BMW X4 launched in Malaysia – xDrive28i, RM439k

BMW X4 Malaysia- 1

BMW Malaysia officially launched the BMW X4 this morning at the Sepang International Circuit. No surprise of course – the latest SAV was teased on FB earlier this month. The X4, which can be viewed either as an “X3 coupe” or “baby X6”, is available here in xDrive28i form, priced at RM438,800 OTR without insurance. The xDrive28i M Sport is RM30k costlier.

This website has had a long journey with the F26 X4. Our man Harvinder introduced the BMW Concept X4 to the world for BMW TV at Auto Shanghai 2013, posing some of your questions to the crossover’s product manager and designer.

Post Shanghai, we continued to follow the X4’s transformation from concept to production via a series of spyshots, before the car made its debut in Geneva this year, retaining much of the original concept’s looks. Anthony sampled the X4 at its international launch in Spain in June, and you can read our test drive report to learn more.

BMW X4 Malaysia- 2

The X4 xDrive28i is powered by a 2.0 litre turbo engine with 245 hp and 350 Nm of torque from just 1,250 rpm. The direct-injected twin-scroll turbo motor is paired to BMW’s eight-speed automatic transmission, and power goes to all four corners via BMW’s xDrive system. Zero to 100 km/h is done is just 6.4 seconds, and the 1,845 kg SAV will go on until 232 km/h. Hot-hatches, don’t try to “smoke” this thing.

The F26 X4 is based on the F25 X3, and both cars share the same width (1,881 mm) and wheelbase (2,810 mm), although the “coupe” is 23 mm longer (4,671 mm) and 51 mm lower (1,624 mm) than the upright F25.

Boot capacity is 500 litres, increasing to 1,400 litres with the 40:20:40-split rear seat bench folded flat. The tailgate is automatic and there’s a Smart Opener function where you extend your leg under the rear bumper (no contact required) to open/close the hatch.

If you don’t see the X3/X4 relationship outside, you will once opening the doors, as both share the same dashboard design. Cabin features include dual-zone auto air con (with rear vents), electric seat adjustment (memory for driver) and Navigation system Professional with 8.8-inch display, among other things.

The xDrive28i comes in SAV-specific xLine trim, which includes 19-inch Y-spoke alloys (245/45 tyres front, 275/40 rear) and matte chrome trim for the dual-tailpipes, aluminium matte for the kidney grille and satin window surrounds. xLine door finishers, a nine-speaker 205W “HiFi” sound system, Nevada leather, sports leather steering with paddles and ‘X’ stamping on the headrests are also standard.

The optional M Sport package adds on 19-inch double-spoke M light alloys (same tyre size), high-gloss shadow line trim and an M aerodynamics package. Melbourne Red is an exclusive M Sport colour option. Inside, you get a colour head-up display, M door sill finishers, M Sport steering, aluminium trim and a 16-speaker 600W Harman Kardon sound system.

Lastly, both the standard X4 and the M Sport version come with Dynamic Damper Control. Active damping was present in the original CBU X3 but is omitted from the latest CKD X3 facelift, launched earlier this month.

View full specs and pricing for the BMW X4 on CarBase.my and compare the X4 against its X3 sibling and the Range Rover Evoque Coupe. Also read our test drive report of the BMW X4.

BMW X4 xDrive28i

BMW X4 xDrive28i M Sport

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:09 am

Really like the rim design on the black coloured one. Actually it doesn’t look half as bad in black.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:52 am

I think the rear looks odd. Just looks like a really tall sedan with the sloping roofline. Actually reminds me a bit of the Honda City, which also has a tallish rear end. Is this the point of the coupe SUV design?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
      • sudonano (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 2:06 pm

I guess so… But some coupe-SUVs looks bloody good, like the Evoque.

Speaking of which, considering the price, suddenly the Evoque Prestige Si4 with the same power suddenly feels like a steal. For an M Sport variant, suddenly the Macan 2.0T also looks like an OK deal…

• Petrolhead (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:23 am

Better buy X3 LCI, RM110k cheaper than this X4 which offers more rear leg/headroom and boot space.
          Also I think this coupe design only works well on the X6 as this X4 looks out of proportion especially from its roofline to the rear lights area.
          Bottom line is if you want to get a good looking and a powerful SAV just get the X3 LCI instead. It looks the same in front with better rear design, it shares the same interior with more space in every departments and comes with a cheaper price tag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
        • BMW 2 Year Warranty on Aug 22, 2014 at 11:45 am

Why would someone buy a car that ONLY gives 2 years warranty.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company not just in Malaysia but the entire world to give its cars only 2 years warranty.

