Lexus RC F is more expensive than the BMW M4 in UK

2015_Lexus_RC_F_001

The tyre-scorching Lexus RC F has just been priced in the UK, and guess what? It’s more expensive than the model it’s gunning for, the BMW M4 Coupe. The super Lexus range starts at £59,995 in Britain – a good £3,360 more than the base M4 – and tops out at £67,995 for the RC F Carbon (before options, that is).

In the UK, the RC F includes full LED headlights, Brembo brakes, Sachs monotube dampers, an active rear spoiler and 19-inch forged alloys as standard, while the up-specced Carbon model adds a carbon-fibre roof, bonnet and rear spoiler, a torque-vectoring differential, Alcantara seats and a Mark Levinson audio system.

This is no ordinary Lexus, of course, with a high-tech 5.0 litre V8 engine that makes 450 hp and 520 Nm of torque, paired to an eight-speed Sports Direct Shift automatic transmission. It gets to 100 km/h in 4.6 seconds, on to a top speed of 270 km/h. The BMW M4 on the other hand (available in Malaysia for RM748,800), has a 431 hp/550 Nm turbo straight-six, 0-100 km/h time of 4.1 seconds and 250 km/h top speed.

Now readers, what do you think of this – is Lexus having delusions of grandeur, or is the RC F good enough to fight off the much-favoured BMW M4 even with a price disadvantage? Your opinions below, please.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• No comment in terms of pricing, however the naming of the car – RC keeps remind me of Remote Control toy car that kids used to play.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
    • ABTguy (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:43 pm

Haha, that’s it for Lexus…..

Already fitted a gas guzzler engine, more roadtax to pay, weaker power to weight ratio, poorer handling. Then higher price on top…. only moron will buy this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • kzm palat on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Lexus make junks that depreciate a lot. Lexus in Malaysia RV drop like a rock. Buy today RM400,000, next week want to sell RM200,000 also very lucky!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 18
      • Rich people who can afford to buy the M4 or the RC-F don’t really care about resale value lah.

• dugong (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:18 am

Lexus have always been overrated and overpriced which is why they can price it arrogantly. Esp in malaysia. That is why it is a dead brand here. Only manage to con stupid americans. Not selling well anywhere else worldwide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 43
    • dingo on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:03 pm

You’re pretty short-sighted and ignorant, aren’t you?

Lexus models are more well-equipped in any market, so that’s why they cost more. BMW offers buyers a long list of options and charge extra, but Lexus often include them in the sales package.

And Lexus is a popular brand in Taiwan, Japan, Australia and even China (though only 260k units last year) and they often outsell their rivals in these markets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 19
      • dugong (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:44 pm

yeah yeah…sour grapes aren’t you. Can’t accept the fact that worldwide sales BMW and Merc thrashes Lexus like they were a small kid. Higher spec? So what. Even Hyundai Genesis is higher spec than Lexus ES.

I find it interesting alot of lexus fanboys get very sensitive as tho they own de blardee company. continue buying your premium camry. No one cares. Certainly not me… and no chick will want to look at a cheapo Lexus that has zero image like ah pek camry. Hahahahahaha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 35
        • kington on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Have you sat or drove a Lexus before?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
        • flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:10 pm

More importantly, not only must you have driven the car before but have you ever in you life own the car long enough to appreciate the car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:06 pm

To add to kington’s question. Have you actually own a Lexus before to really appreciate the fine qualities of the car or are you just making a baseless comments base on hear say?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
          • flipperidiot on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:47 am

WHat an idiot. If I test drive the dugong and already it feels like shit what for I want to buy it somemore?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
          • The Boss on Sep 07, 2014 at 5:29 pm

I’ve owned both Lexus and Bimmers and I can tell you Lexus aren’t fun to drive.

Their engines are smooth in low rims but are very reluctant to rev.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:33 pm

So If I buy the car…..am I supposed to make sure you care?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • yes, otherwise everyone will just assume that you’re bullshitting.

