VW Beetle 1.2 TSI gets new trim levels – from RM133k

volkswagen-beetle-12-tsi-review-7

A peek through Volkswagen Malaysia’s website revealed new trim levels for the Volkswagen Beetle 1.2 TSI, the retro-styled hatch now coming in both Design and Sport guise. The biggest news is that the price of the base Design model has dropped by a full RM10k to RM132,593, while the Sport comes in at RM143,593. Both prices are on-the-road without insurance.

What do you lose with the drop in price? Well, the Design trim no longer gets dual-zone automatic air conditioning, cruise control, paddle shifters, heated front sport seats (flatter comfort items instead), lumbar support or Vienna leather upholstery (now fabric). Also dropped is the RCD 510 touchscreen audio player; in its place sits the regular RCD 310 unit from the CBU Polo 1.2 TSI.

These toys are all reserved for the Sport model, which in addition also gets the 2.0 TSI‘s bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights (strangely, however, the much more expensive 1.4 TSI model soldiers on with regular halogen units).

As before the new Beetles are available in Pure White, Tornado Red, Saturn Yellow, Toffee Brown and Deep Black. Design models in Saturn Yellow get Titanium Black fabric upholstery; the rest come standard with Titanium Black-Red trim. Both cars come with Volkswagen’s five-year unlimited-mileage warranty with a five-year mobility guarantee.

The Bug recently appeared in Episode 2 of Driven Web Series, where it tried to win over guest host Megan Tan by pushing aside the new MINI Cooper and Citroen DS3. See who won the contest here.

2013 Volkswagen Beetle 1.2 TSI

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• I want it but everybody talk about DSG problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 3:21 pm

At US just cost:-

Beetle USD 20,000
      Golf USD 18,000

Purchased by cash, who CARES ABOUT DSG prb?

Only those poorer at msia engaged 9yrs loan care about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 33
      • You are blurr like sotong. We are talking about VW in MALAYSIA. Nak nyampuk tapi bodoh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • BLUR SOTONG on Aug 15, 2014 at 12:31 am

Talking about the Bug , this car no longer for Ladies OnLy lo. Saw many guys driving it now , cool factor or their girlfriends like it ???

• Justin on Aug 15, 2014 at 11:30 am

DSG? Non issue. Driving a Jetta for about 8 months now and DSG never once gave me a problem. Hope it helps you! Most people talk only lah but they never even drive a VW with DSG before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
      • 8 months no problem.
        15-18 months starts
        Clutch first then mechatronics. Guarantee!!
        I have my clutch change after 15months and mechatronics 30months and now 3.5yrs my clutch is juttering again. Like it’s made that way.
        Btw, I drive a Golf tsi

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 12:30 pm

good luck with ur dsg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • brazbuz on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Bargain spec,with not so bargain price,it should be price below 120k. But the sport line is quiet nice though with HID light fitted as standard now

• zeek (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Cars like this (Beetle, Mini & fiat 500) are icons. They are more for show than practicality or performance. In terms of price to performance and spec the mini wins hands down while the fist is the most expensive. But if you really want a hatch with a good blend of spec, performance and practicality look else where (focus, golf etc.)

• megavalve on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Beetle used to be cheap kereta rakyat but now become kereta anak kroni pegi kolej lepak setarbuck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 7
    • hipster on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:57 pm

Way to stereotype!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Silver on Aug 14, 2014 at 4:43 pm

you don’t have to be a crony to buy your daughter a bettle. You could earn your money the legit way … pls dont assume everyone who is rich in malaysia is a crony. they are alot of people that earn money the honest way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:36 pm

I see thm everywer bt most are da 1.2…

• cendol (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Here come Volkswagen Beetle K spec. K stands for Kosong.

• seancorr on Aug 14, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Wow the Design spec is crap! They omit so many features and only cut the price by RM10k? It should have been priced at least RM15k lesser.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Damn still overpriced after strip off. 130k for this bug? Common VWM….. yours is not luxury brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Mason on Aug 15, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Beetle is an iconic car man. Cars like this don’t come everyday and certainly won’t come cheap. But definitely value for it’s money. Classy

• Henry on Aug 14, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Put in a manual gearbox, reduce the price by another 5k and I’ll buy one. Your DSG7 is a nightmare.

• samlok on Aug 14, 2014 at 5:01 pm

is this ckd?

• VW fan on Aug 14, 2014 at 6:06 pm

There is no problem with the DSG 7 speed dry clutch, it is meant for weekend drive, during the night drive, with no traffic jam …. then it will be a breeze. LOL

Why not put it the Polo Sedan 1.6 NA engine 6 speed …. and price will drop another 15k -20k, I will certainly buy one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Amazing. A paltry RM10k drop in price and you lose so many extras. The combined value of losing things like leather, sports seats, paddles, touchscreen, dual aircon etc far exceeds RM10k. The previous model was a bargain in comparison.

• John Mayer on Aug 14, 2014 at 8:59 pm

I don’t understand why car dealers in Malaysia hardly bring in The Manual choice.

If u look at markets like the US and Europe, most models are offered in manual.

The saying goes, a true driver choice would be a manual and nothing else.

• forest the tree on Aug 15, 2014 at 11:48 am

at US, their market is VERY BIG, imagine their population >300 millions, compare Malaysia 30 million.
      The car sales volume is huge, so mostly car company willing to provide various choices. Unlike Malaysia.

• Please don’t ever talk about Megan Tan any more, she is a dark spot in the history of Driven and Paultan.org

• cosmo on Aug 14, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Add another 6k can get a new Honda Accord ady… much bigger car, better engine, more comfortable, and superb reliability… Dont get me wrong, girls driving Accord might not looks cute, but Cool… :)

• shawal on Aug 14, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Simply put….
    They are better cars out there for the same /less /a bit more money…

Use your head…
    if you insist on following your heart, then go for the sport model… or 2.0 TSI if you can afford it

• vwowner on Aug 15, 2014 at 12:50 am

Good cut indeed!

• setscrew on Aug 28, 2014 at 8:11 pm

VW Malaysia, Pls bring In 1.2TSi, manual transmission Golf!

• VWLover on Sep 07, 2014 at 11:02 am

I have the 1.4 Beetle. Love it but such a rip off from VW that the 1.4 have NO DRL… Disappointed.. Totally disappointed…