SPIED: Proton GSC partially revealed on transporter

PROTON-COMPACT-CAR-1

While Perodua teased its new Axia model this morning, the soon-to-be-launched Proton GSC (Global Small Car) had a teaser of its own too. This one is not done officially however, as it comes in the shape of a partially-exposed model on a transporter, as spotted by reader Fadzil Bunian in Bestari Jaya last weekend.

The tail lamp of the black example is seen uncovered, revealing the new model’s LED combination rear lights. There’s a roof spoiler in view too, likely indicating that this is a high-spec, bodykitted variant of the new Proton model.

Another set of spy shots mailed in by reader Michael Tan from Malacca today shows two different Proton hatchbacks testing, one with a roof spoiler and one without.

The two Proton hatchbacks were seen wearing different alloy wheel designs. The one without the roof spoiler has simpler alloy wheel design, so it could be a low or mid range car.

With this, the officially-released photo of the headlamp assembly and our exclusive spyshots of the car’s interior and dashboard, we now have a clear picture of how Proton’s Myvi-fighter is shaping up to be. Looks rather promising, doesn’t it?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• 60k???LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 62
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 12:40 pm

60k? where u got those number? Even preve is cheaper..my bet price bet RM40-50k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 12:48 pm

I’d expect it to have a similar price to the Myvi, which means the highest spec could be around 60k. Hopefully the additions you get there will be superficial, like bigger rims, body kit, … Safety features are hopefully left intact across the board… or at least most of it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
        • kzm (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:18 pm

I don’t think it will touch RM60k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 188
          • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:14 pm

The higher the price = better built quality.
            Cheap price = Poor lousy quality.

RM60-50k include lotus handling(sport car) where to find?

RM40k and below = Poor and unprofessional people. Like P2 no quality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 26
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:29 pm

I like when people dislike Same Lorr’s comment..haha..It means that M’sian don’t like -ve people like you..booo booo…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 176
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 116
          • Pororo on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Hello Sam Lorr, kepala bana you said Proton only for poor people.. i saw many rich, successful person driving Proton, doesn’t mean you driving Proton or Perodua, you are miskin… kalau macam tu, kat Jerman,Siapa driving Merc, BMW, VW, dia org miskin because made in Germany, kalau kat Jepun, siapa drive Honda, Toyota, Mitsu etc dia org miskin sbb JDM, kalau kt Korea siapa drive Hyundai, Kia, Samsung, Chevy dia miskin sbb made in korea, kalau kat US siapa drive Ford, Chevy dia miskin sbb made in USA… kau cakap kalah orang gila and bodoh taw tak.. macam lu rajin sangat laa boleh merubah dunia…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 133
          • Asiah Lawa on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Komen Same Lorrr semuanya merapu, menyemak mcm sampah. Patut la ramai benar yang dislike.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Ah Beng himself said “RM40k and below = Poor and unprofessional people.”

So no doubt Saga is junk.

If P2 no quality why still so many ppl buy and become top seller in Malaysia??? P2 doesn’t have protection nor begging money from government.

Sales figure tell, no need syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 107
          • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:08 pm

This car will fail and next year, Proton will ask Government another RM1.7 billion.

Every year, Proton and MAS get 1 billion just to feed the cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 86
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:13 pm

U see Same Lorrr..We don’t like people like you..People dislike your comment. You have nothing to say just keep telling untruthful stories to all. Last time, basher can say that Same Lorr is the best in Paultan but now NO MORE!! PROTON supporters are now wake up to support this company. We want to be like Japanese and Korean who support their own product!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 7
          • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Proton is burden to the rakyat. Please Proton, close down and stop milking the rakyat for cash. LHDN is not your private bank

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 77
          • all the best to this GSC & Proton.. i still hv a little bit of hope for Proton.. this GSC is do or die for Proton..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Proton good or not, just buy lar. Proton break down RM500 to fix only, don’t tell me you don’t have RM500! Don’t even have RM500 you dare to buy car??

For Malaysia, for our pride, buy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
          • ProtonGSC on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Proton GSC smoke Peugeot 308, VW Golf and i20.
            Built quality come with expensive price.
            Same Lorrr go back kampung taman UMW.
            Proton king of road and RV.
            Proton for professional, P2 for Poor people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Proton is good, those who have break down problem with Proton are stupid, because they don’t know how to drive, their feet are cacat.

