Toyota Camry facelift – international version teased!

toyota-camry-facelift-moscow-edited

International-market XV50 Toyota Camry facelift

Toyota has teased the facelifted international-market Camry ahead of the popular D-segment sedan’s debut at the Moscow motor show later this month. Those look like new headlamps with DRLs in them. We can’t see the grille very clearly but there should be some changes on that front.

We expect it to be more conservatively styled than the very sporty-looking US-market Toyota Camry facelift (below). As there are really only two main Camry versions available worldwide, the one in the picture above is the one we should be interested in, since Russia’s pre-facelift Camry is identical to ours.

2015_Toyota_Camry_055

US-market XV50 Toyota Camry facelift

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• MY GOD! on Aug 19, 2014 at 10:57 am

OMGGGGGGG!!!! just look at this masterpiece! cant waittttt!!! cant contain my excitement!! UMW release it this instance!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 63
    • OMG…Now only got DRL headlamp…puih…lol.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 11
      • Where is Najib's Promise? on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:58 am

This 2.5 Camry car is only US$22,000. For that, you get CBU quality with 9 airbags. You get so much of safety spec like tire monitoring system etc.

In Malaysia, we get the lower quality CKD 80% Made in Malaysia car for RM180,000.

Where is Najib’s promise? He promised us more than 1 year ago that he would bring down car prices to match PKR’s offer of reducing car prices.

Najib, in his own words, assured and promised people and voters that if we voted for him, he would bring down car prices up to 30%.

He assured people and car buyers that BN always kept their word and never went against their word.

Now, one year plus have gone by, car prices have gone up infact. Not only prices have gone up, specs have also remained the same or come down. The Camry in Malaysia still has a mere 2 airbags.

This car is US$22,000. At this price, the US Toyota dealership already has made their profit and margin. At this price also, the US distributorship Toyota USA would have already paid the US Government taxes and duties on this car. So, we can assume that, if the US dealership is already making a margin on this car, the US Toyota distributorship is getting this car much cheaper directly from its Principal in Japan. In all probability, the US Toyota Distributorship gets this Camry for about US$14,000 to US$15,000. (Rm45,000)

That is the same price UMW (crony company of BN) gets this car because UMW is the official country distributor for Toyota and Toyota Principal Japan will give UMW at country distributor price.

So, this car is less than US$15,000 when it arrives in Port Klang.

Our cars are CKD, so, the price goes even lower than that. Maybe US$10,000 to US$12,000 because it is Made In Malaysia and using Malaysian parts.

In all probability, the Camry only cost UMW RM30,000 to aseemble and build. But UMW sells for RM180,000.

This is what happens when government owns the distributorship company, in this sense, UMW and Toyota.

Why should the government bother reducing their profits and honouring their PM’s promise to reduce car prices?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 129 Thumb down 14
        • mohsin on Aug 19, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Aiyoh!
          You should blame UMW la for greedy aka blodd sucking profit margin. Vios also should be around USD 5,000 only.
          p/s: even Sam Loo not condemn on people.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 17
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Does VW sell cheaper here than it is in Germany? No!

Does Ford sell cheaper here than it is in US? No!

Does Greatwall sell cheaper here than it is in China? No!

High price is because protection for Proton.

Maybe Proton would make more profit selling condom than cars, because PROTECTION always BEST!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 11
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:47 pm

If you don’t buy Toyota, Toyota won’t beg government for money. And Toyota don’t force you to buy their car with high tax on Honda/Mazda/Nissan.

When you said blood sucking, you remind us of a local company. It keep on sucking money, it is either the car owners pay or the tax payers pay.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
          • hangout on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Look at Thai price, Accord 2.4 highest variant is 1,799,000 บาท or MYR179,900

Wanna compare with developed country like USA? Puhleeaaasseeee

• Hopefully you can work part/full time with MITI & etc.. so you can brief us why our price is higher than US…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
        • One more could pleased give us how much Camry in Thailand? Should it be same as US or same as our…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • kzm (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:13 am

Even in brunei u can’t get those price let alone rest of ASEAN countries

• Thailand is the best example cause, most Toyota Car made over there from beginning to finish/end.. Toyota not just assembly but all engine, chassis, body parts & etc made in Thailand.. So it is a good example to compare selling price between US vs Thailand vs Malaysia… Even Camry made in Thailand the selling price in Thailand also very similar with our price… Why always use US? Even though we know Toyota Factory locate at Thailand..

