Proton Design Competition 2014 – just two days to go!

proton design contest 2014

It’s now or never, guys! There’s just over two days left in the Proton Design Competition 2014, with submissions closing on August 18 at 11:59 pm.

Remember that you have to submit 3/4 front view, side view and 3/4 rear-view renderings (Category 2 entrants aged 18 to 25 must also submit an interior rendering), as well as a design brief with the name of the design, the design concept, the unique selling propositions of the design and the choice of powertrain.

Entries can be submitted either by mail or online, and participants can head over to the contest section on Proton’s Facebook page for more details, terms and conditions, as well as to download the entry form.

proton-citycar2020-categories

There’s RM58,000 worth of prizes to be won, including cash rewards and MacBook Air/Pro laptops, complete with design software. The best design will also win you a Chairman’s Award, which consists of a trophy, an internship at Proton’s R&D Creative Design Centre and even getting your design immortalised as a quarter-scale model displayed at the Proton Gallery!

Looking for some last minute inspiration? Check out our look at Proton’s past concepts, a design guide that explains what the judges will be looking for in each design, an interview with Proton’s head of styling Azlan Othman or part 1 and part 2 of our exclusive look inside the Proton Design Studio and how each Proton is designed. Hurry, and get your submissions in now!

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Let see what our young designers thinking…Don’t tell me all design are ala lamborghini el ferrari…

• rifle on Aug 16, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Nope.. I think young designers (uni students to be more precise) can follow the flow of Proton’s design with “future P1” elements..and maybe it will catch your eye better than the design of lambo or ferrari..

• Cross finger bro…

• Same L0rrr on Aug 17, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Years ago, they launch Savvy “Designed by Lotus”, tak laku…

Years later they launch a new model “Designed by the teen”, you think will laku?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
          • Not for production. You dun read?

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 7:56 am

Same Lorrr comment syok sendiri lor like his 5S laa..haha..

• P.Kumar on Aug 18, 2014 at 8:35 am

Bro, give chance la to our youngsters to sharpen their design skill… this is for our later generation. hoping one day we can see our own Malaysian guy have the opportunity to work with Ferrari or at least Merc or BMW.

• abuyao123 on Aug 18, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Jadi daripada ko memekak menghina orang, kenapa kau tak design sendiri. Inilah masa nak tunjuk kehebatan design ko sebab ko pengutuk tegar. Setakat nak kutuk, tikus kat belakang rumah ko pun boleh buat

• Syoknya sendiri.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
    • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 17, 2014 at 1:55 pm

You can’t built-up another level above if the fundamental of the building was built only for a single storey load.

Whatsoever this is a long term affect from Msian educational & culture developed from the vision & mission set.

Almost everything we are only touching surface without explore the depest possibilities.
      Thus,
      As long as the engine could produce power to move ton+ object, that is it while outside from land of boleh is optimizing from all possibility.

Design is one thing, how is your FORM, FIT, FUNCTION quality & durability of next phase.

Moving another phase how is your integration quality?

What was the achievement on completed assembly also what is the elements needed to improve compared other car makers?

Did anyone in the top management driving towards design & operation excellent ???

• Albert Lee on Aug 16, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Perodua is busy collecting orders by the hundreds for the new Axia.
    proton should be rushing the launch of GSC, not competitions(alto important)
    A one month delay may mean a difference of 5 to 10 thousand units.
    Without new products,Sept and Oct may be slower months in terms of sales.Sales pick up again in Nov/Dec due to clearance of stocks and price rebates as 2015 looms.
    Protong,time is running out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 24
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 16, 2014 at 11:02 pm

well, u said it is a failure..why bother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • albertsick on Aug 17, 2014 at 9:37 am

Agree. Same as person who cared to post and said he dun care. Should see doc coz that is SICK

• Same L0rrr on Aug 17, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Proton is burning tax payer money to do this and we shouldn’t bother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 25
          • jjjd3 on Aug 17, 2014 at 8:14 pm

Japs dun bother if their gomen helps their local companies

You want to provoke bolehland people here?

