Lotus SUV and sedan planned, says new group CEO

lotus-apx

A Lotus SUV and a sedan are in the plans of the Malaysian-owned British brand. Yes, you read that right. Not one, but two completely new, completely uncharacteristic body styles are to be developed by the highly-regarded but troubled sportscar-maker.

As unlikely as it may sound, Utusan Malaysia reports that this revelation came from the boss man himself, new Group Lotus CEO Jean-Marc Gales, in a Proton board meeting yesterday. Proton’s chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, CEO Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah and Lotus COO Aslam Farikullah were said to have been present in the meeting.

This is all part of Gales’ future action plan for Group Lotus. The former PSA head took over the vacant position (since Danny Bahar’s dismissal in 2012) from May 1 this year. He had previously held senior posts at Daimler, General Motors, Fiat and Volkswagen.

Before any speculations rise, the upcoming SUV model will not be related to the 2006 Lotus APX concept (pictured up top) at all. It will have an all-new design, apparently. Speaking of the sedan (a large D-segmenter, according to the report), Gales said that Lotus has had prior experience in building such a vehicle – the 1990 Lotus Carlton/Omega super-sedan that was co-developed with Vauxhall/Opel. How that is of any relevance today, well, we’re not quite sure.

Is Lotus moving in the right direction with this decision? Do share your thoughts in the comments.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• think on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:26 pm

yes..they finally understand the market…and not to stick anymore at just a particular segment..even original mini cooper now comes from multitude body styles…time to change…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • Make sure your core product doing well before jumping to the new one. Another Proton like marketing style – power window also can not make it right and dream to sell their car at higher price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 78
      • I’ve seen some lotus cars reviews on car blogs and youtube channel, they get great review and enthusiasts loves them. Most complains are about its small size and their model caters more to motor purist than average sport car buyers.

Lotus cars are the only best thing that came from proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
      • Your comment such a pussy – do you own a PROTON. Power Window? hello, what year do you live? Power Window ni zaman bila? Exora? Preve?Suprima? shame on you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 7
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Peeve and supra already request RM1.7 billion for R&D purpose, I don’t how many will be ask for these lotus models. |||
      Owning lotus for so many years and we still not afford to own the lotus cars. Don’t expect much on these lotus SUV and sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 50
      • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:35 am

Lotus is mean not for Poor / medium ppl. Lotus brand is for Rich and ministers in m-sia to owns.

You guy just drive the built quality Proton Preve and Suprima.

Tun standard Lotus = Rich, Proton = Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Jaybond on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:52 am

Lotus Top Management & DRB-Hicom has finally realized in order to stay profitable and relevant in today’s automotive world, Lotus should come out with completely new models, and it better be soon. Sedan or a hot hatch are definitely good propositions (reference to Lotus Carlton and Lotus Sunbeam). Better drop the SUV plan and replace it with a new entry level but practical sportscars in the same mould as Mazda MX5 (which ironically inspired by British icons such as Lotus Elan & MGB)..

• Peter on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Why the sedan looks like ‘that’!

• AVH (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:32 pm

The newest car they had is the Lotus Evora launched in 2009 while the next newest model share their underpinnings to a car launch from the last century. The sedan maybe….but the SUV? not to say its will not be good considering SUV are cash-cows for any brands (just ask Porsche), but to say that at the moment, Lotus are solely focusing on tried and tested sports car making technology most of which do not have a proper interior. And products such as SUV and sedan relies on not only the performance but also the interior refinement to wow the customer, something Porsche and BMW can do and something Lotus is really seriously lacking.

Unless partnered with another company with the know how to built quality sedans and SUV and ha-ha-ha I dont mean Proton, I have very serious doubts on this. Lotus is in some ways an up-market brand and their performance car are going head on to the likes of Porsche and BMW, and they make some serious piece of machines there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 21
  • mim (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Lotus Carlton was such a big hit, but it was almost banned in the EU as most criminal gangs used it as getaway/robbery car. That’s how you use a 300km/h sedan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Jules on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Why not. Afterall Sportscar makers like Porsche is I to these markets.

