Perodua Axia – first official pic of Standard face

perodua-axia-standard-green copy

We’ve seen the face (and rear end) belonging to the SE- and Advance-spec Perodua Axia; now it’s time for the face belonging to the Standard E and G – these two being the most affordable variants, including the base RM24,900 model. As you can see, there’s quite a big difference between the Axia’s two “faces”.

Seen in full view here are the standard E and G model’s shapely front bumper – sans fog lamps – and reflector headlamps. In place of the gaping trapezoidal grille on the more expensive SE and Advance variants, there are two separate openings, with a wide horizontal element housing the number plate holder. There’s also no chrome “wing” across the upper grille.

For full information on the soon-to-be-released A-segment hatchback – specs, equipment and tentative prices included – refer to our comprehensive Perodua Axia infohub.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• nyayanya on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:29 pm

ahhh so adorable and cute…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 25
    • Pengguna Bijak on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Jom kita ramai-ramai booking Axia jimat minyak 20 km per Liter!

Biarkan Proton tidur dengan mimpi-mimpi global nya! Huhuhuhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 91
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Proton fanboys will ask you “get out of Malaysia”. But doesn’t matter, sales figure will tell.

Cheap and reliable, for transportation purpose, ppl still choose Perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 55
        • Low Budget on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Thought of getting the Saga SV, but what the heck, the 20 KM/L F.C. and intended for urban use made me somehow booked the Axia G model last Saturday, hope to get it by end September. Sorry lah Proton, my past unpleasant experience with 3 Proton cars made me choose Perodua again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 34
          • Foreman on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Fugly car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 23
          • Sam Loo Sucks on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Money or life? Saga is definitely safer than this tiny tin can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 21
          • kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Axia look quite gud..much better than ayla face.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:22 am

How many star does Saga BLM has? How many star does Saga FLX has?

How many does Myvi has?

Go search yourself, no need syok sendiri. Everything is fact based!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Proton fanboys only ask chauvinist like Same Lorr to “get out Malaysia”..No point to blame people who work hard to develop and patriotic to our country..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:26 am

Work hard to beg for tax payers’ money or develop our country? Please make it clear. lol

If you call the noisy, fuel hunger and powerless Proton engines the fruit of development? it is not patriotic, it is pathetic!

Even Proton senior management are not using Proton, you can keep on syok sendiri, go on!

• it doesn’t matter how HIGH-END proton’s compact car.. They(Proton) ain’t know nothing bout compact cars.. I’ve seen the hints of proton compact but it was too much similar to Myvi’s.. gotcha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Albert Lee on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:32 pm

YA,pengguna bijak, Protong sudah tidur cukup cukup dengan memeluk khayalan yang bererti “perlindungan tanpa had” selama 25 tahun.
        Bila kita puji Perodua,Proton fanboys marah.KMZ marah.Miti marah.Semua hardcore Proton addicts marah.
        Marilah kita pergi beramai-ramai ke Perodua tanpa halangan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 39
        • bahaya beli perodua,safety kureng,

• peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 10:19 pm

perodua no protection??? hahaha
          just yo protect perodua… indonesian priduced daihatsu cars cant enter malaysia market… indonesian made alyla sold over asean market excrpt mslaydia

• peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:58 pm

sapa mau mati cepat… keta tarak safety

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:27 am

Fact is simple: Proton so far have the most car owners killed on the road in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:19 am

Same Loo kaki kencing..Don’t ‘pee’ing people in Paultan laa..Honest and people with brain know that Preve/Suprima are few of the safest in Msia..

• peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 9:09 pm

got same perodua fanboy said

to buy axia is to kill proton

then rakyat answer

to buy axia is to kill yourself due to no safety features

prffthhhhh

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:43 am

The car itself won’t kill you, it is your driving style kill you.

But at the middle of the road car suddenly break down (typical Proton drama lar!), it could kill you.

• OMG…Seem like this car will launch faster than the P1 GSC…Let tapau the GSC (Gana Sai Car) lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:45 am

Before launch already kena tapau… You only see this on our almight Proton.

But who cares? They are asking RM1.6bil from government.

Got ppl buy their car or not, their car good quality or not, they still rich.

For a car maker to survive in the market, generations of Malaysian have to suffer.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:00 pm

Ah Beng can not wait for the new PROTON..it’s gonna be the hottest hatch this year!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:29 am

If you can’t wait, don’t wait lar! No one force you to wait…

What does Proton launch as promised? Emas? Exora/Saga hybrid? Accord perdana? GSC?

