Driven Web Series 2014 #5: Top of the C-segment class – Mazda 3 vs Toyota Corolla Altis vs Kia Cerato

We’ve settled Malaysia’s super-popular B-segment (Honda City vs Toyota Vios vs Nissan Almera) and D-segment (Nissan Teana vs Honda Accord vs Kia Optima K5) markets so far this season, and now it’s time for the middle-class battle. So, Mazda 3 vs Toyota Corolla Altis vs Kia Cerato. Which one will come out on top?

There’s no doubt that the C-segment class is a shrinking one. With both the B- and D segments expanding their reaches, there’s now too small a gap between them for this class of cars to prosper. But that just means that they would have to try harder to stand out, right? And try hard they all did.

The Mazda 3 2.0 Sedan is undoubtedly the crowd favourite here, with its stylish looks, sporting appeal and fuel-saving SkyActiv engine and gearbox combo. But is all that enough to see off Toyota’s rejuvenated Corolla Altis 2.0V and our champion last year, the Kia Cerato 2.0? Watch the episode above to find out.

Shocking, isn’t it? But that’s just the way it is: Driven Web Series will choose the best choice there is – minus all the hype and brand stigmas.

Stay tuned to paultan.org for all things motoring, and remember to catch our next episode. Getting up to Genting Highlands with just RM10 worth of fuel? Yes, it’s possible with the right choice of cars. Find out our picks next week :)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Anti-SamLoo on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:19 am

Sam Loo sure say his Toyota the best la…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Actually, I really encourage more to buy Hyundai.

Coz half of the owners will sell it off within 15 months, and I will be showing them the Hilux in the process.

KIA, no market at all, sell it off to relatives instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 56
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 13, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Ah Beng/ Ah Beng supporter/Ah Beng support Proton/Ah Beng xxx likes to diguise as me when my fact and points hurt him hard.

I would never said Proton for poor people (I was a Proton user also). Poor people can’t afford a new car.

However, after owning Proton, you will get poorer, because of its awesome build quality. I am a Proton victim, so do many people out there, aren’t you?

You are not poor to get a Proton. But Proton will make you poorer, after here break down there break down. Agree?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 53
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Mazda 3 (CBU JAPAN):
          Elegance with Luxury feel, Sporty, good Stability & Handling, Rigidity Platform, BEST HP & Torque, BEST Fuel Efficiency, Clean & Neat Interior, Human-Machine Interface Interaction driving w/o lost focusing via center console paired with LCD screen, Mica Paint, Very Powerful responsive to feel the momentum.
          0-100: 8.3s
          162HP 6000rpm
          210Nm 4000rpm

Altis (CBU THAI):
          Proven reliability, best smooth cvt transmission, elegance family, better fuel efficiency, complexity interior (sharp protruded lanscaping), metallic paint.
          0-100: 10s
          145PS 6200rpm
          187Nm 3200rpm

From driving experience, Mazda3 is far more better than Altis on driving responsive performance.

Not sure HOW MUCH TOYOTA have PAID for this video to provide BIAS MISLEADING info.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 12
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Both are CBU but definitely best build refinement from JAPAN compared THAI.

HOWEVER, both MAZDA 3 & ALTIS are not valuable to own at MYR 13x,000
            PLS BOYCOTT C-SEGMENT which MORE THAN 120K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Reasonable Price accordingly mid income Msian under developing country.

Loan MAX reduced to 7yrs.

A segment: 20-45 k
            B segment: 45-70 k
            C segment: 70-100 k
            D segment: 90-120 k
            Luxury A-D segment: 80k onwards

• mormor on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:37 pm

That numbers only for ads purpose. Any companies can say it can achieve low FC, but when in real bad traffic jam, it drinks fuel like no tomorrow? 125PS vs 109PS. In ads it differs much but in real sprinting, meh. Even old saga can tarpau gao gao. New engine 224nm torque, only 216 when dynoed. That sucks.

• ahBeng on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:14 am

ah lians’ detected in Driven

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • Sam Loo (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:48 am

The original Sam Loo doesn’t need the word (ori) tagged there. Pls don’t pretend. But I’ll give you some credit since u also think KIA is crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • MG250 on Aug 13, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Real surprised that Mazda3 was placed last but then again I am not surprised when it’s reviewed by you guys. I was most impressed with Mazda 3 when I test drove it. It drives just like most European cars and with really premium interior. All you guys talk and judge was specs without much emphasis on the drive. For goodness sake it’s as you guys said it yourself, it’s a car just for you and it’s a C segment, you guys still brag about space? Anyway took it just as a pinch of salt. Well, again I was expecting you guys to censor this comment because it’s a negative comment.
      When are you guys going to have a real good review of cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 37
      • Everyone is entitled to an opinion. You can have yours. I can have mine. I think you’re an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 61
        • MG250 on Aug 13, 2014 at 7:24 pm

I think you hardly have headache. Your brain are so simple and small, a headache feels like a small itch to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Mostly readers review to refer others, NOT from fact with their experiences.
            Please forgive those lack in knowledge…

• juon3 on Aug 13, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Why not concern about space? Every rm out from buyers pockets have to be justified on every aspects. You want to buy small houss with big price ? Everybody wants big house with as cheap price as they can pay for it. And for low rv things such as cars? Duh. I dun think you are an adult

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:13 am

Both space differences ~5%

Front seats: 3 slightly small
            Rear seats: 3 more comfortable

Both 3 & altis, were designed to fit only 2 passengers at rear, more than 2 would discomfort for long distance journey.