• brown kid on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:09 pm

like to see compete with bmw 3-series, merc-C and co for the sedan~
      woot
      good luck

• kzm (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:50 pm

i think they better make profit first before doing that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
    • brown kid on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:10 pm

i think this is the way they can make profit.. expend the target and enter bigger market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Koniseg on Aug 21, 2014 at 4:13 pm

How to ‘expend’ the target? Lowtus in
        sport car market pun tak meletop.
        Anyway, fully agree with Ahok : ‘Make sure your core product doing well before jumping to the new one’

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:33 pm

I think this is their plan to make a profit. Sports cars are not mainstream enough to be the mainstay product. Sedans are still one of the biggest sellers in the world now and SUVs are increasing in popularity so if they come up with a successful performance sedan and SUV duo, they might be able to cash in on this wave.

In my opinion, going slightly mainstream (like how Maserati has gone from hand-making every car to factory producing the Quattroporte and the Ghibli) is a good direction for them, IF and only IF they have a genuinely good car on their hands. Seeing as how Lotus sells usually very pricey products, it’ll be interesting to see how they’ll market themselves and where they will focus on. Will they try challenging the 5-series and the gang at their own game? Or will they shoot higher at the more premium segments and challenge the likes of Porsche, instead? Whatever it may be, their super minimalist design might not work anymore in this day and age.

They’re breaking new ground. Very brave…but will bravery be enough? They have their work cut out for them.

• Smart and well said bro. You did your research and not bashing like so-called-white-people in Malaysia.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:53 pm

maybe ur are rite but if the plan fail it will back fired..

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Yeah, there’s that risk. If tak laku, they might not be able to recoup the investment. But their current direction isn’t looking so good either. I guess the CEO is taking a risk to keep Lotus relevant in this day and age. Let’s see whether or not he will succeed then. He definitely wouldn’t want to put “the man who led Lotus to bankruptcy” on his resume.

• peynoo on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:58 am

Very rare that a Proton macai can comment logic like that. Sudah buang tabiat kah bang?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • iluvlolus on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:07 pm

Let me guess… rebadge exora and pravia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
  • unforgiven on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:09 pm

As long as not asking for too much handout/free money or not asking at all will be great. If get private fund from Tun or son is even better.

• Albert Lee on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:36 pm

This is the recalcitrant company that bled Proton to death…and in the process sucked billions from taxpayers in the past.
    There has not been even 1 year of reported nett profits from Lotus.It must be “syiok sendiri,gaya,perlindungan,khayalan “that kept this haemorhaging monster till now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 22
    • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Yep. Few months ago reported more than 800 millions lost dy.. most of it come from Lotus.. I use present tense because they continue making lost.. mostly from Lotus also…

Meanwhile. . Sprema S are good in the show rooms only… selamat duduk dlm showrooms. . No need to sell.. show only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
  • Uzair on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:41 pm

this could hint a rebadging of a lower cost D segment proton.

• samad on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:46 pm

I much prefer if Lotus can produce a reasonable price sportcar like Japanese car maker do using metal body and street like friendly. The current Lotus is good but most of people who like it are people who used it for track only.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:08 pm

I suggest you go & buy japs sports car…

Why ask Lotus fllw japs. . Japs milo tin they say.. no class..

But you can waitlah.. see if you can live that long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • bring back the british sport coupe!! I miss the classic era of the MG, jaguar, rover, etc etc

• Let’s make a bet, wit hint 5 years time, this CEO will be kicked out from Lotus and all plan scrapped and waste Malaysian money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • LOT us on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:57 pm

I thinklah if they want to built this project they mybe need a new plant manufacturing..so where they want to built this project?? China?? UK?? Malaysia?? And the “modal” from where they need?? DRB??..hahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • MM (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Perhaps we might see Proton’s SUV and large D segment as well.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Ahh.. ok.. now only need some money for R&D.. can ask from Protong. . Now2.. Gov can you give them some money? X banyak.. 6 billions saje.