You should go GSC buy more movie tickets while waiting for the GSC.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:16 pm

PROTON cars are safer than Nissan, Toyota and Perodua cars..I see a lot Almera and Vios skidding at corners nowadays..I see many died in Myvi/Viva when severe accident crash..But today I see in many accident involving Preve/Suprima, the victims are safe. Why? Because of the safety improvement that PROTON did for the past few years. I bet this new hatch, GSC will follow the safety standard as seen in internet tested at MIROS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
      • Low Budget on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:36 pm

I think you were high on drugs when you saw those incidents/accidents that you mentioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:30 am

Typical Proton 5S lifesytle:

1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Semakin Mahal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:30 pm

safer car does not mean u will be safe..u still end-up outside ur car if u dont use seatbelt.

• In term of handling.. my ex persona better than my current altis 1.8e 10.5 edition. Especially when taking corner.
        Agreed with sam loo in term of handling.
        my city 2013 edition (e spec) worst in term of handling. Cruising 120km/hour will fell ‘ I can fly” especially when passing big lorry or busses..

But altis n city win in others factors such as fuel consumption and services cost at service center.

• hurmmm on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Yeah proton better in those old model interm of handling becoz

Proton persona use double wish bone rear suspension in contrast with altis using a Torsion Beam( the same as myvi, city , vios )

But it not true with the new model that using Torsion beam to coz saving.
          If you want a good handling car then take.
          1. The best is Mazda 3 ( multi link )
          2. Civic FD ( double wishbone )
          3. Inspira.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:25 pm

GSC features:
      – DRL
      – EPS
      – new NFE engine VVT intake manifold
      – CVT2+
      – Electronic Service Reminder
      – ABCM
      – RESS body
      – 5 star ANCAP
      – R&H: ABS, EBD, TCS, ESC, HBA & HHA..hehe

Axia got kaa?? GSC will definitely got price slightly higher than Axia but comes with better value and quality to users..Axia will never be comparable with GSC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 10
      • Have you see people eat IKAN MASIN+NASI and damn still happy with it? haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • policeman on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:17 pm

This is Perodua’s answer to overpopulation in this country. The Perdoua Population Control.

Key points considered when designing the car:

1. Make sure structure is weak.
      2. Make sure rear uses drum brakes and make sure the front discs warp easily.
      3. Make sure risk of fire is high during minor collision.
      4. Make sure the car skids around corners and has ability to turn turtle easily.
      5. make it cheap, target the gullible, wipe them out.

• kcng (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:32 pm

The face of road fatalities

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 40
    • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:03 pm

You ve statistics for that or talk kork?

Definitely korkman you.. from what I know the highest statistics from motorcyclists. . Due to buying high FC cars (for instance Neo, Sperma S, Exora etc).. so ve to ride kachais to work..

This Axia is 100X safer than a motorcycle. . & guess what.. if you are riding bikes.. & this car ram on you.. you ll be dead.. want to try?

So if you are expecting fatalities on the road.. hopefully the fatalities is you. How’s that? Axia may ram on you.. feel great now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 47
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:05 pm

hahahaha..Axia safer ka Motorhead??
        How much Axia got for NCAP?? Don’t talk Australasian or Europe la..How much for ASEAN ANCAP??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • VIRUMANDI on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Brother the matter safety measure here refer to riding a bike or a low budget car. pls do get the question well first. If u r a frequent traveller with good budget then u can consider some other cars. Even proton.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Yep.. this guy an idiot. . I said 100x safer than a bike.. & Axia is cheaper than some above 250cc bikes..

Great present for those sons & daughters going to college. .

20km/L..Amazing. . 30K alternative to Mirage.

• good choice on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Axia is for low budget people. Choice of using bikes or axia, it is much more safe and comfort. Good work from P2

• agree with you.. Fatalities is bout drivers and here’s the question “I buy Preve and drive it madly fast like Ferrari(sort of haha..)”

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:35 am

That is the Proton marketing mindset, look that their slogan “smart ppl get it”. Those who don’t buy Proton are stupid??

Other than smoke this smoke that, 120km/h cornering, they have NOTHING SHIT to promote their car.

