Driven Web Series 2014 #6: Genting RM10 challenge – Fiesta EcoBoost vs Jazz Hybrid vs Mitsubishi Attrage

So which engine technology saves more fuel – modern downsized turbo, hybrid or just plain lightweight? That’s what we’ll find out in this episode of Driven Web Series, powered by the new Petronas Primax95, with Advanced Energy Formula. The goal? Get to the top of Genting Highlands with just RM10 worth of fuel.

Championing the downsized, forced-induction route is the new Ford Fiesta Ecoboost. It has a tiny 1.0 litre engine – voted the International Engine of the Year for three years running now, no less – and yet it boasts the biggest outputs here at 125 PS and 170 Nm. It’s also a Ford, so it’s quite a car to drive too, of course.

Next up is the Honda Jazz Hybrid. Part internal combustion engine, part electric motor, hybrid technology is widely seen as the magic formula to save fuel. The electrified Jazz pairs an 88 hp/121 Nm 1.3 litre engine with a 14 hp/78 Nm electric motor. Problem is, all the complicated hardware comes at a price – heavy weight.

And that’s where the Mitsubishi Attrage comes in. Nothing fancy here, just the plain old lightweight route, with a small 1.2 litre three-pot with just 79 hp and 106 Nm of torque, through a CVT transmission. While the other two blow way past the 1,000 kg mark, the Mitsu comes in at a flyweight 905 kg. Can simplicity trump complexity?

So, Ford Fiesta EcoBoost vs Jazz Hybrid vs Mitsubishi Attrage. Which will it be, then? Watch the episode to find out :)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:24 am

For once, I actually thought Harve will win…

I must say this goes into one of my favourite episodes compared to the WRX episode that was just plain err… You guys are doing a brilliant job, and make some of the crap we get on our satellite TV look like it was done by amateurs (it probably is), this is what I call a TV show.

But lols, I’d still say the Fiesta won cause, just look at the amount of joy it was giving Harve compared to the other two. Especially the Rage car which seemed to be more of a washing machine on wheels with multiple fuzzy logic modes, than a car. Now if only Ford dumped off all the stickers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 12
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:27 pm

It is very well-produced, isn’t it? The shot angles are getting better and better and their acting prowess and scripting is definitely improving.

Very, very impressive. Keep it up, guys! Now…waiting for next Wednesday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
      • kzm palat on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Ford Fiesta should not even be in this race. It is well known in Malaysia that Ford Fiesta always breakdown because of their dual dry clutch. Go to any Ford Service Centre and you will see berlambak Fiesta waiting for their gearbox to be repaired. That is why there is always a 3 month wait for parts whenever you send your car in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 64
        • Anti-Establishment on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:10 pm

What’s the quantitative proof that Fiesta always break down. What are the numbers?

My friend drives a 2011 Fiesta – his car is only in the workshop for normal service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:07 pm

This isn’t a reliability race. The Ford Fiesta has all the rights to be included due to how Ford is touting its fuel-efficiency without compromising power. To an extent, it is true, provided you can keep your urges to push the Fiesta under control (very hard).

• Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:55 am

Very true….i have 2 friends with Fiesta, both GB kong….Have to take taxi for months while waiting….swear they will never buy anymore Ford….LOL.

• Petrolhead (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:42 pm

A great episode! The conversation is smooth which retains a fair amount of humour and information with no awkward jokes in between. Also, finally Harve is not shouting my ears off this time. For a moment, I felt there’s some Top Gear feel in it. Great job guys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • sudonano (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:02 pm

It is very well produced! Especially the aerial shots, I wonder if they are using something like the AR Drone from Parrot to mount the camera, cause I doubt it is a helicopter doing that.

• peter on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Agreed, I think this is your best episode as well. Things I like are:-
      – finally the (in my mind, silly) Petronas ad plug-in makes some sense.
      – I really like the “tech section” on how the three technologies/approaches work. I know you may not have much budget, but more animated graphics in the future may be nice too.

