Proton Design Competition 2014 – a behind-the-scenes look at how a Proton vehicle is designed, part two

Last week, we had a first look at how a Proton is designed – from sketches and renderings, to modelling the car in 3D, to then having a photorealistic virtual representation of the car spinning around and being manipulated in real time. Now, we’ll be continuing that journey all the way to the final product.

As a car’s development moves along, the colour and trim team gets to decide on the materials and paint finishes that will adorn the car. These are difficult decisions, with the balance between durability, a pleasing look and feel and of course, reasonable manufacturing costs needed to be kept just right.

The team get their inspiration from print and online media, as well as by visiting motor shows in order to get a sense of the overall market trends. Trim and colour forecasts up to three or four years in advance are also provided by the suppliers.

Paint colour simulations are done on virtual car models using the same Bunkspeed rendering software we showed you last week, and are presented to the cross-functional team.

SONY DSC

Once approved, the paints are finalised and sprayed onto cards (viewed under a specially-designed lamp that recreates the colour temperature of daylight), then onto full-sized body panels to get a true representation of the hue before the management signs the colour choices off.

Perceived interior quality is something the team puts a lot of effort in. The choice of materials can make or break the user experience, so picking the right trim is paramount.

SONY DSC

To help them make the right choice, the team uses many gadgets to measure surface roughness, scratch resistance, pliancy and glossiness. These measurements are used as reference to back up the experience of actually touching and feeling the materials in person.

A spectrometer is also used to measure colour consistency. The colour of a specific paint can change slightly when applied on metal or plastic, for example, so these measurements are vital to eliminate jarring differences in hue between different body panels. Vendors also require the machinery to produce parts that comply with Proton’s specifications.

Next, we were taken into the virtual reality auditorium, where management and cross-functional teams can see virtual models of the car rendered realistically in real time – again using Bunkspeed – before making important decisions.

Dominating the room is an enormous projector screen, on which these models are shown in a variety of different colours, environments and lighting, all while the “camera” is moving around the model to provide a 360-degree view of the vehicle. It’s an impressive setup, and the designers say it cuts down development time because fewer physical models need to be built.

That doesn’t mean that they don’t get built at all, however. Physical models are still very important, because no matter how close the visualisations of virtual models can come to reality, you still cannot get a proper sense of a car’s form and proportions until you see it in the metal, or rather, clay or resin.

These models also help in areas outside design – on the milling table sat was a scale model of the Suprima S that was used to test the car’s aerodynamics using a wind tunnel at Universiti Teknologi Malaysia (UTM). This particular model was painted in matte black in order to better study the airflow around the car.

Eventually, all this development and refinement leads up to the final product, or, more specifically, the final full-scale hard model that is used for the final presentation before the design is signed off. This model is made to full production specifications and is completely representative of the car that will eventually roll off the assembly line.

The model is wheeled out onto a turntable in a viewing hall, where it is bathed in soft, even light. Here, decision-makers can get a good look at the model before signing the design off. In the instance that a second design makes it this far, there’s another turntable for it to be displayed on. There’s even an walled-in outdoor viewing area to showcase the model(s) in natural light while keeping prying eyes out.

And there you have it – the final product, the Proton Suprima S. Looks handsome, doesn’t it? And it’s all down to the tireless efforts of the men and women at Proton Design who work long and hard to make good on that initial spark of creativity while meeting the needs of others who are also developing the car.

We hope you’ve enjoyed this exclusive tour of the Proton Design Studio. And don’t forget to send in your entries for the Proton Design Competition 2014 – there’s just over a week to go before the August 18 closing date, so better hurry!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:23 pm

PLS ACT TALK LESS
    Pls sell the so-call global car at US market.

TQ.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 58
    • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Just support Proton and ask less.
      GSC will storm the world with it built quality and Tun DrM promise.
      Price will be higher due to expanses of bussiness and marketing.
      German and Japan conti all go back to their kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 76
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 08, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Haha, typical Proton 5S again.
        1. Sendiri Cakap
        2. Sendiri Syok
        3. Sentiasa Rosak
        4. Sales Carnival
        5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 52
        • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 09, 2014 at 12:27 am

Better then you still driving 1986 year toyota.
          You can go back your kampung taman UMW.
          No body will buy your UMW lousy expensive product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:24 am

Toyota lousy or not? Sales figure tell, I don’t have to syok sendiri.