• Pre-facelifted Camry US already got DRL.

it’s not much useful in Malaysia anyway.
        Malaysia is Sunny Bright.

oversea has 4season, not always got nice Sun Shine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • Vader (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:07 pm

It already call daytime running light and it is purposely open during day time..
          So it is not a concern whether the country having 4 seasons, sun shine, sun shade and bla bla bla.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • kington on Aug 19, 2014 at 12:20 pm

DRL really does matter to you?

• Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:49 pm

It is a syok sendiri thing. Like the Wira/Iswara/Waja/Satria driver install a loud exhaust pipe, and the noise will make they start imagining they are driving GTR.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:37 am

i do like US version more muscular.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • blvcktint on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:53 am

I just dont really get it when it comes to US version will get different design, european continent another design, asian continent with another design. What with all these fuss? why dont they follow the footsteps like other european car maker like bmw audi and so on in their marketing strategies, around the globe will have the same design. It is a bit unfair when the US market get the all the awesome design..sigh

• shame_Loo on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:49 am

From Ah Beng to Ah Peng….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo Ori on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Yes you are absolutely right! It looks like a million bucks compared to those cheap conti cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 10:58 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 160
    • Toyota Salesman DESPERATE DESPERATE DESPERATE on Aug 19, 2014 at 12:04 pm

You are wrong. Now Toyota salesman all crying. Toyota RV now stinks. Buyers are no more buying Toyota. 2013 August Camry 2.4 now selling for RM130k, down from RM180k.

Just 11 months, the car can drop RM50,000. That is a record!

2013 Camry 2.0 also now selling for RM105,000. My relative just bought one. No accident at all.

So who says Toyota has good RV?

Maybe last time lah Same Lor. No more. Public already aware how UMW have been cheating the consumers in Malaysia

One year already Altis has been launched, can you see the 2014 Altis on the road?

Trust your eyes. Your eyes don’t lie. We see a lot of older Altis on the road but can never see the 2014 Altis on the road.

If one year has passed, surely there will be a lot of Altis on the road. But I see every corner Hyundai Elantra on the raod. Consumers know, for about RM85k, you can get an Elantra with VSC and the car is bigger than the Altis which cost RM139 for the version with VSC.

As for Vios. Vios is dead. Completely wiped out by Honda City. No need to justify here. Everybody also admit, City wiped Altis out.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 10
      • Gargantia on Aug 19, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Toyata were a highly realible success in most economic/advance country.
        Why the sale were badly affected in m’sia?

Solely to blame is UMW and unlogical high excise duty and taxes on car vehicles.

Hope Japan Toyota will visit UMW to “TEACH” them how to do on automotive bussiness and marketing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:29 pm

If you live in area with a lot of Mercedes and BMW, means you are rich, good for you. If you live in area with more Perodua, no problem also. Means your neighbors are practical.

My sales still good, ppl still wait long for Vios/Altis/Camry. Some customer even cancel Civic/Accord bookings for our cars.

I do admit City also quite good, good specs. Ppl are happy with sushi cars after all.

Toyota never cheat you. We never announce any models that 10 more years also we won’t launch like GSC/Proton Hybrid. We didn’t rebadge a model and tell you “smart ppl get it”. You don’t buy you are stupid??? Everything black and white clearly stated on the specs. No VSC for Vios means no VSC. That’s why Toyota owners are turning back for Toyota new cars again and again. THEY GET WHAT THEY EXPECTED.

You don’t buy Toyota, you don’t have to get out of Malaysia/Japan. We respect your choice and we wish everyone get a good ride.

At last, with Toyota, you don’t need to print 3 pages long of self QC checklist when you receiving our new car. Toyota’s build quality is guaranteed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 34
      • Jinyiwei on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Dei, u dun say like tt u know.. in-Same-L0rr cannot take it, he always in self-denial mode.

