Perodua Axia open for booking, priced from RM24,900

QC Line

Perodua has announced that bookings will open this Friday for its latest model – the Perodua Axia. You’ll be able to book the Axia at any of Perodua’s 180 sales showrooms nationwide with a booking fee of RM250 to RM300, depending on variant.

UPDATE: Specs and prices for Axia 1.0 E, G, SE and Advance variants have been revealed.

The Perodua Axia will debut in four variant guises – Standard E, Standard G, Special Edition and Advance. The base Standard E model will be priced from RM24,900 – this is for Peninsular Malaysia and with a solid paint exterior. Here’s another big announcement – the Axia will come with a five-year warranty, which is a first for a Perodua.

Another bit of information released today is that the car will have 260 litres of boot space, which Perodua says is shaped to be able to fit four travel bags. The interior, which was previewed by the Perodua Global Model A (GMA) Segment Space concept at last year’s KLIMS13 show, seats five. The KLIMS13 preview also showcased what the dashboard will look like.

We also know the Axia will use a new 1KR three-cylinder engine, which is based on Daihatsu’s 1KR-DE used in the Ayla in Indonesia. The 1.0 litre all-aluminium 12-valve DOHC engine will produce 65 PS at 5,000 rpm and 87 Nm of torque at 3,600 rpm. It weighs just 69 kg, which is 10 kg lighter than the Viva’s cast iron 1.0 litre engine.

perodua-engine-details

Now you might be wondering about the inspiration behind the name Axia and how to pronounce it. Perodua says it’s pronounced ‘a-zee-a’, and it’s a play on the word Asia. This means Perodua intends for the name to be pronounced ‘A-xia’ rather than ‘Ax-ia’. The letter ‘X’ in the name is meant to represent the number ten, as the Axia is Perodua’s 10th model.

“We believe that the Perodua Axia is competitive in the region, which is why the word ‘Asia’ was incorporated into the name. This vehicle represents a whole new standard for us – environmentally friendly, very spacious for a compact vehicle, easy driving and economical in terms of the overall cost of ownership,” Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid said.

1614242_834008713284680_4968179013383297_o-3

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ken T. on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:05 am

A-zee-a is spelled as Azia. Axia should be pronounced as Ack-see-yah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 41
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:09 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 108 Thumb down 240
      • ahjibhai on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:27 am

Then Mercedes…comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
        • Bye bye Proton Iriz. Go to USA China big market if local rakyat no longer support you lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
          • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:29 pm

69 for the Axia vs 163 for the GSC at this moment. Bye bye Proton, right…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
          • Thumbs down if you like GSC lah,,, not thumbs down to GSC….
            Haiyooooo….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • DynastyLim (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:40 pm

PROTON no need to go China la..U la go back to China dumbhead! Stupid RBA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 14, 2014 at 5:15 pm

No need thumb up thumb down go back China, go back Japan.

Sales figure tells the truth.

Soon, you will witness the ultimate 5S Proton lifestyle: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:10 pm

I have always said this about Proton but let me say this about Perodua, especially this Axia. This car is for low class poor Malaysians who have no money.

These people have no money not because they have no oppurtunity, they have no money because they are lazy. Malas. Don’t want to work hard. They find the easy way out in life.

If you work hard in life, you will be like me, able to buy a Toyota. I am able to do so because I work hard and don’t blame the government for all the wrongs in my life.

I advice the poor people in Malaysia, especially those wanting handouts from the government, work hard and you will stop being poor and you can own a better car than this trash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 39
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Proton and Perodua are low class cars. Why do we aim to buy a low class car that is made in Malaysia when we can buy a good Toyota from Japan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
      • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:33 am

The GSC is competing against the Myvi, not the Axia. There’s no way it will be priced at 25k…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 7
        • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:15 am

For mid income msian under developing country status, the vehicles should priced below to pair with income.

While HP policy should revised to MAX 7yrs loan.

A segment: 20-45
          B segment: 40-70
          C segment: 60-90
          D segment: 80-110
          Luxury segment: 80k onwards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
          • fast5 on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:38 am

Good pricing.
            But booking without knowing the spec that been offering? Is not a good idea.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 4
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:35 am

Boot size comparison:

AXIA 260 L
            MYVI 225 L
            VIVA 149 L

Really impressed the achievement in space utilization.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
          • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:31 pm

You left cheap cars where they are now, but lowered the price for luxury cars. Why? Luxury is, well, a luxury. It is not required. Luxury items may be taxed higher, to support normal people.