All other cars in Malaysia have upped their warranty to 5 years. Even BMW’s rival Mercedes have upped their warranty to 4 years.

Do you know why BMW only gives a mere 2 years warranty? Very simple. Just right after the 2nd year, as seen in forums and BMW groups postings, and facebook postings, major parts will fail. Most common part is the gearbox. Be prepared to fork out about RM80,000 for a new gearbox.

That is why if you buy BMW, make sure you are a multimillionaire. If you are just a high earner earning RM20,000 a month, please don’t bother with BMW even if you can afford the repayments. You will be paying through your nose for parts after the warranty expires. That is why you see so many 1 year old BMWs for sale in the 2nd hand market.

Remember, unless you are a multi millionaire, please be careful when buying a BMW in Malaysia.

To those sour grapes BMW salesman who will say I am a Mercedes salesman, don’t be jealous. I am not. I am a BMW owner fighting for the rights of all BMW owners in Malaysia for longer warranty. You BMW salesman should be telling your management to give longer warranty to us BMW owners.

Facebook and forums don’t lie. Go and see for yourself what happens after the 2nd year and read all the forums. The saying Banyak Masuk Workshop is not a myth. Even the company themselves so scared to give you more than 2 years warranty so that alone speaks volume!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Now don’t go spreading around misinformation.

http://www.bmw.com.my/com/en/general/services/bmw_serviceinclusive.html

This is the BMW Malaysia website. It says that the warranty, along with the free maintenance, lasts 3 years or 60k km. Don’t know where you got the 2 year warranty thing but I do think that the 60k km mileage limit is quite short for cars that are built for “sheer driving pleasure”.

And you’re wrong about all the major car companies upping their warranty to 5 years. From the Vios all the way up to the Alphard, UMW Toyota still does 3 year warranty, albeit with a 100k km mileage limit, and Nissan does roughly the same with their cars from the Almera up till the Teana (I didn’t check the Elgrand but it might just be the same). Of the best selling non-national brands, T, H and N, only Honda is upping their warranty across the board on their newer models with a 5 year and unlimited mileage warranty. If I’m not mistaken, VW does 5 year warranties (not sure if mileage is unlimited) as well, along with national carmakers Proton and Perodua while Mitsubishi is only offering 5 year and unlimited mileage warranty (along with 2 years of free servicing) for their higher end cars (ASX and above). The Mirage and Attrage get 3 year, 100k km warranties and 1 year of free service.

I’m not saying BMW cars are reliable. I am also not saying they’re unreliable. And I believe hearsay is too vague a gauge but there are no statistics to prove it in this country (though there is one in the UK and BMW does rank quite high on the unreliable list).

But do get your facts right, k?

• Paul Tan on Aug 22, 2014 at 11:02 pm

BMW manufacturer warranty is only 2 years, unlimited mileage.

The 3 years or 60,000 km whichever comes earlier thing is actually free service as well as a type of extended warranty. It is not manufacturer warranty.

Personally, I feel with more and more people being pushed to live in the suburbs, limiting warranty coverage to 20,000 km a year is pretty outdated. Thankfully the first 2 years of manufacturer’s warranty is unlimited mileage.

My car did 70,000 km in 1.5 years. So I would prefer a car with unlimited mileage warranty over a car with a low mileage cap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Obviously (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 11:13 pm

Thanks for clearing that up, Paul. But I would still think that a car being under extended warranty would still be considered as under warranty, wouldn’t it? I’ve read that claiming extended warranties are a pain, though.

• BMW Cheat Cheat Cheat on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:08 pm

This car is about USD$40,000. That is about RM120,000.
          BMW Malaysia will get this car from its principal in Germany much cheaper than USD$40,000 because that is the price what BMW USA sells and still makes a profit/margin and at that price, it has already paid the US Government taxes, excise and duties.

BMW Malaysia will probably get this car at US$30,000 when it reaches Port Klang. So, the cost to BMW Malaysia will be less than RM100,000.

Our duties and excise duty plus tax max out at 130%.
          So, the car will cost RM230,000 after all duties paid.

Instead of selling it cheaper, they screw us up and make untung bersih RM200,000.

Please BMW Malaysia. Don’t be tamak. You can make RM50k on the car. Why make RM200k on the car?

And then, blame the government for high taxes. Actually, it is BMW Malaysia ripping people of Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • Honliong Lee on May 04, 2015 at 10:50 am

Please double check the government import duty, AP/license charges and so on before such comments.

• BMW Malaysia throw Prices on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Never buy a new BMW. Always buy 2nd hand.

The price of the 1st year depreciation is so great, you might just get a heart attack. I just bought a BMW 520i, mileage about 5000KM, 2013 July model with still 11 months warranty left for RM250,000. A brand new 2014 BMW 520i is RM370,000. And I bought this car directly from Auto Bavaria. Pre Reg unit.

So, in 11 months, the car can drop RM120,000.

The same with this X4. If you are interested and pandai, just wait 11 months or 1 year. You can get this X3 for RM300,000.

If BMW themselves can throw prices for their pre reg units, can you imagine what happens to the 2nd hand market?

Do you want to be the scape goat to buy this car at 439k when BMW themselves will throw prices and sell this car pre reg units for RM300,000 10 to 12 months later?

Or get it cheaper in the 2nd hand market. Usually 2nd year onwards BMW prices stablilizes and depreciates abt RM20,000 per year. Let the first owner suffer the over RM100,000 depreciation figure. Be wise!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:20 am

nice..but for the price…hard to not consider a macan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
    • peynoo on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:25 pm

If cannot afford BMW X4, can go buy Proton Gen2 tukar 4wd spring absorber kasi tinggi sikit lor….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 50
      • Macan on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Aiyoo, so dumb. He only compare car la, not say cannot afford!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Francis on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:10 pm

But this is BMW, macan is VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 18
      • Macan on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:44 pm

That is like saying you are a monkey

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 23
        • Francis on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:20 pm

This can come out from your mouth, your mom must be a monkey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • Macai Sejati on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Adik.. Petang-petang pergi bersukan beriadah.. Biar sel-sel otak tu bergabung sikit..

jangan duduk depan komputer sajer, nanti nampak kebodohan adik..

abang dekat office lagi ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • I can’t be the only one who thinks that this is ugly, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:38 pm

wait for mercedes MLC…that would be nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Exterior look kinda nice but the X3 interior is just pull everything off.

You will feel like driving X3 with new skin because they don’t border to give the x4 new dash design, but with that price, at least do something. please

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Cue the first two lines from the chorus of Michael Jackson’s You Are Not Alone.

• kl fella on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:58 am

i still think the x3 20d is still a better buy than this! and it’s almost 80k cheaper for getting the same interior and similar space & tech

• If only on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:53 pm

If only BMW would stop this upselling tactics and put adaptive damper on the X3.

No one wants to get the impractical X4 just for the adaptive damper. Put those in the X3 darnit and take my money!

• seancorr on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Dude I don’t see anywhere in the article stating that the X4 has adaptive dampers but seriously that RM30k package should have added adaptive suspension or some form of M-Sport suspension to counter body roll.

Looking at the full spec X4 price, its gonna be hard to justify buying one since the Porsche Macan price is around the same ball park so good luck BMW Malaysia in selling it with a 2 year warranty comparing to the 4 year warranty and free service from Porsche Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Danny Tan (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:34 am

Both the standard car and the M Sport come with Dynamic Damper Control. I missed this earlier, story updated.

• It doesnt make any sense to me. U can buy 10 full spec perodua axia. Total of 10 axia is 10,000cc engine. This only 2,800.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 36
    • kl fella on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:51 pm

it doesn’t even make any sense to me how can you make this kind of comparison.. why don’t you compare axia 66hp to bugatti veyron 1000hp..

who in the world with 400k to spend on “a” car would want to buy 10 axias? unless you wanna do car rental service lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
    • Macan on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:50 pm

You must be a budak baru masuk sekolah.

With an X4
      1) Gals come after you
      2) Successful Friends will like you
      3) Clients will like to do business with you

With 10 Perodua
      1) Girls will laugh at you 10x harder
      2) everyone will think you are a mad fella and avoid you
      3) Clients will think you are a pathetic loser will throw you out from their office

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Jimmy on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:08 pm

True, therefore, we want X6, not X4, lame lah.
        Macan, small, get the elder brother.
        If your friends are rich-rich ones and you visti their houses then you understand what I mean.

• Josh Ling on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:06 pm

i think i would buy 10 standard spec Alza or 1.5SE Myvi, and it will be 15,000cc. more cc, more power!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • therealmaserati on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Cant understand who will buy this for 440k?!!

Its ugly inside and outside. Its just plain boring. BMW cars are so freaking boring!

I mean , I would rather get a Porsche Macan with about the same amount of money rather than this boring piece of crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
    • Jinyiwei on Aug 21, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Agreed!! The interior looks so boring.. same dashboard layout, almost identical to 3-Series. Too much of component sharing. Ah yes, to save/reduce cost nonsenses. I’ll still prefer Audi for now.

• Jimmy on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:12 pm

By the time you can easily spend 440k you most probabaly don’t want Macan, alang-alang. X4 is the same.

