment.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 10:24 pm

See the typical Proton fanboys mindset.

You don’t buy Proton, you get out from Malaysia.

You are not Proton, you get out from Malaysia.

They really think Malaysia belonged to their grandpa only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Your grandpa own Malaysia? Who is your grandpa?

LOL

• un member on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Sam Loo and Sam Lorrr have one thing in common. They are poor men trying to act rich and they are not well educated. So they were forced to work in the only job you can do with a Tadika qualification – a Toyota salesman. I pity them, sorry as**s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • lolll

• kzm (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:42 pm

i like the dual LCD screen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
  • kzm buda bodo (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:42 pm

kzm will come in and say don’t buy this car because the engine got unsur Yahudi. He will tell us to boikot branagan buatan atau ada unsur Yahudi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 33
    • Hei buda bodo. Ur bodo for bringing up this boycott issue. Concentrate on the car issue boy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Owh great, it has arrived finally. Planning to buy this in 2 years time. Decent specs with decent pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • pmg4lktan (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 4:50 pm

good to know there’s an upgrade package for 30k…anyone think it is worthwhile the upgrade?

• this, new c class or subaru’s new wrx….hmmm decision decision..

• lexus if fitted with their new 2.0t is tempting too

• theanswer on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:23 pm

if u can mix subaru wrx with c class and infinity..u definitely didnt know what you’re talking about.

• kvsual on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:00 pm

The front does looks like New Nissan Teana
    Rear looks bit like Mazda 6.
    But interior much better than both of them.

• atachi on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:09 pm

I love Infiniti, but too bad, they have only 1 center in KL.

• tommy on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:02 pm

it is only one sales showroom in Malaysia,
      but you still can servicing your Infiniti cars out of Klang valley area

• Meenachi Kaili on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:14 pm

finally my bf can buy this car already. I like infitnity coz cannot count like the number of bfs I had. hehehehe. I hard car can go fast. I want to go faster . anyone owning this car can pm me. maybe we go banting for drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • price wise very competitive with new WRX…performance nearly the same but WRX will win the century sprint by a mere second. Max speed is the same. Again, its up to the driver to decide…if u want to look manly (although not that much coz doesn’t have manual tranny)choose WRX…if u want style and look classy go for this Q50

• theanswer on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:26 pm

again..some fella comparing sports luxury and on the road rally bred car. both are not in the same segment laa..u cant get luxury in wrx. if the person is rich enough..he will buy both for different purpose.

• Ah Beng ling on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:18 pm

wah liao why look like Hyundai one. I better buy and lebadge myself liao. 2.0 ah wah can tapau camly and accold ah ??? I no buy la. waiting for accord 2.4 with 6 airbags la. booking next month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Looks really nice and from the pictures, materials look pretty nice too.

If at all you buy this, I would say get it with the aluminium and black leather. Somehow fits the design better.

• Is it just me or did anyone else notice the absence of paddle shifts.its rather surprising that Infiniti has decided to omit this option for Q50.

• Therealmaserati on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Go and the see the review of this car. No doubt it has a much better engine than the BMW320i but the steering and gearbox of this infiniti is a letdown.

But at that price range, better off in the scoobie wrx! Now thats a freaking awesome machine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • u drive this .people tot it’s Chery from china .one word ‘cheap’. Sebastian vettel fail to win any F1 GP this year after collaborate with infiniti

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • u drive this .people tot it’s Chery from china .one word ‘cheap’. Sebastian vettel fail to win any F1 GP this year after collaborate with infiniti

• amirad on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:56 pm

German power and handling plus Japanese reliability. This might be what some people are looking for. Oh yes… German pricing too.

• marieta on Aug 08, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Dem..I thought that blue and turquoise icon on center screen on second pics are facebook and tweeter

• Sammi_already_no_value on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:31 pm

I agree with what Otak Udang said. Premium Japanese cars in Malaysia still do not command the same respect as the premium Germans. One of the key reasons is because brands like Infiniti and Lexus have hardly spent much effort in marketing/advertising their cars.

You can’t expect a relatively unknown/new brand to just come in to a new market and compete with the top dogs dollar for dollar. In order to stand any chance of fighting the big boys, they have to price their cars at least 25-30% cheaper than equivalent German competitors and hopefully as time goes by, work their way up the ladder to compete with them head on. But this would normally take some time.