• biscuit on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:21 am

i think its cos the lexus has more standard equipment. the cheaper m4 is kosong spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • u r probably right as in uk the starting price is for a basic car and a basic car in uk means really basic not like in malaysia which already comes with a few options.

• shawal on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:24 am

Your are getting a car which is more exclusive , and more components are bespoke …

and worth mentioning the credibility and reliability of lexus that has built for itself over the years…

Jeremy clarkson once bought a very old LS….
    and the switchgear is still flawless…and he commented the V6 is as quiet as a human hair…

tho later he destroyed it with a tank…..

anyway…
    If you want a fast reliable coupe….with a V8, you can’t go wrong with a lexus….
    Its a head turner…men and women…
    The M4 will turn heads of men mostly……

well thats my 2 cents…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
    • carazy on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:15 pm

yeahh.. when girls saw that car, they will wandering what is Lexus, is that German or US made car.. I rather have less head turning car, everyone know its BMW..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • longjaafar on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:26 am

Yes. Rightly put….Delusions of grandeur…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Drshan on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:38 am

COmparing these two models I would definitely go for the German Marque which is cheaper and im pretty sure will offer better driving dynamics being a M-line product if compared to the Japanese made Lexus..=)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 20
    • qwerty on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:05 pm

but recent Lexus models have scored higher than the Germans in terms of driving dynamics.

First with the GS,LFA; then IS, and now the RC. The new NX is winning the hearts of many enthusiasts too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
      • BeemerFreak on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:12 am

No way…..GS against what? Audi A6? It is a fact that the MB E63 AMG is the best of the pack followed closely by the BMW M5. GS only leads the way in depreciation.

LFA against what? Cars around its price will run rings around it, the McLaren 650S, Ferrari 458 Speciale, heck even the Porsche 911 Turbo S at half the price slaughters that monster. It only wins in sound produced

IS and the NX are absolute rubbish. See how Autocat reviews the NX.

Be realistic. Lexus are for enthusiast only, like Infiniti, they intend to appeal and will die trying.

• qwerty on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:17 am

Check Motor Trend for the articles if you want proofs. Don’t just condemn for the sake of condemning.

• Sam's Best Friend on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:56 am

LOL, lauyah, lousy brand. No recognition of luxury associated.

Even spend so much on marketing/design but product is still sub par. Will not buy as it is not a premium over better known luxury brands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
  • W204 C63 AMG on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:09 am

Typical paultan.org. Posting without checking the facts. The base RC is better equipped than the base M4, hence the higher price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
    • Drhazem on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:14 am

Uhh.. Doesn’t change the fact that the RC F’s base price is higher than the M4’s, does it? And that is a fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • flipperidiot on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:50 am

Another idiot spotted. So you’re saying a full spec 316i is better than a base M4 just bcoz it has more accessories?

• kettle calling a pot black.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Illogical argument!! They are comparing the same segment car whereas your example is a lower segment comparing with a M4. Think before you comment.

• klata-klata on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:22 am

Lexus can’t beat the BMW M-cars, so it has to distinguish itself in one way it can. Price it exclusively to evoke awe. The customer pays for all this when the resale value plunges.

Jeremy Clarkson will destroy a Lexus for entertainment, but not an M-car because so many enthusiasts want to keep it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 18
    • But he said, in one issue of Top Gear magazine, that the LFA is the best car he has driven and he would take back all the bad things he had said about the LFA.

• dugong (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:42 pm

And the LFA cost like wat? 3 ferrari 458 italias?

• Just like how the Bugatti Veyron is not 5 times better than a 458.

Just shut up if you have nothing to argue.

• dugong (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:43 pm

No doubt Lexus LFA is a good car. But the pricing is just soooo wrong. That makes it a lousy deal.

• just like that on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:48 am

i hate it that ppl assume a brand is the best just because like it.i rather tend to compare specs price, what u get for your money and the feel of driving. im not saying which car is the best but rather, look at the overall picture. fanboys are not alwats correct.

Just because everyone says its correct, doesnt mean it is!

• flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Until after I test drive the car only I can say if it is worth the dough I am forking out. I’ll have to say the car looks sexy in my opinion.

• Jaybond on Aug 20, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Without doubt, the quality & the engine performance of the Lexus RC-F is pretty much on par with BMW M4. The handling performance is still a question as we need to wait for comparison tests with the BMW. But judging from the spec sheet, especially with the introduction of a trick diff & carbon fibre bits, Lexus might have already honed the RC-F handling to closely challenge the M4. And the radical styling certainly gives it a commanding presence.Perhaps maybe Lexus engineers & top bosses are confident this car could outperform the Germans, that’s why it’s slightly more expensive.It has all the ingredients of a premium brand, except for the non Continental badge. Just because it’s a non-Continental brand doesn’t mean it could not excel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • forest the tree on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:11 pm

The exterior, interior, performance (on paper) and reliability of this car is good.
    But unfortunately this car is not for Malaysian, due to cheapskate in paying high road tax and petrol.

• Yup.. Even those who are rich also trying to avoid roadtax. Talk about the average joe. Want high power car but cant afford high capacity. Quite cheapskate though.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Very dillusional of lexus….bigger engine (yet less power n torque), more emissions, nt as efficient, and its a normal auto than a dual clutch….only thing going for it its gonna b more exclusive as u wont see many on da road, lexus stil small in europe, thy r big in US n Middle East. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • How is this less powerful when it produces around 460hp when the M4 has only 431hp?

This 5.0L engine can also switch between Atkinson and Otto cycle, which makes it as efficient if not more efficient.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Based on da fact bmw almost always under rate their horsepower figures…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • klata-klata on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:02 pm

For what I know Japanese cars rate their power by SAE standard which is the power of the engine at the bench. German cars give their DIN power rating which is what is delivered at the wheels. Hence the German figure is understated compared to the Japanese by a few percentage.

• Josh Ling on Aug 20, 2014 at 2:27 pm

if i could afford an M4, i would definitely consider RC F, especially the purpose i bought this sort of car is to show to others how cool i would have been. 3k plus for that kind of look?? bring it on i say! and let’s not forget the amazing V8 engine it has under the bonnet too, and it might be the last of its kind too!! M4 is no longer V8-engined.

• klata-klata on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:45 pm

beware that JPJ will tax you RM10,000 each year
      for the pleasure of thrumming that V8 engine. That will certainly kill your resale value.

JPJ fail to recognise that today’s forced induction engines can guzzle fuels as much as naturally aspirated engines with twice the displacement. High road tax can be early death sentence to these strapping growling beasts.

• Josh Ling on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:31 pm

if i really could afford this car, would i even care how much i pay for the annual road tax?

• I like how the M4 looks, but I like NAs better than force inductions.

Overall, I’d probably go for the M4. But between this Lexus and an American muscle (Camaro or Mustang), I’ll go for the Americans first. It’s not that the Lexus is bad (I’m sure it’s brilliant). I just find it lacks the X Factor. And I don’t like the current Lexus design language.

Lexus seriously needs to create an icon in order to compete within this segment.

• lap_time on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:09 pm

People often compare horsepower, torque, 0-100km/h time, dual clutch or not etc.

But, in reality, how often do we sprint the car to 100km/h in 5 seconds? How often do we drift? How often do we drag race another driver?

If I were a rich guy, I would go for something less common, eye-catching, but comfortable at all time.

• mystvearn on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:15 pm

I think Toyota should make another brand name or a sub brand in Lexus specifically for high performance vehicles and not put it under Lexus, which has always been associated with comfort not going after M3 division.

BMW has its performance division in M.
    Mercedes has in AMG
    Proton got R3
    Is this RC equivalent to M? If so then they need to spend a whole lot more money convincing people it is.

Telling people at a gathering:”I drive a Lexus, but”

That but is a huge problem in branding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • yellowbird on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:28 pm

the performance brand is “F”. supposed to stand for Fuji Speedway or something.