• Gargantia on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:00 am

As a Malaysian we more prefer to the Price and fuel-efficient then segment And maybe interior space.
          More power 1.3 and 1.6, if still Campro engine RIP or if new dvvt/VVT engine thats different story.

GSC is in deep trouble if don’t research the market pricing.
          Tun love push-up price, Rakyat will comment not on new GSC but his pride and greed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
          • ProtonGSC on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:13 am

Maybe true, But comfirm GSC can smoke this car.
            Price is important, but performance and power and Lotus handling far more important then money.
            GSC RM60k++ with Lotus handling(sportcar) where to find?
            Axia love the price, but not the spec and performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 66
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:07 am

Having Lotus handling doesn’t make it a sports car. Lotus can tune it for more sedate driving also, what. But it’s a given that anything tuned by Lotus would be dynamically competent and stable. Calling it a sports car, however, is too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
          • _xXx_ on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:26 am

bye2 vvt…

• Same L0rrr on Aug 14, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Lotus handling, powerful engine (i doubt) bla bla… You still stuck in traffic jam and traffic light.

End up burning more fuel, car also already expensive, no money left in pocket but just your Sendiri Syok feeling. What is the point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • theanswer on Aug 18, 2014 at 5:16 pm

not saying lotus handling is not important..but having that for a city car (if compete with myvi)..who cares? city car should be fuel saving, cheap and reliable enough..plus good safety spec.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:04 am

Not a fair comparison…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:05 am

GSC is competing against Myvi not Axia. Look at the engine. It’s below par than 1.3 or 1.6..If customer looking for comfort, power and better handling, they must opt for Proton GSC..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 17
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 14, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Cui Sui Beng again here he is.

Proton has Lotus tuned handling. Yes she does. But since when Proton quality is linked to comfort and power?

Are you looking at our Toyota and day dreaming it is Proton AGAIN?

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:21 am

Petrolhead, people thumb down for your comment. GSC is not A-segment car there’s no way price achieve that kind of cheap..GSC will have its own enthusiast fan who loves comfort, handling and power..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 60
        • Nissan on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:24 am

Haven’t launch already talk about better comfort, handling, bla bla bla… Small car should come with good fuel efficiency engine, does Proton has one?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 14
        • Enthusiast fan? Blind fools loser like you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
          • DynastyLim (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Petrolhead comment:

hahahahahaha..what a brainless PROTON basher!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Gasper on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Do these enthusiast fan also love opening their door to pay toll cos power window rosak and kereta mati tepi jalan?

Good luck to them if so

• kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:35 am

more people like P1 PCC(thumbs down)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:02 pm

Msia is xxx auto hub,

Lets export to INDIA INDON THAI etc…
        GSC do the same export to INDIA THAI INDON etc…

• Sandylion Nesbite on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Actually, i am kind of scared of Perodua’s safety features.. that cheap.. i’m sure they scrapped some safety features.. and i’m sure it is feather light.. Dangerous.. especially with our road condition and drivers

• ahjibhai on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:28 am

u better go back school. really ridiculous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:04 am

No…the above is right. There’s nothing ridiculous about what he said. You don’t put an X in the pronunciation and expect people to pronounce it as a Z.

Many will pronounce it as Ak-sia (Ack-see-yah is a legitimate pronunciation breakdown to make it easier for people to read. Would you have preferred phonetics?) rather than their desired a-zee-a because that’s what how X is usually pronounced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • Jason (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:26 am

Only Chinese will pronouce it as ‘Ack-see-yah’.
          That’s common.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 54
          • qwerty on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:10 am

Chinese only?

Fine, tell us how you pronounce it then.

Racist~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
          • Chris (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:12 am

Disagree with statement.

Anyone that speaks proper English and/or watches Gundam will pronounce it “Ack-see-yah”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:57 am

You must not know proper English then.

Of course you don’t pronounce ack-see-yah slowly and split up the syllables. Pronounce it fluidly and you’ll nail it. kzm posted the proper pronunciation below.

• ahjibhai on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:45 am

Your funny.

• Jason (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Hi Chris, just because you watch Gundam doesn’t mean it’s true English. Then let me hear you pronounce ‘Xena’. It’s ‘see-na’ eh? And since you love fiction so much, pronounce Xavier for me too?

