Honda Accord 2.4 now with six airbags, price up RM2k

Honda-Accord 001

The Honda Accord 2.4 has been upgraded to six airbags (from four) as previously revealed, and we now know that the RM170,057.60 OTR without insurance price is up by nearly RM2,000 as a result, RM1,948 to be exact. What you’re getting are curtain airbags on top of dual front and side airbags. The 2.0 litre variants are unchanged, with two airbags.

The ninth-gen Honda Accord was launched in September 2013 here with three variants – 2.0 VTi, 2.0 VTi-L and 2.4 VTi-L. The range topper is powered by a 2.4 litre Earth Dreams Technology engine, which makes 175 hp at 6,200 rpm and 225 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The DOHC i-VTEC unit is paired to a five-speed torque converter automatic gearbox.

Read our launch report, test drive report and watch the Accord in Driven Web Series, where the 2.4 went up against the Toyota Camry and Mazda 6 in last season’s company car battle. The big Honda appeared again in this season’s D-segment shootout, where the 2.0 lined up alongside the Nissan Teana and facelifted Kia Optima. Finally, compare all Honda Accord specs on CarBase.my.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Now…they just lack 4 airbags in the 2.0L variants. Nissan’s Teana still has the edge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • kvsual on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Even without the extra airbags, teana stil a better well performed car. Love♡!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 40
      • Malaysians ALWAYS Cheated on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:39 am

What big bull is this. In the US this car 2.4 has 9 airbags as standard and the price is US$20,000. That is about RM60,000. CBU much higher quality and higher spec. Does our CKD even got basic things like Tyre Pressure Monitoring system that is standard in US?

In Malaysia, because Syed Mokhtar is the true Prime Minister and everyone in the cabinet worship Syed Mokhtar like King, he can price this car at any price with any amount or airbags and no one can question him.

This car is priced at RM180,000 with just 4 airbags? Now increase to 6? What nonsense is this?

Already Honda Malaysia ie DRB is making a big killing off this car. Buta buta at least RM100,000 profit from each car sold plus our Honda is CKD and it should be much cheaper than the CBU Accord at US$20,000.

When will Malaysians realise we are being cheated? Double whammy cheated.
        1) Price 3x ganda
        2) Safety spec reduced tremendously
        3) Fully Made in Malaysia CKD with lower quality than Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
        • debbie on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Bolehland is not developed country, why compare with USA?

Look at Thai prices :
          Top spec 2.4l = 1,799,000 Baht
          That means RM179,900

What say you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:05 am

U think he/she read what u write?..to him/her boleh is suck place to live in..

• Onanodus on Aug 03, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Accord in US has 6 airbags as standard…

• pontiac on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:11 pm

u guys forgot something? MAZDA6 WAYYYY Better than those unclish car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 51
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:02 pm

One does not simply compare the Mazda6 with the rest of the Japanese D-segment cars. Just because they’re in the same segment doesn’t mean they can be compared apple-to-apple.

The Mazda is more focused on driver excitement compared to the other D-segments so the comfort and refinement would not be as good as what you’d get from the Accord, the Teana or even the Camry. Comfort and refinement also happens to be what most people who can afford shopping for new D-segment cars are looking for in their car since they would usually have families by then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • xiper (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Well it depends on how you define the “way better”. In terms of comfort and space, the Accord and Teana are wayyyy better than the Mazda 6. It is all depending on what the buyer wants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • _xXx_ on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:03 pm

my small little swift sport has 6 too. What’s so great about 6-airbag?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Legend on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Come on Honda!Why don’t you make it six airbags and VSA as standard across the Accord Range?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 0
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Proton also didn’t make it standard across all the Proton models, yet their hardcore fanboys think their Iswara, Wira, Waja, Satria, Exora are the safest car in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 40
      • roffstoff on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:53 pm

No one think iswara, wira, waja, satria, exora, inspira is the safest car in the world. Old cars especially iswara and wira are not very safe car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • jazzer on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Surpise surprise surprise. Where is preve, scared to say it?

Let me say Preve got 5 star Australia NCAP Safety Rating.

How about that, good enough issit? LOLOLOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 18
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:12 pm

I am objective and everything is fact based.
          I admit Preve is a safe car with 5 star safety rating. YES IT IS. But Proton build quality deter people from buying it. End up most Preve are in showroom or warehouse.

What is the point of car having 5 star safety rating if it is not driven on the road?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
          • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Yes, but that’s the fault of consumers who think a failed power window and some minor rattling is worse than poor safety. I’d rather sit in a cheap feeling car with minor problems than a car that feels more premium (at a much higher cost) that is a death trap.

That Proton is able to offer the Preve for 60k is quite astonishing, apparently the build quality had to suffer for it to reach that price point. But if they increase the build quality, and with it the price, sales would also be very poor.

Also, IMHO much of the bias against Proton is based on cars that aren’t even produced anymore. The brand has improved, just that no one cares. They could be offering Toyota levels of quality with Mercedes levels of refinement and Ford levels of handling at Perodua pricing. And no one would buy their cars.

I just wish people would care more about their lives, and be more willing to give Proton a chance (but please only newly launched models, can’t really recommend cars prior to the Exora. Ideally it’s the Preve, Suprima S or GSC (depending on specs?).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
          • jazzer on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:44 pm

Too many preve on roads now, too few catfish Vios. You said most Preve in showroom?

Lame.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:39 pm

If you are as objective and fact-based as you claim, why are you attaching your own conclusion and opinion to your facts and observations? Let people make their own conclusions based on your hard-hitting facts. I’ve seen moments when you were objective and they were good points that you made but your follow up to the facts usually provokes a lot of flaming.

• standard on Aug 13, 2014 at 1:35 pm

PROTON make six airbags and other safety features as standard for all preve variants. That is the way it should be…

• Same L0rrr on Aug 13, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Ah Beng/ Ah Beng supporter/Ah Beng support Proton/Ah Beng xxx likes to diguise as me when my fact and points hurt him hard.

I would never said Proton for poor people (I was a Proton user also). Poor people can’t even afford a new car.

However, after owning Proton, you will get poorer, because of its awesome build quality. I am a Proton victim, so do many people out there, aren’t you?

You are not poor to get a Proton. But Proton will make you poorer, after here break down there break down. Agree?

• samelorstpd on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Yeah yeah what ever you want to say liar.

Cooooooooooooool story brrrrrr

ROTFL

• kzm (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Apa yg kau merepek ni? Why you like people to condemn and fight is it?

Jangan lah jadi batu api Same L0rrr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
  • For RM2K, why can’t Honda Malaysia add in some “enhancements” which are more visible to its owners in addition to the curtain airbags i.e. either the Collision Mitigating Braking System, Adaptive Cruise Control or Sunroof ?!

• AVH (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Sunroof is a USD1000 option for Toyota so yea…..
      And I do believe Cruise control is in but its not Adaptive.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Sunroofs are expensive. In Europe car brands typically charge RM 5-12k for them. And this is Malaysia. Don’t you already have enough sun?

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:41 pm

Sunroofs have their moments. I can see that they’re enjoyable during certain times of the day and under certain weather conditions but it just means one more piece of glass to tint if you want to keep cabin temp down.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 8:34 am

Sunroof or moonroof only applicable for those countries govt who emphasized in GREEN.

In Msia, everywhere you could see even smell the OCTOPUS smokes from Buses & lorries and heavy unhealty emissions from trucks, suvs, mpvs, cars with EURO 2 fuel. JUST FORGET ABOUT SUNROOF/ MOONROOF.

To corrent MSIA MISTY MINDSET UP TO THE FIRST CLASS CITIZEN MINDSET FIRST, GO FOR GREEN, then only talk about SUNROOF/MOONROOF.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Incoming ‘our lives are only worth RM2k’ comments.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:13 pm

But seriously, at least four is required for the very low spec model.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Fully agreed, since you’re already paying 150k for the mid-spec and you still get 2 airbags. A joke here?

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:11 pm

It is embarrassing when Proton’s next B segment budget car has 6, and Kia’s A segment car has 6. That Honda even has the balls to only offer 2 in the D segment…

• heybadigol on Aug 13, 2014 at 8:28 am

I guess if they added 2 airbags for the base model, its price will go above the limit for income tax purposes. Remembered reading about this somewhere, but not sure if its still applicable now. Of course, Honda Malaysia (HM) could always give it for a lower price (or free, haha), and make up for it by removing the 6 times free service incentive. Or make it an option. If you want 2 extra airbags, you can pay, but if you accept the risk, then you can continue with the 4 airbags.

• Why must we pay so much extra just for extra goddamn airbags??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:06 pm

That is because there is no local mandatory regulations for car makers to put safety features and price control. Thus these become optional features for them gain more profit margin.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Man. You guys think airbags are cheap. Well, they’re not. Try doing a bit of research next time, k? While they may be considered to be simple fabric balloons inflated by an explosive charge and/or a canister of compressed air, they involve much more than the airbag itself as there are sensors that need to be placed here and there and the sensors need to be calibrated. The sensors themselves aren’t that cheap too, you know?

This is what it costs in the US. Expect it to cost more here.
      http://www.ehow.com/way_5650429_cost-replace-airbags.html

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:21 pm

That’s the cost of REPLACING the airbags. Factory installed will be cheaper. Also I expect it to be cheaper to replace in Malaysia. Lives are cheap, and workmanship is too.

Seat charges 360 Euro (around RM1k) for rear curtain airbags (front curtain is standard). Other manufacturers are in similar areas…

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:35 pm

I found an English link…
          http://www.typicallyspanish.com/news-spain/galicia/50_cars_involved_in_spectacular_accident_in_Lugo.shtml
          http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=7a0_1406907125&comments=1

50 cars were involved, not 25…

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:47 pm

I think you missed your desired comment there. :P

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:46 pm

It might be cheaper but I doubt it’ll be by more than a difference of RM100. A friend had his Satria GTi airbag replaced once after an accident and it cost him around/almost RM1k. Apparently that airbag was a rarity, however so that could have upped the cost.

My point is that airbags aren’t as cheap as people would like to think. Consider also that the price increase would also include excise duty and import tax (if any) since the final car is taxed as a whole so any additional airbags would also bear excise duty and tax price increments.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Seat (sorry for keeping bringing up Seat, I just looked into that brand a bit) charges around RM 4000+ for a single LED headlight, if you have to replace it. However it is a RM 4k option including 2 headlights and the electronics needed to control the headlight.

You simply spend more on spare parts and repairs than the car manufacturer pays. If you order all the spare parts for a car you’ll probably be spending much more than the car has cost in the first place.

• shame_Loo on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Should have done it since day 1 of launching. 2 air bags+ plastic bag in the past. Car makers in Msia thread us badly. “Stingy” spec especially on safety features. Only recent years seeing some improvement.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Like I said in above, no local mandatory regulations for car makers to add safety features as standard equipment plus price control to prevent car makers using this as excuse to gain more profit margin.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:28 pm

Europe doesn’t enforce airbags either. The Lada Niva was sold with 0 airbags and awful safety for the past 40 years in Germany. No problem. The only reason why they take it off the road now (pun intended) is that it is really bad to pedestrians when you run them over.

It is up to European consumers to pick cars that are safe, and obviously that works.

I have recently seen a car pile up in Spain on the news. 25 cars and lorries, some cars were on top of other cars, etc. 1 casualty, and that happened as the person in the car got out and wanted to get out of the way. That killed her. Imagine such an accident in Malaysia. Cars travelling at highway speeds crashing into stationary already crashed cars. It would be a massacre.

• fast5 on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Good move bad marketing, increasing price always a wrong decision.
    Add air-bags without increase price build up brand standard.
    Japan = Power of dream, Bolehland = Power of greed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • Rashuk Khan on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Proton Preve only have 2 airbag at their first batch 2012. But start from Oct 2013 they increase to 6 airbag + esc to entire varient without additional cost. They only remove unnecessary item such as first aid kit, luggage tray, coil mat and gps…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • ben yap on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Proton remove all those accessories and it is the price of 4 airbags!

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:42 pm

First aid kit is actually quite good to have, but it’s cheap. You can easily replace it. Coil mat… meh, can get yourself. GPS too, and I’d rather get a Garmin or use my smartphone than to use a factory supplied GPS unit…

• Fatboy90 (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Top spec Camry still 4 airbags with much higher price tag :/

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Well, the Civic is up next I guess.

Tbh, at 170k, the 2k increase was not that significant, especially right now when the dealers are giving a 1k discount, which equates to just a 1k increase.

I’d say this makes the Accord perfect actually. People, if you want an understated, decent to drive, well designed and made, and rock solid reliable car, get the Accord. This is the executive car you want, especially if you are gonna get a driver.

Finally Honda, well done.

PS: I can’t not highlight the fact the Camry is still more expensive than the Accord. Sam Loo and co used to say it’s Japanese that’s why it is more expensive and has a lower spec list, but this is also Japanese and has a decent spec list with a decent price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • AVH (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:48 pm

In any sense, Honda is the only car in its segment with BLIS…….or a form of Blis, is actually a camera. Not sure if the 508 has it thou, I’ll need to check on that, but the previous Teana has it while latest…. dont.

• mazda 6 have BLIS

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Nope, 508 doesn’t have BLIS. Then again, the French would be very pissed if they and BLIS, you know they way they drive in France :P

Jokes aside, yep, below 200k this is and the 6 are the only cars with a form of BLIS. Mazda’s one is like Volvo’s version, with an LED, this one is the whole camera shebang.

The old Teana had a locally developed BLIS system by Tan Chong Auto Technology (TCAT). Personally I am not a big fan of TCAT’s products, they don’t seem to work well based on my ex-Nissans. But at least it’s there.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:16 pm

It’s a step-up over a simple BLIS sensor, imo. The LaneWatch camera gives you at least the possibility of gauging the distance of the thing in your blind spot while with a sensor-activated light bulb, it’s mostly guess work. Now if they would only put it on the lower-spec variants…or put it as a cost-option as it is the case in many countries.

• kington on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Eh, but this car didn’t pass the security guard test in Driven….

OK lar, on a more serious note, personally i like the looks of this Accord, what goes against it is the removal of the double wishbone suspension which has been one of Honda’s innovative products. The previous Accord handled much better but was plagued with problems, i suspect the fault lies with DRB HICOM’s poor QC.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:01 pm

I kinda like it too. Below 150k the Teana 2.0 is a better buy, but in the 170k mark, bar Mazda and the non Japanese, this seems nicer. I kinda like the “understated” simple looks. Feels more classy.

At least not so ah-beng like the Camry WXYZ or TRD or that funny bodykit one.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Toyota is giving big discounts for the Camry. Guess why. :D

• Honda gay on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:26 pm

The best car… Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Nice one! Keep it up Honda.

As long as it is sushi, it will have RV and build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • kenot on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:08 pm

I’m still thinking how proton can add 6 airbags to all preve without additional cost?..hmmm

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Simple. By taking less profit.

• Why Toyota cannot do it on Vios?
        Same Lorrr please answer or I remove it from my list

• ah chai on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:11 pm

How can a honda City comes with 6 airbags while a honda accord 2.0 still having only 2 airbags? it’s just not making sense.

• iluvhonla on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:15 pm

2.0 accord still 2air bags…? 90k city oledi have 6 air bags…

So i guess only the 130k civic will have 6 air bags in december facelift…

• xiper (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:19 pm

if you wanted to say like this, the 70k Preve and the 59k Picanto also have 6 airbags. Atleast there is an effort to improve than none right?

Still better compared to some manufacturer that only sell because of the brand name, 149k car without VSC and also 2 airbags only.

• Sounds like camry 2.0E.

• That’s bolehsia standard la macha
        Everything must be perfect
        As if he was the best student last time
        Pui..

• 6 Airbags should be a standard fixture for all cars, all models, all versions. Carmakers shouldn’t be charging customers for safety features. Charging close to RM2K for 4 extra airbags just shows how greedy they are.

• For malaysia market, adding bodykit is better than airbag. hahaha

• berkata benar on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:20 pm

berbaloi baloi… ini baru kereta rating 5 star
    preve? kereta 5 star? puiiii belanggar pun enjin tercabut!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
    • akulah on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Hidup lagi mamat nie. Belajar tak nak. Bodoh sampai bila lah..

• Hadoi la mamat ni. Keta moden mmg ada safety feature mcm tu la.

• kekek on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Jap lagi caprut nak kencing pasal potong bonet tambah bonet la tu

kah kah kah

• kvsual on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Teana -> 149800 – 1k discount = 148800 with 6 Airbags
    Honda 149800 with 2 airbags. If optional of airbag allowed: 2,000RM per 2 airbags..
    need RM153,800 (additional 4K for extra 4 Airbags). wow~

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:19 pm

soon perdana version

• Perdana will be from previous gen. Beribu-ribu tania. Joking doesn’t make you…..

• submarine on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:45 pm

I hope the market will just not choose brands that offer less safety features for a premium. Hopefully that will encourage them to make full safety specs as standard.

• vwowner on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:13 pm

If I can effort 170k. I dont have concern about the additional 2k.

• Why the accord cannot have 6airbags as standard across the range ? Now many b-segment car equip with 6airbags already, im sure honda can do it also.

• elchino on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Don’t forget, the Hyundai Sante Fe 2.2 executive model costing $190,000 also has only 2 airbags!!!

• shawal on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Thai and taiwan accords has side mirror tilt reverse function..
    basically the sidemirrors tilt downwards when u put in reverse gear….helps while parking your car in reverse…
    it is mentioned clearly in nissan’s new Q50 spec sheet…

Howabout malaysian accords..? anyone..?

maybe the facelift can include adaptive cruise control with safe city brake, that means it can drive itself in traffic jams…ala volvo…

• medic on Aug 13, 2014 at 8:54 am

All variants of Accord comes with rear camera which makes ut redundant to have this side mirror tilt function.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Though its ironic but i still put my confidence in the Accord..Responsive engine,excitement drive..Teana more to
    comfort and refinement nothing to brag about the powerplant to be honest,I deduce Honda or even the Camry is more exciting than Teana…Only Teana have the class edge looking.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:50 pm

You might want to revisit paultan.org’s recent D-segment comparo on the Driven web-series.

• Grandeur on Aug 13, 2014 at 12:30 am

Lousiest car ever. Pui!

• Since Malaysians tend to have bigger families and always travel on special holidays, its a must to have 6 airbags as standard.

• messi on Aug 13, 2014 at 9:58 am

I wonder why some of you keep comparing the new accord with the cramp and small interior car of Mazda 6. (interior like B or C segment car) If I dont mind about interior space, I will go for 3 series BMW or WW Passat. Why choice Mazda?

Among the D segment car with comfort/big interior and good 2nd hand value. Accord is the best all rounder car and beat the new teana hand down if you are concern about the 2nd hand value. The 2 years(2012) old 2.5 teana is selling below RM 100K from dealer and you should know how to calculate the depreciation cost.

• mmmmm on Aug 13, 2014 at 4:09 pm

if add adaptive cruise control= +RM 5k?. Pleaseee laaaaa.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:07 pm

VW charges around RM 2k for adaptive cruise control alone (VW Polo, Seat Leon).