Looking at how the Infiniti brand is set up(one dealer to serve the whole country), I am pretty sure they would not sell in big numbers. Just think of it, if you were from Penang or Johor, would you buy an Infiniti and drive it down to KL just to service the car? Or what if the car breaks down in the middle of Kota Bahru? You would need to get a trailer service just to send it down to KL to get it fixed. It is just impractical to own such a car outside of KL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • kelso on Aug 10, 2014 at 4:49 pm

I’ll drop in a “like” cause sadly, it’s true.

Then again, if history repeats itself like the way Lexus and Infiniti (with the exception of Acura) in the states, it’ll take some time. The same can be said about Audi… 15 years ago, Audi was a bit of a 2nd rate brand up till the past 2 generation of cars.

Sales numbers… I don’t think it’s meant to generate huge sales for now. Who knows what Tan Chong is up to.

Service however is a big way of winning… My personal experience with Audis are well… rather mixed and Mercedes seemed quite ok. Both in Klang Valley. Never had a BMW. But the lack of service centres around the country could be its downfall but once again, who knows what Tan Chong is up to… it could well be temporary sharing with Nissan and shipping parts up from the Klang Valley.

• Sammi_already_no_value on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Not to mention buyers from East Malaysia, servicing is a major issue.

• W204 C63 AMG on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Desperately need the price tag for the Q50S hybrid.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:31 pm

forget the a3…this is better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • Dahlan on Aug 09, 2014 at 12:33 am

Comparing the A3 against this car is like comparing a durian with a strawberry. Both different types of cars.

Bangau!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 10, 2014 at 3:49 pm

a3 1.8t 240k…this 250k…u buy a3…u bangau brand elitist

• That’s because you never have experience driving conti cars. Poor fella.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Redknapp on Aug 08, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Hmm…a luxury teana perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
    • Dahlan on Aug 09, 2014 at 12:34 am

Teams is bigger in terms of size.

The Q50 is slightly smaller and has more sporting intentions.

• shawal on Aug 09, 2014 at 11:22 am

That floating smiley is bloody annoying
    Cannu get rid of it…

• Ricardo on Aug 09, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Just test driven the high spec version of the Q50. What an awesome machine. The 14 speakers Bose sound system was fantastic. Drive and handling is superb. For almost 280k, I will take this over the ES250 or even the soon to be launched Mercedes C200 W205. Loads of safety features that is beyond this range.

• Looks so alike to sonata. Especially the backside and dashboard. Yet people always blame koreans copycat .

• Just thinks who you will become and which is your style. Difference people is different thinking

• peformance on Aug 09, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Why no paddleshifters? whereas website which shows the left hand drives got?

• nooniez on Aug 09, 2014 at 6:30 pm

so many people giving their ‘expert’ review without even try the car before. Can you call Lotus a Proton? Can you call Audi a VW?

• merc_fanboi on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:48 pm

sure not. but you definitely can call lexus a toyota, and probably this infiniti a nissan as well. kehkehkeh…

• just test drive it . wat a lousy machine . mercedes power is great ,but the chasis and handling is like Nissan..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Those who cant afford i feel you. Work harder perhaps. No point trolling here and say this car is just a more expensive Teana, shit car, German better. All those ah beng mentality, no wonder these kiasu ah beng are dislike by many race. Making a bad names for Chinese.

• shawal on Aug 10, 2014 at 10:27 pm

6 speakers is an insult to the segment..
    At least give buyers the option to upgrade…
    Without the steer by wire thingy…

Satnav?

• othman abdul hamid on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:35 am

No shift paddles in a 250k car even in the premium grade? I think in this day and age that is a bit steep.

• merc_fanboi on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:57 pm

paddle shift is one of those bells and whistles you can really live without. it’s cool to know your car has it, but how many actually use it regularly on a daily-driven car? i have it on my car, but throughout 3 years of ownership, i have used it at most only 5 times.

• Matjava on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:50 am

With mercedes engine , can it behave like mercedes ? the performace & resale value.

• Hooooooooo on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Malaysia ah beng like TOYOTA VIOS only can tah pow here and there …..

• Wwwooowww…C class power plant with teana handling!

• The rear end and interior looks like my 2012 sonata 2.0t, and my turbo motor makes more hp and torque….and after 4 years and 88,000 miles it’s still turning heads.