F25 BMW X3 LCI debuts in Malaysia – two CKD variants, xDrive20i RM329k and xDrive20d RM349k

BMW 02

BMW Malaysia has introduced the F25 BMW X3 LCI in the country – like the pre-facelift X3, the LCI is locally-assembled in Kulim, Kedah. The CKD variants are the xDrive20i and xDrive20d, the same as the pre-facelift, which began local assembly in January 2013.

The facelifted X3, which was announced in February this year, features a reprofiled front with new design headlamps (with reworked geometry) and redesigned grille, as well as new wing mirror indicators and rear bumper. Inside, the SAV gets new trim and materials, revised switchgear and instrumentation, among other things.

As before, the facelift features an xLine equipment package as standard, and the trim level adds, among other things, matte aluminium inserts to the bumpers. They also continue to ride on 18-inch wheels and 245/50 tyres, but new designs adorn the LCI – the X3 xDrive20i rides on 18-inch light-alloy Y-spoke style 607 wheels, while the new xDrive20d gets style 605 double-spoke wheels.

ext BMW X3 xDrive20i (3)

No changes to the xDrive20i’s output, which is still 184 hp at 5,000 rpm and 270 Nm at 1,250 to 4,500 rpm, or the model’s top speed (210 km/h), but the facelift has a quoted 0-100 km/h time of 8.2 seconds, 0.4 seconds faster than the vehicle it replaces. Fuel consumption, meanwhile, is 7.2 litres per 100 km (previously, 7.5 litres/100 km).

The xDrive20d LCI features a new 2.0 litre oil burner from the B48/B47 family, and at 190 hp at 4,000 rpm and 400 Nm at 1,750 to 2,500 rpm, that’s an increase of six hp and 20 Nm from the pre-facelift’s unit.

Performance figures for the diesel include a 0-100 km/h time of 8.1 seconds and a claimed fuel consumption of 5.2 litres per 100 km (pre-facelift, 8.5 seconds and 5.6 litres). As previously, both engines are paired with an eight-speed automatic transmission with Steptronic.

The interior continues to be dressed with Nevada leather upholstery, but the pre-facelift’s Dark Copper high-gloss interior trim finishers are now in matt Satin Silver in the LCI. Elsewhere, the 205-watt audio system, which used to have 12 louspeakers, now only features nine speakers in the facelift.

New to the xDrive20i is a sports leather steering wheel (with gearshift paddles), and the variant is now equipped with Comfort Access as standard; the system features an integrated sensor to detect a short, directed wave of the foot below the rear bumper, allowing opening and closing the tailgate automatically without being touched. It was standard fitment on the pre-facelift xDrive20d.

Virtually no changes to the xDrive20d, save that it now adds steering wheel gearshift paddles to the kit list. The variant continues to feature a rear view camera and a panorama glass roof, equipment it had over the petrol version from before.

The locally-assembled BMW X3 facelift is available in Alpine White, Black Sapphire and Mineral Grey exterior shades, with two exclusive shades being offered for the xDrive20i petrol, these being Space Grey and Sparkling Brown. Both variants come with the option of Leather Nevada Mocha or Leather Nevada Black for interior upholstery.

As for pricing, the X3 xDrive20i goes for RM328,800, an increase of RM5,000 from the pre-facelift, while the X3 xDrive20d continues on unchanged at RM348,800, both on-the-road without insurance, with BMW Service + Repair Inclusive (BS+RI).

Use CarBase.my’s car comparison tool to easily compare the BMW X3 LCI and the pre-facelift BMW X3.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Legend on Aug 15, 2014 at 8:11 pm

Why can’t make the rear view camera standard for such size of SUV?should have Surround View as option also!
    Increase in the price of RM5,000,should have include rear view camera and Panoramic Sunroof for the xDrive 20i!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 30
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Aug 16, 2014 at 3:49 am

The X3 looks so much better with the twin circular headlights connecting to its kidney grille, now it looks more muscular and fierce!
      I think currently the X3 is the best looking compact luxury SUV other than the Evoque. The Y-spoke style wheels on the petrol version looks better than the double-spoke wheels on the diesel version though.
      Guess we’ll be seeing a lot of X3 registering with “BMW” number plates on the road soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • 2 Years Warranty ONLY on Aug 16, 2014 at 11:54 am

Why would someone buy a car that ONLY gives 2 years warranty.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company not just in Malaysia but the entire world to give its cars only 2 years warranty.

