Perodua to end 3-year free service package end Aug

perodua-free-service

There have been rumours circulating that Perodua will be terminating its three-year free service package, and we can now confirm that it is true.

The free service package, introduced in March 2013 alongside the value-for-money S-Series as part of the company’s 20th anniversary celebrations, will end for all Perodua models (Viva, Myvi and Alza) by the end of August. It will cease to exist on September 1.

“Customers who register their Perodua vehicles before the end of August will still be entitled for the three years free service package. We thank our customers for their continued support and we will continue to find new and exciting packages that will give better value to our customers,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh.

He added that Perodua is re-looking at the value proposal it is offering its customers, and will share more details soon. When it was announced, P2 said that the free service package, which includes parts and labour charges, is worth RM1,100 to RM1,200 to the customer. So if you’re looking to buy a Perodua, this is a good time to do so.

Out with the old, in with the new, they say. Could there be a new deal on the cards, to be announced along with the new “Perodua Axia”?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• What free service? Not free service la. Just free labour and engine oil only. Don’t misled the public.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 12
    • still cost RM1.1k mah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:36 am

Whatever, GSC will have life time warranty for the whole car.

P2 is for poor and no brainer.

No brainer balik kampung!

• please read carefully:

When it was announced, P2 said that the free service package, which includes parts and labour charges, is worth RM1,100 to RM1,200 to the customer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • iomasuck on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:46 pm

ioma is always sucky!

• Spark plug consider part? Its not included.

• qwerty on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:47 am

These things are so ambiguous; sometimes they charge for things we thought we didn’t have to pay, and at times, the other way round. :/

• xiper (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:53 pm

ending the 3-year free service and introduce a 5-year free service campaign?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Already no1 left p2 very far behind. Now its time to withdraw the Super Weapon.

What a worry, we going to have NEW MODEL to boost sales after.

• tombyron on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:57 pm

engine oil also free ka??

• AVH (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:21 pm

My parents were expacting 3 years free service when we bought our Alza, but yea….’free’only in certain aspect. Most stuff are still paid and only minor stuff are ‘free’, like the service charge for example. ….And the 5 year warrenty? 3 years for most of it, after that, minor stuff like Buttons and door handles are within warrenty.

• Low Budget on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Nothing is totally free! At the minimum they will charge for something else in order to recoup their cost.

• Leonard Chin on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:58 pm

The free service consist of three items 1) engine oil 2) oil filter 3) labor cost for each of the service interval for 3 years.

Did the SA not explain this to your parents about this? There is also a chart to show what needs to be paid during the various service interval.

For me this is a deal as lubricant prices goes up yearly and next year will have GST for the engine oil and oil filter.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Nope….it was around 5 years ago wihen the Alza was first launched. I think the explanation was cleared when the car arrived.

• 5 years ago there are not give free services for 3 years.. only starts from march 2013 they given free services.

• leoRNado on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:52 am

U r right AZ. The free serivce package just started with S series since March 2013. The one that AVH owned without that package.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 10:24 pm

I’ve checked again, it was part of a year end package(2009-2010) offered by our SA, 3 years free service. and 5 year warrenty…..no parts.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 10:26 pm

sod it sorry 1 year free service

• SA dont tell unless customer ask.. i went to few p2 shop. all SA like this. until i ask what is 3 years warranty.

• Mr.Skywalker on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:02 am

They shouldn’t call it FREE SERVICE in the first place if it only includes those three things. Regardless of SA having to explain it or the fact that oil change costs 100+. But I guess when they’re king of rebadging & owns the young consumer markets with myvi hantu & tin viva, honesty doesn’t mean much & they can use the term FREE however they want.

• Carnut on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:07 pm

My first free service of my Alza few months ago cost me about RM12 or RM15 (can’t remember exact figure but its close) which I remember was for some gasket of some sort and a car wash. Normal lube change was free which otherwise would have cost around RM130 maybe. Was surprised that they even gave me the left over engine oil from the 4 litre pack. Wasn’t expecting that. So I guess its as free as it gets. They will try to get you to buy an alarm buzzer but you can always politely decline.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Parts change for Alza since ownership:
        Boot mount(shakes at speed)
        Reverse sensor
        Rear drum brake (didn’t work for 2 weeks without noticing)
        Front brakes change to bigger Brambo version(old one is a goner since we’ve been relying it for two weeks)
        Car ECU(mltfunctioned)
        Car Bluetooth (still would’t sync)
        USB(wont connect at most time)
        Front Projector lamps
        Rear third brake lights.
        ABS fail(Tire lockup in wet)
        It was a first batch unit, so probably they ironed out the flaws, but my parents are never going back Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Almighty Snack Bar on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Almighty Snack Bar,

Haha.. Perodua is following the footsteps of its bigger brother (Toyota) in going in the perfect direction in losing their top sales position.