But if you don’t buy Toyota (or you can’t afford one), you don’t have to get out from Malaysia/Japan or balik your kampung. Just work harder then.

• samtelorsmall on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:48 pm

If like that Ferrari also lousy because too few in sales.

Hahahah

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 09, 2014 at 1:33 am

u got the points yeah …

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 10, 2014 at 5:35 pm

What point? Pointing finger jer?
            You fool don’t know nothing, operation Suprima ass.
            Just support Proton let all the other brand go back their kampung.
            Proton built quality and GSC storm the world.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Proton are for poor people in Malaysia. And these people are poor not because there is no opportunity, they are poor because they are lazy and expect government handouts all the time.

Time to stop being poor Proton owners. Work harder. Stop being lazy. Stop surfing the Internet in your workplace and concentrate on your work.

If you focus on your work, you will make something of your life. you will get more money and you will be able to enjoy the high life of owning a Toyota. Once you own a Toyota, you will be the talk of your kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • OrangUtan on Aug 09, 2014 at 3:49 am

Is it me or they put it more effort in presenting the design process than to actually designing something.

A good design speaks for itself without the need for someone to explain it. Look at Honda, BMW, RR, jaguar….

• Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Aug 10, 2014 at 9:51 pm

What’s the point of elaborating the design process when the end product is garbage. Even if the design process is inch perfect with mind blowing concepts arts and jaw dropping arts, Proton can probably win some Lim Kok Wing annual design contest or Transformers 4 fan award poll AT BEST….but nothing will change the fact that Proton is a lousy car maker who is only good at rebranding Japanese cars. Now you Proton fanboys can start to dance on this comment. DANCE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
          • Those conti cars are less reliable, Honda interior design is like space ship ady. Kid you must be too dependant on your parents. You only know to get money but dowan to know how difficult your parents work for it.

Shame.

• Aniq_Affandi on Aug 15, 2014 at 7:37 am

Alright lets dance then. If you want to really, Proton is the only company that actually sell their own cars. In fact, the rebatchers are Perodua. they sell Japanese made cars. So there is no actual RND going on for the car itself. Remodelling a few headlights and stuff won’t make it OUR car. End of story.

• samelorstpd on Aug 09, 2014 at 11:04 am

Toyoyot

1.Overpriced
          2.Outdated
          3.Overrated
          4.Overhyped
          5.On garbage lorries
          6.Out of proportion
          7.Obsolete

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 4
  • tak heran on Aug 08, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Please indicate still why proton designed ugly cars…suprima S is damn ugly…there must be a process where designs are subjected to GP feedbacks and vendors capabilities feedbacks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 70
    • agree with u…i wonder what criteria they use to approve suprima design….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 34
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Azln Otmn: who talk bad words behind me, evn tun respect me as “p1 cheap of designer”. I approved the awesome supm. Kia designer is nothing compared it, we are going launching a global car prepared since 90s until now.
        Yes, we are…
        On-going | in- progress | … | … | …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
      • ah lian 67 on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Design inspire by adult pamper !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 23
    • mamamia on Aug 08, 2014 at 10:04 pm

lagi rumit design, lg mahal proses ‘stamping’…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 09, 2014 at 1:37 am

So curvy of elantra & sonata also selling very cheap w/o tax, fr ~ myr 50k in US

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 09, 2014 at 1:37 am

So curvy of elantra & sonata full spec high cc engine also selling very cheap w/o tax, fr ~ myr 50k in US

• Tong Kosong on Aug 09, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Stamping The not only WoW factor-

Reliability & Price is.
        That y Perodua sales better. Kenari & kelisa better than the Savvy, do not compare with MYVI.

Complain graph? They (perodua) heard having better response (plus nice SC & people) & investigation or while Proton normally hopeless and SC tried to GORENG & insult customer as “stupid”.
        (Proton,lease beat them- Perodua, as first step before talking about GLOBAL- don be so Arrogant for your ignorance & acknowledge your previous stupidity).

& also to PROTON- your presentation is suck & only suitable for 1960s people. if Not a leading edge, please hide it. Nowadays- almost all people can access – how CAR IS MADE trough internet including Ferrary, Bugatti.