You don’t buy Proton, you get out of Malaysia. Malaysia not a place for the cacat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
          • SpaceWagon on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:50 am

hok alorrh Same Lorr, thanks to your beloved, yang kau sembah2, puja2, dok belai2 kan si UMW tu yang bangang, bawak masuk Camry, Altis yang very low spec and less safety features, mentang toyota is the famous and no 1 non national car brand in Bolehland. if you want to feel safe, add more money to buy a car with safety package, wtf??

padahal for example, new sylphy, cerato and even our “love-to-hate” local Preve have full safety feature even for their standard model except Cerato KX. padahal, for example the standard altis at arab saudi only cost you around RM45k to RM50k or maybe less and maybe in Bolehland, if there is less tax need to be pay, maybe cost you around less than RM70K.. but thanks to our KERAjaan, we need to pay more for only entry level car that makes the Malaysia assumed the toyota and other brand like Honda, Nissan and Kia, are the luxury car.

aiyoyo.

org malaysia terlalu puja2kan certain2 brand yang kononnya ada RV, can modified into race car and can terbang (MyVi and Vios especially) smpi sanggup tak kesahkan pasal safety. but hey, at least this GSC that you said the shitty car have better safety feature compare to your catfish vios, uncle camry and altis.

just, dont be a keyboard warrior here, bro Same Lorr. i don’t even think you are driving Toyota either.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:37 pm

The kampung people will bersyukur that the government is giving them a cheap car at Rm60,000.

But they are so stupid to realise, the same RM60,000 can buy a Camry 2.5 CBU Japan in the USA. Far better car with better safety features than the Global Shit Car (GSC)

Still want to believe in your Government?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 114
          • same lorrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Im rba and in stupid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
          • Puas Hati on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:36 pm

serius bro, aku tak tipu.. family besar aku pakai dari saga lama (ada 2 bijik), wira, iswara aeroback, saga fl, preve sebijik… semua tip top, puas hati.. kalau x pecut, save fuel, kalau pecut lebih sikit aaa pakai minyak hahaha sapa suh pecut hahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
          • ch3 m4t on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:18 pm

oit Same Lorr, stop blaming others la. yes proton and government put the car proce sky high, but yet honda and nissan can offer far more better safety features. toyota still dare to cheat malaysians. hopefully people who buy toyota get the highest spec, otherwise they just bought themselves a coffin with T brand, ready to die anywhere anytime.

• Aniq_Affandi on Aug 15, 2014 at 7:43 am

Typically in a car the extra features that increases a price would be the GPS system, bluetooth radio, better body kits, sport rims etc. So I think you should get what you pay for.

• Kevin Lau on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:15 pm

the only good thing I can say is at least it doesnt use that stupid side mirror recycled on persona/saga/preve/suprima s

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
        • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:11 pm

You know nothing about side mirror just buy GSC and ignore P2.
          German and Italy cars for cronies.
          P2 for Poor and unprofessional people.
          Proton for Rakyat. Smart choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
          • fast5 on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:05 pm

I really don’t yet it, why people can own a car consider unprofessional?
            Really please stop this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
          • Aniq_Affandi on Aug 15, 2014 at 7:45 am

I dont really get where you guys get this stereotypical ideas. A car is a car. If that’s the case, they didn’t need to give perdana to government officios, didn’t they?

• quicky on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:27 pm

You want it to sprint to 100km/h in 5 sec?

That’s hilarious.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:15 pm

These bashers just throw the numbers. They don’t use their brain to give the figure. GSC will be cheaper and better than Jazz. Jazz/Axia/GSC, I can’t wait to see who will win the battle..Thumbs up PROTON for your hardwork. All Malaysian (exclude filthy-minded bashers) are proud of you..wink wink..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
      • rifle on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Yeahh..my bet also around 40k-50k..because Proton’s B-segment car never reached 60k la..unlike P2..u can buy saga at the price of viva, and u can buy persona at the price of myvi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • 60k for full spec, ok lar.. ill buy it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 11
      • Ada Aku Kesah on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Better buy top spec Great Wall M4 Auto, also 60k price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
        • ayamitik on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:05 pm

then, what are you doing here? Go and book Great Wall M4 auto lah. it your money and your decision. good luck on your M4.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • grutt on Aug 11, 2014 at 7:48 pm

M4 has asbestos inside, scared got cancer

• ProtonGSC on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:32 am

Scare this scare that, better don’t go out from home later cancer finding people.
            Just balik kampung tanam/cucuk UMW jer.