Things that can be improved –
      – well, maybe the interactions between the presenters….still feels very “wooden” (but definitely improving). Have you guys considered doing a “natural” dialog with just loose talking-points instead of having a fixed dialog?
      – somehow in all your episodes, I don’t really like the parts when you guys “discuss” the looks/appearance/design of the car. Again might be because you’re using scripted lines that makes it seem unnatural.
      – Fiesta losing purely because harve “didn’t get the memo” seems really wrong. I think it would make more sense that Harve tried really hard to follow the rules but the Fiesta is just too much fun to drive unnaturally slow (and hey, its average consumption wasnt far off either from the other two)

Things that were just funny – the overhead scenes of the “traffic jam” really highlight all the people cutting queue and driving on emergency lanes. sigh.

Keep up the good work guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Good points you have there.

I believe the Petronas ad is a mandatory addition to their videos. After all, this series is sponsored by Petronas and they’d have certain requirements surrounding their sponsorship. Their 2 latest videos chime in the Petronas ad rather seamlessly. Progress!

I agree with you about their discussion about the cars. They always seem to be doing this “difference-in-opinion quarrel”, especially during the Pocket Rocket episode which I think has a tendency to slather and mince their points everywhere and it’s really hard to be informative using a quarrel format without it becoming awkward. Rather, a more friendly listing down of the like’s and don’t like’s would perhaps sound more natural and be more informative. Maybe.

• Ford take note. Please remove your ugly stickers and bodykit and give us discount.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • takNakP1 on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:29 am

if you ask me to buy a fuel efficient care for day to day home to office commute, i would rather save the $$$ by buying MyVi even though it doesn’t have the modern technology but i should have the piece of mind from servicing anywhere any time.

If one want to saved more, since the technology hasn’t change at all, going for a 2nd hand 2-3 years car is also an option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 73
    • takNakP1 on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:30 am

correction “peace of mind”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • lemonguy on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Ppl have to consistently upgrade ourselves.. unless you’re not a car lover

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • takNakP1 on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Yeah, one must consistently upgrade ourselves but not necessary on materialistically. The upgrade could be in knowledge, mental, social responsibility or financial.

considering paying 7-9 years loan, i would say it is financially downgrade.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • dugong (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Nobody wants to drive a rotten myvi all their lives…do you want to remain as a clerk or junior executive for the rest of you life?

• nelson on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:22 pm

without tax sure wont buy local car already…

• Guys, top of Genting Highlands mean actual top with the resort…not Genting Sempah roundabout.

And which road was Harve driving on? Minimum two lanes per directions to get to top of the mountain lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:23 pm

Use your brain a bit lar… Are you gonna use a bloody gambler’s busy route to film the exterior portions of the scenes…? It is always safer to find some isolated road to simulate such driving environment…

However I do think the discontinuity here is a bit too much…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • oh please on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:18 pm

the back/old road to go up genting? from the mcdonalds at genting r&r..have you ever use that road at all?

• Terance Jr on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:42 am

About a Year a ago, i drove a proton Tiara up to genting Highlands with only RM10 worth a fuel with the AC on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 56
  • Kangkung on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:50 am

Abolish AP & those heavy taxes such Excise, sales,etc.
    Hybrid everywhere, conti everywhere…

Of coz, job is everywhere too!
    Malaysian can concern more bout safety than FC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • 7speed on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:53 am

Paying much, getting less. This is common standard for G to protect P,H,NZ. These makers protect their (Cronies) pockets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • kusochon on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:02 pm

yeah.. and government will lose revenue from all those taxes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • nonameeeeeee on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:59 am

I think this is by far the best episode! Informative, witty, professionally-explained without sounding too rocket science. Great job guys!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • No Polo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Your namesake TSI already unreliable, you still wanna climb hill ar…? You can probably join Harve at the roadside (getting smoked by cheaper cars) not becoz you ran out of fuel, but more like your tranny balls dropped…

Get it…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
      • Cody Fu on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:27 pm

who say Tsi is not reliable? dun simply say if u are not vws owner, trust me u never drive Tsi technology… my polo 1.4 tsi fly up to genting without any problem…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Prius C should be picked to represent Hybrid as Honda’s IMA is not as efficient compare to Toyota..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
    • drhazem on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:14 pm

And the Prius c is now priced at? RM150k. There’s no point to compare anymore, since no one will cross-shot between cars with such a big difference in price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
      • Gargantia on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:02 pm

True, thanks for the 100% taxes by G.