The Proton fanboys imagine they are on McLaren P1 while they are driving Saga/Persona. Those who can afford Preve/Suprima S, have a clearer mind and go for Toyota/Honda/Kia/Ford. Because they know with Proton, they maybe safe with airbags, but their wallet definitely no safe with Proton build quality.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:07 pm

The face of Proton fatalities instead.

One simple fact: So far Proton has the most owners killed on the road compared to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 53
    • Danny Chan on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:14 pm

dun worry, it’s 4star NCAP rating..short-wheel-base performance mini hatch from japan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 20
      • azrai on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Are you sure it is from Japan just like Malaysian think their Vios, Avanza, Innova, Livina also come from Japan? Make a quick research on internet. You know where they are actually coming from.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • thefact on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:03 pm

hahhaaha…its actually a low cost car specially made for indonesian market… if its a japanese as u say..y not sold elsewhere in first world countries?

• Proton has been living without airbag plus milo tin body for decades. Now baru berjinak with ABS talk big.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 37
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:12 pm

PROTON cars are safer than Nissan, Toyota and Perodua cars..I see a lot Almera and Vios skidding at corners nowadays..I see many died in Myvi/Viva when severe accident crash..But today I see in many accident involving Preve/Suprima, the victims are safe. Why? Because of the safety improvement that PROTON did for the past few years. I bet this new hatch, GSC will follow the safety standard as seen in internet tested at MIROS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
        • You see accident everyday? Today alone you see so many accidents on one particular brand?
          Dude, nak kelentong pun agak-agak la.

• qwerty on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:35 pm

So the Myvi SE face has become the family face(signature design) for Perodua?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • greatgatsby on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:46 pm

This is not categorised as a car but a joke

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 29
    • Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:08 pm

If you referring to the centuries-yet-to-launch GSC, yes maybe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 37
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Same Lorrr syok sendiri laaa..
        Brainless and blindly talk without thinking!
        Go improve your Toyoltak cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Joke only to you, but thousands will be on Malaysian roads soon after thousands of them on Indonesian roads.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:27 pm

this not a joke..a lot of people prefer small hatch for city drive coz more convenient than a sedan…if p2 get those safety feature standard it will be perfect.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Totally different now.. but still close to its brother Myvi. Suprising..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • areos on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:00 pm

FUYO…MACAM KETE CAP AYAM JE..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
  • Duncan Lim on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:00 pm

So pikachu feel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • At lease some light/hope for the low income group

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • brazbuz on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Awkward face… At least for me…. Each of us have diff taste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Low Budget on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:12 pm

How the face look is not important, the body is more important than the face, don’t believe? Go ask any men.

• shryzl on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:16 pm

eh i thought axia is an a-segment car?

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:28 pm

GSC features:
      – DRL
      – EPS
      – CVT2+
      – ABCM
      – RESS body
      – 5 star ANCAP

Axia got kaa?? GSC will definitely got price slightly higher than Axia but comes with better value and quality to users..Axia will never be comparable with GSC!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:38 am

You really good in copy and paste!

With more ppl like you in Proton, it is why Proton never have good cars. In fact, they sold the best with their rebadged car (Saga, Iswara, Wira, Perdana)

• kzm (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:35 am

u oso gud with copy and paste..dont just pointing finger to others

• Ray (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Perodua’s starting to unify all their designs and that’s pretty good. I’d take this over the SE anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Jaybond on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Yuks..those strange lamp cut outs..too much black plastic in front..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • not bad, thumb up!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • mim (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:45 pm

If the E/G version have SE’s ABS+EBD+BA, i’ll consider to get one. Not many ppl gonna like the SE gaping mouth.

It’s just a brake module la Perodua. Make it standard.

• Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:28 pm

GSC features:
      – DRL
      – EPS
      – CVT2+
      – ABCM
      – RESS body
      – 5 star ANCAP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 9:49 pm

CVT??? yessss
        een axia version in japan using CVT n they dumb old tech to asean ppl

• lazyf on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Easy.

Get the SE/Advanced version.

Later change the rear/front bumper of E/G spec.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:47 pm

well at least it is safer than ayla n viva..

• azrai on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Something wrong with the headlight. Look like it is chopped from the Myvi’s.

• SE look more sporty, this base model face not bad too

• rosli on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Why, there is no automatic for E version ?.
    Why is to much price diferrence between (A) E version compared (A) G version, ie. RM9,900?

