Malaysian-assembled Hyundai Elantra facelift arrives in Thailand – Malaysia to get it next?

10527813_847775091907201_391069862483871979_n

The facelifted Hyundai Elantra has been introduced in Thailand (where it gets the Elantra Sport moniker), almost exactly a year after it was introduced in its home market of South Korea.

The big news is that the new car comes all the way from Malaysia, assembled by Inokom in Kulim. It replaces the previous Korean-built model and brings a drop in price thanks to ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA) trade benefits. Reports indicate that another model could be imported from Malaysia within the next two years as the parent company reevaluates the importance of ASEAN markets.

hyundai-elantra-sport-2014-30

As a result of the favourable tariff rates, prices for the new Elantra in the Land of Smiles start at 749,000 baht (RM74,800) for the base GL model, rising up to 819,000 baht (RM81,800) for the GLE and 898,000 baht (RM89,600) for the top-spec GLS Navi. This is in contrast to the outgoing model, which came in at between 899,000 baht (RM89,700) and 1,198 million baht (RM119,600).

“The benefits from the AFTA scheme are quite significant,” said Hyundai Motor Thailand president Hideki Yanagisawa. “Not only do we a have more competitive cost, but there’s also a chance to enhance product appeal through a more premium equipment line up, which certainly makes this car a stronger contender amongst the compact C-segment range.”

hyundai-elantra-sport-2014-41

The raft of subtle changes include revised front and rear bumpers, new projector headlights (HID on the top model) with LED light guides, reshaped fog lights, chrome belt line mouldings, new LED combination tail lights and spiffy new 17-inch wheels.

Inside, the central air vents have been moved upwards and there are new rear air vents too. Also new are a 3.5-inch OLED Supervision display in the instrument cluster and a three-mode Flex Steer system also found on various Kia models.

10481560_847774968573880_667092524391615765_o

Thai models get just one engine and transmission choice – the 1.8 litre Nu four-cylinder producing the same 150 PS and 178 Nm as before, mated to the same six-speed automatic. So equipped, the Elantra goes from 0-100 km/h in 10.2 seconds before reaching its top speed of 202 km/h. Combined fuel consumption is rated at 14.08 km per litre.

Malaysia is one of the last remaining countries in the region yet to receive the facelifted Elantra, but seeing as we are already producing it for other countries, it shouldn’t be too long now before it reaches our shores.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zAquBvy7yzE

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Abisla kene..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Below comparison on Elantra 1.8 Nu where both are manufactured at Msia.

RM74k THAI (as CBU) : RM 114k MSIA (as CKD)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Civic ZERO sales! on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:16 pm

This car has wiped out the Altis and the Civic off the road. Have you ever seen any new 2014 Altis on the road as frequent as you see the older Altis?

One year already Altis launched and hardly can see any on the road. But every corner you see an Elantra.

You can get a brand new Elantra for RM85k that comes with VSC. Altis, only the RM139k model has VSC.

No wonder why this car has killed Civic and Altis completely.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 13
        • Sam Loo (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:27 pm

The great Sam Loo is back. Facelift? What facelift? Sam Loo can’t even see any difference between the old and new kimchi. The Koreans have forgotten to wear their glasses. Learn from the Japanese. I have sold much more Altis than the Kimchi salesman has hoped with his sad Elantra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 43
          • Before facelift, the price in Thai : between RM89,900 – 119,800

Here 1.8l RM86,000 also can get lor. After facelift the price in bolehland will become cheaper, around 10k less, i think.

• Sorry here in bolehland Elantra 1.8l for about 107k but that’s the highest variant. In Thai it’s 120k. So yes after facelift, it may become cheaper!

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Frankly speaking, the Elantra could last for two generation (10yrs) even w/o facelift in worldwide, the design up to market need.

But I think the Elantra could last 20yrs++ at Msia w/o facelift & still can sell well (if u compare p1 model selk8ng more than 10yrs)

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:54 pm

You sell to who? Nigerians? How come i can only see 1-2 altis in whole of 2014 while i have seen over a hundred elantras on the road?

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:26 pm

You have to wear your glasses to see the difference, imo. Or try doing a side-by-side comparison.

If you’re not happy with subtle differences in the facelift, then you must not be happy with BMW also.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:29 am

Lets compare C-Segment CBU, MSIA vs THAI.