Global will ask M’sia still not using any Hybrid and EcoBoost? Yr country is so advance….

Really need to thanks Gov treat RAKYAT like uncivilised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • Anti-Establishment on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Well, no need to thank the gomen. A lot of the “rakyat” ARE uncivilized. Look at how a typical Malaysian drive and you’ll see what I mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:58 am

Look at Kiki and that Auntie (with small car-terrorist dotter) terrorizing Singaporean drivers.

Confirmed NOT civilized.

• dugong (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:01 am

Prius-c??? Nobody gonna buy that overpriced carap anymore at 150k. Might as well you say bring E400 bluetec diesel.

• Ethicsgal on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Video @6:30 – Please note: Not all hybrid cars will have no air-cond comfort….the toyota prius is different in terms of engine technology….there are NO NO NO belts in the engine, so the ELECTRIC air-cond STILL runs even if the IC engine is not running. Please, if you guys want to make a video do consider ethics n honesty…thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Not really about ethics and more about providing the full information regarding hybrids in general. The next-generation Jazz doesn’t have the same issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Absolutely, I owned a Prius, and the aircon still on even the engine is off when I park my car more than 10 minutes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Ananz on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:11 pm

Your statement sort of contradicts itself at the start and at the end. As you said, not all hybrids are the same. Some provides aircond running like Prius while others don’t. In this episode they are using a Jazz Hybrid so its logical that they talk about the problem with that car instead of the Prius so they ARE being honest about it. Not sure what this had to do with ethics though.
      New the Jazz Hybrid and City Hybrid coming out end of this year will not have the same problem though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • hadi75 on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:57 pm

They are testing the honda jazz hybrid la….of course they must stated the pros and cons of the car….

• dugong (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:03 am

Use your brain la. Toyota prius now cost as much as all the 3 cars combined. Compare that for wat?

• mmaker on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:32 pm

i like fiesta ecoboost but its price tag too high compared to attarage

• Denaihati on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:44 pm

every car have own advantages to match customer need i think, fun, fuel efficiency, fun drive and price too.
    very goods and interesting episode.
    again, congratulation paultan team.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:08 pm

I wonder why no kimchis were included in this round……… hahahaha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Due to no model suit to this class, just like no toyota car included in this episode as well.
      But you just… boring!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • ben yap on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:55 pm

because Paul Tan is a automotive blog. Kimchi is food related and should be in food blog.

are you on the right blog?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Kimchis are meant to be compared with China & India makes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 23
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Should hv brought the normal fiesta 1.5 as the ecoboost is abt 20k more expensive than the jazz…
    i hate the attrage,its anti fun anti life…looks ugly too…its like u have to sacrifice everything jus to get a good FC, even that it didnt win…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Almera on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:14 pm

If they used the normal Fiesta 1.5 it would not have lasted as long as the Ecoboost.

• Well Done.

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:44 pm

The guys are getting better at this.

Too bad the Axia isn’t out yet. The lower weight and 5MT of the entry level would probably do just as well, being some 100kg lighter than the already very light Attrage. And to address the elephant in the room. The price.