All other cars in Malaysia have upped their warranty to 5 years. Even BMW’s rival Mercedes have upped their warranty to 4 years.

Do you know why BMW only gives a mere 2 years warranty? Very simple. Just right after the 2nd year, as seen in forums and BMW groups postings, and facebook postings, major parts will fail. Most common part is the gearbox. Be prepared to fork out about RM80,000 for a new gearbox.

That is why if you buy BMW, make sure you are a multimillionaire. If you are just a high earner earning RM20,000 a month, please don’t bother with BMW even if you can afford the repayments. You will be paying through your nose for parts after the warranty expires. That is why you see so many 1 year old BMWs for sale in the 2nd hand market.

Remember, unless you are a multi millionaire, please be careful when buying a BMW in Malaysia.

To those sour grapes from BMW who will say I am a Mercedes salesman, go on and tell the world I am a Mercedes salesman. Facebook and forums don’t lie. Go and see for yourself what happens after the 2nd year and read all the forums. The saying Banyak Masuk Workshop is not a myth. even the company themselves so scared to give you more than 2 years warranty!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
        • 2 Years Warranty ONLY on Aug 16, 2014 at 9:55 pm

And by the way, I am a merc salesman who like to tell lies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • BMW Salesman on Aug 17, 2014 at 12:21 am

If you want to promote Mercedes pls start your own topic. Stop bashing BMW. For those people like us who loves BMW, we couldn’t care less about the car only having a 2 year warranty.

Even if it comes with NO WARRANTY customers will still buy it because of the indescribable driving pleasure it provides.

Stop poisoning others just because you are jealous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 12
        • marcus on Nov 17, 2015 at 7:18 am

Mercedes salesman or not, he’s right. I own a BMW X3 and a C250 and I bought both of them new. The BMW started falling to bits after 2.5 years (2 year warranty) and the attitude of BMW was disgraceful and not what you would expect from a so called premium automotive manufacturer. It has been problem after problem – the compressor and turbo, yes turbo failed after 30 months. Engine oil got into the coolant twice and the engine mountings failed after 3 years plus a host of other things went wrong and it took weeks of pleading to get discounts with no chance of BMW taking responsibility and replacing the parts. The C250 is now 3 years old and had one problem and Hap Seng sent a pick up immediately, took it to the workshop, repaired it quickly and sent it to my house at no cost. Go ahead and buy a BMW but be ready to spend a lot of money on parts that should have a 10 year lifespan but only have a 2 – 3 year lifespan.

• Always buy 2nd Hand! on Aug 16, 2014 at 11:48 am

Never buy a new BMW. Always buy 2nd hand.

The price of the 1st year depreciation is so great, you might just get a heart attack. In August 2013, I just bought a BMW 520i, mileage about 5000KM, 2013 July model with still 11 months warranty left for RM250,000. A brand new 2014 BMW 520i is RM370,000.

So, in 11 months, the car can drop RM120,000.

The same with this X3. If you are interested, just wait 1 year. You can get this X3 for RM210,000.

Usually 2nd year onwards it stablilizes and depreciates abt RM20,000 per year. Let the first owner suffer the RM100,000 depreciation figure. Be wise!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
    • Looks Exactly The Sa, on Aug 17, 2014 at 3:09 pm

All BMW’s for the last 10 years look exactly the same. Why should someone buy a new BMW when it looks like all the past BMW’s?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Bolehland people dun dare to complain, if Proton does like this everybody will lose their minds

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • Easy_to_decide on Aug 15, 2014 at 8:22 pm

No HUD, no lumbar support, no adaptive damper.

I’ll pass. Next Tiguan please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
    • Sammy_Already_No_Value on Aug 16, 2014 at 12:18 am

What’s so good about the Tiguan? It looks so dull and it is so overpriced!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
      • Easy_to_decide on Aug 16, 2014 at 1:17 am

Emphasis on NEXT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
        • Sammy_Already_No_Value on Aug 16, 2014 at 11:31 am

Still, it is an overpriced piece of crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
          • Easy_to_decide on Aug 16, 2014 at 8:02 pm

You are right. Since you’re probably the sage for car fashion..