MSIA (CBU):
          MAZDA 3: 139K
          ALTIS: 136K

THAI(CBU):
          ELANTRA: 89K

• xiper (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Altis yes I agree, but Civic no.

I still see tons and tons of Civics on the road, even the new City is as much as Elantra/Cerato on the road nowadays.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:24 pm

This car is cheap in Thailand is because in Malaysia, we are protecting the AP Bumi kings. This what happens when you give Bumiputera the oppurtunity to develop the car market, they find the easy way out and sell their AP to make a quick profit.

That is why all other car prices are high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 40
        • ProtonGSC on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:35 pm

So high price because cronies not enough makan.
          Tax helps Proton grow so global.
          Just accept GSC king of road.
          Proton needs government protection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Apa benda abisla kene? Why you like people to condemn and fight is it?

Jangan lah jadi batu api kzm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • landiar on Aug 11, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Bolehland top spec 1.8l only 105k
        Thai top spec 1.8l 119,800

So how? Where got Thai much cheaper?

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Msia 1.8Nu (CKD) top spec at 114k
          Thai 1.8Nu (CBU) top spec at 89k
          Thai 1.8Nu (CBU) mid spec at 81k
          Thai 1.8Nu (CBU) low spec at 74k

Hyundai only introduced BEST ENGINE 1.8Nu at THAI market, as a respect to Thai as 1st CLASS CITIZEN.

Poor 3rd class citizen in Msia will get the dated gamma or theta series engines at lower cc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • landiar on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:47 am

1.8l here can get 105k lor, checked with SA ady. That’s before FL, after FL, different price. Might be cheaper.

Waiting for new prices.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Suggest landiar to have tuition English class after work to improve reading & comprehensive

• landiar on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:49 am

Go check with SA, you only see the prices in OTO

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:05 am

NO, you are wrong. We have to compare official price tag from Hyundai Msia.

PROMOTION or DISCOUNT would not consider.

How we going to compare if THAI have another Discount by 10k later, then 5k, then 15k, etc… ??? What elantra thai price should be? Or what msia elantea price should be?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:47 pm

y pick me? obviously u the one make those kind of comment. don u even read ur own comment? read ur comment first… most of ur comment incite hatred…proof? click ctrl+F then type Same L0rrr

• kzm (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Not hard to guess since thai import tax kinda high..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:33 pm

THAI KING treat their rakyat better, tax huge lesser…

PRICE: at THAI’ CBU = at Msia’ CKD

Thai C segment CBU = Msia B segment CKD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Malaysian kena tipu by their own government but the kampung people are so stupid to even realise that they are being cheated.

So long as they eat their nasi lemak and pro create, they are very happy with their simple lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 28
        • The way you wrote showed you were simpleton too. You got no class and yet tried to disgrace kampung folks. yucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Dei. Don’t go around insulting people, okay? It isn’t their fault that the gov is suppressing their knowledge growth via biased television and radio channels. But thanks to internet savvy kids, the veil is slowly being lifted.

Now let’s get back to the car at hand, rather than about politics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
          • This is C segment, in B segment the prices are lesser different between one another

• Brayokmok on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Same Lorrr… I think you mabuk khinzir already ..sial

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • ProtonGSC on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Kampung people hate UMW so what??
          Take your car back taman UMW jer.
          Kampung love drive GSC and Suprima.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:16 pm

I would rated Preve at acceptable condition (average) in term if design but not Suprima.

Suprima front n rear are not match well…

P1 ENGINE IS NOT IN RIGHT TRACK.

Car makers worldwide develop lower fuel efficiency w/o losing its torque power performance.

I don’t see this mission in p1 even under the new CEO.

• gtrnk on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:43 am

Operation-Manager,
            You dun drive? No wonder you dun know if in city driving, Vios only gets 11km/l and Preve 10km/l. That’s 1.5l engine vs [email protected] engine.