He will challenge u from when to when new Altis was launch to compare? Prove where u can get Camly at RM105k? U must work hard & dun be keyboard warrior here & that is WHY U DRIVE A PROTON!! Tow trucks waiting for u lar.. Hell lot of accusation..

But u know, I know the fact that more Hyundai Elantra than new Altis. (Btw new Altis looks horrible, rear spoiler lagi sueh.)

More new City on the road. New City is like outbreak on the road. Way-to-go Honda!!

• Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:35 pm

City vs Vios, they have their pro and cons. Vios has less airbags and no VSC but City has no rear disc brakes and reverse camera.

New Vios, City and Almera are equally plenty on the road. It show ppl still prefer sushi cars after all.

Kimchi cars also ok, you get more specs with lower price, but mind about the spare parts, build quality and RV.

Perodua is cheap and practical. RM25 car to get fuel consumption of 22km/l, where else to get?

Proton… hahaha… the name has spoken of itself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
      • Marcel Salcedo on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:36 pm

last time they said KIA and Hyundai got the worst RV but now it seems that Toyota is the worst LOL. tu la jangan banyak cakap sama oranga lain skrg sudah kena batang hidung sndiri tak brani cakap woooo :P

• luqae on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:27 pm

again sorry ur facts are wrong, all decision in Toyota malaysia pricing and spec are determined by Tmap singapore and approved by TMC Japan and UMW have no say in Toyota and just go along with the ride. dont comment on something you dont know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Toyota pricing need MITI approval also. Without the NAP and protection for Proton, you think Toyota can’t sell as cheap as Proton???

Altis is for taxi in Bangkok, dude.

For a brand to survive in the market, generations of Malaysian have to suffer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • Suffer what? Current Altis engine cannot beat 205nm torque of campro turbo / CFE. More relaxing drive, more power to ferry a family. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • 4G63T DSM on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:46 pm

…. same with the Honda salesman that tried to extol the virtues of a high RV japanese car, until I asked her how much is the trade in value of our Accord 2.0 kosong spec.

She sheepishly then tried to shift focus to KIA, and i then told her, i’m aware that newer KIAs are holding on to its value much better than expected. :p…then strange silence followed.

They are still thinking of blindsiding buyers with RV crap..but in reality, the difference is only 5-10% at most for the same class of car depending on its condition.

Do a search between a Honda Accord 2.0, Camry 2.0 and a Kia Optima 2.0 and they are all within a few thousand of each other, not forgetting the Kia started off a few K cheaper and has a lot more equipment to start off with compared to the 2 “kosong” spec japanese.

The stigma of high depreciation Koreans started out from their practice of bringing higher priced CBU units, then offering massive drops when CKD units started selling. That was the biggest cause of high depreciation. A lesson painfully learnt. Even Green Oranges prices their CBU Haval M4 at the same price as the would be CKD units, like the first batch of CBU (ahem SKD) Forte before it.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:27 pm

I think the toyo salesman busy on create story to convince the customer buy so call reliable but outdated technologies on those UMW Toyota models! lol!

• Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:40 pm

There are advance technologies in Toyota like HSD, CVT, PSD etc.

I feel sorry if you can’t afford them. Please work harder, I can give you good discount.

Old or new technologies, Toyota is reliable. This is fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
        • Samuel Tong on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:23 pm

HSD, CVT, PSD are advance technologies?
          LOL.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:54 am

Oh, you are mentioning the forever break-down power window solely proprietary of Proton advance technologies? And the “today-break-down-this, tomorrow-break-down-that” aka “Full Random Break Down Sequence” (FRBDS)Proton cutting edge features?

Sorry that one Toyota really don’t have these.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Better buy a 15 month old Elantra. RM35k-RM40k only

• US ppl have better taste.

• Sam Loo Ori on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Behold…the Ultimate pinnacle in Beauty, Class, Status and Style. This is the dream car that few can achieve. Work hard and one day you will be able to afford a Toyota Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
  • forest the tree on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:05 am

this is definitely not for Malaysia market…

• qwerty on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:13 am

Looks rather promising.

