2014 Entry-level hatchback round-up: Perodua Axia, Proton GSC Compact Car and Great Wall M4

This year is shaping up a lot to be like the year 2005. If you recall, it was then that both Proton and Perodua decided to launch small hatchbacks, and despite the two cars not being in the same segment, comparisons were unavoidably made between the two.

The Proton Savvy was a smaller A-segment car, while the larger B-segment Perodua Myvi became a runaway success for Perodua, so much that the automaker now even exports the Myvi to Indonesia with a Daihatsu badge (it’s known as the Sirion there).

The year 2014 is turning out to be another entry-level hatchback year, with the same two protagonists at it again. Proton and Perodua are set to launch small hatchbacks before the year is out, and the segments are reversed this time – Proton’s GSC compact car is a B-segment car which is supposed to take on the Myvi, while the Perodua Axia is an A-segment replacement for the Perodua Viva.

But there is a third, less-known model in the mix too, actually – the Great Wall M4. It’s also B-segment sized, more of a Myvi competitor given that, but it has a unique selling point, which is a higher ride height and crossover styling.

Although the Axia is now open for booking and we’ve seen the M4’s pricelist, none of these three cars have actually been officially launched yet. Let’s do a recap on these three small-sized offerings.

Perodua Axia

Perodua-Axia

Perodua has announced that the Perodua Axia will be open for booking tomorrow, with a booking fee of between RM250 to RM300 depending on variant. The cheapest variant is the Axia Standard E, which goes for RM24,900 (solid colour) in Peninsular Malaysia. There are a total of four variants – the other three being Standard G, Special Edition and Advance.

We do know that at least one variant of the Axia will come with Perodua’s new all-aluminium 1.0 litre engine, codenamed the 1KR. The question is whether the RM24,900 variant will get it or not. Compared to the Viva’s 1.0 litre cast iron engine, it’s a lot lighter, has a longer stroke, but omits DVVT variable valve timing. The same 997 cc three-cylinder engine, the D26F-1KR-DE, is found in Indonesia’s Daihatsu Ayla and Toyota Agya promises a fuel consumption of 20-22 km per litre.

We don’t have any official dimensions of the Axia for now other than its boot space, which is said to be 260 litres. However, we can take some hints from the dimensions of the Daihatsu Ayla that it is based on.

The Ayla measures 3,580 mm long, 1,600 mm wide and 1,510 mm tall, with a 2,450mm wheelbase. This is longer and wider compared to the Viva (3,575 mm long, 1,47 5mm wide), with a 60 mm longer wheelbase as well, which should translate to a larger interior.

As for safety features, it’s been a case of maximum two airbags and ABS regardless of model now. With even the range-topping Alza not featuring stability control or more than two airbags, we don’t expect the Axia to come with anything of that sort.

Proton P2-30A GSC Compact Car

proton-gsc-tail-lamp

Proton’s new model for this year, the P2-30A GSC Compact Car, is a B-segment model, which means it will compete with cars like the Myvi and the Honda Jazz. It would also be logical to assume that this car’s platform and engine will eventually be used to develop the next-generation Proton Saga.

No official details have been released by Proton about its GSC as yet, other than the fact that it’s due this year. The automaker has released a single teaser of the car’s front grille and headlamp design, which we now know features projector lenses on at least one variant.

We’ve seen at least three variants on test – a base model with multi-spoke design wheel covers, a mid-range version with six-spoke alloy wheels and a range-topper with all-around bodykit and (what appears to be) larger 10-spoke wheels.

We’ve also had a peek at the GSC’s interior thanks to overseas spyshots when the car was undergoing cold weather and stability control testing – it reveals one variant with fabric seats and a conventional head-unit, and another with leather upholstery and a touch-screen media system.

The car may not be bargain basement cheap though, if the indicators about Proton changing its strategy from being a maker of cheap cars to a world-class carmaker are right. “Now Proton wants to produce cars which are of world standard, but you have to pay a higher price. You can’t have a good car and pay a bad car price,” Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad was quoted as saying in May this year.