Tak GEMPAK Bro!! Buat malu aje.

• Never heard such thing.

• Support Proton and proud to be Malaysian. But first of all please replace Preve tail lamp and bontot. Nmpk cacat dan langsung tak sesuai dengan bentuk di bahagian hadapan.

• I guess the right dimensioning, proportion and ratio give a very big impact to the final outlook. Though throughout the process they look similar but it slowly lacking it premium look till the outcome of the final product…imho..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Pakcik on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Why is that preve butt is better than production one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Maybe it is less practical, and the rear lights (which btw. lack detail) are more expensive to produce. Who knows.

Actually the Preve rear is easy to fix. Make the white bits from the rear lights extend into the part that sits on the boot lid. Instantly a prettier car…

In any case in terms of exterior Preve and Suprima are rather nice looking. Classy, not wearing out fast. It is a very VW group like design. Put a Skoda badge on either car and no one would think it is not one (and at least in Europe they are seen as rather nice looking cars IMHO). Oh, I forgot, Skoda does sell the Rapid, which looks like the Preve, and the Rapid Sportback, which looks like the Suprima. Launched at pretty much the same time, maybe they had the same designer because you can’t copy that fast.

What puts me off is the interior. Does it really have to be silver painted plastic? That always looks very cheap. How expensive would it be to produce a thin metal piece that covers the plastic? Instantly the car would look much more expensive. Though the design is trying to be VW/Skoda, but failing badly (I guess Italdesign (?) only did the exterior for Proton). Oh and in any case the Italian design company that did the Preve (well, the Tuah) was bought by VW…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 09, 2014 at 9:20 am

Ya la..it look similar from side profile.. xtot potocop

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Pakcik don’t know about design just go back to your kampung.
      City is for teen not Pakcik like you.
      Proton designer is world class with high salary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
      • blvcktint on Aug 10, 2014 at 5:29 am

Ah beng aaaa…please dont upheld proton please.dontchhaaa think proton is just going backward..better drive protongss around playground..sounds better..toyota is a lifelong relevant car rather than cheap so call “national car” aite? aite? aiyohhh…

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 10, 2014 at 5:28 pm

You kid just go back to your mom play masak masak!!!!!
          Proton designer really do home work at less working 16 hour never sleep.
          Because their proud of the design. Built quality even better.
          Proton designer high salary high quality.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:30 am

Even the kids’ masak masak toys are more reliable than your Proton.

Proton designer work 16 hours without sleep come out with this kind of design? Yet they are so high salary?

No wonder Proton have to beg RM1.7bil. Lousy work and expensive cost.

Think have to call Proton donation department manager come collect my RM15 donation again. Sigh.

• i think its because it looks too much like forte’s butt

• SO MUCH BASH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
  • terrified on Aug 08, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Abislaa….

• suprima; handsome !!

u must be kidding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 26
  • kamacako on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:00 pm

ohh…susah jugak rupenya nak design kereta ni…
    all da best to proton…hopefully the new car will look nice..thumbs up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Once much of the exterior hard work is done... on Aug 08, 2014 at 8:15 pm

…the designers proceed to take a dump in the car and sell that to us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • Bataman on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:08 pm

“Looks handsome, doesn’t it? ”
    Looks…is not it’s strong point. Neither is the the Preve…basically, Proton cars are pretty ugly…it is only beaten by Nissan, which is the Master of Fugliness.
    For god sake, just get a talented AngMo and design the car instead of all this competition nonsense with designs from budak kampung!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
    • If like that vios can beat preve?

You are so tasteless

• Bataman on Aug 10, 2014 at 8:02 am

Dugong VIOS sure fugly, but new VIOS, yes, definitely looks better than Preve. You got problem or just bad taste?

• New Vios looks like catfish. And those TRD bodykit is useless, why put bodykit like turbo car. It’s only has puny 1.5l engine. Preve smokes it inside out upside down.

Hahahahahahaha hahahhaha hahahhahah

• Low Budget on Aug 10, 2014 at 10:14 am

Externally, Nissan cars look uglier than Proton especially the Almera,but Nissan cars are more reliable.

• A true example of white man supremecy

• The current public perception is: what’s the use of all these design, effort, etc, when always the execution is fail.

Malaysia: grand ambitions, but always lousy maintenance and follow through. Cars, buildings, parks, etc.

