Mercedes-Benz E 300 Bluetec Hybrid coming to Malaysia – ad by MBM dealer spotted on oto.my

E300-Bluetec-Hybrid-OTO-01

We didn’t see this one coming, and it’s a pleasant surprise. An ad for the Mercedes-Benz E 300 Bluetec Hybrid has appeared on our sister classifieds site oto.my, posted by a sales advisor from Cycle & Carriage. The E 300 Bluetec Hybrid is set to be the first diesel hybrid car to be commercially available in Malaysia, unless Peugeot or Citroen spring a surprise.

Joining the E 200, E 250 and E 400 in the local non-AMG W212 facelift range, the E 300 Bluetec Hybrid is powered by a 204 hp 2.1 litre four cylinder diesel engine paired with a 27 hp electric motor. The latter is sandwiched between the engine and the seven-speed automatic transmission.

With a massive 500 Nm of torque from 1,600 rpm, this E-Class is no slouch, and the big exec does 0-100 km/h in a brisk 7.5 seconds. But the main selling point here is fuel efficiency, combining the best economy qualities of diesel and hybrid in one package. Claimed combined FC is 4.3 litres per 100 km, or 23.3 km/l. 20 km/l in something so powerful – who says you can’t have your cake and eat it too?

E300-Bluetec-Hybrid-OTO-02-e1408352198413-speclist

To highlight the E 300 Bluetec Hybrid’s economy potential, Mercedes-Benz had an Africa to UK in one tank challenge in June, when UK motoring journalist Andrew Frankel (Autocar UK readers would know him) drove 1,968 km from continent to continent.

Frankel averaged 3.1 litres per 100 km, completing his journey with a remaining range of 160 km on the on-board computer. This indicates a max range of 2,129 km per tank of diesel with the optional 80 litre fuel tank – Malaysian cars will get the standard 59 litre tank.

This would be the second Mercedes-Benz diesel car to be available in Malaysia in a long time, after the Mercedes-Benz C 220 CDI AMG Sports Package, which is priced at RM290,888.

The icing on the cake is the E 300 Bluetec Hybrid’s estimated price – at RM338,888, it will be the cheapest W212 on sale here, undercutting the RM367k E 200. Doesn’t say in the ad, but the attractive price hints at local assembly, and CKD hybrids get tax breaks. To compare, the other diesel exec in town – the 184 hp/380 Nm BMW 520d – is priced at RM354,800. Interested? We hear that it will launch in Q1 2015.

UPDATE: The sales advisor has since taken down his ad and wrote in with an email saying he made a mistake putting up the ad.

Mercedes-Benz E 300 Bluetec Hybrid in the Africa to UK in one tank challenge

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• zeek (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Mari mari order before all habis. Lol but in all seriousness if it is CKD and the price is as advertised it’s definitely a great value. IMO a million times better than the underpowered front wheel drive A6 Hybrid.

• But A6 HB still the bang for bucks – CBU @ 288k…

• ?underpowered A6H? This is the specs…
        245 PS (180 kW; 242 hp), 480 N·m (354 lbf·ft)

• come on bring it same price as the audi A6 hybrid. i think it will sell like hot cakes.

• ah chai on Aug 18, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Good. Please more green cars with attractive price and packages

• thats the way..aha aha..i like it..aha aha!!

• coffee on Aug 18, 2014 at 3:30 pm

The BMW 520d will be dead in the water after this. Just like how the S400 killed the 7-Series.

• BigBossMan on Aug 18, 2014 at 10:45 pm

How can the S400 kill the 7series when supplies are so limited and even if u wanted to buy one, it’s no longer available. In fact, the car was already made unavailable roughly a month after it was launched.

I’m guessing MB Malaysia probably only assembles 10 units a month. Eventhough it is much cheaper after the tax exemptions, at Almost RM600k a unit, only a very small percentage of Malaysians would be able to afford a car with such a high price tag.

In this case, MBM is acting almost like a cock teaser, offering us a great deal but you can’t get it anyway.

