MRT Corp CEO resigns over RRI site incident

mrt stesen

Mass Rapid Transit Corporation (MRT Corp) has announced that its CEO Datuk Wira Azhar Abdul Hamid has resigned over the incident that occurred last night at the MRT worksite within the former Rubber Research Institute near Kota Damansara.

“As the head of MRT Corp, I am taking personal responsibility for the incident and this is the correct thing to do. I have informed the chairman Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa of my decision,” he said. He added that MRT Corp and relevant authorities will investigate and identify the cause of the incident.

A span of the MRT guideway had dislodged from its piers and fallen on the ground below at around 8:30pm yesterday. The span, which was made up of 14 units of segmented box girders, was 38m in length and weighed 300 tons.

The bodies of three workers of Bangladesh nationality that was trapped underneath have been recovered. The recovery operation involved cutting eight tendons to loosen the 14 segmented box girders (SBGs) that are stressed together to form the fallen span.

The project delivery partner MMC Gamuda KVMRT (PDP) have commenced investigations to find out the cause of the incident. All work along Package V1 where the incident occurred has been suspended until further notice.

“Initial investigations revealed the work method approved for the installation of parapets were not adhered to. We will investigate why this happened, and no stone will be left unturned so that we can get to the bottom of this tragic incident. We will also not spare anyone whose actions are found to have caused or contributed to this accident,” Azhar added.

Azhar also assured the public that the MRT structures along the 51km alignment were built to specifications and the public should be assured they are safe.

“Immediate checks carried out have revealed that there is no reason for the public to worry about the other spans which have been built along the alignment. There is absolutely no issue with structural integrity along our alignment,” he says.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• tokmoh (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Feel sad for those banglas. Alfatihah to all of them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 2
    • passerby on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:44 pm

I understand that you meant no harm by stating “banglas” but I think in the context of Malaysia culture, the term “bangla” is usually used in a derogatory manner hence I think “Bangladeshi” is more suitable as it now involves the death of three innocent man..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 46
      • i think it’s not offense term, because in my place here, the Bangladeshi workers refer theirself as ‘Bangla’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 8
        • I’m sorry but ‘bangla’ is a degoratory word because of the way it is commonly used on the street. It is ok for Bangladeshis to refer to each other as ‘Banglas’ however for Non-Bangladeshis to do so is not appropriate. This is similar to the ‘N’ word used against black people, or the term ‘paki’ used to insult south Asians in the UK by white extremist groups. Language is a powerful thing, having lived in Malaysia for almost 10 years I am still surprised how many around me still use such insulting language. We need to enlighten and educate ourselves.

• kzm palat on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:12 pm

In most countries, it is the Minister of Transport that should resign. In Malaysia, Ministers NEVER resign. The are like Gods, all powerful.

Even like Bung Mokhtar, he can say anything and cause so much of problems, but nobody checks him. He can get away with anything.

Pity this CEO. Malaysian Ministers are a disgrace. No accountability.

Even Nazri did not resign when it was proven that his son drives a Porsche Cayenne owned and maintained by a man seeking contracts from Nazri. Nazri is still happily a Minister.

No other country in the world this can happen. Only in Malaysia. Ministers are Demi God’s all powerful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Open Letter to Indon and Bangla Embassy on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:42 pm

The bangla in Malaysia must protest. Why they keeping quiet? They got no pride that their own flesh and blood got killed and there is no compensation?

The PM must give each of the Bangla Rm1 million for their families.

We Malaysians can cry so much for Gaza, can have Dataran Merdeka protest for Gaza, but suffering by foreign worker in Malaysia, we don’t bother.

Mudah lupa. There is suffering in your own backyard lah PM, sort it out first before you cry for Gaza.

The Bangla in Malaysia not only die, they kena harrass by the polis on a daily basis. Everyday Bangla have to give about RM100 to the polis just for peace of mind.

Go to any neighbourhood. Go and see yourself. Always, the Bangla kena stop by polis for fun. then the Bangla have to give money to the polis eventhough he got proper work documents.

That is the life of the Bangla in Malaysia. Susah susah a fellow Muslim comes to Malaysia to work. He is given one small room with 20 other Bangla to sleep. He get very low wages, sometimes no wages. Even with that small income, every other day, he has to give whatever little money to the polis. If he does not, he sits in the balai lockup a few days with no income earned. So, he got no choice but to give that few ringgit in his pocket when stopped by polis.

