Perodua Axia – 3,500 bookings recorded to date

perodua-ceo-028

The upcoming Perodua Axia has received around 3,500 bookings since the order books opened up till this morning, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid has revealed to the media, adding that the car will be launched tentatively sometime next month.

Of the 3,500 bookings, Aminar said the base variant (Standard E) accounted for around 13% and the middle variant (Standard G) made up 60-70%, with the range-topping variants (SE and Advance) making up the remainder. View the full spec breakdown and more info.

The P2 boss reiterated that the Axia is not a replacement for the Viva, being a “completely new model.”

“We will continue producing the Viva as long as there is demand for it. At the moment we are still exporting the Viva,” he said, adding that the variant that would most likely continue production for now is the 850.

lagi axia 1

As such, the 660 and 1.0 litre variants are expected to cease production at Perodua’s existing Sungai Choh, Rawang plant (not the new Perodua Global Manufacturing plant, which is where the Axia is built).

The PGM plant, located adjacent to the existing plant, is Malaysia’s first certified Energy Efficient Vehicle manufacturing facility, Perodua says.

Aminar also revealed that component-wise, the Axia is made up of 95% local content, with the remainder sourced from Japan and Indonesia.

Perodua aims to sell 30,000 units of the Axia this year alone. Assuming that deliveries will start right after its launch in September, that’s a sales target of around 10,000 units per month.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Enquiring minds would like to know just how Perodua will now price the 850 Viva given the specification and price annouced for the new Axia.

The basic Axia is now a much better car than the Viva 850. Me thinks the Viva 850 will only come in auto priced under 30K like the current Viva S, perhaps with a little discount thrown in. The Auto Axias are ridiculously priced.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • Pondana on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Proton Preve price RM90K in Jakarta Indonesia lagi lah ridiculously priced lagi bagus beli mobil Toyota Altis Honda Civic iya pak!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 33
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:17 pm

No..Rp285 million mean around RM76k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:14 am

Good one, in fact I doubt if Proton managed to sell 3500 Suprima S a year. They are so shy(or shame?) to disclose the sales figure.

Sales figure tell, it is all fact based.

Malaysian want cheap and reliable car, who cares if it is Malaysian designed or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
          • peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:01 pm

sales figure only valud for salesman
            we are customer.. we buy the car that suits our requirement..
            salesman force rakyat buy the car to feed them

prffthhh

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:51 am

Firstly 4G63 series is a dated technology engine built ~80s, HIGH FUEL CONSUMPTION, NO GREEN at all.

Let’s back to the topic, P2 was right:-

(1) viva660 is a very very niche market therefore it build upon PO received
      (2) Further reduction to 35k of viva elite able to clear stock before the soft launch of Axia
      (3) The lauch of viva s series 1Liter auto with 3yrs free service spiked the sales volume left no inventory
      (4) Viva 850 may left some inventories also uncountable ready built units available now, the super ultra low sales volume affected by viva s 1.0a priced 35k to 29k during stock clearance period.

So, its true p2 told that viva 850 production still available, BUT only until stock cleared then only will officially announce Viva-END OF LIFE.

• This is how they kill Proton always, and no pity for them because they should be launch the GSC much early and as usual they always late for everything – Marketing, design, ideas…etc.

• fast5 on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:24 pm

I was surprised by the Rakyat no the booking record.

• das auto on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:24 pm

I bet less than 1% bookings are for the 25k E spec. Though that is the only model that is worth the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:12 pm

dont u read 60-70% is E spec

• das auto on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:19 am

Article was edited to include the breakdow, Wasn’t there when i read earlier

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:10 am

Here is the market share:

(1) 13% : E @25k
          (2) 70% : G-auto @69% @35k | G-manual @1% @ 33k
          (3) 17% : both SE & AV @ 38k-45k

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:38 pm

For me the only model that makes sense is the base manual model at 25K.

In fact, at that price, I’m twiddling my thumbs now wondering if to book one. Its a basic car. Completely fine for city driving. Compared to the Viva 660 manual (which we have one) this seems to be a massive improvement at the same price.

• Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:59 am

Yeah u r right, anyhow… at the end… have u book the 25k version???

• rosli on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:23 am

if got auto, the sale will be more than 50%.

• koochai on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:28 pm

can someone please tell me how they quantify the “95% local content”? is it in term of value? number of parts?