• najib on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:19 pm

talking is cheap. just use your air liur.

• berkata benar on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:41 am

terima kasih kerana sudi menjadi tikus putih kepada potong untuk kami semua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
    • bobby chuan on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:18 pm

i thought it was gonna be the viva competitor??60k really?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 31
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:49 pm

You thought wrong. It has always been aiming to take the MyVi’s throne.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
        • Aniq_Affandi on Aug 15, 2014 at 7:47 am

And it shall. I have great confidence in that after going through a review of the specs.

• Car-Fans on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Sure ar – U dare to buy ? After a week later U complaint in here pulak !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • bobby chuan on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:19 pm

i thought it was gonna be the viva competitor??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
      • This PCC is against Myvi in B segment class but i think the Malaysian will compare with Axia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • rifle on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Yup..ur right..most Malaysian don’y know how to compare a car based on its segment..mostly because of its price tag and their release date is not far different..n mostly, its a competition between P1 n P2..Exora vs Alza, GSC/PCC vs Axia..even they are from different segment -,-‘

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:52 pm

To be honest, new/old viva has already won even GSC is yet to be launched. That’s why Proton is begging for RM1.7bil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 78
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Same Lorrr don’t have idea to talk ka? You can repeat your fantasy 5S..What Viva have wont? Nothing! This hot hatch will smoke-fart your Toyota and Perodua..haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:35 pm

The car not yet out and you can’t wait to syok sendiri talking smoke this smoke that.

Preve Premium 0-100 also need 9.6s, somemore it is turbo. What about none turbo? 10.7s, even Toyota hybrids beat it. lol

Smoke chicken wings with your noisy, powerless and hot Proton engine ok lar. More butter please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 45
          • zeczet on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Put racechip preve already smokes your Camry Hybrid lor..hahahaha

• wkaka on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:08 am

You want to remap/put a “racechip” into the Preve? Kiss that CVT goodbye! It’s not a sports car, this includes the Vios and other econoboxes. Wanna talk about smoking this or that car, get a proper car first.

• zeczet on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:47 am

You dun know about racechip go and read more. It’s not like those under tree bolt on turbo.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Proton 5S:
          Star built quality
          Safety(safe lives)
          Safe fuel
          Safe money
          Safe free item

Same Lorrr go back taman UMW.
          Eat dust by GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
          • samelorstpd on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Same Lorrr,
            Where is your SS (sucky 5S)?
            I’m waiting in 3, 2, 1……

• Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Proton save lives?
            How many Proton on the road has safety features?

Check out the Saga, Iswara, Wira, Waja, Satria, Savvy ON THE ROAD, NOT the Preve/Suprima S in SHOWROOM/WAREHOUSE.

Syok Sendiri only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 34
          • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:36 pm

I know most Proton cars on the road has little close to nothing safety features. But i only wish I can afford a Preve/Suprima S.

For me, Preve/Suprima S are the whole Proton. Other Proton cars? They are just junk! No body care about the junk what!

• toyotsuck on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:52 pm

Well as time goes Proton goes safer and safer. While Vios still no VSC in top variant. Not to mention decades engine and dino era 4 speed gearbox.

So shame.

• caprico on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:38 pm

your honesty is not good enough. I’ve owned a viva before (and it’s premium, mind you). the door feels like tin kosong every time I close it. And the first 2 years of usage, I can smell smoke from inside the cabin and the stock radio jadi gila.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Then you would expect worse from Saga. You maybe feel like tin kosong, but at least it doesn’t break down and give you garage visits like Proton does.

Want to go for better car, eg. Toyota/Honda/Nissan, save more money and work harder then.

If not Proton and its tax protection, your hard working can get you a 3 series easily.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
          • array on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Vios also rosak, Toyota where got quality now. Recalls all over the world.

• Aniq_Affandi on Aug 15, 2014 at 7:49 am

If you don’t know, don’t talk. The 1.7b is not investement. It’s a REIMBURSEMENT. Meaning, that money has already been spent and been allocated to companies to to use for their RND purposes. Western Digital also got request. Go bash them la. Sigh

• ciakap on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Lol.. Proton not announce any price ye. Are you proton CEO?

