Hyundai i20 – second-gen shown ahead of Paris debut

New Generation i20_Front

After a few teasers and several leaks, the Hyundai i20 has finally been revealed in both European- and Indian-market (badged Elite i20) guise, ahead of its world premiere at the Paris Motor Show in October. The new car has been leaked thoroughly both inside and out, so there’s not much new that can be gleaned here. Still, it’s worth looking in depth.

Measuring 40 mm longer than before at 4,035 mm, the i20 is one of the few B-segment hatches to break the four-metre mark. That increase has been incorporated into the wheelbase, now 45 mm longer at 2,570 mm. This translates to a more spacious cabin – combined front and rear legroom comes in at 1,892 mm, which Hyundai says is best in class along with its 320-litre boot. Indian models get a smaller 285-litre boot.

New Generation i20_Rear

Designed at Hyundai’s Design Centre Europe in Rüsselsheim, Germany, the i20 incorporates the company’s new “Fluidic Sculpture 2.0” aesthetic seen on the new Genesis and Sonata, giving the car a more angular and matured look that contrasts with its predecessor’s curvaceous forms.

At the front, there are swept-back headlights with projectors, LED daytime running lights and LED positioning lights on higher-end models in Europe, a narrow slit grille, a larger hexagonal grille below it and a U-shaped air inlet under that.

Coming to the rear, there are gloss black C-pillars that give an impression of a floating roofline, as well as slim boomerang-shaped wraparound tail lights. There is also an optional panoramic sunroof on European models which is claimed to be the first in its class.

in_pip_ei20_gallery_14

Interior pictures of the Indian model show a nicely-designed cabin with a dashboard that is somewhat reminiscent of the Kia c’eed‘s. Indian cars get a six-speaker audio system with 1 GB of internal memory, Bluetooth connectivity, steering wheel audio controls, automatic air-conditioning, tilt- and telescopic-adjustable steering wheel and rear air vents.

India also gets the same 83 PS, 115 Nm 1.2 litre Kappa four-cylinder petrol and 90 PS, 220 Nm 1.4 litre U2 four-cylinder turbodiesel engines as before. The petrol engine is mated to a five-speed manual, the diesel to a six-speed manual. Elsewhere, the i20 is expected to utilise the i10‘s 1.0 litre three-cylinder and 1.25 litre four-cylinder engines, as well as the current i20‘s 1.4 litre petrol. A hot N-badged variant is also on the cards.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• shawal on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Citroen comes to mind….
    Very European….

…..very bland actually….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • ProtonGSC on Aug 11, 2014 at 7:08 pm

Proton GSC come to mind.
      GSC can smoke this i20 and even AMG not even near.
      Just buy GSC talk less.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 33
      • Tiara on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:26 am

Don’t worry lah, Sime Darby Hyundai will be forced to price it higher than Suprima. Takut nanti Proton GSC tak laku if price it below 55k and Tun Penasihat marah lagi.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:35 am

This i20 may have a better interior compared to GSC. But you better buy GSC to show you got brain.

Any car which can not smoke others are for no brainer.

No brainer pls balik kampung.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:36 am

Ah Beng supporter? Is that you?

• ProtonGSC on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:15 am

For your info Same Lorrr disguise at “Ah Beng supporter”
          Due to copyright make new name.
          Same Lorrr balik kampung taman UMW.

• OMG…be mature…P1 GSC is nothing special…it just Gana Sai Car…

• cMRYA on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:11 pm

6 airbags is gana sai? If like that camry 2 airbags is what? Super Gana Sai.

Haha!

• berkata benar on Aug 13, 2014 at 6:49 am

gsc hype saja lebih …kereta biasa saja bukan so hebat so canggih pun.

yakin dgn cakap aku.. nasib gsc tak lebih tak kurang akan sama senasib dgn nasib savvy saja.

• rifle on Aug 11, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Agree..very european look..hope it will reach malaysian shores..with the right price tag, it surely can tapau jazz and yaris.. :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • COPY Paste on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:53 pm

simple as abc…

copy + paste from French and German =i20 new generation…

miniature MK7 GOLF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • hart932 on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:09 pm

The rear looks like Golf. Can’t see how Proton GSC can compete globally with this new i20.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:17 pm

The i20 was designed & developed as a global car under Hyundai. While GSC fom p1 also shared the same direction.

The GSC is a 30yrs milestone to determine p1 RISE or FALL. Right here right now, don’t forget we have the founder also CEO with the mission in leading p1 towards premium pricey global car development which announced months back.

We will have side by side comparison of i20 & GSC.
      :-
      The result is the determination who is the better BUSINESS MINDED QUALITY LEADERSHIP CEO, guidance in design & quality.

• idealtech on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:07 pm

You are true my friend, the RAKYAT is giving all of their hopes to the new GSC. Take note of this Proton! nail this GSC and you still have hope, fail this GSC, we are sorry but we worked very hard to pay ridiculously-expansive-even-ridiculous-to-buy-for-the-next-car-purchase. GSC = Global Small Car, it might be SMALL but the RAKYAT goes for the first word to represent our hopes that is GLOBAL. If Proton can only shoutout gSC without the capital G, we are sorry but we had enough.

• Off topic

Let’s put comment on non-local cars with praising words i.e. nice, good, beautiful, practical. When put comments on locals there are cursing words i.e ugly, tongkat, cronies, duh. “sarcasm“

On topic
    I dun think the engine would suffice for an elongated car, it should come with at least 1.5l engine. Non-GDI 1.4l is quite underpower.

And the interior I hope it’s worth the size. If not it becomes like 208 which is bigger from outside but crampy inside.

• Maybe people dont buy hyundai for speeding purposes. Esp. in Europe.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:41 am

Cars made for Europe usually have smaller engines than what we’re used to here in Malaysia. It’s because of their tax structure, I think. Even Thailand’s Vios and Almera come with something like 1.2L 3 cyl engines.

Small cc engines (like 1.0L) are quite common there, if I understand correctly.

1.4L is definitely enough for the intended purpose of this car.

• Wow,the car in brown actually..looks so Citroen =D very pretty

• BloodyFool on Aug 11, 2014 at 8:29 pm

f*cking koreans … trying to copy Golf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:52 am

The i20 was designed & developed by Germans at Germany, definitely you’d smell the Germans at i20.

• And it even has a german number plate (OF = Offenbach, Headquarter of Hyundai’s design centre)… ;)

• kelvin on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:19 pm

The video so lame..wasted my time

• better buy citroen hehehe

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Nice. Toyota Auris rear lights. Opel Adam/Fiat 500 C pillar. Renault Clio doors (the black bits). Proton GSC/MG3 front/nose/headlights. Seat Leon center console.

• It looks so familiar at the first look. Looking at the comment and I just realise it looks so similar with the Mk7 Golf!!!
    Oh well! European just so happen to have the same idea I guess. Haha..
    Coincident .. Just coincident..

• roxas on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:49 am

very nice, but so citroen look

• nabill (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:51 am

Looks more like DS3

• Abdul Wong on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:39 am

Dude,hyundai is a korean corp but this car was designed at european hyundai design centre so its not actually a korean copy this and that.ive been to europe especially german and france.most people there drive b segment hatchback so its logical to expect an european touch.very rare to see a sedan or even mpv unless it is a taxi.i also hope proton will have european design centre one day for their global car market

• qwerty on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:44 am

Whoa! This Citroen looks nice!

*Slap from behind by a Hyundai-loving friend*, yelling, “It’s a Hyundai, ok? And it didn’t copy!”

• cpypst on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:14 pm

So lame. This is only Hyundai could come up with? Lazy copy paste job.

• Well done Hyundai…i was thinking buying City for my daily car but after looking at this i might consider i20. Can’t wait!!!!

• Whatever said, its a good looking B segment car.If price well in bolehland it could be a winner.

• breal on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:07 pm

why they keep slapping such a low powered engine options….at this age they should able to offer something better like that ford 1.0 ecoboost..its not about power but a little excitement would make a huge difference

• LordNikon on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:30 pm

The ads is a pain on the ass. Lame as llama.

• very european look…yup, designed by hyundai europe for its mainly euro mkt.

Hyundai are doing very well in europe, even better than most Japs….and they do have good turbodiesels engines for the europeans consumer whom are mostly buying diesels vehicles there.

• look wider on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:17 pm

GSC GSC GSC… no more? Hyundai ix20, i20, HB20, Grand i10, New Generation i10 & Eon… which one the Proton GSC wants to compete with?

• berkata benar on Aug 13, 2014 at 6:42 am

lampu depan tiru potong pcc!!! itu sebab nampak hodoh.