The upper ends of Proton can choose all they want, but when time comes to production, all the funny funny things might happen: inferior quality parts are sourced, corners are cut here and there. Choose good paint, but in the end get lousy paint. Spec that plastics should be high quality, but in the end get suppplied low quality plastics etc. Allegedly.

Like the first commenter said: no need these PR bullcrap. If your final product is quality, people will know. They will even do free advertising and word of mouth for you. No need for you to blow your own trumpet, and cause the rakyat to pay such ridiculous prices for all cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • zamer on Aug 08, 2014 at 9:22 pm

the behind the scene does not interest us i think for most of us.

Proton can better reveal this kind of behind scene thing if the produce a spectacular design. if a square design car, just keep it to themselves.

Perhaps they can come out with behind scene for satria neo 125k..i wanted to know the 40k Ohlins suspension very much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • The product failed big time and now they try to impress with their processes. It wont work proton. You can have a million of engineers but if your product sucks, your product is sucks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 19
    • Toyota more suck, design suck, production also suck

• But ppl can sell wo. That bring proton to new level low. A company that is so sucky is better than proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Can sell? Are you serious?

There are countless of preve on road while new fuglycatfish vios are only few. Not to mention new altis.

Why?

1.Overpriced
          2.Overrated
          3.Outdated
          4.Obsolete
          5.On garbage lorries
          6.Over turn turtle
          7.Out of proportion

haha!

• Countless? You must be working at proton yard.

• Only retard can have more than 10 fingers, lol

• Low Budget on Aug 10, 2014 at 10:23 am

Never mind if the product sucks! The point is the manufacturer is making money out of their products. MAS offer good ‘products’ but now ‘tergolek-golek’, if Proton continues the way they do things as it is now, then banana skins are waiting for Proton to step on.

• At 70k preve 6 airbags with ESC is much better than 90k vios 2 aibags without VSC

• Just 70k? You havent include your 20 days annual leave to be taken to visit sc, tow truck cost, additional petrol money & almost no value when you sell the junk.

• tax kereta luar lg tinggi, kalau betul2 nk lawan harga, kasi tax sama lah, kelaut lah potong

• Are you sure ke laut? Proton might be cheaper without tax.

and to ioma, you describe wrong car, it must be contis, Lol

• alldisc on Aug 08, 2014 at 11:52 pm

as an enthusiast and fan of cars (proton included), i am very much bothered on why Proton does not dare to sell the car in UK?

is it because of UK being an open market – where focus, golf and astra of similar equipment to suprima are priced similarly and therefore will lose competetiveness?

is it because suprima will not shine in euro NCAP, emission tests and JD Power (for build quality and reliability) that Proton is still shy?

is it because proton still hasnt got a proper turbodiesel engine with manual tranny combo?

so which is which, preve is already 2 years old – nearing a mid-life facelift and it has yet to penetrate 1/4 of RHD markets in the world.

make us proud, not just saying global every time you launch a new model.

• roffstoff on Aug 09, 2014 at 6:54 pm

They’ll be relaunching Proton in UK soon after the GSC release. They need product which complied with the strict EU regulation.

Preve,Suprima, and perhaps the Exora are all complied with the EU emission. They just need to have more product before relaunching Proton in UK. And the GSC was designed to meet Euro NCAP 5 star. Suprima MT is also planned for UK market. I don’t think the Preve/Suprima wouldn’t get 5 star euro ncap.

• Low Budget on Aug 10, 2014 at 10:26 am

Launching in U.K. is one thing, how to entice the Mat-Sallehs to buy it in enough quantity is another.

• pondan on Aug 10, 2014 at 8:36 pm

No need to launch cuz it’s a waste of money..

Preve in Australia is selling like crap… getting to UK, sure die prematurely.

Like I say many times, proton can always talk big, supreme and heavenly product. In the end, only talk cxxk cuz no substance.

• inderaloka on Aug 09, 2014 at 3:11 am

Falsafah Proton Design:

“Tukar kereta panjang jadi kereta pendek,
    tukar kereta pendek jadi kereta panjang.”

