BMW X4 launching this month, you can be there too!

bmw x4 invite

The BMW X4 is coming to Malaysia this month, and you can be there to witness the launch. BMW Malaysia has posted up a teaser for a contest offering “exclusive invites to meet the new BMW X”. The image used shows the new car’s coupe roofline, which matches the X4’s “mini X6” shape.

This website has had a long journey with the F26 X4. Our man Harvinder introduced the BMW Concept X4 to the world for BMW TV at Auto Shanghai 2013, posing some of your questions to the crossover’s product manager and designer. It was an honour to represent Asia, and we thank BMW AG for the opportunity.

We continued to follow the X4’s transformation from concept to production via a series of spyshots, before the car made its debut in Geneva this year, retaining much of the original concept’s looks. Anthony sampled the “baby X6” (or “X3 Coupe” if you like) at its international launch in Spain in June, and you can read our test drive report to learn more about the X4.

It will all culminate in the local launch of the X4. Join BMW Malaysia’s quiz and Off-Road Challenge over the next five days, and perhaps we’ll see you there at the event. Specs and pics here. What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• PeterPan on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:57 am

Nice SUV size for ladies and rich kids

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Buy 1 BMW-X4 =16 saga sv, drive a year sell still go RV.
      Take this back to Germany.
      BMW cronies car.
      Even Tun prefer Proton GSC over this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:11 pm

tun buy this now because he lost audi

• Petrolhead (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:42 pm

When is the new BMW X3 facelift going to arrive? The X3 would be the better choice as it has more rear legroom and headroom, if you want a BMW SUV coupe, get the X6 instead

• The Truth About BMW on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:48 pm

BMW only gives 2 years warranty because just after the 2nd year, all the problems crop up.

Ask any BMW owner. Go to Glenmarie in the mornings. Got free coffee and nasi lemak. Sit down there and talk to the customers waiting. They will tell you that after the 2nd year, everytime they send for service, spending RM20,000 each time is very normal. This rosak. That rosak.

So think 10 times before you buy a BMW. Do what I tell you, go and talk to people waiting for their cars. ALL will tell you, right after the 2nd year, you will be crying blood.

This is no rumour. Go yourself and speak to actual owners and enjoy free nasi lemak and filtered coffee!

Also ask yourself one thing, why do BMW owners always sell their car within one year or maximum 2 years? Go to mudah and see, so many 2013 BMW for sale. Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Sammy_already_no_value on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Are you a Mercedes salesman?

I think I have seen you posting exactly the same thing before over and over again?

• The Truth About BMW on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:44 am

YES I AM. And spreading lies is our expertise. I will continue to cut and paste this story.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Oh I don’t know how you can cook such fabulous stories, really. If the Malaysian movie scene needed some directors they would hire you.

I agree BMW’s 2 year warranty is an absolute joke. Considering the industry standard, it is such a lousy warranty considering the prices you pay for it.

Having said that, I’d like to highlight on your recent “trip” to Glenmarie. One thing is for sure, despite me not being a big fan of the place (they are slow and the service quality is meh), I can attest to you that whatever you said is an absolute lie.

Really, did you go and speak to owners while having nasi lemak and coffee? I’ll give you some facts:

1. It’s not nasi lemak. It’s bihun goreng.
          2. It’s not filtered coffee, but rather Dolce Gusto coffee. Big difference.
          3. Being an owner myself and routinely going there to send mine in for service (regular maintenance), or going to check out the newly launched models to see what’s new, never have I heard of anyone saying their BMW has broken down. Nada. Nil. Zilch. Kosong. Neither has mine in more than 2 years I’ve been having it.

None have complained of power train failure in 2 years, or repairs costing over 20k. In fact, most are in for their routine maintenance and most if not all that I have spoken to have all said raving reviews about their UDM and would never buy anything else. The only thing a few have complained is the incompetent service network, but that’s not the car, it’s the dealer network.

PS: The only reason why you see that many 2013 BMWs on sale is that many are either recon cars or they are ex-demo or event cars, it’s no hidden fact that BMW actually registers their demo cars for all the dealers and they change every few months before they lose too much.

• drill on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Picture or you just talked kork here, I also can say I sent my Audi for service and found out no failure among the drivers.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Go see Carbase then. My review on it is there.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 1:19 pm

tak bagus la…want spread rumour spread audi rumour…bmw salesmen still respect customers….

• shame_Loo on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:58 am

Mini X6? But the dash board design looks cheopo….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Sama Lor on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:03 am

Nice one, hopefully it is not too expensive. Nowadays good car are expensive to get (except Perodua), thanks to the NAP in order to protect Proton.

• Leonon777 on Aug 11, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Was told that the X4 will be priced around RM450K for the X4 28i guise. At this price point, the new Macan 2.0 turbo would be more appealing.

• Protection other countries also got.

• tishaban on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:27 am

Unfortunately the invite I received was for Friday at 130pm. Not great timing for me.

Car looks interesting even though I never really liked the X6 look. But I’m guessing the pricing will be quite a bit above the X3 which will limit the target audience.

• X4 20i = RM329888.00
    X4 20d = RM349888.00
    X4 28i = RM389888.00
    X4 35i = RM529888.00

• GTR36 (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Betul-ka? Hoping they will assemble it here so will reduce price…lol! I think if you can pay these prices, LR Evoque and P.Macan will be better choice. Top Gear already gave thumbs down for this X4!

• Sammy_already_no_value on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Are you sure about the prices??

Or it’s just your own estimation

• leonon777 on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:41 am

Now we know that this list of pricing by Zah is just bollocks. haha.

• nighttrain on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:30 am

Flood season coming up, these X series are designed for these kinda rough stuff, right?

• brazbuz on Aug 11, 2014 at 12:21 pm

4 months old car with 4 years old dashboard design…. What a waste….

• nabill (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Jus get da x3 u got alot more rear room…this lowroof suv thingy works better on da x6 due to its larger dimensions… Here looks ugly n pointless…

• Sammy_already_no_value on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:58 pm

Any price indication so far?

It would most probably come in very low spec.

Bmw Malaysia has a habit of offering bare bones spec when they just launch their cars, then start to offer more and more features as time goes by. This seems to be the marketing strategy being adopted.

• JonasBrothers on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:45 pm

Well said Sammy!

• seancorr on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:01 am

Cool its finally arriving but…where is the X3 LCI?

Anyhow this baby will not come cheap…the pre LCI X3 was retailing for RM324k for the petrol unit so I expect the base X4 xDrive20i to cost more than that unless BMW can surprise us with more value for money price this time around.

Saying this I’ll still go for the X3 instead of the X4. Just head to youtube and watch the foreign reviews of this model. It has the looks but the cabin space and rear visibility is crap.