To be competitive, we’re expecting the new Proton to be priced around the region of the Perodua Myvi, which starts from RM40k for the cheapest 1.3 XT manual variant up to RM60k for the 1.5 Extreme automatic. The Proton will have a safety advantage – our spyshots have confirmed that the car will be available with the vital ESP stability control feature. It would also be nice if it could be offered with six airbags (like the Preve and Suprima S) on the higher end variants.

Great Wall M4

Great_Wall_M4_Malaysia_ 075

The Great Wall M4 is an interesting proposition. Great Wall is a Chinese brand that’s distributed by Green Oranges in the country – Go Auto Manufacturing, which was the first company to obtain an energy efficient vehicle (EEV) manufacturing licence from the government under NAP 2014, will build the M4 locally at its plant in Gurun, Kedah.

First announced back in January, it’s not had an official launch yet, but the right-hand drive version was previewed in July, with a complete price list for all six variants appearing in earlier this month.

Pricing with insurance starts from RM46,990 for the Standard to RM56,990 for the Premium in five-speed manual form, while the six-speed auto versions start from RM48,990 for the Standard right up to RM59,990 for the Premium.

These prices are aimed squarely at the Perodua Myvi, which is why we say Proton should be following the same formula. All variants are powered by a 1.5 litre engine with variable valve timing, offering 105 hp at 6,000 rpm and 138 Nm at 4,200 rpm.

The Great Wall M4 measures in at 3,961 mm long, 1,728 mm wide and 1,617 mm tall, with a 2,383 mm-long wheelbase and 185 mm ground clearance. As a comparison, the Myvi is 3,686mm long, 1,665mm wide and 1,545 mm tall, with a 2,440 mm wheelbase. So the M4 is longer, wider and taller than the Myvi, but has a shorter wheelbase.

Standard equipment across the line-up includes four disc brakes, ABS and EBD with brake assist, powered windows all-around, steering wheel audio controls, manual four-way adjustment front seats, dual airbags and front/rear foglamps. When the CKD auto variants arrive, they will feature ESP stability control in the mix.

Which one would you be interested to buy?

With so many entry level hatchbacks launching this year, which one you would buy if you happen to be in the market for one? Let us know in the voting poll below.

[polldaddy poll=8245047]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• azrai on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:19 am

As long it is Toyota in disguised, Malaysian will bought it. No matter the features even for safety one. In price game, proton eventually will lose but they are going for export market which is good for currency exchange and for our economy. Hopefully it make a handsome profit from overseas sales.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 8
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:25 am

ENDLESS of GSC test drive & review …

When GSC going to launch … ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:44 am

which auto site already test drive n review pcc..i wanna read..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Haha … Manufacturer test drive followed by internal review.

Then lets bloggers posting on spied-spotted, help in boost msia economy created more vacancies for Web industry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Malaysians need CHEAP and RELIABLE car. Perodua get the points with Perodua Axia here.

5 star safety, Lotus handling, more power etc. is important too, BUT not the KEY factor buying the car or not.

If the car got 10k horse power, can fly to the moon, it won’t attract Malaysian buyers also if it is not RELIABLE and CHEAP. This is Malaysian market. Wake up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
          • Savvy88 on Aug 15, 2014 at 8:22 am

If you’re not putting the safety features as a main factor of buying car, you’re a third-world mentality person. most of developed-country people are asking about safety features as a main concern for them to buy a new car because they know, their life is nowhere more expensive than the so-called “reliability and cheap” thingy. Quite sad to found that most Malaysian still didn’t have that mentality.

• cheap mean unquality cars. quality needs money. Wake up Same lorr !!!

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:55 pm

I don’t running & managing p1 but other MNC, I don’t have it, u could ask tun to share the GSC project progress report…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:56 pm

I don’t running & managing p1 but other MNC, I don’t have it, u could ask tun to share the GSC project progress report… then pls share with us to review together …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
          • Why u dont running?u walking is it?MNC…cehh

• no need test drive laa…malaysian only based on past experience to determine that car manufacturer are good or lousy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
      • Still got tons of spy shots to reveal. Where got launch so fast?

• rifle on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Still waiting for GSC….

• azraibodoh on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:41 am

“will bought it”…what kind of english is that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:49 am

this no skool..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • azrai on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Taken from this Xavier School one ‘X-Men: Days of Future Past’

• ye la ko pndai.. mesti mak ko dlu byk makan cheese. hrp2 bontot ko putih..telor merah2 gitew cam matsaleh..taik mesti wangi kan.. gud luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 31
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:44 am

Export ???
      Export to India ???

