Porsche 911 GT3 launched in Malaysia – RM1.23 mil

Porsche 911 GT3 Malaysia- 25

Sime Darby Auto Performance launched the Porsche 911 GT3 this afternoon at the Sepang International Circuit. The fifth-generation 911 GT3 joins a local 991 lineup that ranges from the starter 911 Carrera to the ultimate 911 Turbo S.

Revealed at the 2013 Geneva Motor Show, the “racing 911” is powered by a tuned version of the 3.8 litre flat-six engine from the Carrera S. Here, the direct fuel injection unit pushes out 475 hp through the use of a new GT3-specific crankshaft, valve gear, titanium connecting rods and forged pistons, for a 75 hp jump over the S. It revs up to 9,000 rpm, 500 more than before.

The latest 911 GT3 is no longer available with a stick shift, so the only way to go through the gears is with a seven-speed PDK transmission, with steering paddles. Porsche says that the dual-clutch box has been tuned specifically for the GT3, with shorter ratios, faster shift times (under 100 milliseconds) and a gearchange algorithm that mirrors the sequential units in Porsche Motorsports’ race cars – PDK Sport mode.

There’s also a “paddle neutral” function. If the driver pulls both shift paddles concurrently, the clutches of the PDK are opened and the force flow between engine and powertrain is interrupted. If both shift paddles are released again, the clutch closes with “lightning speed”.

Porsche 911 GT3 Malaysia- 20

Two advantages: if the GT3 understeers, the driver can neutralise by pulling the paddles, buliding up additional cornering force on the rear wheels. The second aspect influences the driving dynamics via the pulse-like inset of the drive power when coupling. Comparable to a traditional clutch in a manual gearbox, the rear of the car can be consciously destablised when turning. Kicking the tail out, in other words.

This track special is very fast – 0-100 km/h is now done in 3.5 seconds, 200 km/h takes less than 12, and top speed is now 315 km/h. It laps the Nurburgring (7:25) faster than the outgoing turbocharged 911 GT2 at less than seven and a half minutes, even coming close to matching the Carrera GT’s time.

Porsche 911 GT3 Malaysia- 5

Probably contributing to the impressive lap time is the use of active rear-wheel steering, a first for Porsche. This turns the two rear wheels into or away from the corner according to speed, aiding stability and agility. The steering system is electric. Fully adjustable suspension, larger 20-inch forged wheels, electronically-controlled, fully variable rear differential lock and the now-standard dynamic engine mounts are other highlights.

How much to park one in your garage? RM1.23 million before options, but remember not to shackle your GT3 there and bring it to Sepang for the occasional leg stretching – this Porsche is made for the track. Those who simply want “the ultimate 991” can go straight to this.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ahjibhai on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Coincidentally i just made RM1.5mil today. Time to buy this baby

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • Kamarulzaman (kzm) on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:33 pm

All the UMNO Ministers will be happy with this launch. They sure order one. If they don’t order also, they will get one free.

Remember Nazri’s son and his free Porsche Cayenne? Can drive Porsche Cayenne bought and fully maintained by someone else.

The case so fast closed and no news about it in the media now. No Further Action.
      But no worries. Most Umno ministers and their children all follow the same procedure.

They drive McLaren, Lamborghini and Ferrari all bought by some towkay looking for contracts.

Ferrari and Lamborhini officially already declare, Malaysia is their most lucrative market. Even beat Europe and US.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 15
      • UMNO members on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Kami berterima kasih dengan Porsche melancarkan kereta ini. Pasti kami akan dapat milik kereta ini. Agak murah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 15, 2014 at 10:36 pm

Another choices for the upper level people (rumors say their nickname are “cronies”).

Please buy more Proton so that UMNO members (above) and upper level people can afford this Porsche. Their Porsche bookings are depending on you!

For a few to live rich, all Malaysians have to die poor.

No wonder Ah Beng shout on ppl “You don’t like Proton, you get out of Malaysia”, this GT911 and the showgirls are HOT!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
          • Always buy 2nd Hand! on Aug 16, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Stupid to buy this car brand new. You can get a low mileage Porsche 911 Carrera S 2007 model for about RM230,000.