• berkata benar on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:43 am

mahathir dah bagi hint. bukan susah nak baca hint org tua tu.

dia cakap mahal skit tu maknanya mahal sangat2

• ProtonGSC on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:41 am

Mahal skit = built quality.
          Cheap = lousy built quality, no safety.

Just buy Top spec, Low spec for Sissy.
          GSC king of road and RV.
          DrM needs Gov protection.

• ciakap on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:27 am

lol.. mahal dari viva pom kira mahal jugak

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:01 pm

It’s cheaper than that. That is what Malaysian want. PROTON are transforming now. Ah Beng fully support PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Proton has been transforming since 1982, and it forever it will transform. Success or not, out of the topic. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
        • Meanwhile Vios still has old engine and 4 speeder until year 2100. That’s the spirit of if no problem why change?

LOL

• berkata benar on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:44 am

yg penting jimat minyak. lama baru tak penting .kalau bagus ok.

• Safety is more important than FC

• Preve is continental driving feel. Perfect handling, cut wind noise thumb up, driving at 120-170kmh low wind noise compared with Civic, Lancer/Inspira (JDM). You should try how good is Proton now.

• Nissan on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:37 am

Hahaha…

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:29 am

Same Lorr comment:

Hidden due to low comment rating. Click here to see.

Hahahahaha…

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:22 am

Ah Beng supporter” disguise of Same L0rrr..

Same LOrrr pretending he’s innocent, being communize, being the victim..

PROTON fans are not like that. We give concrete reason why we support our local made..We just don’t tell people to buy PROTON. Action speaks louder than words!

• ProtonGSC on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:47 am

For your info just change name due to the disguise.
        Proton GSC king of road and RV.
        Same Lorrr balik kampung taman UMW.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Look nice..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • NG ZHi Lin on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:04 pm

if proton can price this attractively with proper accessories . I wouldnt hesitate to get one for my mum! u have my word for it proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
      • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Yes will do.
        Higher price with better built quality.
        Run DrM says Good quality don’t come with cheap price.

Just buy safety for your mum.
        Ignore all 1 air-bag German tech and Japan conti. Them all go back to kampung !!!

• Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:11 pm

See the typical Proton fanboys mindset:

If you don’t buy Proton, you get out of Malaysia.

If other cars are better than Proton, they should get out of Malaysia market too.

Isn’t it sound like communist?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
          • fast5 on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:18 pm

I get too agree with u, all GO OUT then all just use motorbike and public transport.

• gOOsh (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:34 am

mind your language brader…

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:01 am

“Ah Beng supporter” disguise of Same L0rrr..

Same LOrrr pretending he’s innocent, being communize, being the victim..

PROTON fans are not like that. We give concrete reason why we support our local made..We just don’t tell people to buy PROTON. Action speaks louder than words!

• Hang Tuah on Aug 11, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Terbaik Proton.. Cayalah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
  • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Aug 11, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Which part looks promising??

Pls enlighten me…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 44
  • Tengokaje.. on Aug 11, 2014 at 12:48 pm

PCC (Proton Compact Car)
    Heard that it will be launch this September

• COCOON on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:11 pm

this september iphone 6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Don’t talk any unrelated brand here !!!
        Only Proton can be discuss.
        You can talk at home or just balik kampung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Even if you don’t talk about Proton, you have to get out.

lol… Tomorrow Proton launchs a 1 wheel car also he will die die ask ppl to support.

You don’t buy Proton, you get out. lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
          • samelorstpd on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Then get out lor, what so difficult? I dun see anyone stopping you.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:00 pm

The looks are fine, though some competitors look rather more striking or sophisticated. Just look at the details say a Peugeot 208, Renault Clio or Mazda 2 have to offer, and how good they look (especially the Mazda). This thing seems to focus more on practicality, but the Jazz does too and looks more interesting IMHO. The interior seems rather dull and un-premium too… hopefully in real life it will be better. Look at the Citroen C4 Cactus… despite having a cut cost interior it looks interesting and expensive, and reviewers like it.

