SPIED: Proton P2-30A GSC spotted with wheel caps – confirms at least three different model variants

Proton_P2-30A_paultan.org_1

Proton’s upcoming answer to the hugely popular Perodua Myvi will have a low-specced base model, as confirmed by these new spyshots sent in by reader Putra Azran. The pictures show a Proton P2-30A GSC (Global Small Car) on test wearing steel wheels and plastic wheel caps for the first time.

This confirms that the new B-segment hatchback will have at least three different variants: this base model, a mid-range version with six-spoke alloy wheels and a range-topper with all-around bodykit and (what appears to be) larger 10-spoke wheels.

So far, we’ve already seen two different specification levels for the interior – one with fabric seats and a conventional head unit, and another with leather upholstery and a touch-screen media system. How each variant will be dressed up inside, we’ll just have to wait and see.

Slowly but surely, we’re uncovering the Proton’s new model bit by bit, and it shouldn’t be long now till the big unveil. For more information about the Myvi-rival, refer to our comprehensive Proton P2-30A GSC info hub.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Just launch it.. can’t wait anymore..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 9
    • Same Lorrr aka Sampah Lorrr in 3 2 1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 38
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Same Lorrr scare enuff to login as Same Lorrr..Kene bash balik wo00oo..

Same Lorrr stop disguise as Ah Beng supporter..Ah Beng don’t need supporter or kipas-man. PROTON fans are now dare to challenge you all RBA bashers aka filthy-minded keyboard warrior!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:33 pm

As long as it is kimchi, it will not have RV.

As long as it is Proton, it will not have build quality.

Same L0rrr is Same L0rrr. You don’t buy Toyota, you no need to get out of Malaysia/Japan. When you travel back to hometown frequent enough then you know you should get a Toyota/Honda/Nissan/Kia.

Proton GSC??? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA… Proton 5S lifestyle:
          1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Semakin Mahal

No need personal insult, everything on facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 85
          • kzm (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Apa yg kau merepek ni? Why you like people to condemn and fight is it?
            Jangan lah jadi batu api Same L0rrr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • driver on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:22 pm

kzm, SHE doesn’t even know what is batu api…

• samelorstpd on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:19 pm

T 7O

1.Overpriced
            2.Outdated
            3.Overrated
            4.Overhyped
            5.On garbage lorries
            6.Out of proportion
            7.Obsolete

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
          • Old Beetle Man on Aug 13, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Same LOrrr. Kau marah sgt kat Proton sebab tak sempat nak trade-in Datsun Baulu kau masa program tukar kereta lama utk kereta baru Proton/Perodua dulu tu ke?

• ProtonGSC on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:08 am

Just buy and talk less.
      GSC tested on snow weather no problem, so hot weather comfirm not a problem.
      Proton GSC smoke all Peugeot 308, VW Golf and even i20.
      Same Lorrr go balik kampung taman UMW.

Paris Inter carshow no good, because no Proton GSC. Don’t waste time over there stay here watch GSC launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 37
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Base on the attached photos, the cockpit looks dated. Not to meet any words like neat, clean, simple, futuristic, elegance, etc…
        Not sure how is the exterior.

Not to expect much even after 30yrs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • leoRNado on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:13 am

ProtonGSC talk big.. Paris Inter carshow bla.. bla… even in KLIMS also Proton cant afford.. haiya

• Space not enough, get your facts right

• leoRNado on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:50 pm

get yr facts right as well. I was one of the team there.. The space already given to all participated automotive member via undian.. at 1st they agree, then they want to move to main arena which belongs to someone else..

• But that area was still not big enough.

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:47 am

Proton is for professional with brain. You don’t buy Proton, you have no brain.

No brainer balik kampung!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 52
      • ProtonGSC on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Same Lorrr disguise as Ah Beng supporter.

Keep talking people no brained is really uneducated and unprofessional.

Same Lorrr balik kampung taman UMW jer.

GSC smoke Same Lorrr 1986 toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
        • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Don’t put me together with the no brainer. Just buy and talk less, diam diam watch GSC launch!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
          • ProtonGSC on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:37 pm

So don’t use others people Name.
            Don’t dare to use your own name??

Copycat always fail and fall.
            Same like u copy others people’s name.

Use your own Name. And don’t insulting others.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:49 pm

I never call ppl idiot, balik kampung, sampah. Ppl is ppl, car is car… everything based on fact.

Please don’t be jealous since you see more 1986 Toyota than 1986 Proton on the road. This is called BUILD QUALITY.

In term of build quality, Proton no doubt is junk. I mean the car, not the hardcore fanboys here. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 24
          • polska on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:21 pm

You call proton owners poor people. Is that fact and not calling people?

• leoRNado on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:18 am

poor doesnt mean no money aka miskin. poor also can be feel sorry.. means kesian.