I feel shy for fellow Malaysians. Muslims in Gaza they make big noise. But Muslim Bangla suffer in Malaysia, they overlook. They don’t care. Even die also, who cares.

In the contruction sites, everyday also got Indon and Bangla die. Fellow Muslims die everyday in Malaysia (Indon and Bangla) but all hush hush. Family also don’t get a sen.

Go ask any Indon and any Bangla in construction site. Everyday also got death.

Malu betul Indonesian and Bangla Embassy in Malaysia. You diplomats sitting in the embassy are a disgrace. Do nothing for your own people. Do something for your people. They suffer so much in Malaysia from bad work conditions to very little pay. Some even kena pukul from their employers.

Besides Bangla, the Indon women also kena kacau from polis everyday. But they pay in “kind” to escape. We all know what is this “kind”. It is very common in Malaysia.

Please lah Indon and Bangla embassy, do something for your people. Protect their rights. The poor Indons and Banglas come here to work hard for a living but they get treated like dirt.

Their name also kena busuk. Most robberies, rape and break ins are all done by our Malaysians. Malay, Chinese and Indians. They do most house break ins. But our polis, simply palm the blame on Indons just to close the case quick. Anything to tutup case and have an easy life in the balai. So, blame the Indon.

Everything also blame the Indon and Bangla. But people now see, all roberries, muggings, snatch, break ins are all down by our own people. We can see with our own eyes. Time to stop blaming the Indons and Banglas for all the crime in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Last 5 month, aku dah report to CIDB, tapi tarak action had been taken…..

Padan muka kau MMC GAMUDA, MRT CORPs.

Al Fatihah to the 3 workers. Pls sue MMC GAMUDA, MRT CORPS, and CIDB for compensation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • Rare Species on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:59 pm

A Malaysian CEO resigns to take responsibility? One in a billion odd, but it happens anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 226 Thumb down 3
    • hondaman on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:35 pm

the minister in charge should resign too… oh wait.. MRT is under SPAD’s jurisdiction which report to the PM’s office & the minister in charge is the PM himself…highly unlikely he will resign..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 8
      • Infinite LIKE to this CEO, rare cases in Malaysia. No one resigning yet after so many incident happened lately apart from this.

• frossonice on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:42 am

CEO of SPAD salary is about RM125k a month. Yes, that Syed Hamid Albar. Their directors get about RM60k a month. You think they will resign?

• Redline on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:36 am

I find that hard to believe. Do you have any proof or links or sources to these claims?

• kzm palat on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Yes, that is their salary.her than that. its hig Actually I know for a fact. Why isn’t the SPAD CEO not resigning?

• Bryan Tee on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:18 pm

“There is no reason for the public to worry”, with what happened last night and previous incident. Rakyat have every right to worry about this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:04 pm

well most risk project in boleh people died..u name it petronas tower, penang bridge, penang bridge 2, lrt project, every tall building…still people using those infra..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • No one care

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 53
  • rahman wang on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:29 pm

I respect this CEO who takes responsibility when the going gets tough.
    Not like so many other CEOs who only knows how to enjoy the perks of a fat salary and benefits.
    Good on you Datuk Wira Azhar

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 1
    • klata-klata on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Did he resign voluntarily, or he was made the fall guy?
      Anyway as the COO, this and past history of accidents should have caused enough damage to his career, bonus and prospect within MTR beyond salvage. Might as well move on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • bbtree on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:59 am

Respect the ceo decision.
      he could be the right person to lead the investigation team.
      similar occurance should be prevented

• All these fatal accidents that caused by, directly or indirectly, MRT project are really bothering us Malaysian. I would rather the project to not even initiated if along the way it causes innocent life to vaporize.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 32
  • Head Hunter on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:30 pm

The CEO had the moral responsibility to resign, in which he should be commended for. Unlike some other people who thinks it is ok to carry on without shame.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
  • Timbi on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Suppose all the umno vampires should resign as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 16
  • sirimusa on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Respect to the CEO of MRT Corp.
    A true leader. He takes responsibility and resigns.
    Not like all the other bloody idiots who stay for their lifetime and get rich…
    More Malaysians should learn from this man.
    Alfatihah to the deceased.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Especially some minister who is incharge of certain portfolio but failed miserably in Edinburgh….

He said wanted to resign…..but until now where is the Letter????

