GALLERY: New Hyundai Elite i20 for the Indian market

Hyundai i20 India-08

We now have live pics of the new Hyundai i20 that made its world debut earlier this week. In India, a big market for Hyundai, the new B-segment hatchback (VW Polo, Ford Fiesta and Kia Rio are rivals) is badged as the Elite i20, and that’s the car we’re focusing on here.

At 40 mm longer than before at 4,035 mm, the i20 is one of the few superminis to break the four-metre mark. That increase has been incorporated into the wheelbase, now 45 mm longer at 2,570 mm. Hyundai says that legroom and the 320 litre boot are best in class. Indian models get a smaller 285 litre boot, likely because of a full-sized spare tyre.

The Indian market gets two engine choices, a 83 PS/115 Nm 1.2L Kappa petrol and a 90 PS/220 Nm 1.4L U2 turbodiesel. Both are paired with manual gearboxes, five speeds for the petrol and six for the oil burner. An automatic gearbox will be introduced for the petrol engine soon.

Four trim levels – Era, Magna, Sportz, Asta – are available, with prices starting from 4.9 lakhs (RM25,529) for the basic petrol. The range topping Asta Diesel goes for 7.67 lakhs (RM39,986) and includes things like smart key with push start, auto headlamps, auto air con with ioniser, reverse camera, steering controls and Bluetooth, among other kit.

The previous i20 never made it here to replace the Getz, but this one could follow the path of the Volkswagen Polo, which is assembled in Malaysia with KD packs from India. Would you like to see it here?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Pengguna Bijak on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:37 am

In real open liberal market, Sime Darby Hyundai should price this car here at RM50K maximum.

Come on Sime Darby Hyundai, jangan takut sama DRB Proton lah!

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:59 pm

THAI king treat good of their rakyat

Now found,
      India Prime Minister do also good

Low tax cheap car

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:43 am

From myr 25k to 39k for B segment i20

Yes, after tax the price range pair to income.

Obviously, India Thai Indon etc … even have the rakyat didahulukan Govt.

What about Msia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:55 am

INDIA: ASIA Low Cost focused Automotive Hub
      INDON: ASEAN Low Cost focused Automotive Hub
      THAI: ASEAN Automotive Hub

MSIA: ???

• megavalve on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:01 am

MSIA: hantam rakyat Automotive Hub

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:11 am

After 30yrs automotive development,

Not sure could MSIA to MANUFACTURE the Hyundai i20 & EXPORT to INDIA with market priced at 25k myr

Selling price rm25K Hyundai i20 at India (CBU fr Msia) included :-
        + profit margin manufacturer Msia
        + profit margin Hyundai Msia
        + Msia govt tax duty
        + transportation cost
        + India govt tax duty
        + profit margin Hyundai India

Do MSIA a LOW COST MANUFACTURER for AUTOMOTIVE which WORTH to invest for domestic & Export???

• Newbie on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:00 am

This is cool! Hopefully the price wont increase much when it enters Msia!

• Of course lah higher price than Proton GSC or even Suprima. If not Tun Penasihat banyak bising nanti.

• anandllm on Aug 14, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Price ain’t everything. Petrol costs upwards of Rs70 per litre. About 3.5 ringgit or so. Road safety is a daily lottery. What’s the point in uber luxury and luxo accessories when you cannot reasonably drive faster than 40 km on b roads without hitting either a two legged or four legged cow (besides negligible tarring by the way)? Speed humps are called speed breakers for a reason. You’re careless and run thru them,you’d be picking up pieces of your suspension and driveline way behind your car. Spoken from experience…

• veloster on Aug 15, 2014 at 12:45 am

For a getz replacement,could be rm59k max in malaysia

• umnoHaters on Aug 15, 2014 at 9:27 am

This is what u get when u vote for blood-sucking barisan nasional…

This car will easily be sold here at 70k marks…

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 15, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Told ya, Indian market welcomes Hyundai,

For KIA, they die die oso dowan