Still, it should be quite interesting. Let’s see if it can fulfil the promises. Good safety should be a given and that’s a very good thing. Puts other car makers under pressure to finally update their cars to the standard of 2005… at least if the Proton sells well. If not, expect 2 airbags and no stability control for the next 10 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:51 pm

I think the spyshots of the interior are obsolete since they were taken long before Mahathir took the helm of Proton and promised good quality materials. I think they would be forced to reselect materials for the interior with a bigger budget. Hopefully that turned out well. Hopefully.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Of cause is terjamin, can’t you just see already is well built quality.
        Just buy and talk less about promise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • mim (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Proton did a massive survey recently and some insiders said that a lot of the interior has changed from prototype stage. Including the weird gear knob.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:14 pm

It depends on the definition of ‘sell well’
      Proton even today has been outselling all its competitors at this price range.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Spot on.

I too agree, for some reason this thing looks a bit unfinished at the back. A quick Google shows the “exposed” images of the soon to be crash tested car, and judging by it, the front looks decent but not the back. The tail light looks too small for the body, but it could be some form of cladding on the hatch door that is blocking the balance part of it. So far, all of Proton’s in house designed models since 2007 (Saga, Satria Neo, Exora, Preve and Suprima) have been having their number plates on the boot door/hatch door and not on the bumper. It would be a bit odd for this to “break” that styling cue. (Note the Persona and Inspira are exceptions as the Persona was a booted Gen 2 designed in 07 and the Inspira is a Mitsubishi).

Cost cutting != Dull design. But Proton has a lot to depend on this model, as the success of this would help in the Saga MK3’s success. Plus, I’d say it is 100% confirmed we would get a new NFE or whatever it will be engine in this, cause right now, none of the Proton cars (at least the recent ones) even use the older Campro engine – except the Persona and Satria which are now nearly 7-8 years old. The rest all use the newer CFE turbo variant.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:01 pm

don care how much…iasal i get profit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • AVH (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:17 pm

It needs to wow people, not just an improvement over yesteryear-Proton like how the Preve siblings are(with the exception of the engine). With the GungHo Speech the Doctor is putting, my expectation is very high for this car in particular the quality of it.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:53 pm

They should at least try to match or better the Korean’s interior quality. Few can match Toyota’s interior quality and execution, let alone Honda’s. (My humble opinion is that Honda makes one of the best interiors in terms of quality, practicality and splashes of style).

• AVH (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:10 pm

I would say its very sturdy interiors Honda’s, after almost 4 years of abuse, theres little scratches on the glovebos(I carry my laptop bag everywhere I go….and some stuff, the zips would just scratch the glovebox on the Alza easily)Theres little penal vibration or squeking noise. But Honda’s weakness is their NVH. They’ve always sucked at that. The new Accord and the City/Jazz are a improvement as far as my limited time with them experienced.

Toyota by far provides a much more subtle ride, and is excellent at just cruising around. The Korean…I’am not sure. Back when I was leased a Hyundai Matrix CBU 1.8, I didnt felt the quality was any bad, great if I were to say so. The maintenance cost was cut-throat back than(2008)compared to a Vios or Japanese cars, but that was it really. I have sat in modern Hyundao-Kias, and compared with the Japanese, I cant ever say one is better, thou K-car and J-car fans would disagree strongly.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Yeah, I have heard of Honda’s NVH weakness but it seems they’re trying hard to overcome it. Mitsubishi’s NVH isn’t that great either but I don’t know whether that applies to all their cars. A person that does automobile soundproofing said that it is. I’ve been inside the last gen Civic and am just blown away by the way they designed the interior with all the compartments and cubby holes. Very clever folks. Masters of packaging, indeed.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:15 pm

I’d agree too, Honda’s are really masters of packaging. Just sitting in the City, I was blown away by the space! It’s not a long car in the metal, but the leg room was fantastic. I was expecting a tiny boot the first time I saw it, but when I opened it, I was impressed by the size.

Not sure what unicorn magical powder Honda is sprinkling in their interiors to get this much space, but I can tell you everyone else’s still stuck trying to crack to code.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Still talking others brand?
        Only Proton can be talk here.
        Just buy or you will regard for life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Ng Zhi LIn on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Hahahahhaah! nowadays I don’t even have to access 9gag for my daily laughter…… reading your comments made me LMAO!

• Initial view after looking at leaking photo’s around web….It’s hard to bash this car even if I want it too. Design cue honestly…Got too put my arse on the seat to feel it ..then come the verdicts..

• ciakap on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:01 pm

cant wait to test drive it

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:40 pm

No need to test already knew is good.
        Already test at snow weather no problem.
        Just buy and will storm your mind.
        Testing is for Sissy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • SSaturn on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Mini Exora =_=”

• superman on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Pls note that the GSC was first started under DSSZ and after drb took over the whole top class tech and engines were changed and delayed until now.