• Jaybond on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:20 pm

For me if you talk about strong branding related to high performance cars, I’d rather say Toyota is actually stronger than Lexus because compared to Lexus, Toyota brand itself has a much richer heritage in making legendary sportscars and not to mention illustrious motorsport ventures especially during 1980s & 1990s. Lexus? Nil (same story for Nissan & Honda with their respective Infiniti & Acura brands).To create another sub-brand is just a suicide.Toyota should focus the Lexus brand for the luxury passenger/limo cars, and let the Toyota badge on the high performance model. Because the car fans/buyers can better relate to Toyota illustrious past.That’s how you build a stronger brand through continuation.

• hahaha, this one really never browse other webpages for info. Only knows M, AMG and RS.

The F has been on the market for a few years; still young but gaining traction quickly.

• Interesting pricing strategy but as many have already said, the standard equipment is more and Bmw’s have always been options heavy in Europe(even rear demisting is sometimes an options though it’s europe!).

People tend to forget that Toyota for all it’s soul shatteringly boring cars that fills its coffers, it’s a company that knows a thing or 2 about building sporty cars.

Infact, companies like Toyota, Nissan,Ford,Mazda are well and truly capable enough to challange Bmw and co in the handling and engine development departments if they want.

I need not specify the models but it’s just that they dont compete in the same segments most of the time. With that said, i think they learnt a lot from the last ISF.

Although nostalgia will make us root for the BMW because there’s nothing like an M3/M4 jsut like many believe there’s nothing like a 911 Turbo although the GTR is more capable in reality.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Lexus should be more expensive and higher rated than the sui kwan euros, because sushis never kwai tai

• The interior is at least 10 years behind the exterior.. you want to learn luxury, Lexus? Learn from Merz interiors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Pure JDM on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Lexus is globally known in the automobile market. Lexus is the most reliable car brand according to a study by J.D Power.
    http://blog.sfgate.com/topdown/2014/02/12/new-study-on-car-reliability-says-lexus-tops-the-list/

• flipperidiot on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:53 am

buy a dugong vios then. 100x more reliable than Lexus RC. These cars are not for you.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:13 am

The survey from a reliable study. Your comments are baseless and you do not have any data to support your argument. Please stop making a mockery of yourself.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:46 pm

There was a comment on Jalopnik, and I’ll ech it somewhat: I have to commend Lexus for sticking with the NA V8, even if it means it may be a bit slower than the M4 in most, if not all driving environments. It seems as if Lexus has said “Well if BMW doesn’t want to build real M BMWs anymore, then we’ll do it!”

• silwen on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Interesting move to bring Jalopnik in here. Most readers can’t comprehend the higher enthusiast knowledge and analysis of the Jalops though.

To the point, I disagree with BMW in introducing a turbo, they just don’t last as long as N/As. The maintenance that will be incurred in its 10 year will make any right minded enthusiast even think twice about keeping it / buying used. This is where the V8 shines. The V8 will last well into its 20th year and go onto be a reliable vintage.

I would hesitate to purchase a used turbo-ed car on most days.

That said, I am curious as to how the NX turbo will perform in days to come.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:51 pm

I love Jalopnik cause there is very little bias in the the comments, you get real car guys commenting on thieir daisy relationship with their cars and how they love the PoS they’ve just bought. No RV, no brand bias unlike Autoblig which is basically Murica’!!!! the car web.

To the RCF and M4 debate, if you are seriously buying these cars and thinkinng about your Fuel consumption and Road tax…..you are clearly in the wrong market. The RCF has alot of qualities that the BMW lacks or lost, prescence for one, ugly as it may seem to many, there is literally no denying you will miss it for anything else in the highway and of course, that glorious noise it make. It also personally has the better interior than the Beemer. Personally with all these quality its already a winner for me.

• jackchaivoonchoon on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:48 pm

My bmw z5 quad turbo 0-100 3 sec is hell a lot better than this jap craps.Same to BMW m4.

• pegasus on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:13 pm

i want one regardless

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 21, 2014 at 4:17 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV