Range Rover Sport SVR – the fastest Land Rover, ever

Range Rover Sport SVR-12

After endless teasing, showing a camouflaged prototype at the Goodwood Festival of Speed and setting a lap record around the Nürburgring Nordschleife, the Range Rover Sport SVR has finally been revealed ahead of its debut at the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance this weekend.

The second car to come out of Jaguar Land Rover’s Special Vehicle Operations (SVO) – after the Jaguar F-Type Project 7 – this RRS is the first model in the group to feature the new SVR badge that will adorn future high-performance Land Rover and Jaguar models.

On the outside, there is a deep front air dam, distinctive B-shaped fender vents, side skirts and a large rear diffuser design with quad exhaust outlets. 21-inch wheels with 275/45 R21 all-season tyres come as standard, while 22-inch wheels with 295/40 R22 Continental SportContact 5 performance tyres are optional extras. The interior, meanwhile, is differentiated by sporty bucket seats front and rear.

Range Rover Sport SVR – the fastest Land Rover, ever

Under the bonnet is an uprated version of the AJ-V8 Gen III 5.0 litre supercharged V8, the same one that’s in the Jaguar XKR-S, XFR-S, XJR and F-Type R. The mill produces 550 PS and 680 Nm, 40 PS and 56 Nm more than the regular Range Rover Sport Supercharged. This power is channeled through the ZF eight-speed automatic transmission to a permanent four-wheel drive system.

The SVR sprints to 100 km/h in just 4.5 seconds before reaching its electronically-limited top speed of 260 km/h. This makes it the fastest, most powerful Land Rover ever built. A performance-focused chassis enabled the car to complete a lap around the Nürburgring Nordschleife in 8 minutes 14 seconds, a record for an SUV around the Green Hell.

Despite the performance credentials, the Range Rover Sport SVR is still a Land Rover, and has to be able to make its mark off-road. To that end, it is fitted with a two-speed transfer case with low range, an uprated air suspension system with two ride heights, as well as the Terrain Response 2 system.

Range Rover Sport SVR-14

Wheel travel is a class-leading 260 mm in front and 272 mm at the rear, providing wheel articulation of up to 546 mm. Like the regular RRS, the SVR can also wade to waters up to 850 mm in depth, and is also available with Wade Sensing that measures the depth of the water, just like its poorer siblings. The towing capacity is rated at 3,000 kg.

Prices for the Range Rover Sport SVR in the UK will start from £93,450 (RM501,000). The order books are open from October onwards, with deliveries expected to begin in the first quarter of 2015.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• brown kid on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Ouuu~ sporty

• Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Proton fanboys can you smoke this with your legendary GSC?

Legend, is a legend after all, it is never real.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
      • ProtonGSC on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Can’t compare due to different segment car.
        But still can smoke your 1986 toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Why so syok when you can syok 1986 Toyota?

Instead you should feel ASHAMED if GSC can’t even smoke 1986 Toyota.

When you smoke this smoke that, you only syok sendiri. When Toyota/Honda/Nissan/Perodua make reliable car, their customer ALL are happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • vengaB on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Same Lorrr tried very hard to bad mouth Proton.

Nice try but failed before trying. Shame.

• brown kid on Aug 13, 2014 at 12:00 am

u talking to me?
        what kind of question is that…
        get a life~ i dont even have proton car to be the ‘proton fanboys’

• I’m sure the guy who drive Wira modify will come and challege you in the highway.

• Another 1 nice car that only 1% of the population can afford, and make those who can’t drooling for more in the internet.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Damn, Special Vehicles Operations. The name itself sounds so badass, like something from GI Joe.

Time to save up in a piggy bank for this. No wait. You’d need a bank vault for this.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:19 pm

should i order one for my son?

• yousilly on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Yes please order another for your daughter, wife, mom, dad, in-laws, cousin, and even maid!!!

• Coming soon to a valet near you

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:14 pm

21 inch?Even 23 inch can fit into it…

• alonso on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Finally if we are lucky, we can see this behemoth doing a drag race with a45 amg

• nabill (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:04 pm

The car that most premier league players buy…

• khairulx19a on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:47 pm

overfinched it