• if the end result of this new Proton car looks like Honda Jazz 2013 .. i will ban HONDA Malaysia .. never ever let your design to be copy by other car maker….that’s the reason why people buy other car due to variety of choice and design not just on the Brand it self.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Standard price from RM45K to Medium Line RM49K and High Spec (SE) RM55K.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:44 pm

RM 50k – 40k is for Sissy, low built quality.
      RM 60k is what been promise built quality.
      Just buy top spec.

• rotipisang on Aug 11, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Kalau cover pn kualiti mcm taik buat aper?? baik bukak jer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
    • ciakap on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:03 pm

komen macam taik.. orang tgk kete la bodo.. bukan tgok cover

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • want_diy on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:14 pm

alaa xyah cover sgt laa, dah mmg mcm taik ponn..ko ciakap pon taik gakk hahahaaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
      • rotipisang on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:18 pm

mmg la tgk cover,… nak tgk dalam kena la selak,.. bodo lagi ke?
        tu kan ade cover,… ko bukan nak beli pun. alaaaa lau ko beli pun keta kecik je.. tak mampu ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • rotigulung on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Beemer VW yang keje kuar masuk worksyop pun cover. Aper cer?

• rotipisang on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:36 pm

bodo laaa,…
            bukan cite pasal cover,.. pasal dalamyer yg atas lori tu. Quality dia MACAM TAIK!
            savvy la bench mark dia..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
          • want_diy on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:37 pm

ko pakai beemer keeee..?

• rotigulung on Aug 11, 2014 at 7:26 pm

ko la bodo
            aku cer psl keta dlm cover
            bkn psl cover

bodo botingkek2

• berkata benar on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:57 am

2×5 5×2 …sama sama bodo

• Puas Hati on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:31 pm

family besar aku byk pakai proton.. proton mmg TERBAEKKK, jarang nk rosak, aku lanyak iswara aeroback aku tapi mmg tahan lasak btol la.. wira abg aku tahun 1995 sampai skang still mantap!!! ada yg pakai Saga dalm 4 tahun dah pun x prnah bg masalah. mmg x rugi la.. serius x rugi. tq Proton!

• royipisang boyo on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:59 pm

kesian.. kualiti macam taik pun bukan ko yang nak beli.. ntah2 ko cuma ada kapcai ja.. bila ujan dok bawah jambatan kesejukan.. kesiann… haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • want_diy on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:02 pm

i will buy this car…so what?

• nabill (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:13 pm

That antenna in da rear kinda looks like an errection…!

• totti on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Stay away from P1 fail campro engine.

Buying a budget car is to reduce the long term expenditure cost which spend on maintenance and petrol. P1 dont have a reliable engine now unless they use Mitsubishi/Honda engine to beat the P2.

Tiara/Sawi/new saga is a good example of P1 budget car but long term maintenance will kill the poor guys and resale value like a shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Henry on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:54 pm

This is how the poor become poorer from buying watered-down cars that need frequent in-patient treatments. Insurance companies should start offering health insurance for cars. LoL.

• P2 also same, high maintenance and myvi sucks fuel.
      all car now day design like that, warranty expired will start to maintain.
      Audi= ring piston problem, sucks engine oil. you can google “audi problem” and will know.
      VW=gearbox problem. you can google” VW problem”
      ……..

• Whats the problem with some guys who likes the design? I havent able to see the GSC or whatever name you call it.How can you say it will be successful? And whats your success standards anyway? Fanaticism at its best!

• common sensor on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:32 pm

This model is long overdue. Please launch it ASAP. No point of trying to tease the market for too long, it will just kill the excitement. I don’t think it will be better than the global brands. Proton just do not have that capability .. full stop.

• Why look like a drawing? Photoshopped wan lah.

• Alex8 (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:35 pm

What if Proton exposed this car partially on purpose? It would totally succeed in getting more attention as a “Spied” car rather than a “sneak peak”.

• azrai on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Most Malaysian will wait for SV variant.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:47 pm

SV = SISSY Version.
      Top spec = terjamin built quality.

• mamat on Aug 11, 2014 at 2:50 pm

sepahnye design tail lamp tu.. langsung xde flow.. designer otak beku..