Huahaha…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • I think they should focus to improve Proton’s quality first before even thinking of building Lotus new sedan and SUV. If they can’t even build a decent sedan with satisfying quality for proton, whats more for Lotus?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:25 am

Different management, dude. They’re 2 businesses at the same time and have their own resources and direction. What Lotus does is independent of what Proton does. What is more, do you expect them to freeze one company to focus on the other while the costs are still running? Lotus is “troubled” to say the least and if it doesn’t do anything to change the status quo quickly, it might just go bankrupt.

• APX looks like jacked up proton Sawi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
  • Josh Ling on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:49 pm

i would suggest they partner up with other car manufacturers to come up with their own SUV and sedan, rather than doing it all by themselves. porsche made good profit out of cayenne and definitely macan, not only because of crazy sales figures, but also because the cars share parts and engines with audi and vw cars, hence cut down the cost.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Suv n d -segment, i think thy r aiming for abit more volume n more products….
    just a thought, since last gen honda accord will b used for da next perdana, lotus somehow can take that chasis, modify here n thr, put a brand new shell on top…could b a legitimate option, thy only hav to source their engines, n seeing how all lotuses now use toyota engines. …thy could easily source sting frm toyota….!
    But both wont b sold in great numbers unless thy have a diesel option in their line up for diesel hungry europe…
    D segment done, n since it wil b derived frm da nxt perdana, most cost wil b paid by proton, so it frees up their r&d funds for da suv!
    Jus a thought!

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:42 am

Might not be as simple as you think. Don’t know what terms and conditions surround the small partnership between Proton and Honda but I don’t think Lotus can use the previous gen Honda Accord all willy-nilly. The chassis is still owned by Honda, after all, so, by right, permission should be acquired from Honda in order to use it for something else other than the Perdana.

I have a feeling that Lotus will most probably design a single platform that will underpin both the sedan and the SUV. Lotus is a pretty stubborn company but looks like the new CEO will take them away from the old ways.

• GOOD LUCK !! you will need a lot of that.

• Finally they wake up. That’s a good starting point. Let’s see if they can work out something that market can accept. Good luck.

• pondan on Aug 20, 2014 at 11:58 pm

lagi more talk cxxk. apa u lagi mau… tak habis sucking duit rakyat

• rejal on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:44 am

it about time, show them the power of lotus with malaysia $

• allanor on Aug 21, 2014 at 8:25 am

New model coming soon next year Lotus Koyak

• Last time they announce Tuah, jebat …. Then, 5 models for Lotus and asked more money from the people. Now announce another 2 models, this will follow with asking more money.
    Announce only, kereta tak nampak.

• So now they want to build cars that parent Proton should be building.

Lotus is confused once again and more tellingly, desperate about its future. What is Lotus all about??

And whats the PR nonsense reference to a 1990 project? The people involved in that project are probably retired or dead. No relevance to today.

• areos on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:05 am

Wah so many instant expert commentators…come on guys give Lotus a break..Remember Lotus had already assisting Youngman Group, China in 2011 developed a decent SUV..and infact former Proton CEO had toying the idea of to rebadge that SUV to be sold here. Recently it has been reported in particular months suv had outsold sedan in USA.

• totti on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:12 am

No need to talk about the SUV.

Get a good engine to replace the unreliable, rough and high fuel consumption engine from CAMPRO.

I have few friends doing top overhaul(cost RM 2K plus) before 100,000 KM and a common problem for CAMPRO.

• mim (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:01 am

Not sure if you’re bluffing or not.. but most Campro owners ran 300,000-400,000km before an overhaul. 200,000km if they’re hard on the engine.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:03 am

Yup true, very rarely u see a campro with black smoke….might not b great on FC but its very robust n reliable, owned 2 campros before

• dewaSemut on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:44 am

Would Lotus save some money if they just revive Lotus Eterne concept for this sedan project and do a crossover version of Eterne to make the SUV?