• polska on Aug 13, 2014 at 8:56 am

Read back the post. He meant miskin not kesian

• leoRNado on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:55 pm

poor you….

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Hei Ah Beng supporter. Stop your disguise..
        PROTON fans don’t like to talk shit bout other brand and people. It’s up to Malaysian to buy whatever car they want. But our duties as PROTON fans is still to promote this brand to all Malaysian..Buy local made product, Buy Malaysian product then we are truly Malaysian!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:03 pm

haha… joke of the day. I heard so much of GSC can smoke this and that, Perodua/Toyota tin milo from Proton fanboys comments. And this Ah Beng is acting holy here.

You don’t ask people balik kampung or get out of Malaysia to promote Proton.

Buy Proton or not, you are still a truly Malaysian. Stop syok sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • I have to agree. It’s for professional with brain di lutut.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
      • That’s why our country got so many ‘genius’ and ‘professional’ to slow down our economy…

• nazri on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:56 am

Got turbo bro.

• Cheng Wei Yet on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:03 pm

ya lor.. what’s taking them sooooo long to launch this car? it feels like forever dy. Meanwhile at Perodua… the axia is awaiting launch less than ~4 months after the first spy-shot photos.. Proton is committing suicide if it doesn’t launch it within this month…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
      • Black Dog on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:43 pm

I don’t see how it can fight with Perodua (proven quality. reliability and cheap)in the same category.

Unless they have something special and go for the global market (as the name suggest)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
        • The word Perodua and quality should not exist in the same sentence.

My stupid viva still giving me nightmares. Now, the car got demoted to pasar trip duty only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • MoFaz on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:34 pm

google for its spec… up to 6 airbags!

• My experience that Protondua are no quality, not reliable and material used too cheap, furthermore overpriced

• Ah Beng supporter on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Same L0rrr in other name as Black Dog. Booo…

The name GSC already best, you no brainer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • ProtonGSC on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Stop calling people no brain this no brain that.

Stop insulting people comments.
            Either it support Proton or not.

People free to criticise or support any brand their choose.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:21 pm

This time I agree with you, ProtonGSC. You don’t buy Toyota, you no need get out of Malaysia/Japan or balik kampung.

Everyone has the right to choose and comment. You don’t have to ask me balik kampung UMW.

When I said junk, I mean Proton build quality, not the fanboys. You no need so angry with me.

We all are Proton’s victim, aren’t we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
          • ProtonGSC on Aug 12, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Accepted your comment Same Lorrr as long u’re talking logic and fact.

This is the real Same Lorrr I know.

• worstcarisT on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Same Lorrr why Toyota quality is so bad recently? I read massive recalls being held all over the world.

So shame.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:50 pm

No, the model is on test since 2012..launch in indonesia last year..n p2 continue test for material n finishing oni..chasis n the rest test in 2012 by indonesia daihatsu

• najib on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:02 pm

offcoz la perodua not taking much time. judge re-badge and change bumper maaa.

• roffstoff on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:22 pm

The perodua was actually based on Ayla which was based all the way from daihatsu Mira Es. So what to test for a car that have been in market for several years? Unlike Proton, is entirely new platform, new car, lot of new tech in this car for Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
        • Proton new tech? You cant even get the wiring right. Thats y there r so many over heated and stalled preve & sup on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
      • Proton start A to Z, Proton2 just do W, X, Y, Z so only used 4 months can launch the car. Copy is faster than start from zero, you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Ah Beng can not wait PROTON launch this car. Sources that I got, it will b launch in coming 1-2 months! Wuhuuu..Guys, tell your wife, momma, auntie, pakcik, adik, kakak, abang..Wait don’t buy Jazz and Axia. Test drive and feel the GSC then make your wise comparison. It is 100% designed by our Malaysian! We must our Malaysian product!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Sources also told me Proton hybrid should be launched in 2010. till now still no show.

Enough of this source that source lar… Be the man, do the right thing (launch it)!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
    • Looks like Proton fanboys busy defending this new Savvy. Kesian macai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
    • Yuss,This is the RM25,000 Rakyat Car.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:23 pm

If Proton could sell it RM25k, I don’t recommend to my friends who can’t afford a Toyota. But I doubt about the build quality of the new GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:24 pm

I meant I don’t MIND* recommending this GSC to my friends who can’t afford a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • I cannot recommend Vios because it is moving coffin

• typical on Aug 12, 2014 at 10:52 am

proton basher in 3….2….1….

*grab a popcorn and become invincible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 15
    • Ah Beng supporter on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:49 am

This GSC can smoke anything, including invincible no brainer.

buy this GSC, you got brain!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • BlandJokes on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Dude, be original lahh.. sudah basi la ini popcorn stuff :/

• the anticipation…will it be worth?hehehe.all the best P1.