Go and have math tuition if you dun know how to calculate.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:08 am

^Many people would disagree with you. The Preve’s rear lamps look like reflector strips stuck on as an afterthought. The Suprima’s rear is a much better effort by far and it is cohesive with the rising window line of the Preve’s chassis. The Preve also has a strangely high bootline that works better on the hatch than on the sedan.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:51 pm

if u all dont know import tax for thai is 80%..read don be lazy bum
          http://www.thaivisa.com/forum/topic/435479-taxes-on-cars-in-thailand/

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:19 am

What I read from this paultan article was a reduced price on Elantra (CBU) new facelift compared pre-facelift, with a total reduction by myr 30k top spec from 119k to 89k currently beneficial from AFTA.

Meaning that AFTA take effect at THAI with a newly reduced price.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:36 pm

That bcoz no import tax in AFTA genius..that y they said benefit of AFTA..built within ASEAN no need to pay import tax

• Ahaa.. Thats how the centre aircond vents should be placed the first time.. Previous one looks odd..

• totti on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:13 pm

New car price dropping and 2nd hand car will suffer with high depreciation cost.

This is what you have to bear with Kimchi’s Car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 41
    • Ryan.C on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:50 pm

totti, i guess you are driving kancil.
      which you bought second hand at 3k.
      If sell it, still can sell at 3k.. right?

• shawal on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Its already within our shores….lol..
    Anyway, hopefully those neanderthals will learn to put more airbags in their so-called flagship santa fe…

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:21 pm

New facelift manufactured at Msia but have prime launch at Thai ???

This is significant shown THAI is the AUTOMOTIVE HUB of ASEAN.

INDONESIA will become 2nd BIGGEST AUTOMOTIVE HUB after THAI.

Times go on, years & years after, we might losing to Filip Viet Myanm; but our beloved Trade Mntry still back MSIA that we still better than LAOS or CAMBODIA.

The same thing, Msia might be the last in ASEAN to introduce EURO4 even LAOS CAMBODIA more green than Msia.

But NO worrry, Msia still better compared to 3rd world countries.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
    • Hello rubbish operation manager ….

comparing 3rd world country is total rubbish .
      get your target higher la …. you are total rubbish !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 51
    • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:52 pm

So smart go buy your self a Bugatti jer.
      Talk so much no money still complain.
      High taxes due to expenses of bussiness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 29
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:12 pm

high tax due to protection for Proton! duh~~~

If not where to get RM1.7bil?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • fast5 on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Stop reply comments, it will stop when we stop reply.

• drMsohai on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Bersyukur la. we are better than zimbabwe and bosnia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • bersyukur la, ministry only drive merz or benz only, didnt manage to drive ferrari, so the ppl continue support local car la, government need protect the local car so local ppl got cheap car to buy…

• Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Ministers tell Malaysians and the kampung people we are better than Camcodia and Laos, the kampung people get excited and are content ie happy.

Then they tell fuel in Singapore is RM5 per litre but in Malaysia it is RM2.10.

But they fail to tell the kampung people even the normal government servant of low rank also earn SGD$8000 per month.

So which is cheaper?

Malaysian government servant earn Rm1500 but minyak RM2.10

or

Singapore government servant earn SGD8000 (Rm20,000) but minyak is RM5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
      • Kenny on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Normal gov servant of SG earning $8k? you must be joking. Dun simply bla. Please do home worklah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Ignorant and low class comments.

• wysywig on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:59 pm

They earn much but the quality of living some cases is lower. If you dun mind to live in small flat while you pay more than a condo in bolehland, please proceed. Noone stops you.

• Car-Fans on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Itu orang ada kerja mer ? Minum kopi in office nia ! They dun follow outside world …

• Hopefully kimchi improves its RV here !
    heart pain with current RV .

Good luck !

• This set of rims are much better than the old ones also thumbs up for the air-cond vent.

• Inokom quality is shit..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • azrai on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Don’t care as long Sime Darby can bring back some Baht into Malaysian. Good for our economy. So the name Inokom in the new Thai’s Hyundai too?

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Sawadee kup,
      Thanks Msia manufactured the car & selling here Thai at 74k (C segment CBU).

Thanks all msian to sacrifice themselves to purchase at 114k at Msia.

Haha… we buy at rm40k lesser even imported from your country.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:29 pm

the kampung people cannot even see that they are being cheated. So long as they can make babies and kahwin empat, they are very happy and can close an eye to a lot of misgivings and cheating by the government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Bob_B78 on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Haha, thai petrol price for RON95 is a lot more expensive than malaysia RON97.
        Every 1 liter you buy RON95 in thaliand means i get 2 liter here in malaysia with same price.
        When you spit in the sky, make it don’t fall back at your face

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:20 pm

This is so wrong on so many counts.

Malaysian assembled car but launched in Thailand first.

Thailand enjoys a AFTA price break, while we end up paying a lot more than our thai counterparts.

• fuerhasd on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:24 pm

this isn’t the worst case of something like this happened

last time, proton saga FL was unveiled in thailand first, months later only it got a debut in malaysia

• Car-Fans on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Like this cannot be lar ! How can we support H liao ! Ish! Ish! Ish!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:34 pm

i rekomend this car if not becos so little airbag…better buy kia cerato…but not kx version la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Car-Fans on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Uncle Semi – KIA Svc Center …later kena heart attack lor (tengok diapa kerja).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Lua Luan Sing on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Sam L0rrr…u cilaka! I nak masukkan u dalam jail akta hasutan…cilaka u…balik tong san la cilaka

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • cendol (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:06 pm

What Sam L0rr said is correct. You just don’t like to hear the truth, still living in Lala land.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Proton is good, others are rubbish!

• saufi on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:27 pm

In Malaysia, we can estimate the price tag already. Don’t expect to get 1.8L oversea brand (CBU/CKD) with less than 100K or should I say 110K? It’s unbelievable that the price of locally assembled car is much cheaper outside compared to the price in country of assemble. If government really follow Thai price tag for this car and other brands as well(which it will never happen), P1 and P2 will go bankrupt.

• ah chai on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:33 pm

let’s hope for a really competitive price strategy from Malaysia Hyundai, or Inokom. Let’s do it in the region of RM 78888 (baseline )-RM 88888 (high specs), if it it true than it would be a game changer.

but if the price is similar to the one right now touching 6 digits, then this is just going to be just another new car launch…

• iskhalifah (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Read numerous comments from existing Elantra users about their cars’ built quality and rattling noises. Having seen & touch the i30 Korean-CBU interior and compare it with the Inokom-CKDed Elantra, there’s quite differences in terms of materials fit & finish, and quality. Also read similiar issues on CKDed Mazda CX5 (carbase). Inokom should do a lot more to improve their QC.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 11, 2014 at 8:15 pm

Not only Inokom.

It seems that malaysians can’t figure how to screw a car together. CKD BMWs, Honda, are just as bad. Maybe Malaysian’s famous tidak apa attitude and/or the lack of proper QC since consumers will accept anything they throw at us.

I remember taking delivery of our then new Accord and 3 out of 4 cars in the delivery bay had misaligned doors/boot lids. Ours had misaligned interior panels and the paint had to be re-buffed due to hairline scratches….and worst of the lot, and had the misfortune of having to visit the SC 3 times for 3 different issues in the first month for problems probably due to it “not properly put together”.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Have seen this in the flesh outside of Malaysia. I can tell you from the outside itself, it is worth waiting for the new model. The back looks perfectly done, and the new front looks even nicer.

Only thing is I hope they improve the interior quality. The current one is nonsense. And that powertrain too. Hyundai can make decent engines like the 1.25 Kappa and the 2.0 GDI Theta. Unfortunately the 1.8 Nu is as coarse as a coffee grinder.

• das auto on Aug 13, 2014 at 7:35 pm

I thought the current altis interior is even worse. Cheap like myvi grade.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Car assembled in Malaysia. But price cheaper in Thailand compared to Malaysia.
    No explanation can explain this bull.

• Civic called.. said she want her rims back

• Garfield on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:48 am

Adoi, sorry to read some of the comments. Govt always kena even though the car companies are always complicit in making the price and eventually the profits higher.

List price 114K. 105K is the discounted price. Discounted price are always what the car companies CAN SELL in the first place. They price based on feedback and what they think they can get away with and STILL sell some cars. The way bank gives out loans, that 9K difference is considered downpayment (and again the car companies can easily offload the cars and still not losing money).

With our taxes, 105K may be is the fair price. But it shall not be easy then for the car companies to pass on more discounts and offload the cars on the pretext of giving generous discounts, especially when a facelift is coming and they need to clear their stocks.

Blame the government, yes. But blame the car companies too. And while you’re at it, blame yourselves for letting the car companies run away with undeserved profits.