Next, Proton should make some benefit from these to take the their own version from these two..

• I thought Lotus already has some sedan models? You know, in the name of Preve, Persona, Saga, and a few. Many proton lovers like to say that their car is like a lotus car..handling can tapau bla bla bla

• i am chinese myself, but why my race keep on complaining our product? shame with my BANGSA. just to remind you, i do pay taxes like you. shame..change your attitude please.

• Idiot Kim, since when this is about race? You pay tax its your business. I pay tax its my business. You r ashamed of your Bangsa its your business. You should be ashamed of yourself too. Feel the pain in the back because somebody give bad comment to a car you bought? Grow up please

• frossonice on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:51 am

Yes and yes to both. Better still, make it with aluminium. Lighter and durable. Do a Porsche instead of Ferrari.

• Tm Soo on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:57 am

First impression like Proton Exora..

• joker~ on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:08 am

why so late…..

• walaweh on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:26 am

mr totti, i owned 2 campros, waja campro,sold in 2012,150k km, n flx se, clock 60k.

its not common for.campro need to do top overhaul unless u dont follow the correct service parts n maintenance.

using correct coolant n change rocker cover gasket are essential.

dont generalise things.

but agree on fc,its not really efficient if u drive spirited, but drive in eco style,then it will be efficient.

other makes,.it doesnt matter. its efficient no matter how u drive.

• peynoo on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:00 am

Wonder where Lotus can get big money to do those cars?

Susah lah if Najib said no to give Proton 1.7 billion. Huhuhuhu

• mmmmm on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:07 am

you have a brand that is well known like lotus for the purist. Why proton buy lotus in the first place? for the technology, for the heritage in motorsport, the brand itself. Capitalize laaaaaaaaaaaaaa cibai. Use it maximum! So hard ke? Rebrand it as proton in this country and enjoy the tax relief. give it special treatment! Customer get great car…with motorsport legacy…price mahal laaa because it is lotus….doesnt matter….capitalizeee it!!!!!!!

• Bataman on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:02 pm

They already did. Where have you been? Why do you think Proton has some of the best RnH in its class. ..and better than most similar jap cars. Even Campro is old Lotus tech…nothing left to milk….Just sell it off…

• mmmmm on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:57 pm

blearghh, RnH is tip of the iceberg about lotus. Lotus is raw, emotional go kart like handling. It should be brand as part of proton model locally but in diff segment (Sport). when people put it down as proton, let the car speak for itself…they will get it.

At least, people who buy waja can say “suspension by lotus” eventho its not. They have something to dream about.

• Bummer on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:26 am

if they have a pound for every plan they make, they’d be rich already

• Bataman on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:59 am

Just rebage Gen2….with Lotus Ride n Handling…kaw tim.

• yea just put the badge “lotus ride and handling” and wallah~ its a Lotus!

• ivanc on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:51 pm

lotus preve?
    using lotus turbocharger engine and punch cvt,lol

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Protong macai new dictionary. .(one way to identify them)

Lotus & Protong lost making company = good

Reliable cars & profit making companies = bad

• totti on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:29 pm

mr walaweh, i am not here to generalise the Campro engine.

Please go and ask the Mechanic and taxi driver and you will know the common problem of campro which is rough(engine sound),high fuel consumption and non reliable as compared to the H & T & N.

if you have 3 problems above. how are you able to complete with them?

The only survival for proton is to rebadge their car (like perodua Toyota and honda accord for Proton).

The more they produce the new model with the same old engine will burden the Tax payer money and make the rakyat suffer.

They need to close shop to lessen the rakyat burden to avoid enriching their “goyang kaki” cronies.

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/08/20/lotus-suv-sedan-planned-says-new-group-ceo/#ixzz3B6CfciBV