• najib on Aug 18, 2014 at 3:44 pm

pay for high price of the car, save for the fuel. Proton, please get this car for your research and benchmark. then produce it with rakyat’s price.

• ProtonGSC on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:22 pm

No need la Tun himself need to own this then he will ask Gov protection to extra taxes (even CKD) this car.

Poor or normal Rakyat can’t own luxury car.

To the global buy more Proton.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Yea, because of Proton, even Toyota is considered luxury cars in Malaysia.

Poor or normal Rakyat may not need a luxury car, but they deserve a GOOD car (usually Cheap and Reliable- sushis or Perodua).

Proton… hahaha… check out the long QC list upon getting the new Preve, documented by the Preve owner club themselves: https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=3887886

You know what the Preve owners called themselves? The BRAVEST Proton Supporters. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3158210

LOL!

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 7:15 pm

They’re one of the first batch buyers of the Preve. You have to be brave to buy a completely new model of a car (There will be teething issues) from any automaker but especially from an automaker with a bad track record.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Actually you are paying a very low price for this car. No taxes.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 3:52 pm

*rubs hands*

Let’s hope they keep up the production to need the demands. And where’s BMW Malaysia with the ActiveHybrid5 CKD again? Don’t tell us it’s not technologically feasible in Malaysia cause MBM is doing it.

• wait the ad says that it produces 500Nm & 150kW (201bhp) but according to wiki the E300 Bluetec hybrid produces 750Nm & 170kW (228Bhp) The specs in the ad is actually for the E250 CDI BlueEfficiency

• Works on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:01 pm

More worth it buying this rather than lexus gs 250….

• bchia26 on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:05 pm

good to use it as a limousine.

• Works on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Worthe spend money on this rather than lexus gs250…..

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:27 pm

i hope mercedes salesman wont turn into audi salesman so lansi last year…now begging me to buy the a3…

• Fee Ulsipper on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:34 pm

It’s not always that you can say you went 2,129 km on a tank full..with extra to spare sumore

• _xXx_ on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Monthly repayment = RM4266….yes, we are now high income nation….

• Jimmy on Aug 18, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Good price.

• Tishaban on Aug 18, 2014 at 6:04 pm

I guess the Audi A6 hybrid pricing was a fluke, the other hybrids seems to be prices at only slightly cheaper than the rest of the range.

Where are the mid priced hybrids though? The Accord hybrid looks good but no news from Honda Malaysia. Nothing from the Koreans either?

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 6:37 pm

You have missed the S400 hybrid, right?

Also, maybe this car is very well speced.

I guess you’ll have to book as soon as bookings are opened, because it might be gone in a week or two.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Diesel for the long distance cruises; electric for the town drives and for more shove when you want more zoom.

Excellent efficiency to be found here. Hope to see more diesel-electric hybrids in the future.

• Sam's Best Friend on Aug 18, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Some people might be turned off with diesel. when is euro5 diesel coming to malaysia?

• soon our gahmen will say EEV incentive only for proton and perodua already

• BigBossMan on Aug 18, 2014 at 10:48 pm

I hope Mercedes Malaysia would sort out their supply before teasing us with good deals. In the case of the S400 Hybrid, most Malaysians(the ones who could afford it) were being teased but couldn’t get the opportunity to buy it.

It only happens in Malaysia. Have you heard of such supply problems in the US or UK or Australia?

The auto industry in Malaysia is so screwed up.

• Your Faithfully ( YF ) on Aug 24, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Would seriously consider this. Wouldn’t mind placing an advance deposit on this.Can anyone confirm if this is coming?

• Siggy on Feb 26, 2015 at 11:34 pm

I heard we are using e2 diesel and this kind of vehicle should use e5. What will b the problem occur later on . Anyone so far having problem with this diesel or not . Pls need advise on this matter . Looking for someone can advise about e300 diesel compared to Lexus . I heard Lexus IS better . Any comment pls