Ceiling price for driving courses out this week

driving-test

The government is set to announce a ceiling price for all driving course categories, in view of the proposed increase in driving school fees following the introduction of the new Drivers’ Education Curriculum (KPP) syllabus, Bernama reports.

After the proposed fee hikes drew numerous public complaints, the government has decided to step in, according to Transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai.

“Even though we can’t control the fees but the increase up to 50% or 100% as proposed by driving institutes is unreasonable,” the national news agency quoted him as saying.

Liow added that Road Transport Department (JPJ) director-general Datuk Seri Ismail Ahmad has been in discussions with driving institutes over the maximum limit for the fees and the new syllabus.

The Transport ministry recently postponed the implementation of the new KPP syllabus, which was supposed to begin August 1, to allow JPJ to conduct further studies on the curriculum and its costs.

The new curriculum is said to focus on producing courteous and disciplined drivers, rather than the current curriculum’s said dexterity and traffic rule comprehension.

Its implementation could also see the introduction of the much-delayed auto transmission-only driving licence category (denoted at the back of the new hard-card driving licences as Class DA).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Apa pun mau naik.

• fast5 on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:07 pm

If so much time thinking about increasing fees.
    What about just abolished AP system, import tax and excuses tax?
    Whole Rakyat will accept the suggestion.

• abuyaq123 on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Abolish AP, import tax also would not settle our main problem now. Our road traffic are saturated. Last 6 years, we still can travel and stop at RNR during peak time especially end Ramadan. Now? If you can stop at RNR, you’re lucky. If you can use RNR toilet without hassle, another lucky. If you can buy nasi campur at RNR, you are superpower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Well, this is a first step to introduce courtesy on the road…it’ll be very difficult because they’ll be fighting against road cultural norms because currently many people on the road lack this sort of courtesy. In the end, they might just give up being courteous on the road and fight fire with fire just to stop themselves from being bullied by the not-so-courteous. They might also have to put up with the elder generation who are riding with them saying “don’t need to care so much about other people lah. They’ll do the same to you.”

Seriously, the existing road users also need some form of education about road courtesy.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:35 pm

How many of us paid undertable money to pass da test… Instructor will tell u b4 da test to pay otherwise u wil repeat…

• Hope it will be expensive. Too many cars in KL. Some may hate this but its for the better good. Want to get stuck in jam for 5 hours everyday? No thank you.

• ben yap on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:54 pm

better include some advance driving lessons such as power slide and J-Turn.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:39 pm

tak apaa…confirm pass diff package