Mazda 2 MPS considered, to take on the Ford Fiesta ST

mazda-hazumi-0017

Word has come that the folks over at Hiroshima are currently considering a hotter version of the new Mazda 2 Hatchback. The Mazda 2 MPS, as it would be called, could take on the recently-rejuvenated compact hot-hatch market, which is currently contested by the Ford Fiesta ST, Renault Clio RS 200, Peugeot 208 GTi and Volkswagen Polo GTI.

Speaking to CarAdvice from Down Under, Mazda’s global sales and marketing general manager Yasuhiro Aoyama said more model variations could boost the 2’s competitiveness throughout its lifecycle, and that a sportier version (that is closer to the likes of the Fiesta ST than the Suzuki Swift Sport) is “definitely one of the considerations.”

Looking at the stiff competition, the up-tuned Mazda 2 would need close to around 200 hp to have any chance to shine. That, then, brings up the question of what engine it could have. Mazda has so far gone against the force-inducted trend, focussing instead on lightweight high-compression, direct injection engines in recent models.

Whatever the case, the thought of a hot-hatch-class Mazda 2 MPS (Mazda Hazumi Concept pictured above) should have all of us giddy with excitement. Let’s hope it happens sooner, rather than later.

2015 Mazda 2 Hatchback

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• kzm palat on Aug 20, 2014 at 3:43 pm

I don’t know about you but in Malaysia, Ford is dead. I rather get Mazda anytime. Ford in Malaysia is troubled with the image of the worst service centres. Ford, anything rosak, you got to wait 3 whole months for it to be repaired or replaced!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 41
    • parkjw on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:11 pm

i dont know if you are blind or what. I have seen daily, full of rangers, fiestas and occasionally kuga and focus all over the place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:58 pm

mazda 2 hatch side profile look gud..the rear look sexy

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:05 pm

You are right,
      Ford m’sia = died and Mazda m’sia = died soon.

Proton Suprima the best hashback in M’sia can smoke this Mazda2 any time no problem. Want to bet??
      Proton GSC will be even greater and awesome, buy GSC and ignore all this Japan conti.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 42
      • Tiulei on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Get a life dude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:08 pm

You got life??? Don’t comment here.
          Get yourself a better life.

Own a Proton means a better life.
          You as a Proton haters got no life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 22
          • Vader (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:47 am

Correct, is seriously answer for both ah beng and shame loo, you will vomit blood.
            Just take it easy, jokers is needed in this blog.

• parkjw on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:39 pm

yeah proton hashback with their tulubo…i dont even know what the heck that is. even if you “smoke” the mazda, nobody would even notice, because it is so FUGLY and they will still focus on and amazed by the Mazda. wanna bet?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Proton Wonton on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:31 am

Smoke a Mazda? That can’t be good. Reliability issues with Proton before it can take off from the starting line. Oh dear!

• kzm (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 5:10 pm

ford is not dead. their sales increase 25% in first quarter..i think better u read more before say sumthing that is clearly wrong.

• Chris (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:16 pm

Then prepare for a zombie apocalypse. Everyday I see more and more Ford on the road, if it’s dying, definitely zombies.

• clever mazda.. collecting earlier opinions about how this mazda would be stuffed up. easy, price it lower than rivals & dont compromise safety issue. & for the trans pls give both option manual or auto.

• MazdaTheAwakening on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Indeed a head-turner for a B-Segment car! Now with MPS, what more do u want?

• toto head prize
      girlfriend
      a trip to iceland
      tennis racket
      gym membership

• Chris (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:16 pm

I want excise duty abolished. So everyone here can afford a hot-hatch.

• Jaybond on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:46 pm

It’s just natural that Mazda is considering a “true” hot hatch version of the Mazda 2 (Mazda 3 MPS must be around the corner as well).Currently Mazda is the only Japanese brand capable of challenging Europe’s best handling mainstream passenger cars from Ford, VW, PSA & Renault ,and this certainly proven by the rave reviews from most European publications.If Mazda still insist on a non-forced induction engine for the Mazda MPS, I can’t think of no less than a revving 200bhp engine, maybe the 2.0L or the 2.5L In-Line 4.

• ketua zoo macai (kzm) on Aug 20, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Sure Proton later on introduce Iriz R3 turbo, but kuat makan minyak contrary to other turbo cars that produce bigger power less fuel consumed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Baja Lapis Seng on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Call me crazy, the only Mazda I want to get is the one powered by the sexy Wankel rotary engine.

Time to follow Rosmah’s amalan menabung for the next gen Rx-7 hehe

• mujinkun on Aug 20, 2014 at 9:16 pm

I love design from this Hiroshima origin car maker and off course the car maker from Turin…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:16 am

rotary powered please

• Porsche guy on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:46 am

My friend own a mazda… I call him softie…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • And i call you an old man with ‘small’ assets, thats why u need a fancy car to impress girls.

• samlok on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Don’t only consider, make it happen please.

• teelim on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:15 am

Please make it as good, if not better than the Fiesta ST.

• Usavich on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:04 pm

This small hatch gonna face a tough time competing with the aXia super hatch from Pereduro !

• Forget the 2 mps, we want a new 3 mps with a skyactiv turbo petrol!