• Chris (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Hi Jason, good point on Xena and Xavier, but you misunderstand me on Gundam *is* English. I merely refers to Gundam Exia.

To back my own word, I must point out your example starts with an “x”, not a vowel followed by an “x”.

Some sample: Axis, Axillary, Axle, Oxygen

But to proof your point: Exact, Example.

I still have to disagree that only Chinese would pronounce it a certain way. But would you agree that the complexity of the English language gave it some room for guessing?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:39 am

i use google translate to hear how axia is sound..click the speaker button
          https://translate.google.com/#en/en/axia

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:58 am

That’s what I’m talking about. Thanks for the posting.

• Jason (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Now hear this.
            https://translate.google.com/#zh-CN/en/axia

Xia as see-ya.
            English is not ‘see-ya’. It’s with zz sound.

• It doesn't matter on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:56 am

You’re both wrong.

How u pronounce Axial? Take away the L…

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:12 am

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/axial

axial
            [ak-see-uh l]

You can minus the l yourself.

We are quite close.

• Pak Cik on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:05 am

Kereta cantik, tak sabar nak beli ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 34
  • sumasuma on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:06 am

Swag a.k.a Semi value booked one. He cannot afford Merseles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:07 am

Wah! Gud bargain…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
  • Can it smoke GTI?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 34
    • brown kid on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:34 am

sure can… why cannot.
      parked GTI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
      • lelepazo on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:54 am

Dont forget ahbeng 9jj 0 offset hella flush mod ffirst with daihatsu sticker produce more horsepower than any human build speed machine..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Boy Racer (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 7:51 am

Of course.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:28 am

Of course no. Look at the engine! No power compare to GSC. With pricing as low as RM 24,900, can you imagine what kind of ride&handling and safety that Perodua can offer? GSC had passed Asean ANCAP with rated 5 star..This car designed to provide comfortableness to customer, best handling and high safety standard to user. Ah Beng opt for GSC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 16
      • Low Budget on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:28 am

How ever most rural families and some Ah Soh and Makcik who ferry their kids to schools will buy Axia. Cheap and Good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • powershot (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:32 am

definitely the standard 2 airbags, abs & ebd.
        no esp

• kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:43 am

since when GSC go through ANCAP test?

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:59 am

Exactly. Not 5-star until proven.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:34 pm

I think it is safe to assume though that it will be miles ahead of the Axia or Myvi.

• want_diy on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:47 pm

ko ni mesti kerja proton kan???!!!…hahahaha

• ermm,no dvvt?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • Toyota KR on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:59 pm

I think Axia will be powered by KR-DE(without VVT) engine instead of KR-FE(with VVT) which is currently made in Japan and Poland.

If that case, Malaysia is the second country to start producing KR-DE engines after the Indonesian Daihatsu Ayla.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_KR_engine

http://www.otosia.com/berita/7-keunggulan-mesin-agya-ayla.html

• daniellys on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:10 am

Well done! Now let’s hope safety features are well equipped.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:34 am

What would be considered well equipped? To be fair, for 25k you can’t expect much. 2 airbags and ABS would be nice already, stability control even nicer, but I doubt even the highest spec will have that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 6:34 am

Daihatsu ayla cheapest variant RM21k~ have no airbag at all let alone abs+ba+ebd combo..aircond oso don hav, radio+speaker oso lacking, no backseat belt n isofix

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:30 am

That is acceptable at that price, better than Kap-Chai mah.

• Jason (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:28 am

You wouldn’t wear a seatbelt anyway. Why bother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Andrew Bong on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:11 am

So P2 is collecting bookings for a car without a spec sheet and not even pictures of the actual product? Pretty lousy sales tactic if you ask me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
    • ulkamikup on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:28 am

Toyota also like that…and people ended up like histeria place a booking for 10 years old engine of vios. Hahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:35 am

It’s a Perodua/Toyota, people will book blindly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
      • leoRNado on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:10 am

Andrew, I think u r new in this line. P2 have done the same thing to all its model. Open for booking before launching. Why you r so weird about it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 7:42 am

Another P1 butthurt talking kok..

P1 making lost 1 billion dy.. still want talk kork.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:01 am

No one mentioned P1 in the posts you replied to. Why must P1 always be mentioned?