• wow! like Honda Jazz, the exterior look better than new P2 Viva hopefully the price is lower than P2 Myvi and the high end spec come with Turbo, paddle shift, 7 speed CVT, full leather seat, 15″ sport rim(or bigger), touch screen multimedia player with GPS(adroid player) and reverse camera

• rotipisang on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:23 pm

High specs means higher pricelah..dream on if u think this model is cheaper than myvi..for all the specs u listed above but u did mention Jazz..Wei Jazz will win every corner..want better car pay more lah..

• cendol (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:13 pm

GSC will fail just like Sawy.
    I still remember the Sawy ad featuring 2 guys in a car being lifted by a dinosaur.
    GSC will be like dinosaur, a thing of the past, fit for museum only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
  • cendol (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:14 pm

And Potong is going to claim another 1.7billion for Gahment.
    They buy Potong for 1.1billion but ask for 1.7billion.
    This kind of easy business I also want.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
  • lazyf on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:27 pm

I will choose either Great Wall M4 or this upcoming PCC.

I will say NO to Perodua Axia

• Mr Hafriz,i just couldn’t believe my eyes!!I actually saw Honda One on OTR in Bangi just now bearing test plate!!!!Is it coming???Anyone has any idea???

• brazbuz on Aug 11, 2014 at 3:48 pm

There’s one recond car dealer in kajang selling this car. 660cc turbo at Rm85k… The dealer name is ‘moscorp’ if i’m not mistaken. This possibly recond car

• wahh thank you brazbuz.i even contacted Honda Malaysia and Global Amity to confirm.Haha.menggelabah for a minute there.So i will stick to my plan with picanto la.haha.

• Paul Tan on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:06 pm

There are two on oto.my

http://www.oto.my/cars-for-sale/honda/n-one?display=list

• Wahhh it’s the sifoo himself!!Thank you Mr. Paul Tan.If only Honda Malaysia brings this in.I found out about this model 2 years back and fell in love instantaneously.And when I saw it (the white one) just now i felt like Liam Neeson.”I WILL FIND YOU, AND I WILL BUY YOU.NO MATTER WHAT IT TAKES.”was already thinking to trade in my “unborn” (bank agreement signed already) picanto if this is coming soon.haha.talking about true love.:E

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Heard from sources
    1.3 NA RM42500-45250
    1.3CFE RM52500-56500
    1.6 NA RM53500-56500
    1.6CFE RM65000-69500

Wonder if its true..
    Campro upgraded engines
    CFE ive heard extra 10% of torque

• roffstoff on Aug 11, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Definetly not true

• eimsperfume on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:24 pm

GCC 1.6 CFE + 10% that means around 154ps and 264nm torque
      this small car will be a pocket rocket.
      sure will get many buyers since malaysians like to rempit.

• Its not true

• mim (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Definitely not true. Why would you have 1.3CFE and 1.6NA in the same range? 1.6NA would be tak laku.

Many insider gave this tip:
      1.3 IAFM+ (retuned old engine)
      1.6 VVT (supposed to be named “NFE” but finally used a general name because typical Msian would have no idea what’s an NFE. NA version of CFE, but retains the CVVT mechanism)

A hot version with uprated Turbo (CFE) would be awesome. It was supposed to have a 161hp sibling before, right?

• Henry on Aug 11, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Is this a recycled Savvy? It sure looks like one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • rotipisang on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:28 am

owh this one they call it SAWI..same but not identical(sama tapi xserupa)..puihhh..

• cepat Proton cepat..

• abgmotobwhjambatantimehujan on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:30 am

cepat pon watpe..last2 cam savvy gak bukan ko beli pon

• Quick Fact PCC: Fuel Economy and Emission
    1) EPS
    2) Smart Alternator
    3) VVT
    4) Maniverter

• mim (Member) on Aug 11, 2014 at 8:33 pm

In case of some ppl wondering,

Maniverter= intergrated catalytic converter in exhaust manifold.

Proton should rename the VVT (previously codenamed NFE) engine as CVVT to highlight that the VVT system is continuous. We all know that the 1.6NA engine is a CFE without turbo and more aggressive version of it’s existing CVVT system.