India car price:

SUZUKI SWIFT: fr 23k myr
      HYUNDAI i10: fr 20k myr
      HYUNDAI i20: fr 25k myr
      HONDA BRIO: fr 21k myr
      HONDA CITY: fr 38k myr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:48 am

if use same spec as those car u mention above yes p1 can..if want those adv safety feature cannot la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:11 pm

After 30yrs automotive development

Not sure could MSIA to MANUFACTURE the Hyundai i20 & EXPORT to INDIA with market priced at 25k myr

Selling price rm25K Hyundai i20 at India (CBU fr Msia) included :-
          + profit margin manufacturer Msia
          + profit margin Hyundai Msia
          + Msia govt tax duty
          + transportation cost
          + India govt tax duty
          + profit margin Hyundai India

Do MSIA a LOW COST MANUFACTURER for AUTOMOTIVE which WORTH to invest for Export ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 4:05 pm

if for export, internal tax does not interfere with export product except export tax..u operation manager u should know that…y say boleh manufacturer/assembler cannot export cheap? P2 Axia proof somehow we can.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:45 am

Ah Beng vote for GSC. Why?
      Axia – engine 1.0 only no power, low safety standards and poor R&H
      Haval – China-made poor than PROTON. Look at Chery Eastar 2nd hand value go down 50% after 2 years bought. Plus, the finishing and QC is not good as PROTON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 37
      • Pondana on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Great Wall M4 already received bookings around 500+ units so far. Not bad for so-called poor China car that you look down on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 25
        • DynastyLim (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:25 pm

I bet those 500++ idiotic and pathetic customer will request for their refund and book for GSC next month once launch. China car 2nd hand car value are the worst!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 45
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 14, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Yes, you are right. You may consider M4 buyers are fool. But those who cancel the M4 booking and turn for GSC, are true idiot (as you said).

You give up a SUV with cheap price and go for problematic build quality B segment hatchback? Your gf/wife/mum will cry out loud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 23
          • urzu3 on Aug 15, 2014 at 7:40 am

name me a SUV that has that price range.

consider people who bought it have around RM2000-2500 monthly.

u always look unto urself, cocky punya org kaya

• sooooooooo wise. same lorr already know the GSC is problematic before launching fool but acting wise.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:49 pm

People see looks like SUV, people see price, people will book. Who knows if they will be satisfied…

• azrai on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:51 pm

That’s 500 are from 3 big construction company getting most of the greater KL projects.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Berani on Aug 14, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Don’t always talk about second hand value, tired hearing about that. How can you compared a China SUV with a Proton Sedan. How much do you know about 2nd hand value. Do you trust that, a good car salesman can sell it higher than 50%. If you have holiday, please go China and have a look. See how many China car manufacturer they have and produce good car there. Even Taxi with Electric Car. Don’t hide yourself in Malaysia. Go out and have a look.
        500+ units booking is a good start like Korean car last time. Consumers are not blind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Haval – China-made poor than PROTON.
        Are you sure?
        Look at Chery Eastar 2nd hand value go down 50% after 2 years bought.
        That Chery not Great Wall. Are your brain working?
        Plus, the finishing and QC is not good as PROTON
        Again, Have you view the M4? Which part of the furnishing not good? Leather seat? Electronic Speedometer? Sport Rim? Do anyhow BASH without using your brain and eyes and see.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:57 am

Not a fair comparison. Axia length lies between Viva and Myvi. GSC is definitely B-segment car which competes with Polo, Jazz, Fiesta and Myvi..M4 is SUV..If customer wants comfort, better Ride & Handling and safety feature, u can ready your saving and booking for GSC in coming 1-2 months..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
      • Correction. GSC only compete with their own proton cars. Anyone with financial capability and right mind will not buy Proton car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 49
        • isokongahbeng on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:29 pm

ioma, previously what proton car u bought?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 6
          • DynastyLim (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:54 pm

ioma dont drive proton cars. he just typical n brainless basher. also dunno which to compare with Axia and GSC..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 14, 2014 at 6:14 pm

We all are Proton victim. Thus we know Proton build quality is Type R (Rubbish).

You may not be poor to get Proton. But the Proton will make you poorer for sure.

We all thought Petronas is making huge profit, actually Proton service centres and spare part supplier earn the most, day light robbery from our pockets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
          • same lorr is victim actually. hate proton but urge some one else to hate also. what a pathetic loosers. people dont see car same a you.your brain is full of bad thought

• Calvin Lee on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:25 pm

I do have money and study on comparison analysis..GSC is not bad compare to others in market and segment. now you tell me, do I’m not in the right mind???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
        • i can afford to buy toyota, but instead i bough proton,,,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
          • You need to go see the psychologist instead of that NZ Rizalman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Ray (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:54 pm

My pick is the M4 with ESP, actually. I’ve had countless nightmares with both Proton and 3 cylinder engines so yeah, the Chinese car would do good for me despite having questionable build quality hmm… Can’t say much though since they’re not all revealed fully yet, and who knows our jaguh kampung number 1 and 2 will do good this time? But now, I’m keen in the looks and specs of the M4 hmm…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • toyotafan on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:36 am

Where is the information on Safety Tests? ANCAP, EU NCAP, NTHSA, etc etc? A list of safety equipment is simply not enough.

Btw, I was told that the Toyota Camry X was recently sent to Japan HQ for safety testing, and it FAIL the side impact test.

Question : Are cars manufactured in M’sia, regardless of brand, less safer than their counterparts in other countries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:45 am

where the proof? this is not /k of lowyat u know..

• fast5 on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Correct please show prove.

On other hand if this really true Japan Toyota need to cancel UMW Toyota dealership due to making Toyota (brand) it self being so unreliable, less safety features by UMW.

• Mr.Sykwalker on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:52 am

Heh, who cares about safety for this car. With the proposed price bracket, the majority of buyers would most probably be young undergrad students with the “I’m young and vibrant, death’s still far far away” attitude & old ladies “I still live what! Gonna use the car for pasar only lo” mentality.

Bet the P2 CEO would have no problem whatsoever selling this car from base to top spec with no safety at all. 25k only lo, easy to justify to fellow msians like that!

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:51 pm

I wouldn’t be surprised if the Malaysian Camry failed.

As for cars manufactured in M’sia being lesser than their counterparts in other countries? I don’t think so. It depends on if it was downgraded for the local market (typical of Japanese brands) or not (typical for European brands). A Volvo or Mercedes assembled in Malaysia should be quite safe.

• You were told? Hahaha…. and you believe it? Every one here is saying proton sucks and u dun believe ut?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Pengguna Bijak on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:37 am

Better buy Perodua Axia.

Seronok tengok Dr M mad like hell GSC tak laku. Padan muka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 50
    • Kamujita Kamuji on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Pengguna Bijak… Nama je bijak tapi keluarkan komen kurang bijak (aku tak tak kata bodoh yer, cuma kurang bijak); Sejak bila pulak kau kata TAK LAKU… GSC ni belum masuk showroom lagi. Launch pun belum..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
    • Chris (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Personally I’d pick P2 as well, but deep down inside I hope the Proton GSC will do well.

It’s way better to see it being successful, because if it failed, who knows what Dr M will do next and we’ll get bitten in the end. Plus, being proton, it’ll sell, and I’d rather see a good car running on the road rather than a moving hazard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • belum keluar dah kata tak laku. bukan bijak ni. bodoh

• I think it’s too soon to vote…wait till GSC official release

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:49 am

GSC is developed for TEST DRIVE ONLY meanwhile also create job opportunities among auto bloggers to post review

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:50 am

GSC was developed for TEST DRIVE ONLY meanwhile also create job opportunities among auto bloggers to post review

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • ahjibhai on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:42 am

which car will i choose

Answer: None

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • ruffstuff (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:44 am

It’s kinda early for the votes. I hope you guys do another round of vote after the new Proton launched.

• kenny on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:44 am

guess proton really put effort in producing a quality car since it was tested here and there and took so long..