• The headlights r massive compared to that tiny wheels.. Or maybe the wheels r too tiny..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:53 am

At least tiny wheels are cheap to replace… Though the car should look better with wheelarches that are one size up… Like this it’s too much of a Viva. :(

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Don’t worry. You’ll see mods of it soon enough. Like R3 Super Negative Camber with Zero Wheel Clearance mod.

• roffstoff on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:05 am

Malaysian should be proud we able to engineer car from scratch. Looking at the leaked spec, Proton is catching up fast.

Ok basher can bash now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:27 pm

At least use la ur original id here ruffstuff. U banned in lowyat not here.

• Proton should accept open challenge, not government protection, they are too long under government’s wing & being too comfortable. Time to release Proton and let it fly!

• OMG….uncountable spied shot again, yet nothing attract me…boring lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • wmlmwy on Aug 12, 2014 at 11:10 am

Just come out already la!

• Hopefully they get it right this time for all that hype.

• pautan on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:00 pm

savvy replacement

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • want_diy on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:08 pm

place ur hand on the backdoor(cover the picture) & u can imagine it in sedan-new SAGA maybe…

• kereta kompak on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Can’t wait the full reveal!!

• Jon Snow (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Wrong strategy! Proton should be focusing on new replacement model for Persona & Satria. They should be creating the market for affordable C Sedan & hatchback and be the market leader here, instead now go and fight with Perodua…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • ciakap on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:06 pm

who said..this car going beat perodua? This car going to compete among B-Segment Hatchback… wider target

• najib on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:06 pm

plz tell that to all car manufacturers.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:21 pm

They already have a C-segment sedan and hatchback. Why develop another one to compete with their own Preve/Suprima?

They don’t have a B-segment hatchback and their Saga is nearing the time when it needs to be replaced with a new generation.

This is the right strategy, imo.

• leoRNado on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:31 am

I heard Saga not nearing the time. In fact they extending its life span till 2027.

• Before any proton model launch they will say this is the best modal la, improve alot la…bla bla bla but never 1 model sold well in the market. Empty promises as usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • ciakap on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:08 pm

If proton make sport car like lambo.. you also wont buy it.. because in your mind.. you are Proton Basher.. Prove me that what I am talking is wrong.. go test drive Suprima and preve, then test drive vios etc.. compare it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • najib on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:08 pm

I think all the manufacturers would say the same thing. no ones will tell that their latest products are inferior than previous ones.

• fastd on Aug 12, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Look at the passenger door, seem there’s future plan for sedan.
    We’ll see then. Hopefully this not the ending….

• I juz can c a savvy..hopefully this pricier car has better quality.i hope they do better,so they would not burden us financially

• Joe Radzif on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Nampak macam ‘biasa’ jer…
    Hope it will surprise when it revealed

• Denaihati on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:16 pm

i hope it will be very attractive car and can compete others same segment.

• look wider on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:19 pm

GSC GSC GSC… no more? Hyundai ix20, i20, HB20, Grand i10, New Generation i10 & Eon… which one the Proton GSC wants to compete with?

• will the caps change? if not,then, what i can say from my first look here is that it is a cheap looking wheel caps, the design is so simple..

• mmaker on Aug 12, 2014 at 1:55 pm

test here test there test up to genting test on highway, always test test test. In the end get 2/5 stars only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • lol…who would buy this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 2:42 pm

What we kno is (info frm a rival website)..
    A vvt campro based engine 1.3cc
    Electric steering not hydrolic
    6 airbags(highline)
    Siemens ecu
    Large digital center display with service reminder
    5 spped manual/cvt2+ gearbox

Da rest we hv to wait n see…

• hafizan89 on Aug 12, 2014 at 3:05 pm

When will this launch?
    Can’t wait to test drive.
    Then we’ll know if this crap or a gem…
    Pricing should be at 40k-50k. higher would spell the ultimate doom of proton sales.

• mim (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Some facts based on the leaked sales guide,

-first time using EPS, has good feedback
    -6 airbags standard
    -CVVT engine simply called “VVT” (CFE without turbo)
    -new ECU from Bosch (becos previous Continental ones sucks)
    -ABS, EBD, TC, ESC, BA, HHA
    -Passive keyless entry (aka Smart Key)
    -Maniverter (catalytic converter integrated in ekjos manifold)
    -5 spd manual/6-spd Punch CVT2+
    -DRL

• berkata benar on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:26 pm

semua ada tapi harga bawah 60k je… logik atau tak?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:37 pm

logic but cannot below RM30k at least in ASEAN..current cheapest hatchback in ASEAN is daihatsu ayla price RM21k~ but minus all above alleged adv pcc spec n no aircond, no pw etc…

• it’s also what we call NFE rebranded to VVT.

just another Campro engine.