• If Proton, people will not book it all. Smart move indeed.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:33 am

Andrew Bong, I admit it’s lousy but a bit filthy to avoid customer from buying GSC. P2 r desperate they know that if customer look at the feature provide by GSC no one will buy the Axia. In my opinion, low-end price RM 24,900 will comes with no airbag, no abs+ba+ebd and NO ANCAP! What do you expect? Only suites for student or for wives to go grocery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • Bodoh nye on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:14 am

Perodua is not that desperate my fried. Because Proton are way down below P2 in terms of market share. Proton everyday asking government to fund them and not making money but losses million everyday instead. Where does all this money coming from? OUR MONEY.! P1 stop chasing and keep on dreaming to beat Perodua. Myvi has been top no 1 selling since 2005 until now. Saga SV cant even beat that eventho that is your best selling car after all but super worst FC . Ah beng oh ah beng. Reality remains reality. Persona Executive? Persona SV ? this two machine is cheaper than Alza, but why is Alza standing ahead this two machine until now? ask your RnD and Product Planning to think!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
        • Pororo on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:50 am

Alahai.. Bodohnye komen Bodohnye.. Kalau nak compare apple with apple, bukan with durian… Kau nak compare alza ngn persona, compare laa alza ngn exora… At least proton have R&D and not only know copy paste like perodua.. pakai perodua, dah berlagak mcm pakai kereta JDM, berlagak passo, passo sette, mira… Sedarlah perodua tu semua tin milo. Kau ketuk body exora and alza, mana yg lg bergema dan kosong bunyinya…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
          • Project 2 P1 on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:07 am

For me Proton have the best and the worst. same goes to Perodua.

in terms of quality , proton teruk
            tapi in terms of safey proton menang.

Kalau perodua interms of quality bagus,in terms of safety perodua tak sehebat proton.

tapi kenapa Exora tak beat sales alza ye ?

• Michael lim on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Sorry la brother I owe a waja and a exora and the quality is that bad until I cannot explained it lo….. My exora got problem since the day I bought it until now 4years and a half . I even send it to service at hicom service centre , 3 bulan to rectific the problem but until now still sama saja….. If don’t believe can come test this stupid car…..
            Very regret to buy proton…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
          • Totally agree with Project 2 P1.

They have nailed the safety part which is fantastic.
            3 main things Proton need to work on with their new GSC.
            1. Improve quality of their parts and finishing
            2. Improve on their horrible fuel consumption
            3. Improve their after sales service quality and staff. No more “biasala bang, proton ma comments”

• Hmmmm on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:12 am

Sounds good, looking also decent, now waiting for the review…

• BLUR SOTONG on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:14 am

PERODUA AXIA debut day , will be Proton DOOMSDAY for their next Very Very secretive Global small car =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 44
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:36 am

It will be doomsday for poor owners having any crash in it, unlike the GSC.

They aren’t even playing the same game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
      • leoRNado on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:08 am

Dont talk about crash. To have reliable car also very hard with Proton.. what alternative do we have?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Statistically seen everyone will have a car crash in their lifetime. The question will be if you’re in a car that will protect you well enough, or not, at the time that happens. (Western) Europeans usually are in a car that is safe enough, and the number of fatalities on European roads show that very clearly.

It is good to be prepared for everything that can happen. Why do people get insurance? Like health insurance, life insurance, fire insurance, …? So that when something happens, they will be ok. It’s the same with cars, people just don’t realize it. A safe car is a life insurance.

And to those who say but people drive faster/less careful in a safe car… that may be true, but then it’s their own stupidity again. Just because you have health insurance you don’t go around and do dangerous, unhealthy things.

Not talking about crashes, not being prepared, is the worst thing you can do.

• leoRNado on Aug 15, 2014 at 1:47 am

So kadajawi, could you pls advise me. Now I have Proton and Perodua cars. As u said Proton with 7 star safety, 18 star NCAP bla.. bla.. but give me headache with its reliability. Buy few mths already masuk bengkel due to compressor prblm. After a week, central lock jammed. Among all, The worst was engine off at trafic lights..

Then I have 1 Perodua car, Kelisa to be precise. No airbag, No ABS, No EBD but it can drive me home, to office and I can drive comfortably. Fuel wise, full tank can alst 1.5 week.

Again, What alternative do I have?

• Lorat on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:16 am

Didn’t Axiata called dibs for being asia?

• kvsual on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:22 am

Omg so cheap! Don’t even need a loan to own this car. Great~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • I found this link , quite interesting but not sure if the content is true, about perodua axia

• protonsucks on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:36 am

HAHAH PROTON GO DIE!! NO NEED TAKE RAYKAT MONEY FOR R & D, PERODUA ALSO CAN COME OUT NEW MODEL LIAO. YOUR SPYSHOT GSC STILL WANT TO SPY UNTIL 3 MORE YEARS ONLY LAUNCH KA ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 72
    • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:38 am

Perodua don’t need R&D. They go to Daihatsu, look for a very cheap to produce model, strip it of safety features, change looks slightly and call it a new car. No one outside of Asia or maybe Africa would be willing to drive such a car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 12
      • leoRNado on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:06 am

kadajawi, the car for domestic sales. What r you talking about africa bla.. bla.. Do African drive Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 27
      • Lets talk do the walk on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:55 am

Eh sohai, Perodua did study for Daihatsu do you know that ? even before they produce it in Japan? planning done years before its gonna be launch here in Malaysia

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:55 pm

The Axia won’t ever be sold in Japan. Heck, even the Vios isn’t being sold anywhere outside of ASEAN countries anymore. They stopped sales in Australia and US with the new generation. Not good enough, a car like that can’t be sold overseas. The Avanza is driving in Africa, ASEAN countries and India. Outside of that, where demanding customers live… nothing. Jeremy Clarkson recently reviewed the Avanza. He didn’t like it at all.

• Paul Tan on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:04 pm

The Japanese equivalent of this car is the Daihatsu Mira e:S

• leoRNado on Aug 15, 2014 at 1:25 am

Now u talking Mr Paul Tan..

• protonsucks on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:27 am

so u pay RM 3.1 Bil for the R & D lo, since u want new genuine design

• haniff on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:37 am

lai..lai…2nd viva is only RM10k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • “From”

Meaning its the base price. Previous perodua Viva base price is also around RM24,000.

Unless the Axia can provide the 1.0cc engine on the base price model,it’s still the same price as before according to its engine and spec. Nothing to be impressed of regarding the price.

Tak perlu nak terkejut sangat. Sama je.

Yang kelakarnya ada juga warga negara Malaysia yang bebal pergi banding Iriz dengan Axia.

“Habislah Axia murah gila,GSC kena letak lagi murah dari RM24k.”

Stupiak. Itu base price untuk Axia. Base price GSC maybe cecah RM30k. Lagi rendah dari base price Myvi. Kesian orang Malaysia tak pandai compare base on same segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 14
    • ulkamikup on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:33 am

GSC will get a same fate like savvy. Trust me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 58
      • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:40 am

If that happens, Malaysians truly deserve the ridiculously bad fatality rates on Malaysian roads. No use stopping suicidal people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
        • Wishing other people die on road accident?

You go out alive when accident in your Proton first then talk cork here ok.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Not wishing. But it’s going to happen. Unsafe cars lead to death, no matter if the accident was caused by the driver of the unsafe car or not. If you run over a pedestrian, he’s the first to die. Regardless if he has caused it or not.

And if people continue to prefer unsafe cars over safe ones, then that’s their own fault. If they chose not to wear seatbelts, it’s their own fault.

• u boleh tanya dengan wanita yg selamat dari kemalangan yg maut aritu sebab preve dia 5 star

• leoRNado on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:13 am

GSC, read more. Their base model come with 1.0cc. No such 660 or 850 engine for this new model. I think you yg perlu terkejut..

• Ye lah Encik Leo,kan saya sudah state situ;

“UNLESS the Axia can provide the 1.0cc engine on the base price model”.

Barulah boleh terkejut.

But then you tengoklah some dumb stupiak Malaysians,they expect Proton Iriz to be price below RM25k for the sake of competing with Axia. Axia is an underpowered 1.0cc car. Iriz is a rumored 1.3cc and 1.6cc car. You tengok orang gila mana nak price kereta 1.3cc below RM25k. Macam saya cakap,base price myvi 1.3cc pun above RM40k.

Malaysians memang ‘genius’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Ye lah Encik Leo,kan saya sudah state situ;

“UNLESS the Axia can provide the 1.0cc engine on the base price model”.

Barulah boleh terkejut.