• dah la ruffstuff…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • Albert Lee on Aug 17, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Your excellency,if Protong konk out(gone bust totally),taxpayers grants go direct to perodua.
        If it is half dead like now,your taxes will be channelled to this nightmarish car producer.They are asking 1.7 billion Rm.
        You like it or not,your taxes will be chanelled to P1 and P2.
        I would prefer Protong to be totally ‘bungkus”than be a liability to all,including you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
        • kzm (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 8:19 am

so why asking p1 to release new car now..let them go kaput la..don la ask when they want to launch new car..genius.

• Albert Lee on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:47 pm

I did not ask for P1 to release new car.Just stating that Perodua stands to gain with each month of delay by Proton.
            Proton should not exist in the first place.
            I really admire you as a diehard hardcore Proton fanboy who has no conscience when taxpayers are ripped off by high taxes when they opt for alternative brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • kzm (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 5:38 pm

stating or not it look that u want p1 to launch quickly so that p2 not gaining too much…

• kzm (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 5:53 pm

do i look fanboi/kipas susah mati to u?..if not mistaken i never praising/boasting p1 car that can be consider fanboi.. im oni stated the obvious..

• Saga r on Aug 18, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Work harder la albert lee, dont blame other or something for your own hard living.

• Albert Lee on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:50 pm

You must be mr.handout .I have been working hard without blaming others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 18, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Yala, work hard lar, don’t be like Proton, sales good or not, begging for money. Build quality good or not, begging for money.

Not everyone so lucky like Proton in the world. lol

• koscy on Aug 18, 2014 at 8:41 pm

So what, that money for RnD. Before you say Proton no RnD, any outsourcing doesn’t mean it does all for you. It’s not as easy as you think. A lot more to do than mere rebadging.

• berkata benar on Aug 17, 2014 at 3:13 am

hanya sekadar untuk budak budak… sesuai sgt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Aciengkol on Aug 17, 2014 at 4:26 am

Proton need a new engine. Or ensure the Campro can get to Euro 6 and beyond while achieving 20km to the litre and bettering Campro power and torque figures.

Or a modern diesel engine that can give a Proton 1000km a tankful.

Whatever the juice Proton need as well transmissions good enough to deliver all these. Auto and manual. Definitely not the clutch type CVT!

But it’s busy collecting design from students. Two things they are slow to teach in uni. Design to cost and time!

• Tiger on Aug 17, 2014 at 10:07 am

Less than 10 comments so far, proved that nobody cares about this “competition” lah..they r all busy booking the new Axia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • I’ve seen too many armchair experts in design department in paultan.org

I would like to see their chance to show their own design out of their expertise. common, prove it.

• Steve Kok on Aug 17, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Proton’s chief designer can resign lah.
    Gaji buta.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
  • iluvsam on Aug 17, 2014 at 9:10 pm

No point lah. Just rebadge honda models lah.

• Flight guy on Aug 17, 2014 at 9:15 pm

We don’t need a Malaysia car …that wastes public money for years….waste of time to build a car that can’t sell abroad…no economic of scales….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • Kamceng on Aug 18, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Gimmick ideas, here and forever. In the end Proton will using Mitsubshi Design, Renult Design, Citroen Design and lastly Honda Design…. you just name it. So what is the point.

• mungh on Aug 18, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Nowadays cars look similar between each other, copy paste job. So boring looking at BMW, Audi and Merc, not fresh at all and it’s expected. So what?

• pondan on Aug 18, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Proton is like cancerous. Never ending spreading pains and diseases. Taxing the nation, producing toxic. If those blind supporters are too happy about that, please contribute to proton with your own money and not the expense of others cuz, it’s our choice to say no to proton.

If not, juz go back and eat your own crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • ingeniust on Aug 18, 2014 at 8:51 pm

What toxic? Another uncle talking kork here lol. If you are too old to create something new dun hold youngsters. Your time is finish already, too bad when you were young your brain was too dumb to think, when you are old you only know to bash others. You are the real toxic here.

• pondan on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:11 am

ingeniust-not!

ops… go back and eat your crap

• mascaretaker on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:42 am

BMW 5/7 series is best car on earth . Kia use bmw chassis to produce their new cars. So proton too should do the same. Take note young designers