Chevrolet Malibu microsite up, register interest open

chevrolet-malibu-microsite-scp

Chevrolet Malaysia’s Malibu microsite is finally up, teasing the Korean-built D-segment sedan (along with its “Camaro-inspired tail lamps”). Registration of interest is now open. Could its Malaysian launch finally be around the corner?

This has been a really long time coming – as early as January, a dealer flyer provided the first indication that the eighth-gen Chevrolet Malibu would be introduced in Malaysia, ahead of an oto.my ad in March promoting a 2.4 Ecotec with an indicative price of RM163k.

Last month, we saw a black example at Naza Automall PJ, and a check with sales personnel yielded an estimated price of RM175k. Finally, earlier this month, Chevy Malaysia teased the car on Facebook.

Underpinned by GM’s Epsilon II platform (Opel/Vauxhall Insignia, Buick Regal), our Malibu is likely to be powered by a naturally-aspirated 2.4 litre Ecotec four-cylinder engine that makes 165 hp and 225 Nm of torque. Drive should go to the front through a six-speed Shiftronic auto.

The one we’re getting isn’t the latest version per se – the Malibu was facelifted in June 2013 with a more aggressive-looking front end; only two years after the eighth-gen car made its debut in Shanghai.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Clubuxx on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Drive this quite some time oversea…Good Car…to me i can say 5 star quality ride and handling if i compare to toyolta cama ree.

for sure i will buy this car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • kzm palat on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:59 pm

If Chevrolet change their cross on this car, majority of Malays will buy this car and sales would be very high. Remember the majority of buyers in Malaysia are Malays and it will be good if you can take away the cross logo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 65
      • That’s a misconception on the logo because Chevrolet’s history mentions it to be a bow tie, not a cross. On the flip side, you can see the crusade sign on the Alfa Romeo badge, but not many would complain. It’s just whether people are aware of it or not, I guess..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • koochai on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:19 pm

that logo my man…is a bow tie…not cross

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • kzm (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:25 am

That guy thinking is primitive that’s why he say like that..bowtie n cross cannot differentiate.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:54 am

What a narrow minded..
        Then you better not use a word with alphabet “t”.
        Don’t even order and eat roti canai since the word roti got “t” that just like cross! lol

• Youfool on Aug 21, 2014 at 8:07 am

Seriously bro? Because of the logo, then malays won’t buy? Some people can be really narrow minded to the extent that it really surprising to me.

• clubuxx on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:37 am

that is not cross logo idiot….that is bow tie ….a sister of next tie…do u know that????

• Doesnt matter whatever opinions about cross/bowtie symbol; d fact on d ground is many Malay refuse to buy them because of that.

If i’m d chevy’s marketing/sales boss, i’d rather change d logo to get better sales than trying to change majority ethnic’s sentiment. For God’s sake just put d Holden logo – period. Better sales. More bonus. Tak perlu pening2.

• The Middle East do not have any problem with the so called ‘cross’, which in actual fact,is a bow tie…
      Enough said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • Hyundai KIA aka Junk on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Good car + Bad After Sales Service + Spare Parts Problem = Ownership Disaster.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 20
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:47 pm

I’d have hoped a 2.0 turbo instead of the 2.4 Ecotec.

Though some of the US reviews have said the 2015 MY one is not the most “exciting” to drive, compared to the Mazda6. Hopefully it’s better than a Camry.

• normal_user on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:55 pm

That aircon vent is soo Myv-ish. Just turned me off. Nevertheless loved the exterior & muscular rear design.

• Tiger on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:43 pm

“all new” but we getting the old before latest facelift model? Said it many times before, Malaysia is being treated as a dumping ground for old outdated models, or old discontinued models being sold alongside another ” new” model that was supposed to replaced the older model

• Majuperak on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:12 am

Sometimes is not that Malaysia is a dumping ground but the Authorised dealer or importer that is buying of the old stock cheap and sell to the public …. at sky high price and 6 months down the road, sales is slow and they decide to slash prices to move the cars. Suckers who buy will them early ….. Chevy in Malaysia buy them after 1 year launch then your losses will not be as high.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:24 am

din know chevrolet still exist in malaysia…havent seen any of their cars or showroom lately

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Dont buy chevy, me and my colleague have owned them and they are horrible cars, the gearbox, engine, wheel bearing, horn, foldable side mirror, aircon, interior panels, auto wipers will all go bad in 3-4 years. They even refuse to replace factory defective parts, instead they wait for owner’s individual warranties to expire, then inform them about the problem, even before the part goes bad! For info i own a chevrolet captiva 2.0D (I recently spent rm5500 fixing the aircon) and my colleague owns a cruze. Both of us regret it, and they are not cheap cars, i paid 161K and he paid 98k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • kudin66 on Aug 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm

really? tak jadi beli lah macam ni

• Tiger on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Yeah, noticed the trend tat some big crony companies with monopolies bring in wat the chinese call ” cold car models” or something like tat, than after a few months no bisnis, they slash prices add more features…the early buyers became the victim, just like motorist who paid their summons early Rm100, today Starr paper reported dbkl giving discount only pay Rm30

• bl@ck 4d@m on Aug 23, 2014 at 4:02 pm

is this it???
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eQknqC__F80

• aikon on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:55 pm

nope that’s the u.s. model which is not sold out of usa. u.s. gets the facelift and the turbo. the rest of the world, not at this point in time.

• aikon on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:56 pm

apologies, the body is the correct model but not the engine which we don’t get.