But then you tengoklah some dumb stupiak Malaysians,they expect Proton Iriz to be price below RM25k for the sake of competing with Axia. Axia is an underpowered 1.0cc car. Iriz is a rumored 1.3cc and 1.6cc car. You tengok orang gila mana nak price kereta 1.3cc below RM25k. Macam saya cakap,base price myvi 1.3cc pun above RM40k.

Malaysians memang ‘genius’

• want_diy on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:51 pm

GSC tak launch lagi la bai…macam mane orang Malaysia yang x amik tau pasal kete nak tau…ceitt!

• leoRNado on Aug 15, 2014 at 1:27 am

I heard they delay the GSC launching again for the 17th time..

• Hukaka on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:49 am

First,yeah.
    Congrat peroduo,next myvi legendary sales figure coming soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • ahjibhai on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:08 am

RIP PROTON GSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 35
  • what is the engine for the “Standard E” variant?
    also using the 1KR-FE or still not known yet?

• also i would like to highlight that from the perodua 1KR engine spec sheet – the unit does not come with variable valve timing
      so it should be 1KR-DE instead of 1KR-FE

• bashhh on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:05 am

From Wikipedia:
        “The 1KR-DE is the non VVT-i variant of the 1KR engine. It produces less power and torque than 1KR-FE.”

• ahjibhai on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:24 am

New perodua out soon already. MEANWHILE AT PROTON HQ, WORKER ALL STILL TIDUR, MINUM KOPI DAN “BER-WANKING”. DAMN SAD LA. HAIZZZ

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 31
    • Low Budget on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:47 am

May be, Proton are still un-decided to fit GSC with Campro or Honda engines, that is why the delay?

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:08 pm

I doubt it. At this point the car must be pretty much finalized if it is to be launched any time soon. Probably just ironing out bugs here and there and waiting for the PM to be available for a speech… such a busy man!

• mim (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:44 am

I believe such prices are due to EEV incentives. Thus making it sound like a really really good deal. However I hope that the car will have a decent safety specs across the range (to which I also doubt, given Perodua’s previous practices)

There is no doubt this car will outsell Proton’s GSC/PCC. A-segment vs B-segment, can’t compare la. General young Msians will always choose a reliable small cheap citycar over a techy premium(ish) Fiesta/Jazz rival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • powershot (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:44 am

i believe the rival for perodua axia is the kia picanto

• It seems like perodua crossed the finish line ahead!

• Low Budget on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:50 am

They are always ahead of P1 and will still be ahead in the next few years.

• roxas on Aug 14, 2014 at 4:40 am

might be nice, but perodua.. hahaha sudah lah, hit abit only thn the bumper come out dy

• Nor Aini Abdullah on Aug 14, 2014 at 6:20 am

Please save my number to be in touch of any info u requires for Perodua any model. Aini 0178859247. We too provide hassle free trade in facilities and insurance renewal services for your vehicle. From Perodua PJ Branch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 40
  • azhar on Aug 14, 2014 at 7:13 am

Good starting price from p2

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 7:35 am

24K.. FC 20/L?.. go to hel GSC… tapau P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
    • Low Budget on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:54 am

Not sure whether to believe in the F.C. figure from the manufacture or not, anyway it will still be better than P1 cars.

• Haha.. ppl launch car already, proton masih spyshot. When is the next spyshot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Proton Yard Worker on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:20 am

Tapping up the GSC takes a lot of time. That why Proton cannot launch this model yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Yea… they can continue with their spy shots and reveal sikit and sikit and sikit. These ppl are still living in the last decade. Even the same method was used in the last decade on Savvy failed miserably.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Gary Lee on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:04 am

R&D take a lot of time and money. Pdua don’t buit a car, they just ask dia tawkey (Daihatsu) for a new model and then tukar nama…

• Low Budget on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:56 am

Not true, they changed the bumper and front grills, they also substitute some original parts with local ones.

• sotong69 on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:38 pm

You think those alternative designs are Perodua’s own? It’s all part of the original R&D that was not considered for the final model for Japan or other markets. There will be various alternative designs for finishing, bumper, grill, etc.. during the design stage.. just pick an alternative for different market only.

• lelepazo on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:49 am

I read everything and I scroll down until suddenly I saw Volkswagen Golf GTI ads I clicked and now its booked now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • Gary Lee on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:55 am

only 24K, sure its serve you as 3rd world country car, toyota and daihatsu throw rubbish for malaysian and brand it as perodua.but malaysian is very happy here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • kialai on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:44 am

Agree, this axia should be sell in Vietnam or cambodia…If axia were sell in thai or indo market, I think nobody will buy it.

• Just some facts to highlight about your comment.
        The Indo version of Axia is the Daihatsu Ayla and sells over 4500 units monthly since its launch in September 2013 and is the 4th best selling car in Nov and Dec 2013.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Cause Indonesia is a first world country with high standards and demanding customers, right?

• Gargantia on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:05 am

You should thanks Tun DrM implanting AP system and excise duty in m’sia.

If not RAKYAT are driving at least c-segment and d-segment (whatever brand) in city and even kampung.

RAKYAT is the victim.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Henry on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:02 am

The cheapest version must be pretty bare-bones. You will be drown by road noise while driving it. Is this what car buyers deserve?

• what you expect from 25K car?
      Care to elaborate more…

• fadale on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:48 am

TT… you should complete your comment with “what you expect from 25K car in Malaysia?” hahaha…

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:14 pm

For 25k that’s acceptable. But knowing P2 they’ll be offering the car for 40k too… while still being every bit as rubbish.

• Samurai G on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:59 am

Ya..for 24k? i believe u will get a noise engine, no airbag, no aircond? agree with Henry and Kialai..no one will buy it if P2 sell at indo and especially in Thai mkt.

• azrai on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:30 am

By looking ta the price tag, Viva will surely EOL. Do, only 1l displacement available then? No more 850 and 660?

• Low Budget on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:59 am

Viva 1.0 is completely phase out already. No more in production.

• common sensor on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:44 am

I don’t understand why Perodua is regards as national car despite it being re-badge models and operation control by invisible hands from Japan ..

• leoRNado on Aug 15, 2014 at 1:55 am

I think it was decided by Dr M that time where he agreed to let Daihatsu to earn 51% shares in Perodua Manufacturing. Now, he made a U turn by telling Perodua is the biggest competitor to Proton..

• fadale on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:46 am

cheapest one at price tag RM24,900 (E Spec) and most expensive one at RM45,400 (Advance spec).. can u see the price margin?.. so what u expect for RM24,900 model? hahaha

• Josh Ling on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:48 am

Finally Axia. Then why tried to be so secretive few months back? anyway good name, and hopefully good look too.

• Mr TruthFact on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:48 am

For those who don’t care about their safety then they will buy P2 Axia. With a RM24k i doubt what P2 put inside the car. With the current raw material price? Airbag? No at all i guess….

I still believed with Proton. Really hope GSC is much-much better than Axia. Please do not tolerate with Safety!!!!

• i love u(p2), cause u still care and thinking about me(low low income people), cause u offer this ‘AXIA’ at RM24,900.00 start(pls equip with abs & airbag), if i can afford to buy a comfortableness, best handling and high safety standard car, sure i won’t choose u, i choose Volvo, but i can’t afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Elchino on Aug 14, 2014 at 9:49 am

My son goes to college in his motor bike and we worry every time he goes out. For $20,000 for a car no matter how basic, I will worry less if he drives this car to college

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
  • Jebonr on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:23 am

Booking blindly is one big risk taken. After all, experience also shows that within few months of launching. Normally Malaysian car manufacturer will re-introduce that same car with better specifications and price choices. And I know I am right.

• Peaceaim on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:27 am

1.0 Axia vs 1.0 Fiesta… that’s how the HP is all about. 65 PS 125 PS, 21 km/l vs 19 km/l, RM25K vs RM94K. Its all about cheap plus impressive fuel efficiency. What’s changed… no more DVVT.

• SamKL on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:44 am

ada wang angkat kereta besar, kurang wang angkat kereta kecil sahaja. Ukur dibadan sendiri; only you know better your position.

Nak comment pun be mindful jgn emosional – put yourself in the shoe if you were one of the designer / engineer to those car…

• Mishima on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:49 am

69kg weight?

Seriosly?

• I think, i would rather wait for a few months after the release and wait for Paul tan and his team to review this model. Just to be sure.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:02 am

In Malaysia, Worker earns RM 2500, uses Rm24900 to buy 1.0 Perodua Axia
    in USA, Worker earns USD2500, uses USD24900 to Buy Mercedes CLA basic model.
    Can you all see the difference??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Proton Preve harga RM90K at Jakarta Indonesia. Giler ke aper.

• Economy of scale there and currency exchange rates do matter here. If you want to compare, compare it with other developing countries

• Jason (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:59 pm

True. That’s sad.