Bukti:
    1) Potong bonet Saga Sedan jadi Saga Hatchback
    2) Potong bonet Wira Sedan jadi Wira Hatchback dan Satria
    3) Tambah bonet Gen.2 jadi Persona
    4) Potong bonet Preve jadi Suprima

Something new from Proton Design? Think again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • Same as other manufaturers, using same falsafah
      1)Tambah bionet jazz jadi City
      2)Tambah bonet yaris jadi Vios
      3)Tambah bonet Polo jadi Polo Sedan
      4)Tambah bonet GTR jadi GTR sedan

So what?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • Bodoh….vios and yaris you can’t see them sharing same headlight same bonnet…jazz and city you wont find them similar on exterior

• Bodoh saga flx also has different headlight from saga blm. You say it is saga or different car.

bodoh next time dun only see headlamps see also the chassis and other parts being shared inside.

Stupid but want to see as clever. Ptuih.

• inderaloka on Aug 10, 2014 at 5:53 am

At least other manufacturer add some effort to make it totally different. Tapi Proton, bentuk body sama, bentuk lampu depan sama, bentuk lampu belakang sama, interior sama, YANG BEZA panjang dengan pendek saja. You can see what I mean by looking at those models I’ve mentioned.

Proton will never improve selagi guna falsafah ini. Ini kerja orang malas. Malas hendak fikir lebih dan malas buat kerja lebih.

• inderaloka on Aug 10, 2014 at 6:05 am

The Proton Saga that I referred to is the first Proton Saga, not Saga FLX or Saga BLM. You can see there are no big difference between Saga Sedan and Saga Hatchback/Aeroback.

• That’s 20 years ago. Saga wira already discontinued.

If you want to compare, use present cars. You dun hear about platform sharing?

Go out from cave, it sucks your life big time.

• inderaloka on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:52 pm

I think you did not get what I mean. I’m not against platform sharing, and I’m not even talking about it. What I’m talking about is DESIGN.

In order for Proton to compete, Proton MUST improve a lot in DESIGN.

And when talking about design, there is no time-limit for making comparison. Only GENUINE car enthusiasts have interest in how car design has evolved.

Before asking someone to go out from a cave, maybe you should learn how to not get out-of-context.

• Bataman on Aug 10, 2014 at 8:05 am

Err..Jazz is very different from City…compare to Persona/Gen 2, Wira hatchback/Aeroback/Satria/Jumbo (remember this one? Wira head, with pickup truck back, macam mutant).

• roffstoff on Aug 09, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Huh? Serious? Itu falsafah design semua company pun.
      1 paltform boleh spawn multiple product. Itu namanya platform utilization. Alza tu dari myvi. Yaris tu hatchback dari vios sedan. Banyak lagi.

Kamu yang kena ‘think again’ before comment.

• Bataman on Aug 10, 2014 at 8:08 am

Same platform does not means same copy pasta design….get that through your head. It means the base and key structure are the same, but does not mean the outlook or interior has to looks exactly the same. Please do more RnD before shooting off your mouth.

• You can see almost same frontal BMW desig nowadays, 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 series. Why no ask, because it’s BMW? And thats not copy paste?

Haih.

• Leonardo on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:06 am

Many other manufacturers are sharing components to save costs, including VW/Porsche, VW/Skoda, Toyota/Daihatsu, etc…and also within the same platform…so?

• inderaloka on Aug 09, 2014 at 3:18 am

Proton, kalau hendak maju:

1) Buang kerenah birokrasi.
    2) Hapus campurtangan politik dan orang yang tiada pengetahuan dalam reka bentuk kereta. Biar profesional buat kerja tanpa campurtangan orang yang tidak berkenaan.
    3) Kalau tak dapat come out dengan design yang setanding / on par dengan design Honda atau Toyota, jangan mimpi hendak menakluki dunia.

• But honda interior design is fugly and not clean. Toyota exterioris fugly especialky vios

• Wow…this car need designer to design?????

• Abdul Wong on Aug 09, 2014 at 10:32 am

To proton design boss:

Start listening new ideas from our local fresh young mind, no syok sendiri and please redesign preve butt!!( i give u a hint; proton tuah)

Sincerely,
    Local Gen Y

• So much so on the outer look but always forgot about the interior. Macam Tahi Kuching.
    Kalau gua TM sudah lama kasi sack itu designer pintu
    and cabin.

