Saleen FourSixteen – an amped-up Tesla Model S

Saleen_FourSixteen_01

Saleen Automotive, a high-profile American muscle car tuning house, perhaps most known for its bespoke S7 supercar, has showcased its latest creation – the Saleen FourSixteen, based on the Tesla Model S. Welcome to a new age of electric car modification.

Since the Model S is an all-electric machine with no internal combustion engine, Saleen’s experience in motor tune-up gets thrown out of the window. Tesla’s range-topping 416 hp (hence the name)/600 Nm P85 Performance motor gets left well alone, but Saleen brings its own mechanical expertise here too.

The car’s final gear is swapped for a Saleen-specific item, and together with a new locking differential, the FourSixteen boasts improved acceleration compared to the standard car’s 4.2-second 0-96 km/h time. Cooling for the electric motor has been enhanced as well, to support “more stressful performance applications.”

Saleen_FourSixteen_02

A track-tuned suspension setup (that apparently “doesn’t sacrifice ride quality”, and is upgradeable to a fully-adjustable set) is paired to a re-calibrated stability control system for better cornering response and drivability. Uprated high-performance brakes and optional carbon-ceramic discs are available as well.

The most dramatic addition (enhancement is too strong a word here, we think) is Saleen’s unique aerodynamic package. Tesla’s bluff grille is gone altogether, replaced with a solid nose with aggressive lower air intakes and a fair share of carbon-fibre parts. The comically-large lightweight 22-inch wheels complete the exterior makeover.

Inside, the Saleen looks just as dramatic with a good mix of leather, Alcantara and carbon-fibre. Four heavily bolstered bucket seats now dominate the interior. There’s a new centre console design on board too, which adds an all-important extra cupholder within reach. Say it together, boys: ‘Murica, heck yeah!

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Erm. Doesn’t the Model S have a single speed gearbox? So if they have improved acceleration, they have lowered the top speed?

Also, the Model S comes fitted with air suspension as standard. So they’ve thrown that away and fitted the car with a conventional suspension or what?

I do like that they have closed that black hole (that wasn’t a hole) upfront. It wasn’t necessary, and somehow doesn’t look very nice.

Btw., what are the air intakes there for? It’s electric…

• Are you sure the increase in acceleration will lead to lower top speed???
      My TAMIYA 4WD that i played when i was 7 was damn fast when i changed the motor. It increased in top speed as well as acceleration.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:09 pm

They modified/changed the final gear of the gearbox. Which is the only gear of the gearbox. Improve acceleration should mean shorter first gear. Since the first gear is also the last, that means lower end speed.

Maybe the locking differential helped improve acceleration, and they use a longer first/final gear? But if the gain in acceleration comes from the gearbox, I don’t think it will be as fast as before.

Also, you changed the motor. They didn’t.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 5:27 pm

The differential seems to be one of the biggest parts of their modification. The final gear is actually a part of the differential, not a part of the gearbox but I guess the Tesla Model S would technically be using a transaxle (unified transmission + differential) instead of a distinct differential like that of an FR car, since the electric motor is located between the driven wheels.

I wonder if they did increase the final drive ratio. If they did it with an internal combustion engine powered car, the increased acceleration derived from an increased final gear ratio would come at the cost of the engine running out of revs faster, hence kadajawi’s concern. But since it is an electric motor, the implications might be different. Who knows. I’m no wizard.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Sorry, missed out something. Transaxle = Transmission + Differential + Axle.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 3:06 pm

In many cases, the top speed of road-going vehicles are electronically limited so that they never reach their full potential top speed. For safety purposes, I guess.

An electric motor’s rotational speed isn’t limited in the same way as an internal combustion engine so I think it can still achieve its previous top speed at the expense of increased power consumption and heat generation. That might also be the purpose of those air intakes: the cooling system. But that’s just a guess because I don’t know the layout of the Tesla S’ cooling system.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:20 pm

You are right. The Model S is software limited. Haven’t thought of that.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:49 am

u guys are very technical…i can read oni.

• Gear ratios are calculated, depending what the priorities are. Lower gear ratio provides more torque and better acceleration, but you will sacrifice top speed. Higher gear ratio gives better top speed, but slower acceleration. For what I know, electric cars usually have 2 gears, which is forward and reverse.

As for the suspensions, there are many kinds of air suspensions, as the same as conventional suspensions. As before, this depends on what you are looking for (spring deformation, materials, winding coils, shock absorber re-bounce, etc.). Suspension is lowered to provide better central of gravity, in other words, better stability during high speed corners.

And the hole that you are mentioning, you mean radiator grills? Electric cars doesn’t require cooling,that is why based on my opinion, they are more focusing onto aerodynamics. They provide better cooling system for hardcore users to overcome the heat generated by the motor, as well as for hotter climates. If not, the coils inside the motor will burn, and this will cost a bomb to repair.

• The air intakes are necessary to flow air to the radiators. It has regular looking radiators upfront. They’re essential to cool the batteries and I think motors too.

• boleh land on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:08 am

Of course the car is EV. air intake is for the aircond lah bro.

• No. it’s mostly for the cooling radiator. The Li-ion battery pack generate a lot of heat. If you’ve seen the radiators in the Model S, they look like the radiators in your car. The coolant used in EV is the same ethylene glycol as your car.

And yes it has a condenser ‘radiator’ too for the air-cond, just like in your car

• kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:44 am

to cool electronic parts maybe..

• British Ingenuity on Aug 18, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Hmm. I miss the Saleen S7R.

• Hemi 426 on Aug 18, 2014 at 2:33 pm

If i must say,this is a very striking looking car,it immediately catches your attention.

Tesla has already done a brilliant job with this ride and Saleen just amped it up a few notches.

Awesome ride.

Cheers

• niterunner99 on Aug 18, 2014 at 3:34 pm

i thought i was looking at a new Mazda3!!

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Not so surprising. The chief designer of Tesla used to work as head of the North American design team at Mazda, having designed the Mazda Nagare and Furai concepts, which shaped how Mazdas ever since were to be designed. And he was one of the designers working on the previous gen Mazda3.

So yeah, the guy is doing what he does best.

• Jack Maverick on Aug 18, 2014 at 4:40 pm

This…is the shiz! I’d admit, that it’s a bit preposterous, but I have a hard-on because it’s, I think, the first tuner electric car! Generous use of the term ‘tuner’ there..

I wish someone would go mad with the setup, throw away the back seats, fill the boot with batteries, drop in a LSD, make it smaller, slice off the roof.. boom baby!

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 18, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Once they have enough expertise to tune the electric motor, then we’d have a true tuner’s electric car. :)

• “..new locking differential…”

Curious. Why does it need a differential in the first place? I thought this car has 2 motors in the rear. One for each wheel.