• If Great Wall M4 win because of Malaysian now want spacious cabin.
    If Proton GSC Compact Car win because of Malaysian now want more safety features and fun to drive.
    If Perodua Axia win because of Malaysian still heard somebody said Perodua is your best choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • DynastyLim (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Etah, did you go to showroom and test drive M4? The car did not have spacious cabin..See for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • fast5 on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Etah Perodua case, people choose due to the Pricing and not P2 is your best choice.

• driver on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:07 pm

I don’t think so. I think Etah is right.. people choose p2 because of the perception.

Mostly perception driven decision. Irrational, but that’s what we have seen so far.

• Ong Chee Boon on Aug 14, 2014 at 5:18 pm

I have test driven the GW M4, its cabin space is not even close to what you call “spacious”. Front is okay, but rear legroom is cramped.

My friend complained not comfortable sitting at the back on the malaysian roads.

But again, for such price, the interior and the drivetrain you cannot really complain.

Interior is kinda good and pleasing to the eye actually. Engine is Toyota engine, gearbox you can choose MT or AT some more.

And all DISC brakes on this SUV. This department alone, shame on you, Honda.

• i TOTALLY agree with you. I tested drive the manual. No bad. The only complain is the boot and rear seat. Too small for boot and leg space.

• isokongahbeng on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:28 pm

yeah ah beng, u are right! previously thinking twice to buy proton, but after we bought suprima, i think, ill go for another proton car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:29 pm

great wall…its because china has proven how you can make a car that is bigger and cheaper and still competitively priced even with all the taxes…compare to my boss who say to make a “better car”…price must increase…even though nothing has been proven that the “better car” is actually a better car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Allen on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Their car being categorised into EEV. Those are being assembled locally with EEV tax feature, how can it be not cheap?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
  • wild_card on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Minor typo, its booking fees not booking free.

• driver on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:12 pm

yup.. notice that as well. Seems like Paul’s in hurry to get this published.. this is another mistake: ” … it’s not had an official launch yet, but …”

it doesn’t have?

• Just guess on Aug 14, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Perhaps it’s = it has.
        thus, it has not had an official launch, yet.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 4:11 pm

too many cikgu la …

• azrai on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:49 pm

What will happen with Viva then?

• Low Budget on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Kancil is dead and buried and Viva are going to extinct very soon.

• bukapintubayartol on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:54 pm

I hope Perodua gets the hint that RM60k is too expensive for a locally made 1.5L hatchback

• Calvin Lee on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:56 pm

comparing those 3 cars is unfair, is just like sparing heavyweight vs lightweight.. totally different level..

• areos on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:18 pm

hah muka tak malu betul P2..boleh claim lagi Axia is first malaysian EEV… gelak besar orang nippon

• Allen on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:24 pm

I have test drove the Axia at Perodua dealer convention 1.5 months ago.

Not all variants will come with ABS sadly.
    As conversation with the marketing manager, he mentioned that a total of 6 variants will be offered.

Axia Basic Manual
    Axia Standard Manual
    Axia Standard Auto

Axia SE Manual
    Axia SE Auto
    Axia SE Premium Auto (leather seat & touchscreen HU)

SE will come with ABS, front parking sensor, fog lamp where it will be omitted from the Basic/Standard trim variant.

Price is expected to be a bit above what Viva was offering. So the highest trim will be more expensive than Viva Elite?

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:31 pm

The thing is… I am not too sure with the Axia if it will sell as well as the Viva. One of the things is the Viva/original Myvi did have some class leading features that were not available in the other competitors. Proton’s equivalent B segment car in 2005 and 2007 were the tin can Sagas. At that time,airbags itself were unheard of in the local brands, and it was the Myvi that brought that in.

Now, Proton has got their SV models with decent and a bit better safety than the Peroduas. The mainstream Proton models like the Preve have reached global safety standards but not quality standards though…

It’s a battle for quality for Proton and safety for Perodua right now. Proton has got safety right and have realised that people are aware of ESC and airbags, while Perodua have gotten quality somewhat right with the durability history of the Myvi.

I’d not discount the Axia just yet for having only 2 airbags and ABS but not ESC. If history does repeat itself, when the Viva did come out Perodua did add in features that the Myvi did not have (and never got) like power folding mirrors on the top spec model, I’d not be surprised if they do add ESC into the mix. But again this is a 50-50 chance. Also, Perodua has oddly added some electronic features as accessories too in the past. Just look at this Alza brochure here, http://paultan.org/2014/01/10/perodua-alza-facelift-launch/accessories-flyer-2/ and you’d see they have auto lights and wipers as an accessory… not very normal.