Best in comfort is Slyphy.

• Baseus on Aug 13, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Mazda 3 owner?

If the M3 is selling at the same price point as Kia Cerato, I am sure it is the winner in this episode. Seriously the car does not justify its price at all.

If price is not considered in a car review, then why don’t throw in BMW 3 series and Merc C-Class also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • I don’t think you guys can even compare Mazda 3 with Cerato. The drives, premium continental interior, handling, etc are all a class above these 2 cars. I can see that Mazda is trying to move slightly up market now..IMO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • Jimmy on Aug 13, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Mazda3 is the best if you love cars and have the money. You will give various reasons when it is not truely good.

• ferrel on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:39 pm

But I love my annual leave more, dun want to waste my time at SC

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:17 am

Strongly not recommended to buy both overpriced 3 & Altis.

Again, C segment should not over 110k.

• carlies on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:47 pm

If it is the case, B segment should go below 80k. The last series comparing B segment which City is the champion would be a big joke! Look at the lowest spec of City. Saga like meter board, old CD player with a big empty space under it and the worst is black colour steel rim with plastic cover.

Every car maker is trying to push their potential buyer to go for the highest spec car with the highest purchase amount. Just like D segment lowest spec with nothing but with the slightly larger “covering”!

• Well in that case how about you make your own website and car reviews instead.

Reviews can be viewed two ways about it. Consumer bias or car enthusiast bias. A good example of car enthusiast bias is Top Gear Jeremy Clarkson who rubbishes almost all the normal average joe cars.
        Driven and Paultan is more towards consumer bias and will look at the whole car as a package in terms of value, specs, space and overall practicality. Obviously the Mazda3 although its a good drivers car, lose out in terms of all other factors.

Of course you are entitled to your own opinion but who do you think would other people listen to? Your opinion or Paultan?

• rifle on Aug 13, 2014 at 9:28 pm

And I vote for Mazda3..yeah!! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Lance on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:58 am

Mazda 3 a World car of the year 2014 finalist but over here, lost to 2 cars that can’t even make it to the qualifying round of WCOTY. Just tell you how well this review goes..and don’t come in with these lower specs thing in Malaysia. WCOTY don’t judge cars based on specs..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • drhazem on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:05 am

Brother, these guys judge the three cars here fairly. Over all quality wins, not just how well it drives. They clearly said the Mazda is the best to drive and fuel consumption is good.

But it’s small inside (both Kia and Toyota much bigger) and is expensive with low specs (again worse of the three). So over all the Mazda cannot win.

In other markets the Mazda is cheaper or about the same price as the competition. So it’s seen as a good choice by the WCOTY crew. It’s not the same here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • Lance on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:47 am

So are you implying that in Malaysia as long as you have better specs and space you will win? Sadly you may be right. In this review they don’t even touch on one utmost important feature, safety. It’s not only how many airbags as what most Malaysian look at it. It’s how safe the car in all the crash tests. I see small overlap is so important that I can’t imagine myself in cars that failed the test miserably. Just look at all these test especially the Cerato.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • I owned a Mazda 3 and altis on Oct 20, 2015 at 6:56 pm

Space is not a main concern when you buying a car. Personally as a 180cm tall driver I feel quite comfortable in altis and Mazda as well. In terms of safety, mazda got 6 airbags while altis only got 2. Mazda wins in house power, and the acceleration. 8.1sec 0-100 you will never get this from dual vvti engine. Talk about fuel consumption, Mazda wins with the sky activ engine with only needs less than 7 littres of fuel to travel 100km. Urban driver, Mazda have istop technology while Toyota you might need to turn off the engine yourself during traffic jam. Why altis? Seriously?

• Anonymous on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:32 am

Wonder why does the new Nissan Sylphy isn’t in this latest Driven? Is it not competitive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 6
    • Drhazem on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:36 am

They’re comparing 2.0 litre c-segment sedans, and the new Sylphy is only 1.8. Same goes with the Hyundai Elantra, but that one already covered by the Kia Cerato, which is far better than the Hyundai anyway.

Civic and Focus already lost last year, so no point bringing them again i suppose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 3
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:44 am

While that is true, they really should have compared the top-spec C-segmenters. I think the 1.8 Sylphy is quite capable for the general purpose of a C-segmenter even though it has lost 0.2L of engine displacement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
        • fast5 on Aug 13, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Toyora Corolla Altis definitely a good no a great choice.
          Too bad UMW makes it a overprice car (a total ripoff).
          And without Bolehland lousy taxes, like Langkawi and Labuan Premium only RM85,425.
          We are paying RM50k taxes thanks Tun DrM AP tax, import tax and excise duty.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 3
        • DonkeyKong on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:02 am

Should have thrown in the Renault Fluence as well. Priced like a Cerato but its size is almost like a D-segment, it has six airbags, ABS, EBD and all those.. multifunction display with GPS navigation.. rear air-cond vents.. leather seats.. Nissan’s reliable 2-liter engine with CVT gearbox.. It could have easily beaten the Cerato flat in terms of sheer value, only falling short with its plain looks.

• Ray (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:35 am

The Altis might be pricey, but the 2.0V is pretty balanced in all aspects in my opinion and yeah, it does fit being the winner here, of course provided that you have that much cash to fork out for a C Segment. The 2.0V with the safety package is easily the best equipped model in UMW’s lineup, in fact, despite all my hatred for UMW. This episode is definitely better than the previous season’s C segment shootout, was hoping for more though but it just ended there. Anyway, great job guys, would’ve appreciated if you guys factor in the Sylphy or throw in an Accord VTi in the end. (Stop correcting me that they’re from the different segments, Malaysians consider cars in terms of price brackets. Eg, you can’t compare a Preve to a Cerato or such)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:45 am

It’s really a shame that the Altis costs so much with all the safety options, though. If they wanted to make a safety package option, they should have opened it up across the range rather than reserve it for the 2.0V spec only.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:32 pm

The Altis with the safety pack is just as expensive as the D segment Kia Optima and the Teana 2.0XE (granted, is missing some equipment).

Pretty mind boggling how much the Altis cost if you need more than the 2 airbags it comes standard with.

• kington on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Yes, sadly the Altis is pricey. Honda Malaysia and UMW continue to be snobs with premium pricing and of course, having to satisfy the “people” behind it.

I have sampled almost every C segment player bar the new Sylphy. The Altis, price notwithstanding truly has the most fun factor thanks to its eager revving CVT box and slightly better handling than the previous model.

• eee34 on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:42 pm

No turbo no syok, give those Japs NA engine cars to uncles and aunties.

• Bob_B78 on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:46 pm

NOt sure about other country markets, it seems only in Malaysia additional safety equipment is optional.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:02 am

There is optional additional safety specs in other countries. In Germany for example 6 airbags and stability control are standard on the C segment Seat Leon, but if you want the curtain airbags to extend to rear passengers it will cost you around RM 1k extra. You can also get additional safety features like lane departure warning (which includes the car staying in lane) and emergency city brakes (including adaptive cruise control, basically the car will keep a safe distance, warn the driver and if necessary brake itself to avoid a crash). It’s the same for the B segment Polo, there these safety features are optional too.

• Jimmy on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:00 pm

In that case, I would say Teana is the winner.

• das auto on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Since malaysians are facing with ever increasing prices in cost of living , I think value for money should be a big factor in the review…even more than fuel efficiency. With that in place the altis should be last place. Its priced more than 25k than cerato while is still lower spec. That is why you hardly see any altis on the road even after 9 mths launch.

• That’s probably Sam Lorr with demo car!

Haha!

• DonkeyKong on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:06 am

Renault Fluence will win in terms of value for money. I think it’s better put together and feels more refined than the Kia Cerato and Hyundai Elantra, but priced in the similar range. It’s pretty big, too.

The Peugeot 408 Turbo is also priced to compete in the sub-120k price range but too bad it only comes with 2 airbags and has pretty limited features e.g. crappy center stack with no navigation option

• carlies on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:53 pm

I saw quite a lot on the road. And I don’t think the highest spec of Altis having a lower spec than the Cerato. Please check carefully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Couldn’t agree more about the Mazda’s gearbox… I drive a CX5 and the transmission drives me nuts. The Altis probably is the worthy winner here, but it’s overpriced – as are most Toyotas…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • prottt on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:40 am

Slight better video, but i prefer if you guys have a format on what you want to review.

interior, exterior, driveability, comfort, economy and features. and rank them in a formatted manner.

every week, the format changes and the jokes are so slapstick and the acting is poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
    • das auto on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:25 pm

I wonder what will the pick up line be like if Sam Loo were to drive a Hilux. Lol

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:41 am

Ah, that’s what I’m talking about. Very good analysis and breakdown of the cars’ respective strengths and weaknesses.

So we can conclude that the top of the line + safety package Altis is the most balanced car here in comfort and dynamics. So that makes the 1.8 Altis a waste of money then, since it doesn’t offer VSC even though it costs over RM100k.

Did not expect the Mazda3 to lose out to the Cerato. You guys are really trying to break the bias towards good handling cars. Very good. The Cerato seemed to win out by packing the most value for its asking price and that is very logical. After all, a car is not all about driving excitement and at the end of a long, hard day at work, you’d want your butt to be cooled while you line up for the traffic jam on the way back home.
    But I don’t recall you guys talking about the cruising refinement of the Cerato. Is the soundproofing sufficient?

Mazda continues to make cars catered for the driver-at-heart. It’s a shame that the gearbox is hesitant though it is quite expected with their emphasis on fuel efficiency. Perhaps Mazda needs a Sports mode for their cars to sharpen the response.

From the analysis, one can clearly see where the individual automakers chose to focus on for their cars. It’s good to see that Toyota has started focusing on the driver’s satisfaction again without compromising on ride comfort.

By the way, was that pick-up line part really necessary?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
    • Ray (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:55 am

The Mazda 3 is a great car, just that it’s also overpriced and poorly equipped here in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Don’t get me wrong; I am quite fond of the Mazda3 because driving excitement is quite important to me but that may not be true for the general market. Without adaptive suspension, well-handling cars tend to be smaller than their peers, as the Ford Focus, another well-handling car, is also said to be cramped on the inside.

These kinds of cars would not appeal to everyone, especially for Malaysians who are quite conscious about space. That is one of the reasons why the Almera can do well despite not offering much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 4:39 pm

ALTIS & 3 almost the same in terms of space. Don’t be fooled of misleading from some webpage/video that Altis have much bigger space.

2014 NISSAN SLYPHY IS THE KING FOR SPACIOUS IN C SEGMENT.

PLS TEST DRIVE FULL LOAD (5 adults) IN ALL DIMENSION & ANGLE then to comment.

Infact if you have 3 adults sit at rear, 3 IS BETTER THAN ALTIS in rear seat comfort compare AS THE CURVY PROTRUSION at the EDGE OF ALTIS SEAT BOTH ENDS always PULL your BODY TOWARDS CENTER SEAT and make you feel NOT COMFORTABLE.

Driving experience, the most fuel economy car with standard 6 speed is an achievement for the torque/power experienced for Mazda 3. CVT is different mechatronic architecture compared standards 6-speeds.

If you compared GREEN TO GREEN, the ECO MODE from HONDA that sacrificed the torque/power but give u just a little bit more kilometers. Its a loser for Honda in ECO compared Mazda.

When heavy padel at 3 still response FULL POWER after just miliseconds and WOULDN’T MUCH AFFECTED your driving experience on daily routine basic.

Handling, Elegance, Luxury feel inside-out no doubt 3 is the winner. Even the PAINT QUALITY, 3 is one level/grade above ALTIS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Jimmy on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:09 pm

As I said, true greatness does not need explanation. It is good, and if you don’t believe, that is your problem, I do not need to explain to you.

• Those car sucks. Try preve rear cabin almost spacious as prev Camry!

• carlies on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:57 pm

The share of your experience tells us you never sit on the rear seat of Altis and 3. I feel you most likely a ETCM salesperson.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • sudonano (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 6:06 pm

The pickup line was necessary! It’s not everyday you get to see stuff like that lol.

Jokes aside, this is more of what we want. Thumbs up definitely.

Not surprised by the downfall of the Mazda3 actually. In fact the Mazda3 was rather disappointing in the showroom itself. Considering I was just done with the Cerato’s awesome butt cooling seats (which I think have to be the most amazing thing ever made for mankind, seriously, butt coolers should be made a STANDARD feature), the Mazda’s shocker price to spec ratio was a joke. No auto lights/wipers, no leather, no cruise control (seriously Mazda, you deserve a knock on the head for that) and the price…. Plus, there was no hatch and no iActiveSense in the 3!

The Cerato is a nice car to live with, comfy, quiet, cooled seats, all the tech you need and feels well put together. Just don’t take it for a “sporty drive” but in the KL insane traffic, it has good power to zip in and out and has very decent visibility actually.

As for the Corolla, well personally I thought the Civic had more space in the back. Yes it looks nice, especially in range topping 2.0V and with the additional safety pack, without the yobbo bodykit, and will last till the moon and back. But… the price is steep considering the Cerato, and somehow, I’m not too sure about that dash. Its…. so…. FLAT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Cooper on Aug 13, 2014 at 7:10 pm

It’s quite funny how you guys still talking abt why the gearbox not responsive enough at the expense of fuel economy. If u want responsiveness the 3 still comes with paddle shift. Is there for you to use it for full responsiveness and power. Give me a break.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Paddle shifters don’t fix the problem of an unresponsive gearbox. Say you just want to chill and leave the gear lever in D but the programming of the gearbox is such that you’ll get so annoyed by it that you want to use the paddles to change it yourself, then the automatic gearbox’s calibration still needs work.

Paddle shifters are really just a cool option to do your own shifting when you’re in the mood.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:45 am

Malaysia cars are priced out of reach of ordinary citizens. We have to fork out 7-9 years loan to buy a car, with half of those years paying money for taxes.
    It is just plain rubbish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Aug 13, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Hundred of thousands car owners will still be servicing their 9 year loan when the Service Tax kick in next April and with it all barang will naik harga by at least 15% or more. Many may not even afford to eat Cendol and will default payment and local car industry will have a big recession.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
      • Missing out on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Most reviews here are on high end cars, ever consider people who can’t reach or stretching their wallet to buy Altis ,Civic.. maybe Paul Tan should not slip out on P1 and P2 of lower range cars as people living within this range may also appreciate some healthy product knowledge.

• fast5 on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Like last 1st episode just comparing within Prices. Ignoring the segment thing.
          As a Malaysian we’re more prefer to the prices then car segment.
          P1 and P2, wait new model available we should compare.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 4:22 pm

u mean govt service tax(gst)?..the current Sales tax(10%) will be replace by GST(6%) not to add 1 more tax..

• GST lar... Not Service Tax on Aug 14, 2014 at 7:56 am

Halloooo LOW BUDGET…
        dont be so stupid la dude…
        GST is 6% while current Sales Tax for car is 10% which will be obsolete in 1st April 2015.
        GST will takes place.
        Then the price should drop at least 4% la dude…
        Operation cost also may reduce due to the claimable input tax by the GST registrant…
        You dont understand right?
        Because…u comment without having the fact. Cakap kosong saja…
        Where you get the 15%? work with Bank Negara meh? LMAO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:19 pm

You pay RM150K for an E-class in US but in Malaysia you only can get an Accord with same amount of money. However in US money is much more difficult to earn, it is difficult to find a good job, and you really have to be very good and competent.

Some of our local S-class owners may not even earn enough to drive a C-class in US because they get rich not by competency.

• NO HYUNDAI!!!HAHAHAHAHAHA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • spongewai on Aug 13, 2014 at 12:06 pm

no Renault Fluence??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • So the altis is the best among 3….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:24 pm

The car with the lowest TCO plus best tranny, ride and handling

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:21 pm

I wonder whether those 7 persons who thumbed him up really understand what is behind his words.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Sam Boo on Aug 13, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Cerato still the most valued for money as included the great discount given by now… while I dun think Altis & M3 dealder could offer such huge discount as at this point…err..mostly in future as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 13, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Get the Hyundai Elantra instead.

Same car, same shell, same engine, same tranny, same A-Y but just some cosmetic changes.

Most of all, Elantra can be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 14
  • unitewestandcollapsewefall on Aug 13, 2014 at 12:55 pm

the show is well balance…)i must say that the girls r attracted by toyota becoz of it’s “BRAND POWER”. u drive any toyota..people will have different view..they have been mind poison us ever since..it’s TOYOTA PLANET.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Jimmy on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Wait till you go well beyond the level of Toyota and you try to look back.

If you get complements from somebody, you ask yourself who he/she is and what his/her level is before you ‘syiok’ sendiri.

• Driven has Improved on Aug 13, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Now you guys are cooking, well done, the show was great improvement from the last fiasco episode, Hafriz is wearing slightly bigger shirts now, Jonathan was as usual going for the uncle dressing but what’s up with the rose pants and pink shirt, well its a statement but it still came together nicely overall.

You all have improvement on the way you bring up the sponsors PETRONAS and very nicely merge it quickly and simple within the show… Well Done Guys !!

Much better reviews with more information on the cars but can still improve to show a bit in-depth information.

The last part of the show were everybody was moving the camera’s to give their final feedback was brilliant and gave the show a much more premium feel with better handling :p
    for a car review show.

All in all, well done Paul Tan and Crew, can wait for the next episode …RM10 of petrol to go up Gentings should be interesting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Yes, those pants of Jonathan’s gave me pause as well but a well-dressed young man look is legit. I hope they don’t make it a hybrid episode next with the RM10 petrol Genting trip.

• fast5 on Aug 13, 2014 at 11:21 pm

True and existing hyrid owner can be proud but not much for new customer due to irrational extreme taxes by Gov.

• Chow 1 on Aug 13, 2014 at 1:24 pm

I will go for Honda Accord D-Segment for RM139,000.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Mrs Loo on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Where’s the sexy Sam loo?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 2:19 pm

sam loo celebrating

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • kington on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Eh Ya mien…. should include Sam Loo lar this video….

• Sam Loo Jr on Aug 15, 2014 at 9:22 am

Sam Loo busy drinking Moet n celebrate in club now with the 3 ah lians.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:11 pm

I might fight a little with the placement of the Cerato and the 3…..but honestly, spot on review and a much more polish, less bias and shouty one than the previous reviews. Keep the ball rolling guys!

The Cerato is still in my books the best of the C, driver seat ventilation and rear-aircond vents are great….but I also want my drive to great. But I’ve seen all the comparo and the owners verdict in CarBase to know the Cerato isnt going to satissfy people who likes driving such as me…you get what you pay for and its really a bargain, but for cruising around and stuff and not(in the language of Proton fans)Smoking other people. I tend to have more expectation on the driving so yea~…The 3 was a suprise, I was expecting it to be the winner. It was when I sat in it, indeed small. But the genuinly Euro built quality and perhapse the best ICE of the lot, and its imported from Japan, sshould able to overcome its stigma. it is in my eye, still the best looking.

Now to the winner, I’ve said before the Corolla is a much improved car, in design and specs it is more Gundam-era ahead of the old Edo-era Corolla Altis. And I am not Toyota bias enough to dislike the looks of it, it is to me, stunning. But to fork out RM2k extra is how you get perfection in UMW world, the Altis still holds the best safety system in all of Toyotas NA lineup(non-hybrid) with the exception of the RM300k Alphard. So if you like Toyotas and smitten by its after sales service, than the Altis is indeed a great car
    (runs away from disgruntled Paultan commentators)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • holofanboi on Aug 13, 2014 at 9:17 pm

*chases you with a pitchfork*

He praised Toyota! Burn him!!!

*ahem*

A surprisingly toned down yet factual review by you guys. At least, when compared to the wacko episode 4 :D

Perfect video entry by all of you! NO ONE placed their rump on the car’s headlights! ^^

I like this ‘walk into video’ method. Feels alot more casual.~

One tiny, itsy bitsy problem, at least to me. Hafriz, why are you talking so fast? O.o

Jonathan, at this rate you have proven yourself to be far more suave than James May.

Harvinder, simply opening your mouth is gonna illicit a laughter one way or another. Your expressions are entertaining! (From GF)

Also, when did Hafriz suddenly got assigned as the ‘straight man’ of the group? O.o

A nice, simple episode btw!

• kudajawi on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Of course Toyota is the winner lah! Nothing could go wrong much with Toyota. Very smooth quiet CVT gearbox.

So Proton, dream on lah with your Preve. Better hit 10 million sales annually first then talk about global car ok. Pfffttt!!! :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Huh? Almost a year no but Altis is nowhere to be seen, very rare but Preve

• DonkeyKong on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:14 am

That’s right! There’s hardly any Altis on the roads. I see far more Honda Accords on the roads than Camry and Altis combined. But in the B-segment, Vios and Almeras are everywhere…

• Kia King on Aug 15, 2014 at 9:29 am

Thats bcoz Altis cannot sell at all with that ridiculous price tag. While sales of elantra and cerato ate up altis n civic sales. UMW think ppl will pay so much for their branded dated junk. So now they pay the price of keeping their fleet of altis rusting in the yard.

Sorry…back to work now. Can’t keep up with the insane amount of orders for cerato and K5.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:05 am

Double the price of a Preve to be even competitive in terms of safety. For double the price I expect a bit more than what the Altis offers. At least the lowest spec should already have the safety kit included. But yeah, I rarely see the Altis on the road.

• berkata benar on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:40 pm

preve mana!!!

• BangBangChickaBangBang on Aug 13, 2014 at 3:41 pm

So, who was the cutest chick among the 3? The one in the middle was pretty hot…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • hippopo on Aug 13, 2014 at 4:43 pm

I’m driving the previous version of Altis. One thing i do agree is that the CVT is very responsive and smooth. Very quiet ride also. I do agree it’s a bit boring, but it’s comfortable and quiet. You will appreciate it especially during highway cruising or stuck in start stop traffic jam in KL. I strongly believe the current Altis will be better also.

• Kia King on Aug 15, 2014 at 9:37 am

But during traffic jam you don’t know the cars behind and beside you are laughing at you. And they are thinking how come still got such sohai buy these sort of overpriced junk? Must be retarded or something. No wonder they drive like mat rempit (low IQ) on the road. Mat Rempit thinks they own the road since they pay the most road tax lol.

• yellow on Aug 13, 2014 at 5:01 pm

come on guys why not the Nissan Sylphy.. Altis is no match for Sylphy in term of spec and price..

• ahjibhai on Aug 13, 2014 at 5:03 pm

All three cars have no pussy magnet. Please don’t even try to compete with my s63

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
    • Wings on Aug 16, 2014 at 12:05 am

S63? You mean you drive Long Island Bus?
      http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/S63_(Long_Island_bus)

• I will pay more to get the best.
    add another RM200 monthly and I get the best for my self.

• shawal on Aug 13, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Best made episode by far….
    Early episodes of topgear and even the US versions , and few fifthgear episodes are a snozefest..

The altis….in that color…with those wheels and the bodykit…is the best looking C-segment on the market right now bar none…
    Too bad its gravely overpriced , with the safety kit and optional satnav…and the bodykit too

UMW toyota justify that price if they were to include twin electric front seats , sunroof and extra safety or infotaiment feature

however the mazda’s rear 3 quarter is reminiscent of maserati ghibli… saw a white one with matte black 5 spoke rims and it looks the business..

• gdntsk (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Good one!!

I’m assuming the driving conditions in this episode are different from that of the Civic VS Focus VS Cerato episode from the previous season because the Cerato got 14.6 km/l during the last season whereas in this episode, it got 13.0 km/l.

Honestly, I wasn’t expecting the Mazda3 to be snubbed by the Cerato during the final verdict part. The E170 Corolla is a winner on paper BUT tell me have you seen many E170 Corollas running around the roads of Klang Valley? Same goes for the Mazda3 and Cerato 2.0 (actually I see more of the 1.6 SX running around). In reality, the 2.0-litre C-segment isn’t really sought after by current car buyers.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 13, 2014 at 9:53 pm

I actually think the curent batch of suv’s r eating into sales of their own models, cx5, sportage, crvs, ASX n so on….similar value, more space n high riding drive…
    Personally I choose none, I go for golf tsi

• yapyw on Aug 13, 2014 at 9:59 pm

I still think “more airbags” is about marketing on those kiasi minds. I’d rather choose one that handles and rides well. Worse, U pay more for airbags which by the time of an accident might just fail to deploy properly. Hmm….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
    • Jimmy on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Kid, your statement is grossly misleading. Think about it, I don’t have to speak it out, do I?

Promote ‘safety for everbody’. Same when you design/build any houses/buildings/bridges/roads etc etc, think about others.

• Still can’t afford all 3.
    Even if I can earn slightly more, then there is gst impact on cost of living to consider.
    So in the meantime still sticking to my great handling, economical and reliable mivec engine inspira 1.8 manual.

• DonkeyKong on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:17 am

Nothing to be ashamed of, Inspiras are pretty awesome and they really hold up well over the years, with minimal problems if any. Probably the most trouble-free Proton ever.

• Guilt79 on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Wonder why so many people here wants Altis to be last..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Solid As Rock on Aug 13, 2014 at 10:56 pm

definitely will choose altis if they sell price same with kia cerato. too expensive will the option to choose K5, accord and teana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 18, 2014 at 11:49 am

Get the K5 from a relative who wants to get rid of it.

For 15 month old unit, they will be desperate to sell for RM30K or so

• Denaihati on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:32 am

Altis is expected to win, much changes now.
    “This is Wak Doyok C segment sedan”

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:09 am

What happened to the other cars in the segment? At least in the last season you mentioned alternatives. But this season it’s very Japan centric, with a Korean car thrown in to be bashed once in a while. And never is there a comparison between Japanese and European cars. WHY? If they are in the same segment and similarly priced, why not compare? Afraid Japanese cars won’t look good when compared to European ones?

And why not compare more than just 3 cars per episode, if there are more? PT has more than 3 writers… and even if there are too many cars, they can be tested by the same people.

• CBU-JAPAN on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:35 am

Not gone through the rest of the comments above, but did anyone mention that the 3 is the only one here that is a CBU from Japan? Also Mazda is offering 3 years totally free service for this car, can the others match it?

• Sam Boo on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:39 am

If to say smooth drvie, silky CVT, Sylphy is the choice… so toyota, is there still any other stronger point left for u to justify your Altis price other than your double oval badge ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Benjamin on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:50 am

Wondering why you guys have not taken the other models in to the account such as VW jetta and Renault Fluence or peugoet 408. Altis, mazda and cerato has a number of reviews but we do know less about other cars which seems a far better deal as Fluence and 408 with a better car(Not the look though lol)

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Tan Chong was ignored completely this round. The Sylphy wasn’t tested either. I wonder how that could happen…

• Spelberg on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:28 am

This time Driven review is quite ok, but here’s my directorial improvement:

Intro:
    – a quick summary of the 3 cars, a bit of thrash talk by Sam Loo as appetiser
    (30-40 seconds)

Exterior review:
    – car angle view from front to rear, design details, comparison from previous model, size, dimensions, weight
    (30 seconds each car)

Interior:
    – overall dashboard view, door panels, soft or hard plastics, storage cupholders, steering got audio controls or not, good seat lumbar support, rear seats big or not, how many luggage bags at trunk boot
    (30-40 seconds each car)

Engine and driving:
    – engine timing chain or belt, gearbox slushbox or CVT, steering grip solid or not, understeer or not, pick up lagging or not, braking on rainy days, wet roads, ABS working properly or not, braking distance to stop comparison
    (1 mins each car)

Fuel economy, car servicing cost:
    – show actual fuel economy figure from dashboard tacho, how to improve it (tyre pressure, weight, driving behavior), compile servicing costs from official carmaker and compare which car cheapest to maintain in long term theoritically,
    (1 mins each car)

Conclusion:
    – 30 seconds wrap-up, cute girls choose the winning car, Sam Loo sad face (if Toyota lost, hahaha)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
  • elson on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:43 am

rich people go for mazda3,
    budget saving go for K3
    value for market go for altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • entaoba on Aug 14, 2014 at 7:20 pm

I am not too rich, with reasonable budget, value for money…i pick focus, the runner up last season.

• I’ll tease(Altis) you all night long! OMG! Nice quote!

• haha..dun get tricked by this video.
    Toyota altis users are now having problems with quality. annoying sound coming out from panels. when it rains,tin man is here.paint get scratched off easily.and the last the cvt is jerking at low speed..

• how come u guys didnt’t compare cars like lexus, audi, etc……those luxury cars

• Saya suka Negara saya.Tapi tahun 1980 shj! on Aug 15, 2014 at 8:42 am

Honestly,This three fellows tester is not prof enuf to judge the car,repeat the same comment at evry driven episode, really! To me,Cerato still big winner. Why,here the summary

1.Gadgets=winner (sunroof,power seat,rear aircond and etc)
    2.Prices=absolute winner.
    3.Soundproof=among 3,is the less DB as low as 62db
    4.Comfort & spacious=winner too
    5.Power=2nd place. M3 is lack as Harv comment
    6.Safety=Ncap if not mistaken 5 stars. Altis 3 only
    7.2nd hand value=winner too as spectra trade in values no more shade in successor such as forte and cerato. same depreciation value as altis too.
    8.Maintainence=winner too as my forte maintainence is satisfy and less CVT fluid to pour and leak.
    9. Fuel consumption=3 cars all the same,but cerato no more thirsty engine as Kia did before.
    10. warranty=winner too,Toyota and mazda is only 3, Kia is 5 years 100,000km.

So, i think driven is bullshit ppl to follow trend, lets read my comment and make a right decision today for your C segment.Sam Loo is bullshit too keep saying Kimchi made is low trade in value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 15, 2014 at 11:17 am

2nd hand value can only be quoted if a car can be traded in.

No used car dealer will take KIA.

You need to arrange for private sale. Most if the time, if the new car is RM120k, after 15 months, the transaction value is only around RM20k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • When toyota lose, bunch of dudes say:”toyota RV better and bla bla bla” Now toyota win :”toyota lousy junk. ”
    Be fair pls, they rank the car not only on performance only, also the pricing, the interior and also features.

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Why No Renault Fluence? Will Renault Win if Include Fluence?

• 7yearsfd1 on Aug 16, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Just to share, CMIIW btw

Cerato – 5 Years Warranty or 300,000km
    Altis – 3 years warranty or 100,000km
    Mazda 3 – 3 years warranty or 100,000km and 3 years 60,000km free service

fun fact
    BMW – 2 years warranty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 18, 2014 at 9:47 am

5 years warranty, but with a service cost of more than RM1500 for every major service and RM800 for a minor service?