• 1. Perodua New Engine Plant: Daihatsu Japan STandard:
      http://paultan.org/2014/05/29/perodua-to-build-new-engine-plant-in-sendayan/

2. Perodua New E-AT Gearbox Plant:
      http://paultan.org/2012/02/22/perodua-daihatsu-and-akashi-kikai-to-establish-automatic-transmission-manufacturing-plant-in-seremban/

3.Perodua New Assembly Plant:
      http://paultan.org/2012/12/27/perodua-to-build-new-rm790m-plant-in-rawang-adding-100000-units-to-annual-production-capacity/

All investment from Japan.
      now, Made in Malaysia, Japan Quality.
      Therefore, Perodua aXia = 5 years warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:56 pm

indonesia dah setahun produce this tak tak sembang kencang macam mslaysia… pity u

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • leoRNado on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Dulu Myvi pun dh produce setahun di Msia pun Indonesia sembang kencang mcm ni jgk.. sbb kat Indon xde lg Myvi.. Cuma persona jer Indon xnak sembang.. mobil jelek bilangnya. kualitas hanya untuk taksi bluebird aja deh :)

• kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:54 pm

number of parts made in boleh..

• Tong Kosong on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:54 pm

95% maybe include the engine – made in Rawang.

*Local content foreign design – good for Malaysian, generate internal economy.

Vs

*Local content with local choose design (actual they employ Italian firm) – generate more Rubbish.
      Car cannot sell. Shrink the ECONOMY. People SUFFER.

Sincerely- to PROTON please change THOSE SHAMELESS arrogant (fake) designer to Customer service center, so they can LEARN the REAL MARKET.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • It is a bitter fact of repeated reminder to proton by looking at the number of bookings by the consumer. I really hope this time with GSC, proton will give a firm confidence to the consumer in order for them to gain back the trust. IMHO

• OMG…good results…GOGOGO the figure, let tapau GSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
  • tokmoh (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:56 pm

> stop producing most viva variants
    > still deny axia replace viva

Dafuq?

• Desperado on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:03 pm

A desperate Proton later on surely give replacement deposit for every Axia booking cancelled just to get more Iriz sales. Loser!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:54 pm

see i told u
      proton haters= perodua owner who cant afford real JDM import car

prffthhhhhh

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:16 am

Rebadged Japanese car still better than Proton cars.

What Proton sells the most? Rebadged Saga, Iswara, Wira, but not Preve, Savvy or Suprima S.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:06 pm

only salesman like u concern on sales..
          as buyer n user… who caresss

• leoRNado on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:11 pm

I care!!.. buat apa beli keta x laku.. spare parts susah maa.. Aku dah sengsara masa ada savvy cap ayam dulu..

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:21 pm

ko hanya mampu level kelisa n savvy jee

org pki audi tak fikir psl sparepart

org sekarang fikir pasal safety

• Ray (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Just the way how the Viva wasn’t a complete replacement for the Kancil and Kelisa as claimed last time. But then…

• Proton hv much to learned from Perodua.. PROTON!!! zzzzz?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • Stupid tris.. Perodua must learn from proton.. Copy paste n just redesign the bumper of tin milo.. Go design for own model la..

• Medusa on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:47 pm

That means extra 3,500 and more vehicles into the ever jammed malaysian roads

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • NIssan Juke on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:13 pm

i believe you never been Jakarta..
      if you think that Malaysia road was jammed enough..
      get a chance to visit Jakarta.. will blow ur mind definitely once you taka a taxi in airport..

• NIssan Juke on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:11 pm

tipulah aminar ni..
    VIva dah completely stop dah..kat PMSB
    lagipun siape nak beli VIVA lagi.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:52 pm

aminar ni nsk menipu rakyat.. dia ingat rakyat bodoh n zero knowledge macam perodua user yg rata2 perempuan n makcik yg tak tau apa2

• klguy on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:34 pm

there is nothing highlight about safety on this car,

beware ,

• It has 4 Star ASEAN NCAP, and comes with 2 airbags for all models. SE and above gets ABS, EBD and Brake Assist.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:59 pm

This shows that Perodua is so much better than the Kimchis… the car itself is revolutionary with EEV which the Kimchis have never succeeded… Bravo to Malaysian carmaker, and big thumbs down to Kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • walaweh on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:50 pm

i think something wrong with the report. typo maybe. baseline (standard G), middle line (standard E).
    arent it supposed to be another way around, based line standard E, middle line standard G.