I would have really wanted to see how these ecocars make up the really steep portions before the resort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • spongewai on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Ford Fiesta EcoBoost
    Good: won 3 times Engine of the Year Award
    Bad: PRICEY

Honda Jazz Hybrid
    Good: very efficient fuel economy
    Bad: no more stocks, engine auto stop during jam

Mitsubishi Attrage SE
    Good: very light car and smooth CVT
    Bad: not enough power

• I don’t think engine auto stop function will be very bad. I have been driving civic hybrid, but when the engine stop, the aircond still function as normal. very cool. But I haven’t drive jazz hybrid though.

One more thing, I’m little bit disagree with hafriz. If the battery empty, especially during cruising on highway, it will automatically charging the battery when running only petrol mode. That should save the energy.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:00 pm

It seems you don’t fully understand how Honda’s Integrated Motor Assist (IMA) hybrid system works.

In cars with IMA, the aircond’s compressor is belt-driven by the engine. When the engine stops, the compressor cannot run. So when you’re stuck in a long jam, the air won’t be so cool anymore. I don’t know whether there is a way to disable the start/stop function, however. There is that option in the Mazda3 and Mazda6.

Secondly, the IMA battery isn’t charged by the engine when you’re cruising. Don’t confuse this with Toyota’s Hybrid Synergy Drive which does charge the battery when you’re cruising along when the charge is low. IMA only gets juice from regenerative braking.

If you’re in disbelief, go look at the brochures for the Honda Civic Hybrid as well as the Jazz Hybrid.

• Mozilla Chrome on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:24 pm

There is a few ways to ‘disable’ the start/stop function, well at least as an alternative. You need to put your gear to Neutral but that will be a bit of a hassle. Or you can set your aircond fan level to high, the auto stop function will be disable temporarily (As stated in the brochure).

• Thanks for the input. I have to agree some of your points.

I’ve been experienced long jam for balik raya so many times. And it happened around afternoon in a very hot day. But still I don’t think it was very hot in the car with full load. It’s not you are braking for the whole 1 hour. You have to release the break somehow.

For your second point about charging system. I can agree with you. But the charging is not only happen when you push your brake. It will also charging when you decelerate the car. As far as I know, while you are cruising, sometime you will decelerate the car especially when taking corner, or there is other car in front of you. It also happened even when I trying to use auto cruise. But for uphill driving, the acceleration is much more than the deceleration.

But I have another car which has better FC than this hybrid. The FC is 26km/l (flat highway).

• thefact on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:18 pm

regenerative braking…please research what that means.. its not braking per say..it means the battery charges when u decelerate… :)

so whats the other u have? a diesel?

• Steven on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:34 am

Dash, which car is that?

“But I have another car which has better FC than this hybrid. The FC is 26km/l (flat highway)”

• nelson on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:30 pm

attrage can speed 80km/h without aircon
            25km/l

• Captain Obvious, while cruising my Cr-Z still charging the battery and never experience any juice depletion. In fact I always charged ’em to full bar, so how?

On a side note, I always ran out of battery during stop-and-go traffic jam due to engine on-off feature, and most of the time it depleted totally. To counter this, I turned on Sports Mode but I need to adjust the sudden change of acceleration and suffer small fuel mileage.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:14 pm

The juice is probably from the many times you lift your foot off the throttle then. Does the IMA kick in only when you drive it hard at cruising speeds?

Hybrid battery management. Quite fascinating.

• Funny I can’t reply your comment, so instead I replied mine Mr. Obvious.

Yeah since you’ve mentioned it, I usually turned on Eco Mode, try hard not to pass 100kmh and keep my foot on the acc. as light as I could (I my own called it Hypermiling Mode). Sport Mode only to avoid engine off, if I wanna feel a lil’ bit of fun or if I’m late to go to work.

Eco Mode 80% of the time managed to achieve 20km per litre and rarely drop below 18km. Except there’s one time I went up Genting with Sport Mode all the way, the figure was 12km per litre.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:21 pm

You can’t reply to my comment because that’s the limit to the nested comments. I replied to your comment as well.

So when you go run up Genting, your CRZ gets a roughly similar FC as the Jazz. Are you driving the manual CRZ or the auto CRZ? Going uphill is always a doozy for FC.

• Yup I guess so. I’m driving MT, its more fun albeit sakit hati and kaki whenever I stuck in traffic jams.

• bashhh on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:32 pm

The compressor in Civic hybrid is dual scroll type. It can run during engine stop

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:15 pm

Looked it up and found that you’re correct. The 2006-2011 version of the Civic Hybrid has a dual mode compressor. Thanks for the input.

• dugong (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:05 am

Actually you can switch off the Eco mode or just pull your handbrake and release the footbrake and the aircond in the jazz will run like normal.

• HONDA LOVER on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:05 am

WHY YOU SAY HONDA JAZZ HYBRID ENGINE AUTO STOP DURING
      JAM??

• nelson on Aug 27, 2014 at 3:32 pm

jazz have funtion when stop no move engine will stop..when move will start back…

• Yes, the joker behind the wheel makes a whole difference to the drive. A smooth drive, a reckless drive?

A fuel efficient car won’t be as fuel efficient as it could be, if your right foot is constantly heavy on the gas pedal.

• Norman J on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Show is getting better. Better chemistry between the presenters. However there is only 1 episode left for this season. Hoping to see an episode on all continental car showdown say Citroen DS4 v Peugeot 408 Turbo v VW Golf OR Citroen DS5 v Peugeot 508 GT v VW Passat Sport…

• dearpixel on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Honestly guys, I may have to take some flame for this but I imagine some of your viewers have already graduated from primary school, so can you make a video that doesn’t just make you all look and sound like children? Who scripts/directs/edits this stuff?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:19 pm

Your criticism is quite vague. What does “look and sound like children” mean? I think they were being clear and professional which is good and easy listening. What do you expect them to do? Throw in some foul words and cusses? For the record, I think Paul “the Man” Tan himself directs it. He is the boss Man, after all.

• dearpixel on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Fair enough. I’m grumpier than most about presenters that dumb things down. I’m all for clarity, brevity and dialogue between the three lads but sadly, the review just smacks of a not-so-good copy of top gear. One specific area is the ‘acting’. It is so disingenuous, it’s cringe worthy. I would suggest to drop the acting, false emotion and adjectives (unless the adjective highlights the point of the episode). BTW, using descriptive language is not a crime, but describing details is one of the big mistakes these presenters make. And we certainly don’t need the jam scene as an excuse to ogle the cabins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Oh, but I think they do have to dumb things down a bit. Not everyone is a car connoisseur and it gives some a starting point to delve into the fascinating world of cars. There’s just a lot to know and many Malaysians simply do not know much about the intricacies around the automotive scene and some even have a weak grasp of English.

Also, I think you’d have to agree that for the presenters, who have had no background in acting whatsoever (unlike the presenters in Top Gear who have had years of acting experience and are by now professional entertainers), they’re doing a really good job. They’re learning as they go, slowly but surely improving their act. If you dig back to some of their very first videos (they only started doing videos around last year or in the later periods of the year before; I believe they started with the walk-around of the Suprima S), you’ll find this is a major step-up in production and acting quality.

So if you want to give constructive criticism, make sure to give it in a way that is useful for them. Perhaps eventually, they will be on-par with the best.

• dearpixel on Aug 21, 2014 at 2:51 pm

It’s not necessary to give excuses for the audience’s lack of background. I’m suggesting to elevate us all by being clear and brief, rather than dumbing it down and filling the review with contrived scenes and hamfisted delivery. To me it lacked authenticity. And what value is a review if it’s not authentic? Apologies to the team if my feedback is a problem to them.

• C~two on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:23 pm

the fuel efficiency result is based on heavy footed harv? So, what will be the figure if it is driven light-footed? will 1.0 ecoboost still wins?

• oh please on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:24 pm

the one who will buy a turbo powered car is definitely not looking into fuel efficiency, just like what hav did, if you are driving a turbo car, who would you go for eco mode, especially if you are going up hill!

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:24 pm

This was a very well-shot episode. I really like the top down view on the traffic jam that you guys made.

So, on to the cars. There was almost no doubt in my mind that the Jazz Hybrid would win once I saw that they factored in a traffic jam into the FC equation. Any car with an engine start/stop system will gain an advantage in such a situation.

But for me, this episode really proves that you don’t buy an expensive efficient car in order to save on fuel in Malaysia.

The Jazz costs RM87k, the Fiesta Ecoboost costs RM94k while the Attrage costs 76k (and this is the SE-spec which comes with some things that are good to have but you don’t really need; the variant one rung lower on the spec ladder gives you about an 8k reduction over the 76k here, costing at just 68k).

With a difference in cost of almost 11k between the Attrage and the Jazz (20k if you compare the lower-spec variant), the fuel efficiency advantage of the Jazz over the Attrage doesn’t justify the cost difference. If there were no traffic jam, however, I think the Attrage has the potential to tie with or even beat the Jazz Hybrid, depending on driving style. Like Hafriz said, on a highway, a hybrid becomes almost like a normal petrol car. With the additional weight and a bigger displacement engine, the Jazz Hybrid might have been disadvantaged on a long drive. (I personally believe Honda’s IMA system is quite inferior to Toyota’s Hybrid Synergy Drive in terms of efficiency. Their next generation i-DCD hybrid tech, however, looks quite promising and addresses many of the flaws of the IMA system.)

The safety spec of the Attrage, however, leaves a lot to be desired. No stability control and only front airbags. It does have a 4 star Asean NCAP rating, but apparently, so does the Perodua Axia. The Mirage (related to the Attrage) has 5-star ANCAP, however, so at least we know the car body is up to snuff. Meanwhile, the Ecoboost and the Jazz Hybrid are very well-equipped on the safety front.

The Fiesta EcoBoost is definitely the most driver rewarding car here, being tuned much for that purpose. That Harv cannot resist barreling his way to Genting proves that when you have the power, the temptation is always there for you to use all of it. If I had the money at the time, I would have gotten the EcoBoost too. There is no beating a quality well-driving vehicle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
    • manstir on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:56 pm

you forgot to mention “electric steering” on attrage, its help you in stability control (my attrage SE) even don’t have a traction control on itself.

lucky my car no lost in fuels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Electric power steering doesn’t help in any safety related way. Helps save a _bit_ of fuel, though.

But that doesn’t really matter since all 3 cars here come with electric power steering.

• manstir on Aug 21, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Dear mr obviously,

hahaha back to basic bro. Can’t reply directly to yours.

“Electric power steering (EPS) uses an electric motor to assist the driver of a vehicle”

This is what you forgot, while driving using mind only ka?

• manstir on Aug 21, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Dear mr obviously,

hahaha back to basic bro. Can’t reply directly to yours.

“Electric power steering (EPS) uses an electric motor to assist the driver of a vehicle”

This is what you forgot, while driving using mind? Or safe fuels? Only ka

• JeremyNg on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Wow ……. EPS helps in stability control ? latest tech ? LOL

• dugong (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:10 am

I have driven the jazz hybrid for about 2 months and I can say the fuel consumption is truly amazing whether in highway or traffic jam. Averaging 17-18km/l. Don’t think that is really inferior to prius c.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 3:33 pm

There is actually quite a difference if you look at some small statistics on fuelly.com.

Prius C users average around 21-22 km/l
        http://www.fuelly.com/car/toyota/prius_c

It’s a bit trickier to track the Jazz’s FC since they don’t distinctly differentiate the hybrid and the non-hybrid Jazz but if you apply a filter for the results, the average for the Hybrid Jazz seems to sit around 16-18km/l, like you said.
        http://www.fuelly.com/car/honda/jazz/2013?engineconfig_id=13285&bodystyleconfig_id=&submodel_id=

(I chose the model year 2013 for a bigger sample size)

The difference amounts to about 5km/l. It still doesn’t justify exactly the cost parity between the 2 cars right now but it still shows that the Prius C is more efficient than the IMA Jazz. The i-DCD Jazz will even the playing field once it arrives in Malaysia. Just hope they don’t overprice it.

• Motorbutthead on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:08 am

True, But the jazz hybrid was selling at a full 20k lesser than prius c before the mad hike of prius c. And using 17km/l for jazz vs 21km/l for prius c. You end up with a savings or RM 2.35 per 100km for the prius c. The prius c would need to travel 851000km ( 20000km x 42 yrs) just to save the 20k premium that was paid up front @ RM2.10/L. Not inclusive of bank interest which would have run well pass 1 million km mark. And I doubt the car will still be around after that long. Conclusion, prius c ppl failed math.

• previously i have problem with gearbox when i buy ford fiesta and need to be change 3 times for the first week of buying it.

Due to this experience, i will not buy Ford… even its was great driving it but it’s also a horrifying moment when the gearbox keep making problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • was it a fiesta ecoboost or it was the normal fiesta ? Im asking cause im planning to get one based on all the reviews that mentions its a fun car to drive and its fuel efficient also.

• the new ford fiesta.

i think before you buy a car better you join the car club or ask people around..

we don’t just want have fun while driving the car it self.

we also need good after sales service and easy maintenance for our beloved car.

I’ve make mistake by buying stupid brand with stupid gearbox.. so u shouldn’t make the same mistake to.. just choose the correct one by doing survey.

• curious on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:54 am

Some said faulty gearbox require 3 months wait before it delivers. Now u say u change the gearbox 3 times within a week…so, who’s right,who’s wrong?

• oops ..! sorry.. what i mean is, from the first week of buying the car . i need to change it 3 times.

and i don’t know from where u heard about it.. but i don’t have to wait for new gearbox for 3 month.. it’s just 2 month after scolding the customer service , the second and third time i’m not sure.. can’t remember.

sold the car already..

• Jenny on Oct 09, 2014 at 11:17 pm

is your ford before 2013 model?

• Josh Ling on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:47 pm

just have one thing to suggest, maybe next time when you guys have this laboratory thing going on again, you guys can have more up close shot of each one of you instead of shooting from a distance, coz it makes you guys look a bit small-ish and your faces are unclear as a result. and then before and after the lab scenes, the cameras were all rather up close, so the difference is quite vast, and it’s not really a pleasant viewing experience for me. just my two cents. enjoy the show as usual though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • FocusST on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Why the Ford Fiesta with EcoBoost 1.0 is lose out here and only do 11km/L ? All because of heavy footer. I have try Ford Focus ST with EcoBoost 2.0 with average speed of 100km/h by cruise control at highway is also can do 14km/L or 7.1L/100km. So I guess it is not true Ford Fiesta cannot finish the journey, but is very much depend on driver.

• entaoba on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:05 am

It is much depend on driver, i can cruise my ford focus 2.0 in highway at average 110km/h with 4 adults inside the car and manage to achieve 5.4l/100km or 18.5km/l.

• Darren on Aug 23, 2014 at 3:18 am

my fiesta 1.6S full tank from PG-KL-PG
        RM75 RON95
        Follow the highway speed limit.
        All original parts. no mod.
        2 Adults.

• gdntsk (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:26 pm

This is a very good episode! Good job, guys!

On another note, here’s a video of BBC’s Top Gear hosts doing the opposite of what happened in the RM10 challenge: a race to run out of fuel. Why race to run out of fuel? Watch to find out:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YtVV1VJ4f8

• Dirtrun on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Hi,

As a 2 year old original owner of the CBU [Japan] Jazz Hybrid , I would like to shed some light on the Jazz Hybrid’s fuel saving IMA functions :
    1. The engine does recharge the IMA battery once it goes down – it also has a retarder which will charge the battery when the car is cruising, as well as a brake – recharger.
    2. You can disable stop/start function by going out of Eco mode [Normal mode is what Honda calls it] – With this mode, engine response perks up quite a bit n with the battery in full charge, the torque from the electric motor is very intoxicating..

