VIDEO: Land Rover Discovery Sport cabin previewed

Land Rover has released this video, previewing the upcoming Discovery Sport’s interior. This gives us our first real glimpse of the Freelander-replacement’s new seating configuration, as well as a quick look at the dashboard. For a car that will rival the five-seat BMW X3 and Audi Q5, this looks rather impressive indeed.

It’s not quite big enough to be classified as a full seven-seater. There’s the full-size Discovery for that role, anyway. Land Rover itself calls it a 5+2, but promises that it “will be the most versatile and capable SUV in its segment.”

From the short clip, we now know that the second-row seats can be adjusted front and back, and that the seat backs have a 40:20:40-split. That’s MPV-esque flexibility there. The last two seats, meanwhile, have comically-large folding headrests, much like those on the Range Rover Sport.

The Land Rover Discovery Sport will be revealed in full on September 3, just two weeks from now. We’ll have more on this when the time comes.

Land Rover Discovery Vision concept at the 2014 NYIAS

Land Rover Discovery Sport spied testing

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Sam Loo Wakudoki on Aug 20, 2014 at 6:57 pm

who cares???? my hilux is classier than this piece of shit, can do wakudoki dance sumore…. land rover can dance meh? break down in the forest then baru tau lah!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • Vader (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:43 am

Yupe, UMW Toyota not kosong spec and kosong technologies, no need worry these features break down at all!!! lol

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 20, 2014 at 7:20 pm

This or the XC90… I know the XC90 is bigger, but this would be about the price of an XC90 (I guess), if the current Freelander2 and XC90 pricing remains…

I am genuinely impressed by the Volvo, as for the Land Rover, I guess the teasers don’t look as exciting as the Volvo, but hey, knowing the new Jaguar Land Rover, the Brit boys would have a thing or two up their Saville Row suits.