Anyway, we won’t get all the goodies here in Malaysia. All because of UMW, not because the “real” Toyota is doing really bad.

I pray so hard that Toyota in Japan will stop all dealership deals with UMW and get a new, and better distributor. Look at the Taiwanese dealer, they’re damn good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Gargantia on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:41 am

Can’t agree more, best way to describe UMW Toyota.
      Japan Toyota = moving forward, UMW Toyota = moving backward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • Toyota should come into Malaysia as principal, just like Merc, BMW, VW, Audi!

• luqae on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Im sorry you are wrong all models,price and specification are decided by TMAP Singapore. UMW have no say in anything regarding Toyota models, price or spec. Get your facts right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • final on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:16 am

Toyota camry indeed a nice car to drive. Middle class working people affordable.

lower class people again will praise their perodua and proton as best car in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
    • Matsumoto on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:48 am

Stupid working people take more loan to buy expensive car and end up eating maggi everyday
      Smart working people take less loan to buy less expensive car and spend the rest to invest or buy better property

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • There are many PROTON PERDANA users that are chauffeur driven. Open your eyes. Lu macam katak bawah tempurung ma!

• I bought a Proton.. Why? Because after Ive done a survey on variety of car brands here in Malaysia, the quality and realibility is not that far from Proton.. Proton got rattle sound? Even the new Honda Accord got rattle sound here and there after just a month been driven on road.. The new Altis sound proofing is terrible.. KIA products a lot more terrible with rattling sound everyware, too many complains.. At least Proton is cheaper, service centre everywhere and I can put down more than half the price of the car for downpayment because of the price is cheap to enjoy cheaper monthly installments for 5 years..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
      • Gargantia on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Proton is not cheap, if were excise duty not implanted on CBU cars.
        Proton will be selling way way cheaper price compare to current standard. With more built quality, reliable fuel-efficiency engine and
        not the half-cutted(mitsubishi) Campro.

• Ray (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:18 am

I really hope they’re going to make a decent car now, just like what they did with the US market Camry.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:19 am

Any estimates as to how long does it takes to get here…?

• UMW knows their sales are badly affected with the present slow moving Camry sales. Who is the right frame of mind would buy that car! Some heads should roll at umw.

• The segment loser trying desperately to make a swing back. Why screwed up in the first place if you could do something like this? Isn’t now a little too late?

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:31 am

Is about time Mr. Toyoda, stop making Toyota look so “cheap” & neglect safety features!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • qwerty on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Oh, wrong wrong wrong! This has nothing to do with Toyoda. Toyoda, and the whole Toyota Corporation are making good cars with good value, comfort and safety features.

It’s UMW to blame. Greedy businessmen running the business over there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Anti-Fuel-Price on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:00 am

He is the BOSS, if UMW (Toyota servant) only, did shit on his company cars, he should have step in & say “looks UMW dickies, I am Toyota boss & if u all screw up my cars & provide spec worst than other makes” GET your A** Out here.
        In what way that is not related to him? In any organization, anything before “down” department decides MUST get approval from Parent company first. In the first place why did Toyota release so fast facelift Camry? Maybe because other makes such as Accord, Teana, Kia, Hyundai are beefing up their design & appeal to any age, which is why Toyota fast realize BEFORE is TOO late.

• dingo on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:06 am

The Camry has been on the market for 3 years, and it’s a good timing for a facelift. Not fast because of weak product.

• truth_untold on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Totally agree with qwerty! Look at other markets, say the USA; their Camry still sold 400k+ units last year, even in such a competitive market.

The reason is simple. Their Camry is priced reasonably, well-equipped (both safety and comfort), and lots of incentive given. Theirs have 9 airbags if not mistaken! God damn it!

Look at ours! 4AT + 2 airbags and no VSC+TRC in a 150k car. Who’s to blame? UMW for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Joker on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:44 am

Plz remove UMW as ur distributor… They sux…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • UMW Toyota Service is No.1 in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
      • Gargantia on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Maybe you’re right, but is heavy expensive.
        Even the same item their charge more. To the customer due to they’re UMW?