Ci**ka punya penyamun……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • guilt79 on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Quickly resign. So, beginning now, any problem is not his problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
  • Probability and Odds on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:50 pm

A plane going down is one in a million chance. 2 planes going down in a year is more than 1 in 100 million probability. And yet the following CEOs remain the same:
    1. in charge of the airlines
    2. in charge of the ministry of transport & defense
    3. in charge of the country

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 7
    • Persona on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:33 pm

What had anything to do the shotdowned plane with resigned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
      • Just my opinion on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:14 pm

It is about accountability. Although it is beyond control but slow in respond for mh370 and failure in risk management for mh17 and the fact that mas has been loss making and government have to bail them out since forever. And his salary is millions per annum!

Phil clerk resigned from Tesco. Nobody dies just fall in profits.

South Korea Prime Minister resigned over ferry incident. Also beyond his control

It is a simple corporate governance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 8
      • rchoo on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:56 am

IMO, I think that is what a proactive and heightened senses company should act when the situation in Ukraine deteriorated.

MAS should have changed their flight path irrespective of what the International Aviation Authorities recommendation or the lack of it. It is only a common sense to do so. But no, they did not do it and now they are blaming the warring factions.

• Annaeh on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:02 am

15 minutes behind MH17 was an SIA plane on the same flight path. Had the shooter stopped to take a piss maybe that SIA plane would have been the unfortunate target. Would you then make the same comment?

• BODO! on Aug 19, 2014 at 10:23 pm

STUPID.. those event got nothing to do with SOP, maintenance, etc.. Those were beyond MAS control.. This MRT incident, and previous ones, are under MRT control.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
      • What the f..k? They still dont know where is the plane gone. MAS lost a plane and couldnt find it.
        Second incident may well be avoided if they change war zone route. STUUP

• deGonggok on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:42 am

12 quarter of losses should be more than justify to get the heck out (this should be for the whole top management)

• heybadigol on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:28 pm

If it was built to specs, why did it fall? Was the specs not good enough? Or not adhered to?

• kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:07 pm

built to spec does not mean there will be no accident..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:03 pm

I must congratulate the CEO for taking this responsibility by making such a big decision, possibly a decision that will be recorded in Malaysian history and impact the future generation.

On another note, if a debris falls from a overhead MRT track, it will be much safer to be in any car other than Kimchi. The chances of you getting injured iin the event of debris falling on your kimchi is about 535.4% more than other manufacturers like Proton or Perodua..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • Hadi75 on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:10 pm

Paul tan should hire you on the ground of your unbiased posting and writing….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Just fyi. The chances of getting injured in the event of MRT debris falling on your car is 100% at baseline, same goes to even if you’re in a real Maserati.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:53 am

As usual, we already know you always so childish and link everything to Kimchi, maybe you just love it? possible.
      First, whether he resign or not, thing that happened definitely is a history.
      Second, the history will be a lesson learn on the safety during the construction, then why and how it impact to future generation?
      Third, if the debris fall on overhead track is huge and heavy, sorry that even ypu sit in the hilux also kemek. (if you pay attention during physic class during secondary school)
      depend the

• Maserati Friend on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Maserati is a very frustrated man. A man with no love from his family. Lonely and sad, always posting rubbish, especially on Kimchi. Now you know why you are alone in this world with no love from anyone. Now you know why even your wife left you. Change your ways Maserati. Go back to divine.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Contrators should follow suit

• Another Wayang on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Who wanna wager a bet with me… By this week he will be “reappointed” by Najib. All part of the endless sandiwara in this country’s administration

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • With more and more cases like this happening. Better look straight left right back and up. Confirm another accident will happen lah. Everyday pass by MRT oso afaird. See your luck only

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Smart move for the ceo. Gov oledi no $ for mrt and the project will go on wid more n more uncertainties. It could due to extreme cost cutting. If he dun leave now. I couldn’t imagine wat could b even worse later.

• roxasr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:40 am

Y our PM no resign?

• dats wat u get fr hiring lame subcon

• fanfan on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:43 am

I hope this will be a great lesson to the all related parties..

• Samad Jain on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:14 pm

maybe he resign through the front door, then re-hired to another position through the back door.
    Business as usual…..Typical Malaysian…

Even Malaysia ministers do it this way….all the time. Thus the term “Backdoor Minister”.
    No shame, No accountability. All for the money.

• isuzuki on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:44 am

He is a man