The GSC if well sorted and built well with a decent power train could be a volume seller in and out of Malaysia. Especially in the UK and Australian markets, if they do it properly and market it between the Skoda Citigo and Skoda Fabia’s price bracket, it can be quite a decent seller too.

• Low Budget on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:29 pm

If GSC can sell well in U.K. and Australia, those sceptical Malaysians will surely crawl out from Batu Cave one by one and que up at Proton Showrooms to book one.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 5:18 pm

LOL Batu Caves…. Not Gua Tempurung? :p

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 14, 2014 at 5:57 pm

If Proton is genuine in capturing market share. They must address their quality issues. The fact that Malaysians are unforgiving in this area should be obvious already. If they have still yet to learn from this, they can look at the local bad reputation of VW and Peugeot on why Malaysians will not tolerate unreliable vehicles.

• Dun worry. Gsc wont sell well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • How can you be so sure? If GSC can sell well in U.K. and Australia it does not means it will sell well here. As Proton is practice to sell better furnish and spec for their export units while left lousy spec for own country man. This is the fact. I believe most of us are not skeptic Malaysian just have bad experience with proton.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:01 am

Saying the Saga is a tin can (or are we talking Iswara here) is funny when we’re talking about the Viva. Compared to that car, the Saga was a tank.

• Mr TruthFact on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:44 pm

I will prefer to buy GSC compared to Axia. More spacious/ big for your family and of coz more stability. Not ‘melayang’ as like when you drove P2 car.Safety is first guys. Maybe that term that P2 translate as energy efficient lor..

From the leak picture that we see it show Proton done so many test drive/ road test for their car. Proton really show their commitment for the safety of the car. So what u prefer for? Safety or Cheap car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Joker on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:47 pm

I personally thinks that the Axia will sell like the Viva yet again considering it’s cheap price tag.
    The Proton GSC meanwhile will be a failure because we have a reference for it already. Look at Kia Picanto, a decent car with full spec and a decent price as well. arguably the best car in it’s segment.. why the low sales volume?? It’s because of the mentality of Malaysians..
    They fail to recognise that even Toyota itself is not a good brand anymore not to mention daihatsu.

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 14, 2014 at 6:06 pm

How about poor after sales and durability? Poor after sales affects long term ownership and durability affects resale. Malaysians are already paying through the nose for any type of car they buy. It is unrealistic to expect them to purchase a car solely on it specs and price.

• Jiranahbeng on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Everybody have their own choice but to bash GSC before it is even launch is not fair la..I think Proton is trying their very hard to give the best product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Potential MyVi killer if price below the MyVi.

• Truth. No car manufacture deserve to get bash before even launch. Be fair to all car manufacture. It not even right to bash those car you people test drive or view it.

• azrai on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Axia variant

1. 1.0 E (G1EX) – Basic – Manual – Rm25k
    2. 1.0 G (G1GX)(G1GZ)- Standard – Manual RM33k, Auto RM35k
    3. 1.0 SE (G1SX)(G1SZ)- Special Edition – Manual RM38k, Auto RM41k
    4. 1.0AV (G1VZ)- Advanced – Auto Only – RM45k

• the tak laku one is 1.0E basic RM25k. the most laku is maybe 1.0G Rm33k-Rm35k ( price for Saga SV ). little car but big price. dont you get it ?

• life is good on Aug 14, 2014 at 4:29 pm

5 people inside a car with 2 airbags and no VSA. Unless they all squeeze in the front seat to share the airbags, they are most likely to suffer serious injuries in the event of accident of skidding. Anyone who cherishes their own loved one should only consider car with full safety features, Kia is the only model with full safety features throughout the range.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 12:04 am

With some patience, Proton GSC.