• matdogol on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Beter buy myvi 1.5 rathen than this campro engine fuel suck and myvi resale value better thanthis lousy engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • jacksonljs on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Myvi 1.5 with that kind of chassis and handling, dunno flying to where or which universe already (even 1.3 also speeding + zigzagging like nobody business). Personally i think Myvi are most suited with 1.0L engine instead (although i did admit that i like high-powered/torque car sometimes especially after i tested a 370Z manual, but for Myvi, 1.0L engine is good enough for daily driving and highway at moderate speed).

Meanwhile, for a car with strong platform/chassis (hopefully GSC have this criteria), a bigger cc/higher powered engine can cope it well, but up to a certain limit. Car with strong chassis not necessarily need to be heavier.

• vwowner on Aug 11, 2014 at 6:28 pm

How care? …

• %100 sure Proton has constipation problem. Its been testing this GSC for about a year and still no news.

• ciakap on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:37 am

that show that.. to build a car not just uli-uli tepung..lipat-lipat tepung.. tebar-tebar tepung..lepas tu..goreng..”SENANG”

• Albert Lee on Aug 11, 2014 at 9:28 pm

When the doctor tells a diehard hardcore protong loyalist that he has cancer…the diehard will deny he is slowly dying but will say “I’m good”.
    Proton Fanboys live in a state of constant denial and fantasy.
    From Savvy to Suprima,tell us which model has become a global seller?
    No point having the gaya,pomp and syiok when sales are dipping fast,proton.

• albertstpd on Aug 11, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Still the second after p2. Time will tell whether PCC can change it. Only butthurt losers tell this and that. They lose before fight because they are coward.

• Sukatikuempun on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Aku hidup dan mati di Msia..negara maju dan membangun,.rakyat aman .dari mula dah pakai 3 jenis proton Iswara,Wira hingga skrg Exora CPS plak..still ummphhh..nyatakan sumbangan anda pada negara ..

• berkata benar on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:37 am

sumbangan saya pada negara bayar duit cukai untuk bagi potong terus hidup.

• dont give a damm on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:38 pm

need to cut out something 1st?

• Enthu on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:16 am

The proportions are totally off from the side views….as always, Proton design never appeals.

• suana on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:27 am

tak de ape yg istimewa… mcm savvy,,,mcm myvy… macam tak de idea lain. kecewa sangat kecewa… ape .. org Malaysia dah tandus idea ke… NYAMPAH EDEN

• apex kit on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:14 am

Aiya..this not even on sell..people say this say that…haters will always be haters..even p1 rebadge lambo…in the end,they still be haters..if u want to kutuk,wait till the car officially launch la..test drive it..then give some good or bad comment..sincerely..then hope proton will take note la..if not for u,then it for other potential buyer…
    Btw..haters kat sini drive kereta apa?lambo ka?ferrari ka?aiya..ferrari also sadai at roadside la…with 60k,u hope u feel like 100k car ka?get a life bro…

• megde on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:11 am

They drive 1000hp cars like veyron, satisfied? That;s why they want B segment car looks like a Ferrari.

Here the normal practise would be bash first think later. LOL

• alan0883 on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:23 am

hope proton has improved otherwise jadi global SICK car

• Armani Polo on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:02 am

Wow!!!!! I love this Proton G.S.T. KKKKK…..

• Armani Polo on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:05 am

Wow!!!!! I love this Proton Gie. Es.Teee.

• ini semua wayang la. If you really want to cover it, you will cover the whole thing. This one trying to create excitement but failed badly. The marketing ppl there are still the same as during Savvy time. Still stick to their reveal sikit sikit ads.

• iomasark on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:05 pm

That’s a teaser, you dun know? Any company does like that lor.

• Samurai G on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:13 am

This GSC is competing with MyVi in Segment B. i guess the price still within MyVi price. But even the same price, u will get more with GSC. with 1.6 cc (MyVI only 1.5cc), more specs & more safety features..so what are waiting for?

still believe in Proton…

• Matrix on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Proton of course do teasers. It is a brand new car they made themselves while Perodua cars you can probably see them already on roads in Japan. I saw the new Suzuki SX4 in France on the road last May.

• Global Sampah Car on Aug 24, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Global Sampah Car dont even dream competing in the world market.. Local market most likely to fail big time due to pricing vs quality+reliability. Global Sampah Car.. for idiot that want to look smart!

• volvoBenz on Jan 06, 2015 at 7:34 pm

I dislike all samel0rr comment…GO DISLIKE samel0rr COMMENT!!! GO PROTON!! GO AH BENG!!!