You gotta look at TCO, this is something that kimchis cannot provide, because, it you know that number plus having bought that car, you might choose to be the next Teoh Beng Hock

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Fairozee Hashim on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:16 pm

The first four minutes are wasting time… should keep the intro short and talk more about those cars in details….

• i own a Mazda3 on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Heres my honest opinion on the Mazda 3. I own and drive the previous generation Mazda 3 2.0. Got it in January 2012 and I must say this. The car is rattling all over inside. Rattling from the dashboard. The seatbelt area. The rear speaker console area.

For my Mazda 3, There is a definite Lag or delay when it comes to pulling off a stop sign. I highly agree with Harv but I’m surprised it still suffers from the same problem with the new Mazda 3 2.0 SkyActive. It doesn’t feel like it wants to switch from gears 1 to 2… And thats definitely sad cause the car looks sporty but doesn’t perform like one..

Yes. The body roll, the driving responsiveness is unbeatable in the entire C-Segmant, but the car is just jarring to drive long distance at highway speeds.. Wind noise is ridiculous.. road noise is ridiculous.. and its severely bumpy. On our Malaysian roads, you feel every little damn bumps on the road which after driving for 2.5 years now, its getting really annoying when sometimes I just want a comfortable ride from point A-B.

Although I agree with many of the comments up in here regarding the interior first impressions. From my 2012 Mazda 3 to the new 2014 Mazda3. Its materials used are top notch. However, thats all there is to it. Top notch materials. But it lacks in reliability. Like I said, I’ve driven my “3” for the past 2.5 years but in fact, 1 year into owning and driving the car, the interior feels like its starting to age by all the lose parts. Its good to note that I am a person that doesn’t trash my car around much and i certainly take really good care of my car. Interior & Exterior.

Now comparing the 2012 Mazda 3 2.0 and the 2014 Mazda 3 2.0 in terms of specs, puts the 2014 model to shame. Here’s why in my opinion.

The 2012 model that I’m driving has Electro-Chromic Mirror, Dual Zone Air Conditioning, Cruise Control, Automatic Headlamps & Wipers and the 2013 facelift model adds on an 8-inch Multimedia Touch Screen, Leather Seats and Keyless Entry with Push Start Ignition. All these for around RM123k with insurance.

While the new 2014 model replaces the Electro-Chromic Mirror with a standard manual day/night mirror, replaces Dual Zone Air Conditioning with a Single Zone unit, Removes Cruise Control along with the Automatic Headlamps & Wipers and also goes back to fabric seats and the asking price is a hefty RM139k with insurance.

Specifications wise, The older model wins.

Now here is the part where I share my ownership experience of the Mazda 3. ITS DISASTROUS!! Sending my car in for a basic oil change takes a minimum of 3 hours AT ANY MAIN MAZDA SERVICE CENTRES! Ive tried the SC along Federal Highway, and the service was crap and unprofessional and it always takes at least 3 hours. Ive tried the other big SC at Glenmarie and even that took 3 hours. Ive also sent it to the SC along Sg.Besi and it took 2.5 hours when theres practically No other cars there for service except mine!…

Its pretty pathetic if you ask me in terms of after sales service but at least they aren’t rude. I would say all the Mazda SC that I’ve been to, almost everyone one of them are under-staffed and unprofessional. On many occasions, they don’t know what they are talking and they expect me to buy their nonsense.

So for quite a number of reasons, I have promised myself that this is my First and last Mazda I will ever own. Firstly, I can’t stand how uncomfortable the ride is, as a driver and a passenger at the front and rear seats and how tight the rear seats are. Secondly, although I know for a fact that Mazda has the best interior materials, but i guess it doesn’t hold up very long. Thirdly, Mazda Malaysia really needs to bulk up in their after-sales department because that is what gave me a big issue in regards of owning the car.

In conclusion, I guess my 2012 Mazda 3 isn’t a balanced car. Its sporty to drive but its utterly uncomfortable to drive it for long and even as a passenger, have you tried sitting on top of a spinning washing machine? Im not saying the Mazda 3 isn’t a good car by the way. Just sharing my take on it since I’ve been driving one for the past 2.5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • japkor owner on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Again baseless comment…kia is 5years unlimited milage…the other point is i own both japanese and korean car and the service is about the same around 250-300 per service and not as mentioned as previous comment..and to my suprise certain korean spare parts is cheaper if u comparr ori to ori parts..if u compare japanese taiwan made sure cheaper but u know the quality..just to clarify things and i think sam loo need to do brain scan because all the Facts given are false and ridiculuos

• I am too fed up of CVT gear box which is giving me lot of problem. My Honda City’s 2007 petrol consumption has increased a lot ie. about 11km per litre. To replace the whole gearbox will cost about 8K. Any japanese car model of 1.5 litre cc without cvt gearbox to recommend?.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • tehcho (Member) on Oct 10, 2014 at 10:29 am

sylphy will win if add in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Hyundai Fan on Mar 21, 2015 at 4:20 pm

Wonder why Sam Loo hates abt Korean cars? Don’t tell us that he is not using any Korean made product like handphone & TV, or he is using iphone & Japanese brand TV? Under mine other people is just showing himself as a person without self confidence & cannot succeed in his career.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Emmit on Nov 10, 2015 at 7:09 am

VW is winner