By the by, what state of the art automobile are you driving so I can buy one and gain your much sought after approval which everyone so desire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • BMW Salesman on Aug 17, 2014 at 12:25 am

It is true that the Tiguan is quite a boring car, with looks that you would hardly remember. For RM240k++ I would top up a little bit to get the BMW x1 diesel which is much better in terms of performance, looks and prestige.

The 1.4 TSI is no doubt more affordable, but the car is almost stripped down to bare bones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Tiguan??

Wierd Name and Wierd Car…
      + it’s VW.. Very Worry.

• Tiguan Owner on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:54 pm

What’s the issue with the name, the car and the brand? I’m an owner of one and I don’t see your point at all. It’s a great car to own.

• razibar on Aug 15, 2014 at 8:47 pm

wow!!! superb! excellent!!! cant wait to see this X3 in the metal at the showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • Sack him now on Aug 15, 2014 at 9:13 pm

Just Love it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 10:37 pm

price increase booo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 32
    • yes, Overpriced Item..

CKD more expensive than CBU..

Day Time Robbery BMW + 2 years Manufacturer Warranty Only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
    • BMW Salesman on Aug 17, 2014 at 12:26 am

Sam Velu, I think you have a bad taste for cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 17, 2014 at 10:48 am

i like 1 series. i mmg bad taste. sorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
        • BMW_ Salesman on Aug 17, 2014 at 11:52 am

yes i could tell. the choice of your profile pic already shows that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 19
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Pretty thing, i kno thrs no such thing as “CHEAP” bmw, but i actually thought its gonna b priced alot higher than this….that diesel has got some impressive numbers….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
  • Green on Aug 15, 2014 at 11:31 pm

BMW xDrive20i:

City = 9.2L/100km = 10.9km/L
    Combined = 7.3L/100km
    Highway = 6.3L/100km

BMW xDrive20d
    City: 6.7L/100km = 14.9km/L
    Combined: 5.6 l/100 km
    Highway: 5.0-5.3L/100km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Sammy_Already_No_Value on Aug 16, 2014 at 12:24 am

I do not understand why in our market, dealers do not allow customers to customize their options. Why on earth do we need such a large panaromic roof in our hot climate? I’d rather they allow us the option to choose something like an M sport package or surround view camera.

As Malaysians, we always pay more and get less

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
  • seancorr on Aug 16, 2014 at 1:44 am

Aww c’mon, we need to pay more for the petrol to get those features which were supposed to be standard in the first place?

Plus the diesel LCI model didn’t get any other extra apart from paddle shifters?

Where’s the adaptive xenon lights? How about the adaptive dampers which limits this tall SAV body roll?

Looks like BMW Malaysia will have to work harder if they want my money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • Not a BMW sales man on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:44 am

I see BMW sales person trolling Paultan.org and thumbing down all negative (and I may add constructive) criticism about BMW and their sales tactic.

I vote you up my friend.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 16, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Still no Adaptive Dampers and no 28i engine option?

Amongst the luxury petrol SUVs, this actually is the least powerful. Such a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • Aero (Member) on Aug 16, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Wow ! The quality of the photos is amazing ! Definitely some of the best yet from the Driven crew !

• Mamasan on Aug 16, 2014 at 5:41 pm

For such a price, they should tune the petrol engine higher. At least give the Volvo XC60 e-Drive a match.

Bmw Malaysia is ripping Malaysian customers off.

And that 2 year warranty… I better not mention anymore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Warranty from BMW is sure a turn off, its sort of like – I have no confidence in my own products more than 2 years!

Having Said that, its a great car – the sales figures and the numbers on the road shows the customers have great faith in this driving machine. But, the forums shows a great deal of customer stress too, definitely more than the MB owners.

It boils down to Desire to buy VS Ownership cost !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • marcus on Jan 19, 2015 at 5:28 pm

The main thing you have to remember when buying a BMW is that they only give a 2 year warranty and for me that was a problem with my X3 http://brandconsultantasia.com/2015/01/19/is-this-where-my-love-affair-with-the-bmw-brand-ends/

• They heard your rants: http://www.bmw.com.my/warranty/index.html