• abuyaq123 on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Proton should try to make proton car with 4 doors price below 23k. Low earners seems do not have choice except viva 660bx right now. And viva engine is not so less fc. Still far behind from Mirage which more bigger, more heavy and more cc

• protongkat on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:32 pm

full tank viva can pergi sampai 700km yoooo
      axia i think can go more than that. ^_^

aluminium engine must be more, more & more gooood yooo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 12, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Mirage’s FC is due in part to the efficient gearbox as well: the Jatco CVT7. Look it up.

• Pengguna Bijak on Aug 12, 2014 at 5:56 pm

RM60K better buy full spec Great Wall M4. Fuel efficient EEV car also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • penggunaterlajakbijak on Aug 12, 2014 at 9:40 pm

I scared because it has asbestos under hood. I can get cancer you know.

• vwowner on Aug 12, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Who care about Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
  • Annoynimouse on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:58 am

Please!!! Do something about the long shifter stick!!!

• JaguhKg on Aug 13, 2014 at 6:22 pm

I agree with you. If the gear stick shown on the picture is what the consumer going to get, it seriously shows proton have not even bother to upgrade its interior quality. The gear stick, the surrounding plastics and the headunit seemns like cheap nasty plastics.

How to be global car when other B segment competitor had better interior quality while proton is still in gen 2 era ? Back to drawing board proton especially your interior.

• whatever lah.. we still nak tunggu ini kereta.. come on Proton!!! we really nk buy a nice good affordable small car!!! so many choices out there, Proton must hv the extra points for us to choose this car. kemon proton kemon! DO OR DIE with this GSC!

• campro_again on Aug 13, 2014 at 12:41 pm

campro engine again, i won’t buy car equipped with crap campro engine!

• Samurai G on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:25 am

Ya come on Proton. Many people still believe with u (except all the Proton bashers !!!)

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:34 pm

lousy car…but i earn a lot…i happy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • ElPoros on Aug 14, 2014 at 7:08 pm

damn… it look like a rhinoceros.
    but if the price is okay. im buying it for sure

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:29 pm

They can launch it earlier but was informed that they make more touch up and refinement to the powerplant and transmission system.One thing for sure though im not an avid Proton supporter the car is definately diff from those BLM/FLX,Persona etc..

• izzuan hassan on Aug 16, 2014 at 10:03 am

m.o.h.o.n s.a.b.a.r,
    cukupla tak sabar kat toll queue,
    cukupla tak sabar guna emergency lane,
    cukupla tak sabar pegi double park,
    cukupla tak sabar sesuka hati u turn,
    cukupla tak sabar nak tuka lorong,
    cukupla tak sabar kat zebra crossing,
    cukupla tak sabar kat jalan raya,
    sabar lah tunggu dia launch.

• Global Sampah Car on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:06 am

Prey-hay, Sup-rimy-ass then Global Sampah Car, what next..

• Tahar on Aug 24, 2014 at 3:24 am

Hopefully the Management capacity can REALLY control the mentality of their quality control and procurement supervisors / managers in getting the workers to check for poor quality parts supplied by the vendors before pass it down to ASSEMBLY LINE .

IF “tidak apa ” MENTALITY STILL PERSIST in the supervisors or managers level then no matter how good a car design is becomes a poor sub standard quality car simply because inferior parts are use without proper scrutiny. Meaning to say the managers or supervisors must work harder and properly and not spend to much time in ” Makan and minum ” and chit chat in wasting time the Canteen unless necessarily to rest BUT same time their SALARY still being paid every second.

Famous quote by previous Proton CEO

Quoted from Oriental Daily, “Syed Zainal
      : Please do not blame Proton, Proton produces 700 cars everyday, which is equivalent to 98 seconds per new car. We do not have the time to check/ QC on Proton’s spare parts.” – 27/6/2011

How is Proton going to produce a high quality car and charge a high price if this is the mentality of the proton environment still persist without any change or improvement ???????

Your view?

• selama on Aug 24, 2014 at 10:17 am

Weh sudah lah proton orang tak beli lah. Bash dalam ni mcm bodoh je. Sian aku tgok orang jual proton sampai pasang khemah kat kampung aku. Giler tak laku sial. Kampung aku Ulu banat giler satu proton pon susah nak nampak. Sial malu

• Budimas on Aug 24, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Proton should get it right

1) Front grille
    so far non of front grille is impressive and in fact it is ugly- see Mercs, BMW Audi, Front grille is almost their trade mark, people recognize these cars just by looking at the front grille
    2) Proton Badge- look cheap so doubtful of quality. If you look first time, it is not a tiger head-compare with VW logo

3) When you design a car think like Mercs or BWW. Discard the mentality of racing dude. Frankly I hate the mentality of skirting and spoiler

• Preve owner on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:24 am

This car should have 3 variants. A cheaper version, a high spec and a medium to suit the needs of the people. Since I have a preve turbo, I would go for the cheapest spec as a second car.