Brand new is RM900,000. In 6 years the car has dropped to RM230,000.

You drive this 2007 car or 2014 car, still the same feeling. Still the same excitement.

This car also the same. Just like the GT2, in 5 years, you can buy this car for RM300,000. So, why buy brand new?
            You can then use it for 3 years and sell it for RM250,000.

At the most you rugi RM50,000.

Buy brand new and you lose RM1 million in depreciation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
      • amik amoi tu lagi bagus..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Menteri Gembira on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Before launch already many towkays already book this car for us UMNO members. In today’s world, no more hampers are given to uis/ Its luxury cars or Patek Philippe watches for us UMNO boys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • kenny on Aug 15, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Very lucky just make 100 million, time to consider this

• badut on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:20 pm

forget anything else.. this is the real deal. ddrooollll.

• JDMftw on Aug 15, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Its still slower than a GTR though

I can even carry 3 other people with me on the GTR and 2 golf bags

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 13
      • Heng Lee on Aug 15, 2014 at 10:46 pm

But the 911 is reliable. While all GTR’s fail after just one or two laps on the Nurburgring with engine rosak, the 911 runs and runs and runs…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • NotAhBeng on Aug 17, 2014 at 12:48 pm

GTR are for Ah Beng fan boys… We are talking about the brand… Driving a Porsche, Lamborghini or Ferrari is different status compare to those GTR low life ah bengs…

• badut on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:20 pm

forget everything else.. this is the real deal if u got the money. ddrooollll.

• Niceeeeee!!!!Thanks Mr Danny for the coverage.Hehe.one segment people are discussing and debating on Axia’s high pricing on top model.This 911 costs 1.23 mil and for sure someone will buy without even asking about pre-merdeka or end of year discount, even if they have one.We have a good gap of status la in this country.But in the end, motorheads won’t care, as long as the information is good.like this.:)

• Porsche guy on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:36 pm

This for that 0.1%….excluding me… Im in that 1%

• Drzack on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Out of my reach…again….

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Didn’t know Porsche didn’t use to do rear wheel steering on their other models, considering BMW has Intergral Active Steer on some of their models (though taken off from our local specs).

Though I must say, the pulling both flappy pedals is pretty interesting tech.

• brown kid on Aug 15, 2014 at 7:31 pm

next gen 911 maybe . .

• Incase u dont noe about cars, Integral Active Steering is good for highway cruising as it will be much balanced and good too turning in tight corner. Mine 528i has it. It has better handling but not God-like handling. For performance car though, this type of active steering tech ironically will halt their full performance. Otherwise, why F10 M5 has no Integral Active Steering?

• berkata benar on Aug 15, 2014 at 4:52 pm

yg belah kanan baju biru airport :(

• Uncanny Valley on Aug 15, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Is it just me or the front looks like a derpy retarded smiley face? Especially in the top image..

• shawal on Aug 15, 2014 at 5:28 pm

its abit (alot) out of my price range….hmmm….

• heybadigol on Aug 15, 2014 at 5:41 pm

It may be expensive for most people, but comparing to the competition, its quite affordable. The Ferrari 458 Speciale (the hardcore version of the 458) costs RM1.238 million, BEFORE import duties. So, the RM1.23 million is a bit of a surprise to be honest. This is after duties, correct? Or have I read it wrongly.

However, this is a hardcore car, not one you want to take to work, unless you work at a racing circuit. For a more comfy but fast 911, there is the Turbo S, which cost even more at RM1.75million.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 5:41 pm

got fire extinguisher?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • jackchaivoonchoon on Aug 15, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Sound good!I will consider trade in my BMW Z5 quad turbo 0-100 3 sec for this hotties.What do you guys think?I afraid that I cant get used a non forced induction car.

• this is the porsche easily catch fire one? where porsche replace the engines

• kenny on Aug 15, 2014 at 6:01 pm

I am surprised cos nobody commented on its urgly interior design. People commented bad on the affordable car from VW to proton but not this million baby. why?