Hope this clears some misconceptions..
    D

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:27 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
    • Sam's doctor on Aug 21, 2014 at 2:00 am

Wrong Blog. I believe you are looking for a food blog. You forgot to take your medication?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 12
  • hippo on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:34 pm

They should drive to the top, I mean really reaching the top. Then we will be able to see how those car response. Or maybe all 3 cars fare badly going uphill using those tiny engines…..

• whatnow on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:02 pm

still waiting for LaFerrari vs P1 vs 918 spyder

o wait-

wrong show

• hybrid on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:32 pm

It’s not driving a hybrid that makes you not able to enjoy aircond at stops. It is driving a Honda IMA hybrid that has the problem. Toyota’s version of hybrid still pumps out aircond at stops, or perhaps the coming honda jazz hybrid will be able to the same too.

Hope that clears up the misconcept.

• unitewestandcollapsewefall on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:00 pm

well done guys…u made a very interesting episode so far. well arrange in terms of presentation..just if u could use some animation instead of simulation act..maybe the camera view should be closer for us to view(when u were in your lab coats)..thumbs up..)

• Steve Kok on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Interesting Ford 1.0 EcoBoost.
    Can ford tell me more about the 6 Speed DCT gearbox?

• if you look for fun and fuel efficient..
    Turbo Diesel is King..

plz bring in the TDI, TDCI, HDI..

• machupichu on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Well job guys….IMO Should’ve included another under rated car. Suzuki Alto.and you will get another winner.much cheaper than these 3 cars.2 alto = 1 fiesta.and not as ugly as attrage.

• Porsche guy on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:43 am

My maid drives a fiesta… Always jerking at the traffic light…she is sore all over….i believe she will be down with parkinson disease when she reaches 40… Btw… Shes only 21…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Insight on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:44 am

Honda IMA have 189 Nm of torque including the electric motor, that is more than ford ecoboost have. Disable the econ mode of the IMA engine and you will enjoy the IMA torque as much as ecoboost can offer..

• skyjuice on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:52 am

Wrong statement by hafiz, battery is not only charged during braking, but also during cruising or whenever there’s excess energy available…

• Krasher on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:19 am

Facts about Honda’s IMA hybrid.
    Battery will not run flat: Recharge during deceleration & braking ONLY. Engine will forced charge before it runs flat.
    Auto start/stop: Air blower is still running in low fan speed, only the belt driven aircond compressor stop working. (Whether gear position in “D” or “N”) Auto start/stop will not function if the differences of cabin & outside temperature is too big (Or gear position in “P”) Also, auto start/stop only lasted for less than 1min in cooling weather & 10-20secs in hot weather.

• Roger on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:42 am

What’s with all the ‘stupid’ name calling? A damper on an otherwise excellent episode.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Are you a girl? Ya ya.. go home & cry.. sob sob.. mummy they calling names.. huhuhu..

They are boys.. & I like it..

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Oh, come on. How old are you that you’re calling others girls just because they disagree with name calling? Name calling doesn’t make you a man. Not by a long shot.

• cynical on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:45 am

Hafriz, try to be more confident in front of the camera, and slow down on the talking. It’s too fast, it’s unpleasant to listen to

• Hang on a min. late comment, but based on distance from the start of the show and the fiesta’s fuel consumption, that 10L should have gotten him to finishing point too!

• foxtrot on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:32 pm

shouldn’t 1.0 ecoboost be a match up agains 1.2 tsi?

• thumbs up! well done, guys!

• he3x..lol…2 thumbs up! u guys are the best!

• Great Episode..

But it gave me the impression that these B-segment “self-proclaimed” efficient cars aren’t that efficient after all.

RM 10 would pump you 4.8 litres of RON95 petrol. My C-segment non-hybrid car would average 12km/litre up Genting from PJ over the 50km odd journey.