• enough oleady lah tis news, NOBODY bothers or interested, will it helps boost sales omg wasting time

• anon102 on Aug 09, 2014 at 12:30 pm

why proton even need to elaborate the process of designing Suprima S when the car is just a Preve with its butt cut off.

• Those suppliers of proton or perodua (which i know some) must laughing and and swear at the bullshit with regards to interior quality control, requirement and procurement.

• bisakeris (Member) on Aug 09, 2014 at 2:31 pm

>>> we feel that proton’s exterior design is ok.. preve is actually better than the fugly vios..

• Atuk Kampung on Aug 09, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Semua cakap proton tak baik , hanya toyota , honda , nissan , hyundai , kia baik . Kalau tu , tutup semua . Balik ke zaman pakai kereta lembu , baru u tahu ! Orang zaman ni memang tak tahu kalau pakai kereta lembu dari klang ke puchong untuk meminang , pergi balik kena 7 hari 7 malam .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Lane Tamer on Aug 09, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Dear Respectable Tun Dr. M,

You are the one who started Proton from scratches in 1980s, now you’re back in charged of Proton, with due respect, please close down Proton, as it is the best solution not only for the country but also all of the Malaysian citizen.

Many thanks.

• Albert lee on Aug 09, 2014 at 9:49 pm

I have just completed my research why Protong has survived calls for it to be annihilated.
      Firstly,it is “sendiri cakap,sendiri syiok”
      Next,like expert Samelor said,it is “Sales Gimmick Carnivals.
      Then,it is “Pushed up pricing” to give “a feel of quality” as many Proton fanboys believe High Pricing equates to Quality.
      After this,we come to the “Everlasting perlindungan unlimited “policy,so called giving “tranquility” eventho they are bleeding rm500 juta a year.
      Lastly,but not least it is the “Kami akan memantau”ideology, that is just buying borrowed time.
      Thats why,it will take a while ,inspite of massive bleeeding ,to see Protong call it a day.

• samelorstpd on Aug 09, 2014 at 10:16 pm

This is my research on why toyoyot sucks big time:

1.Overpriced
        2.Outdated
        3.Overrated
        4.Overhyped
        5.On garbage lorries
        6.Out of proportion
        7.Obsolete

• Leonardo on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:11 am

Can you publish your “research” for us to read?

• Steve Kok on Aug 09, 2014 at 11:13 pm

No standard lah.
    Better close shop and stop asking for support from Gomen. Wasting tax payer’s money.

• danielgks on Aug 09, 2014 at 11:51 pm

Real people that buy real cars, unlike the folks here that seem to think Jeremy Clarkson is GOD and his opinion is the Bible, are not bothered whether the car is ugly or the interior is plastic or the opinions of the Jeremy Clarkson worshiper here. Most are interested in the price, fuel consumption somewhat and availability of spare parts and cost of replacement. And of course from real people that also drives the same car they are thinking of buying.

• pondan on Aug 10, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Just any other GLC lousy performance companies, proton is no different. Politics, cronyism, sucking tax payers money, talk a lot of crap, selling crap to ppl and expect them to be greatfull.

What’s new when it’s all lead my moron and self interested leaders and politician.

Poor rakyat is being marginalised, deceived, cheated, oppressed and raped outright from your own pocket. While the buggers are crusing happily in their motorcade, dining in fancy restaurants, living in big mansion, luxury vacations and all at the people expense.

• Ramai giler designer dlm ni..klu suka beli jelah…klu xsuka xyah kutuk2…sume nk angkat citarasa masing2..manusia pun muka lain2..tetap ada jodoh..

• Puiii on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:52 am

Ermmm I’m driving 3 different cars.

1.Wira buruk tin milo aeroback 1.8
    2.vios dugong
    3.1.8 civic ( wife )

comfort of course civic win and vios become 2nd but u know what? both cannot beat wira in term of handling…

• Calvin Lee on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:56 am

well, looking back at waja, persona, gen2, neo, preve, exora, suprima. (cars that originally design by local proton designer) its well-looking car. waja still look smart even for today. the design is timeless. thats my personal view on proton design.

I wish I’ve the chance to visit the studio.

• Support Proton and proud to be Malaysian. But first of all please replace Preve tail lamp and bontot. Nmpk cacat dan langsung tak sesuai dengan bentuk pandangan hadapan.