• axia or myvii on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Hi, Im confuse between myvi 1.3 or axia SE?. Pls give advise

• Either One on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:41 am

Prices are just about the same between Myvi XT 1.3 baseline model and Axia Advanced high spec model.

Choose Myvi for power & performance.
      Choose Axia for better equipment.

• Sure fake data.. People haven’t test drive but booking? Sure nobody will do so…sure will regret later.

• leoRNado on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:14 pm

booking doesnt mean you buy unless u put down deposit. Cron, u r new in this line aren’t u? Most of auto makers open booking prior lauching including Proton, Honda and Toyota.. Myvi last time got initial 5000 bookings.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:50 pm

old strategy… ni mesti kroni pakat2 beli

• Rakyat want quality car cheap on Aug 19, 2014 at 9:04 pm

CEO smiling , msian still crying..

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:17 am

The new Perodua owners at least smiling since they can get rid of Proton build quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:24 pm

twist story to proton just to avoid rakyat talk about perodua???

old techtique laa

• pirlo on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:06 pm

butthurt kenapa? apsal nak petik nama proton dalam konteks ni? tak faham.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:03 pm

agree with you… if they confident with aziah… no need to condemn other..

• Albert lee on Aug 19, 2014 at 9:47 pm

With this new compact lower end best seller,Perodua may end up selling 220-230,000 cars up to 31st Dec 2014.
    Proton must be pretty envious but no choice,the best man wins.
    Without touching the physical car,people are booking by the thousands within 1 week even before the official launch.
    No point talking about protong,as their GSC is no where to be seen yet.
    Perodua….we salute you (alto you are also under perlindungan)as you adapt faster to market conditions unlike Protong who is grossly underperforming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:28 pm

bash proton praise perodua doesnt show u as import car owner… we see u as perodua salesman n buyer who cant affird real japanese import car only

prfffhhhh

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:20 am

Import car owner doesn’t mean you are smarter. Perodua owners are practical.

If not the Proton and its tax protection, hardworking Malaysian can easily own a imported German cars (like those days before 1982).

Proton should start selling condom, coz PROTECTION always BEST!

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:39 am

You are right bro.. but they are too slow to understand. . Let them.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:50 am

rskyat smart oredi.. few years back,.. if u bash proton… ppl assume u as import car driver ( above rm150k)

but now.. rakyat noticed they are just UMW gomen crony salesman n drive perodua car

prfffthhhh

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:33 am

just to protect perodua 2nd national car compact car..
          we are forced to buy their unsafe car by increasing import compact car A n B segment..such as jazz, swift, polo
          then we are forced to buy croni malaysian perodua eith expensive price

yet we can get cheper price of daihatsu ayla indonesia made

but malaysia banned this indonesia made just to protect 2nd national car

• Aero (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:16 pm

Hey Perodua, if you can export your new baby Axia to all those poorer countries in Africa, South Asia, South America, Indochina and the Middle East in great numbers (start with 25,000 per year exported, 100,000 domestic), I will be happy to support you guys. Your export sales are terrible right now.

At the moment, I am only seeing Perodua as a crony company which only sucks the rakyat’s money thanks to the government’s tax advantage. Proton, at least, is doing the morally right thing by developing their own designs. Yes, Proton is not perfect, but they’re all original. Perodua is just a Daihatsu/Toyota-celup brand. When will you guys make your OWN car ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:42 am

Yep.. you forgot to add.. Proton making lost close or more than 1 billion dy.. last few months 800 millions lost..

Yeah2. . Good work. . Bagus punya kerja.. buatlah rugi byk2 lagi.. clap clap..R & D lah lagi..

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:18 pm

perodua making profit?? ever heard they announce it??
        just ask perodua staff accounting ppl… about 1.6bils incentive and they never make a profit since establish

why???high expenses on jaoanese n wxchange rate etc

• When doing so won’t incur massive losses, ala Proton. Why make a car from scratch when you can get proven engine and chassis from a proven brand? Also, Axia has a new body designed by Perodua and has better specs than the Indonesia variant.