• dugong (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:38 pm

That is the scam by p2 all these decades. 25k model is only a marketing gimmick ( tho its the best deal IMO). When you go to the showroom. The salesman will ridicule and belittle you if you buy that model. They will say this model only bangla worker use and will up-sell you the SE spec onwards only.

• Low Budget on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:44 pm

E version is only a bait and to show that their cars are reasonably priced, however they knew that most people now a days go for the Auto version and this is where their main profit comes from. By right they should produce Auto version of E variant for around RM29.9K.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:30 pm

The friendly look doesn’t help mask the lack of safety features, and the bare spec list that has even caused Perodua to list a tissue box holder and coin holders as a “feature” for this model.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Pretty decent. Be prepared to see quite a lot of these cars, though I think the other face will be the more common one. With the front air intakes having so many gaps, I guess they won’t have to worry about cooling.

• rosli on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Why, there is no automatic for E version ?.
    Why is to much price diferrence between (M) E(RM24,900) version compared (A) G version(RM34,800), ie. RM9,900?

• ..at least those with not so deep pocket will have an option..

• totti on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:53 pm

They make the poor rakyat/or anty/ah soh got no choice to buy the RM 35K auto.

Unlike korea, the provide the best quality in safety and cheap car for their citizen with sonata selling at RM 80K

• kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:11 pm

dont la compare axia with sonata bro different segment

• kusochon on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:57 pm

good. much much better than the unnecessarily aggresive ah beng SE face.

• Muhd.Israfil on Aug 19, 2014 at 5:08 pm

I can see some foolish barbarian fighting each other. Just be proud as Malaysians in general. There are many countries that aren’t even producing a single car of their own. Wake up, be grateful.

• hurmmm on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:35 pm

we will be more then grateful if there is no proton..why??
      Imagine Honda Civic 2.0 at 60K(pesona price), City at 40K(MYvi/viva/saga)
      ssuzuki swift at 25k(Axia low spec)
      even VW Passat at 90K(inspira)

• as long as the drivers dont drive it like complete psychos im cool with it.

but looking at its construction i dont think anyone should drive it faster than 90kmh unless they have nothing to live for in this world

• As always, when it comes to local products, we are never grateful. It’s never good – here and there comments. Yes, wake up!

• well at least there is an alternative for the low income family. they can send their children to school or balik kampung.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:41 pm

alternative for sent children to skool ok but not balik kampung

• peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 10:12 pm

if you love ur children wife n family.. you wont let them drive unsafe car right

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:39 am

If you love your money, you won’t let them drive Proton too with its awesome build quality.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:47 pm

money u can earn… life??? no 2nd chance

• cik siti on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Very cute…. I like it!!

• cik siti on Aug 19, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Btw this car good for our road..try to be positive..what we can see..how many people on the road having big car but only one people inside..?? For me this is one of solution to reduce traffic jem…and its cheap too.. Good job produa… I always with u..hehe

• Celicazz on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Heard that perodua is now more japanese infested than ever before…

Greedy japanese are displacing locals.

They can’t do business in their hometown anymore due to kei car incentives are stopping, so they’re ripping off malaysians.

• KerandaRoda on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Ain’t no car…. but a coffin on 4 wheels

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Those want a rigid car.. feel completely safe. . Secured. . Please buy a Hummer.. this car is not for you…

Please don’t buy it.. go away & stay away.. go buy Suprima S….

• peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 9:01 pm

no need hummer… just buy th car equip with more than 4 airbags

what??? petodua doesnt hv thT?

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:40 am

You maybe safe with Suprima S airbags and VSC, but your wallet definitely not safe with its build quality.

They can’t even make the power window right, what do you expect of their airbags?

• peyno (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:25 pm

coz u only afford old waja, gen2 n wira… not like new generation n younger ppl can adford preve n suprima

newayas airbags all made by outsider… there is no touota airbags, nissan airbags etc… alll manufacturer purchase n install airbags frim supplier

• peyno (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 8:59 pm

this car no DRL??? only 2 airbags???
    we love our family
    safet first

bye bye un safe car

prffthhhh

• roxas on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:37 am

erm the headlamp looks incomplete, looks like suddenly being chop off

• hafizan89 on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:53 am

This car is launching earlier than the p1 GSC because of only 1 reason.
    It’s a rebadge.
    It’s easier to rebadge than to develop a brand new car. Heck it probably took p2 a quarter of the time to make than the p1 GSC.