• You hit the nail on the head bro. THATS what Malaysians want. The problem is, most commentors here are so ingrained with the 20k low end car/100k+ for mid range saloon, that they cannot is hard for them to imagine getting a decent car for low price. Sad really.

• azhar on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:27 am

aiyaa..25k pun mau komplen..kalo tak puas hati amik full spec laa..org dah kasi pilihan bukan tak kasi..dulu kancil 660cc mula2 keluar pun 20k+..ini enjin 1000cc pun tak puas hati lagi..nak harga 15k ka?..buat keta sendiri la

• I am sorry but our roads are full of cars. And with this price tag, I wonder how many more of this junk will throw on our road. Perodua has been making fine car like the Myvi and they should aim at making a good quality car rather than a sponge in a milo tin.
    What kind of feature can be packed in at this price?? Aiyo..

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:17 pm

I think it will be mostly old cars that will be taken from the road in turn… old Iswaras etc. being replaced. More cars would need more drivers…

Also, the Viva was offered for this price too… nothing new.

• ah seng klang on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:04 pm

then if add gst how much is the final price

• compact car on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:06 pm

in my opinion, i think the one most important thing for compact car is that its fuel economy. is it efficiency or not as the fuel in our country is not that really low in price right now if know what i mean. the GSC is competing against Myvi. if GSC have six airbag + lotus handling + ESC + other safety feature and the fuel economy is high n effience, then it is not possible for GSC to take down Myvi. the remaining factor is the price and of course the quality that Tun M talk to improve but we must pay more. so we’ll see that when the GSC launch. :)

• mim (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Looks like my nightmare came true. The cheapest variant with a decent safety specs (2 airbags, ABS+EBD) is the SE variant.

1.0 SE manual, RM37k. Gotta spend extra RM13k for more safety. Come on, make it standard across the range! What a ripoff!

• If Proton GSC tak laku later, then offer SV models much cheaper pandai pulak you tak komplen earlier GSC buyers kena rip-off.

• where’s the variable valve timing?

• student on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:12 pm

basic auto is 35k. i thought it would be 30k-32k. sigh :(

• want_diy on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Boot size comparison:

AXIA 260 L
    MYVI 225 L
    VIVA 149 L

Really impressed the achievement in space utilization.

with RM24,900 price, definitly i’ll buy this car!!!…

• I think 25k is for basic version which no radio, no accessories, no powersteering etc. same with viva basic. However perodua just show the back view of the car for now. In my opinion, not a gud move to place order/ booking. Better wait full official spec comes out first. Proton GSC will compete with myvi, so think better not compare with this Axia.

• more and more cheap cars appear..more and more copy license appear..more and more crazy drivers appear..as the cars are cheap,they simply drive,accident oso, so what..

• I want KIA Picanto, but maybe cant afford to buy above 55k, so considering axia. still doubt if axia better than viva @ myvi?

• who is sam? harry the greatest! on Aug 14, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Aiyo! This and gsc all kereta buruk la. Some more want to sell between 25k and above ar? Macam msians are beggars la.

• sama saja on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Komen pasal kereta semua isu keluar..semua orang malaysia..aku pandang kereta kau..kau pandang kereta aku..kecil,besar..jadi apa bezanya…semuanya ikut kemampuan..aku percaya majoriti di sini semua pakai kereta 140k ke bawah je..minoriti yang pakai lebih pada 150k ke atas mungkin gelak je baca komen korang..

• shinbun on Aug 15, 2014 at 7:59 am

this type of car..piece of crap!..
    low cost vehicle.. cost down product.
    can contribute many2 people die on road soon..

• Who want to buy cheap car then go for P2 Axia, who need advance technology, confort, higher engine capacity then go for Proton GSC nothing to argue and there is nothing to compare between P2 Axia and Proton GSC due to both is difference class is not fair to compare

• The Axia head just revealed half at Perodua official webpage now. Take a look

• peyno on Aug 16, 2014 at 3:50 pm

the alreday produced in indonesia sudah lama… lagi mau reveal skit2 ke??? ingat malaysian org kamoung tak tau dunia luar ka

• juprian ukil on Sep 24, 2014 at 9:23 am

mahu memiliki sebuah kereta perodua axia.saya amat suka

• Leekokhwa on Jun 11, 2019 at 11:34 am

Axia G spec