• Heng Lee on Aug 15, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Because the GT3 is a racing car. Form follows function.

• LNick on Aug 16, 2014 at 11:56 am

Not for you I guess. I think the interior looks great.

Maybe you just like the overclutted interior of recent days. This is less is more, quality and good angles instead of stuffing the entire interior with alien looking stuff.

• kenny on Aug 15, 2014 at 6:03 pm

If put this ugly interior design to a 100k++ like teana or camry, sured kena comment teruk teruk

• mmmmm on Aug 15, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Gt3 owner normally comprises of very niche individual who appreciate driving. For this new gt3, no longer the case where its capability is more accessible with pdk(daily driven), handling is more refine with active rear steer(porsche is known for its scary tail out).

i love the 9k rpm with dhub dhub dhub when shifting.

• spongewai on Aug 15, 2014 at 10:11 pm

dun buy this cause has been halt production due to engine problem

• nabill (Member) on Aug 15, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Can i pay using Monopoly money? I have alot!

• sick&tired on Aug 15, 2014 at 11:02 pm

i expected a bigger rack for RM1.2 million!

• parkjw on Aug 16, 2014 at 9:37 am

meh…rm123 but no volume buttons on the steering wheel. no wonder paul walker’s friend’s crashed…could be trying to turn up the beat at 200km/h!

• GT3 (Member) on Aug 16, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Dude, this car is for enthusiastic and focused driving. Spirited drivers doesn’t need unnecessary buttons on their steering wheel.

• The standard GT3 is even shipped without aircon (if you want one, you’ll get it for free), because it’s 20kg less and leave space for a racing data recorder.
      And the GT3 RSR even doesn’t have a radio (but a roll cage)… ;)

• Those who simply want “the ultimate 991″ can go straight to this. 991 or 911?

• Please ignore my comment

• Opps, wrong comment

• hahahha..u all poor folks cannot afford 1 la…remember to pay your tax…so I can use your money to buy 1

• peepee on Aug 16, 2014 at 1:16 pm

I love those 2 girls more then the car

• Tonkanbubu on Aug 17, 2014 at 1:35 pm

I going to buy Toto’s Jackpot…

• I had the 2008 GT3 MK1 but sold it after 1 year because I realized I didnt quite like driving a 2 door car and something about the sporty driving position that ruined my back. Sold it for a Quattroporte instead. Never regretted it. It’s a sedan and I can lug my family around in comfort and it’s a very powerful sedan too. And now looking into owning a Ghibli as well.

• 2 doors car for family use, very funny.
      Are you trying to sell Maserati here?
      Puih

• Please try and improve your comprehension of the English language first of all before jumping to conclusion that I am trying to sell or promote Maserati here. Puih right back at you.

• Its look like we can see the gear position in auto gear in video clips..that great! Anyone know any additional device that can display our gear position (gear 1,2,3,4,5) when we use in auto mode? any OBD device capable to do that?

• Jaybond on Aug 18, 2014 at 8:30 am

The Porsche 911 GT3 used to be able to keep up with the Ferrari entry level mid-engine cars (360 Modena & F430). But with the arrival of 458 Italia, that was no longer the case. Apparently the high-revving flat 6 engine is at the end of the its performance potential. The easiest way is to shoehorn the 911 Turbo engine, but that’ll make the RWD GT3 heavier & less responsive on the handling.It is widely informed that currently Porsche is working on a new high revving flat 8 engine to challenge the Ferrari V8!

• Heng Lee on Aug 18, 2014 at 11:32 am

The 458 Italia is a sports car while the GT3 is a race car that can be registered for road use. The competitor to the 458 Italia is the 911 Turbo S, not the GT3.

BTW: The Porsche Turbo S does the 0-100km/h in sprint in 2.9s while the 458 italia needs 3.4s. Apparently Ferrari’s high-revving V8 engine is at the end of the its performance potential. There are rumors that Ferrari will work on a new flat 6 turbo soon to challenge the Porsche flat 6!