• Please get a grip….!!!

• nighttrain on Aug 21, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Evoque? Many trips to SC too…

• mmaker on Aug 21, 2014 at 1:45 pm

Does it come with full-size spare tyre?

• this car definitely more beautiful than macan and evoque

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
  • Those men must be the oldest n ugliest male model ever

• Francis on Aug 21, 2014 at 2:17 pm

I do not understand this X4 existence, I mean it just a compact SUV and they have X3 for it.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 2:29 pm

BMW aeroback. Reminds me of Wira aeroback.

• heybadigol on Aug 21, 2014 at 2:56 pm

I’m sure it drives fine. But the exterior design, well, makes the X6 looks really good. I’m sorry, but to these eyes, the X4 looks out of proportion. A car this short and with 5 doors can’t have a sloping roof like this. It needs 3 doors to work, or longer wheelbase like the X6 or closer to the ground to give it better proportions. And that price can buy one a 528i, with money to spare. Although not in the same class, my preference is the F10.

• Take double look at the nose:

http://cdn.paultan.org/image/2014/08/BMW-X4-Malaysia-1.jpg

Very Beautiful Big Nose with Small Mouth.

• brazbuz on Aug 21, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Just read the article by uk journalist that comparing it macan, porsche actually is much better all-rounder. If 2.0t price at 500k region, bmw gonna have hard time to sell this

• Frank Martin on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Macan 2.0 starts from RM435k and depending on the specs you choose. The lowest is around RM30k, so you are looking at RM465k , compared to RM439k for the X4. But BMW is only 2 years warranty , Porsche is 4 years. Each year warranty is worth around RM8k ( they charge recon Porsche owners that much to provide one year for warranty), so thats RM16k. 4 years’ free maintaineance and Porsche changes everything including brake pads except tyres. This is worth at least RM5k per year, so you get another RM20k. Total is RM36k off RM465k, or around RM429k comparing apple to apple on pricing and warranty only. If you put in the brand image and prestige, obviously Porsche will score more points. All in, either the Macan is underpriced or the X4 is overpriced. You make your own decision but I have already booked a Macan 2.0 months ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • Macan on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Macan 2.0 is VW engine no class 0-100 is 6.9s, X4 0-100 is 6.4s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
        • Garfield on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:08 pm

It’s best that things are looked at from a ‘half full’ perspective rather than ‘half empty’. The VW group engines are pretty high tech for its segment already. Other than image, build quality does make a difference across the group. Else you pessimists might as well call it a Skoda engine.

• Jimmy on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Bean counter.

• brazbuz on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:08 am

X4 is priced a bit higher than macan too in uk when comparing the 3.0diesel side by side…

• seancorr on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:36 pm

It was supposed to retail around RM450-460k last reported by paultan and if that price list and correct spec sheet does come true then BMW Malaysia can go fly kite with its X4.

• TheDean on Aug 21, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Wait till you see the new X4.5 Different yet same, and probably priced RM500k

• john doe on Aug 21, 2014 at 4:47 pm

I am sorry to say this guys, but I feel the design is somehow, RETARD

• adkjfh on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Macan looks boring especially the front . Porchse never changed their front SUV looks since the first generation of Cayenne . BMW at least did something diff

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Boring BMW on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:28 pm

BMW.. seriously.. get a grip.. stop it with the nonsense unnecessary models… 1 series… 2 series (1 series sedan).. 2 series coupe =.=.. 3 series.. 4 series(3 series coupe) and then 3GT.. covetable.. etc.. way too many models to list out..

anyway, comparing this X4 with the Lexus NX and Porche Macan, the X4 is hideous.. Lexus NX is such a sexy concept looking production car! and the Porche Macan is so classy and clean!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Dua Roda Sahaja on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:55 pm

I ordered one… if not for the price..

• Alex Loh on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:15 pm

The Macan is stated at 450k but Porsche will add on many accessories and what not to the car making it at least another >70k more expensive than this X4 though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Macan on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:32 pm

>70k more expensive, 0-100 is 0.5s slower and worse of all a VW engine Ptuiii!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • I think Macan win in the brand image and handling..

• Francis on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Where come is the brand image? macan is basically a long legged VW GTI.

• I wonder why they still using the Old M steering of 2010 5 series and 3 series.. The new one look much better

• Pening on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Lolz for this price can get x2 unit of M4 in the US of A with a bit of spare change

• foxtrot on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:30 pm

lol fatty fatty too heavy

• Ron (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Only issue with the Porsche Macan is can you buy it? It is sold out for more than a year in the UK alone… Also maintenance for Porsches should be higher as there are fewer on the roads here…