Hope this will teach Perodua a lesson so that they won’t misled us and cheat us innocent buyers in the market.

REMEMBER Perodua, Malaysians buy your car not because it is good in terms of safety and quality etc, but because we have no choice as the nearest alternative is Proton.

Hope Proton improves and teach u BSters a lesson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • leoRNado on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:56 am

I heard Proton improves 20 years ago.. Yes they improve.. but only a bit..

• Sleeping Beauty on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:31 pm

My 2004 Waja is more reliable than my wife’s 2012 Myvi.. is that reason enough to stop 3 years warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • shipwreck on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:23 pm

hey, I was just thinking about going for the myvi until i read your comment.

if u dont mind, may i know what has happened to your wife’s myvi? reliability is top priority for me too.. thanks

• Carnut on Aug 11, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Our family had a 2010 Myvi until recently when we changed to the new Alza. The only issue we had with the Myvi was the front brake caliper making noise when going through rough roads but that was easily solved. The only other thing we changed was the front absorbers and top mount which began squeaking after 3 years. Otherwise no complaints. The quality and drive is what is expected of based on its price. The only thing I don’t like is fuel consumption. It can be a bit high compared to other cars, which probably more due to a conventional 4 speed gear box.

My sis has the new Myvi 1.5SE and so far I haven’t heard any complaints from her after 1.5 years. I drove it and feel that its so much better than the one we had. But again FC is not so good compared say to Almera or City.

• theanswer on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:56 am

mine is myvi 2006. for a local brand (partially local at least) it is a good car..reliable enough (engine wise). i use brembo rotor disc (after oem keep warping 3 times in 3-4 years). absorber mounting change once (must change when changing the absorber). engine mounting once (premature wear and tear after 3-4 years..but mine after 5+ years). fc on hway, acceptable enough (but comparable with prince thp engine! *if hway cruisng). of course on city driving almera and city can gives better fc than old 1.5 myvi engine.

• shipwreck on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:24 am

thanks for the info.. that doesn’t sound too bad.. the FC is something to be considered though.

i’m not the kind of person who purchases a new car every 5 years so that’s why I’m looking for a reliable car after 14 years driving my 2000 Kancil :)

if you take good care of your car, it can last for years..

• leoRNado on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:04 am

shipwreck, i dont think sleeping beauty is keen in aswering yr curiosity thats y no feedback..

• Mr.Skywalker on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:10 am

It’s best you wait until the proton GSC or new perodua comes out. Let them compete first & then make the choice.

• Pokko on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:43 am

different segment la bro.. A vs B segement.. its like Myvi vs Viva

• Mr.Skywalker on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Agreed. But the reality is most m’sians out there don’t really care about segments. To them what really matters is price if size doesn’t differ much imo.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:12 pm

i will complain this in parlimen esok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
  • Nissan on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:01 pm

My daddy bought a Nissan Teana in November 2011, that time promotion free 2 years/10 times free service, that’s the real free service, ETCM didn’t charge any cent for every 5K service! Poor Perodua service

• dugongx on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Biasala. How can u trust a greedy company like UMW or perutdua? They spin n twist like no tomorrow. Honda and nissan really free means free. 1 sen oso no pay, nada, elek.

• salgoodguy on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:24 pm

put free normal oil and filter instead of free service…..what a shame

• leoRNado on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:06 am

ok la tuh. harga engine oil pun dh berapa. Drpd aku ni kena byr segala setiap servis. I prefer to pay little rather than to pay all

• FOONG on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Teana sure high price and high margin, free 10 times service are not costly for them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • clutch_plate on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:01 am

Capitalist is always capitalist… There’s no FREE that really FREE in this world nowadays. Just accept it..

• The free service cost P2 big lost that’s why P2 want to stop bleeding, however this is the trend in car market. Proton also recently announce they have free 3 years service, look like P2 going to lost more customer to Proton.

• leoRNado on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:59 am

emm.. we wait and see by year end who will get highest car sales.. interesting

• You really think ppl buy p2 because of the FREE service? It’s because Proton cars are unreliable.

• Reliability wise both p1 and p2 not perfect. But at there’s higher chance of a good car from p2.

There’s always something to say about either party. But to each his own. Everyone buys a car for a different reason and budget

• Savvy88 on Aug 13, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Now Proton are offering up to 3 year free service for most of their model (except SV model which is 1-year free service). Yes, its free including engine oil, oil filter,oil seal gasket and also labour charge.