• bacang on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:10 pm

axia has new body design?

pfftt *try to laugh

i involved in LPVV of P2 before.

• roxas on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:34 pm

i told u, it will flood malaysian road

• I think there is a typo. Base variant is E and middle variant is G. People prefer to get auto car nowadays

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:21 am

actually they didt meet sales target…. they expect more booking… but seems now ppl smart oredi
    cant simply conned by old tech timing chain and the car that oredi been produced in indonesia

they should worry niw how to convince daihatsu to stay with them

daihatsu oredi enjoying the business in indonesia
    they stay here because gomen use rakyat money to pay them..

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:21 am

When you mention “gomen use rakyat money to pay them”, you remind us of Proton begging for RM1.6bil.

Who is the true leech?

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:47 am

this is what perodua salesman try to hide
        received 1.6bils incentive from gomen.. than try to cover n twist the story point to proton story.. so that ppl will forget about perodua receiving 1.6bils incentive

rakyat smart oredi

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:43 am

Some people talk kork here.. people will buy anyway.. many prefer not to talk kork..

They just go & buy what they need.. A transportation. .

Baru teaser sudah book 3500++..

GSC macam mana? X bole kira dy teaser GSC.. x berani open for booking pon… Hahaha. . Puiiii…

• Perodua.
    Put a monkey as a CEO, they can still make money.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:14 pm

they never make any profit laaa… have u seen them announce annual profit n loss??
      that why daihatsu choose indonesia as asean hub for compact car…

• leoRNado on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:18 pm

ya right.. rather than pun a man but act like a monkey.. end up no sales

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:15 pm

sales again?? we r customer n not salesman.. who cares

hahaha
        prffthhhh

later ur car accident n u got major injury due to lack of safety .. then u ask
        yourself.. my car good sales…

prffthhhh

• Michael Looi on Aug 21, 2014 at 2:16 am

Stupid….Why P2 and Proton keep on making so much of new car model to sell in Malaysia ? What about those used car ? It’s heavy traffic jam in Malaysia already….Government should building more convenience public transportation such as MRT, KTM Computer, Bullet Train & etc to make Malaysia environmental. Another problem, it will cause peoples working for bank in whole life because payment car loan can make more household commitment. That’s why Malaysian are majority poor without money in their pocket as we called in chinese – MOON LIGHT PEOPLES. If the nation is smart enough, they wouldn’t invest into car because it’s a depreciated assets rather than invest money into appreciated assets such as property, shares market, unit trust, bank fixed deposits, bonds & etc for future reserves. Also Malaysia government is stupid government in the world to practice two different kind of policy which is stopping the peoples getting loan to buy property for investment because they are try to reduce household commitment, but on the other hand, promoting and approve car loan to those applicant to buy new car or used car. Shit !!! Useless government….Our nation car (Proton and P2) can’t sell to develop countries such as Australia, USA, France, Korea, Japan, Germany but it only can sell to developing countries such as South East Asia countries…Compare to Hyundai and KIA, their production of car is higher than our nation car. Hyundai is the best car in USA and in some develop countries..The years of building for Hyundai in Korea are similarly to Proton. What the hell of Proton and P2 doing right now ? So, don’t said “Malaysia Boleh” …It’s embarrass to show other country…How’s Malaysia to become develop country for “Vision 2020” ? Stupid government !!!! Don’t know how to manage the country at all…..

• whatever on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:00 pm

We r government. We choose our on government. That mean u r stupid. Jgn komen macam tak ada akhlak dan maruah. Bagi cadangan untuk majukan kereta tempatan. Jangan kutuk aje. Utarakan kebijaksanaan anda. Jdkan proton & Pro2 maju dan hebat seperti kereta lain. Ambil alih pucuk pucuk pimpinannya kalau anda sangat-sangat hebat. Kalau hebat nak kutuk aje semua org boleh termasuk budak darjah satu….pun boleh buat macam tu. Komen anda sepatutnya lebih awal dari tahun 1985 sebelum proton lancarkan kereta pertamanya. Jgn jd rumah siap pahat berbunyi or umpama tikus membaiki labu.

• Sani bin Abdullah on Sep 15, 2014 at 7:17 pm

21km per litre is not great. Prius C 1.5 cc Auto easily gives 21.7 km/litre for town driving and upto to 24 km/litre for highway driving.