Same is mean genuine parts and OEM parts were selling more expensive compare others.

• Tamiya (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:46 am

That looks like a honda city previous version front light lol

• nice car design. but whats the point if only using 4 speed auto gearbox plus dual airbags?

• azraff on Aug 19, 2014 at 11:55 am

I like most is the grill..i can keep live chicken in it… :P

• kenot on Aug 19, 2014 at 12:04 pm

overprice car for decent spec…hope the FL could be better spec for our market.

• Stupid working people take more loan to buy expensive car and end up eating maggi everyday
      Smart working people take less loan to buy less expensive car and spend the rest to invest or buy better property

• Smartest one don’t work instead having people work for them. Buy expensive cars with cash, do investments, have huge amount of cash reserve and still able to spend money on everything else.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Not all property will appreciate and not ALL TIME property will appreciate.

Smart people spend decent on good cars and do investment at the same time.

• This car looks like SHIT….!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 12:54 pm

sam loo says too modern…cannot

• Painter on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:18 pm

It looks like grandpa just swallowed a bottle full of viagras!!!

• nabill (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Its gonna come with a grand total of……wait for it…..3 airbags!

• Sam Loo Ori on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Airbags won’t save you. Toyota’s GOA will. You can’t go wrong with a Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 19, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Your Preve do 120km/h cornering hit a divider, VSC and 6 air bags can’t save you also.

Crash tests are done at 60km/h ONLY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • nabill (Member) on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:01 pm

Thnx for insulting this nations intelligence. ..

• UMW you can do it on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:24 pm

Bring it in with one airbag…you know you want to.

• The back design doesn’t match the aggressive front design ! Pass.

• Josh Ling on Aug 19, 2014 at 1:48 pm

don’t think it will be a major “makeover” like the US version. here the camry mainly serves taukes and all the rich uncles and aunties; they dislike drastic changes.

• sonyman on Aug 19, 2014 at 3:57 pm

fulamak, Camry oh, dont play play leh. Camry oh, the king of cars. hahaha…..

BTW, most bosses drive Camry. You guys know it right, Drive a Toyota if you wanna be rich. Vios, to Camry.

you ask how many successful people do that.

• kenny on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:39 pm

No. Bosses dun drive Toyota. Bosses drive Merc/BMW/Audi. Sushi/Kimchi are basically for rakyat while Proton is for the 47% macai.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Its a staple corporate car …..

For companies that will survive years to come.

If drive kimchi, company or individual will tapau faster than speedy gonzales

• mmaker on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Hmm Hmm cannot comment lah. Need to see whole picture inside and out then you get my words.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 19, 2014 at 4:10 pm

We will unlikely see something as aggressive as the USDM car.

Reason is very simple. Cars are cheap in US making it affordable for younger people but Toyota found itself nursing an aging population and needed to attract new blood. Likewise the design direction for the Corolla.

Here the folks attracted to a Toyota are lets say not so seasoned. A more mature look would probably do well as is the buying demographics. Being priced as such, younger population are likely not afford a a camry.

UMW would rather save money than do a facelift, if possible, let alone one as aggressive like the US car.

• If the Camry sold about RM100k-120k is logic.Like Taiwan,Camry sold at this price range.Malaysia can have tax but not like now too high bacause for drink coffee and cincin.But one things is true.Camry in ASEAN market is no much safety feature compare to euro market.We cannot compare to US because Toyota is a local car in US.So is very cheaper compare to another country.If Malaysia want to local assembly,want more cheaper,the part more cheap.For me,Camry should CBU from Japan.Thai import Altis looks not too better also.Spec like Roti kosong and “beli mahal” from thailand.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 19, 2014 at 7:18 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

If its not a KIA, it can be traded in

• guilt79 on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:28 am

So, this one comes with 3 variant like Altis???

• Confused Buyer on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:34 pm

hmm… The facelift is debuting soon. Which means it will arrive on Malaysian soil not long after its debut. But……….. The Existing Camry Hybrid isn’t launched yet… So…… you get my point…

• Great to see the new Camry is coming out soon.
    Just hope the specs and prices will be more attractive.

• Toyota consistently produce ugly cars