Also, the Picanto is much more expensive than the Axia… not really a fair comparison. The GSC will also be, depending on the spec of the Axia. I doubt there’s any chance the GSC will be below 40k. And above 25k it doesn’t really make sense to buy an Axia… just get the cheapest one, and add what’s missing and what you actually want yourself. Most features from the G spec aren’t important or cheap to do yourself… the SE is a more significant improvement, but at that price point you’re already able to get a Saga or too close to a Myvi…

• qaseharjuna on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:15 pm

I think p2 is so desperate to show their car first b4 proton..4 month after the first teaser??surely another rebadge product!!!

• So my mitsu dont have lotus handling, does it hurt me. Not a bit.

• I have test driven the Great Wall M4 ( available for manual only) . I have my doubt as well earlier but with the vios engine and the quality put ibto the car, the ride was comfortable. Just like the avanza, it is slow from the start. Tried going over through some portholes and bumps ( common sights in Klang Valley) and it wasn’t bumpy at all ! Agree with the 2nd hand value and other “issues” like after sales and parts replacements but for half the price compared to Suzuki crossover and honda jazz, those issues seem not that big after all. I believe this company is using the same formula like Hyundai and Kia when the Koreans started penetrating the car markets. In my opinion, this car does appeal to ladies because it is higher preventing car snatch thefts, elderly because of less knee bendings, and outdoor creatures like cyclists, fishing trips, because of rear seat ( fold flat) as carriage compartment. The ground clearance also good for avoiding flash floods ( like kembara). You also pay less than half the price compared with Ford Ecosports and Peugeot 2008

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 12:01 am

Mh, sounds good. It certainly is decent value for money then. The GSC is a pretty strong competitor though, as it should be a safer car. Not as nice/expensive looking though.

Do you have to climb into the car (i.e. the floor is rather high) or is it more or less like with normal cars? In the latter case it’s great to get in to for the elderly.

• Agree… Before you people out there start to bash this car. Go try yourself. Bashing not going to bring use anywhere. Be fair review from your heart. I personally like the look and from interior and exterior. One thing i really do not like it the boot and leg room from there rear seat. Other is great. The spare part not sure. Service centre seem like very limited. Their glenmarie service centre seem like bit too small to coop up the number units they sold.

• I am already lost confident to Malaysian car.. why not give a try to China car?

• Proton P2-30A will equip with electronic power steering(1.6 & 1.3 model), 15″ sport Rim(1.6 Model), ESP system(1.3 & 1.6 model), new generation Keyless start & stop engine system(no need to enter car key to start like Preve), NCAP tested(1.3 & 1.6 model), No turbo equip (1.3 & 1.6 model),EBD & ABS(1.3 & 1.6 model), Touch screen multimedia player(1.6 model), Full leather seat(1.6 model), Rever Camera (1.3 & 1.6 model), LED Daylight(1.6 model), CVT 6 speed gearbox

• Pipicomel on Aug 15, 2014 at 1:55 pm

My laptop is lenovo.
    My handphone is xiaomi.
    My next car will be M4.
    China products are so much better nowadays…
    So, why botherrr???

• Middle age driver on Aug 21, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Test drove M4. Feels good driving it. Bought it before local assemble begins because I prefer manual drive over auto. In the brochure, it states that the auto is AMT. If its the automatic manual clutch, then buyers should be mindful of the gearbox / clutch actuator problems. Don’t think they have auto versions for test drive for now.

I go to China often & have sat in China made cars from cities to high up 4500m Tibetan mountains in snow & ice. If the quality of parts is an issue, i would have been long dead. In fact I was very impressed by how the vehicles could handle bumpy & badly build roads without causing fixtures to rattle & break off. Mind you these vehicles are daily workhorses. If you bring our vehicles over to China, you will need to adjust or pump camber alignment every week.

When a buyer talks about quality, there are 2 aspect of it. One is referring to finishing & assembly of fixtures & parts. The other is durability. A vehicle part may be badly finished but that doesn’t mean it is not durable. A well polished fixture doesn’t necessarily mean it is durable either. But buyers then to judge by brand name & finishing looks because durability cannot be so easily established.

If you have spend time attending China motor shows, you can’t help noticing the speed of improvement the China manufacturers have become. Some of the top range cars from these manufacturers can compete with BMW, Merz, VW. I feel bad that Proton is unable to evolve at that speed as it would certainly benefit local motorist. Hopefully, their collaboration with Geely now would help Proton see how China evolve at such fast pace.