Hyundai Genesis previewed in Malaysia with 3.8L V6

hyundai-genesis-malaysia-11

The latest Hyundai Genesis has made an unexpected appearance in Malaysia, specifically at Nu Sentral where Hyundai is a co-sponsor of the ongoing CIMB Malaysian Open Squash Championships 2014. There’s no official word yet that the large Korean car is coming to our shores, but the fact that it’s being displayed here says a lot, doesn’t it?

Massive, unique-looking and certainly imposing, the second-generation Genesis is a premium rear-wheel drive sedan that’s a few rungs above the likes of the D-segment Sonata. There isn’t even a Hyundai logo on it, as it wears its own ‘Genesis’ crest.

hyundai-genesis-malaysia-4

It measures in at 4,990 mm long, 1,890 mm wide and 1,480 mm tall, with a 3,010 mm wheelbase. The car on show wears a 3.8 litre V6 Lambda engine with 315 PS and 397 Nm of torque, paired to an eight-speed automatic transmission.

On the equipment front, it boasts 18-inch wheels, xenon headlamps, keyless entry, panoramic roof, Around View Monitor, head-up display and nine airbags. Whether everything listed in the extensive spec sheet (included in the gallery below) will arrive in the local cars (whenever that may be), remains to be seen.

In the US, the relatively successful Genesis is known for offering more than Mercedes-Benz E-Class/BMW 5 Series levels of technology and space, but for C-Class/3 Series money. Whether the same “value for money” formula would work here, well, your guess is as good as ours.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• nice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 16
    • Pinky on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Woah, this is nice! Let’s hope they price this below 200k and sure will sell like hot cakes!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 32
      • Below 200k for a massive 3.8L V6 with some top of the class luxury? Fat Wish !!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 11
        • Actual Toyota Salesman on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:05 pm

I work with a Toyota dealership and I can confirm, all of us salesman for the last 5 years like to spend our lunch hour spreading rumours about Korean cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Ameba Salesman on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:09 pm

I have to agree, Toyota salesman and even Honda salesman are amebas. Low intelligence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
        • rexton on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Bila Sam Loo mau test drive it? Honest review ok!!! :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Warning Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Sam Loo Ori, Shame Loo, Same Loor and all the low life Toyota salesman are all like cockroach, running for their lives when faced with Mortein.

Disgraceful salesman. Always talking bad about Korean RV and spreading lies about Korean RV.

Halo, Toyota got the worst RV lah. Now, every single of the 30 million Malaysian know how UMW have short changed them and disregarded the importance of our lives by taking out the VSC in the Camry just to make more money.

All Malaysians now know, UMW took VSC out in the Camry initially just to Untung Lebih at the expense of Toyota owners dying and meeting more accidents.

Even in the Altis, VSC is taken out. Even in the Vios VSC is taken out.

Sam Loo, you are commenting so much here because you are like the cockroach. takut. Running wild because scared Toyota sales so low now.

Why would people want to buy Toyota when they know the car is so cheap in the US with 9 airbags but come to Malaysia, UMW sells the car 4 times the price with only 2 airbags and no VSC?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 29
        • Raymond_Tan on Aug 23, 2014 at 12:52 am

Well said Warning. I find all of Fake Sam’s comments full of nonsense.

To most car enthusiasts, Toyota cars are damn boring transports that can satisfy people who are not really into cars.

Vvti is a complete piece of junk that is so poor in NVH when the rpm needle goes beyond 3000rpm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:25 am

Kimchi salesman with the ISIS mentality.

Just let me know when you intend to do the kamikaze

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
    • Hyundai-Kia aka Junk on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 214
      • ProtonGSC on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:40 pm

True and agree better buy Proton GSC.
        Hyundai Sime Darby go back s.korea sell this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 77
        • Toyota and Honda LIES on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Hyundai-Kia aka Junk alia De La Junk is a very frustrated Toyota salesman.

Hyundai is the 4th largest car producer in the world. Last year alone, they sold over 10 million cars. So, can 10 million people be wrong or one pariah who calls himself De La Junk be right?

Toyota and Honda salesman are so jealous. Once upon a time, they were so arrogant. You walk into a Toyota showroom, you can stand there half hour also, they don’t layan you. They just sit there and chit chat. If they are not chit chatting, they are outside the showroom smoking in a group.

Their sales started to disappear. That is why you see everywhere there is Hyundai Elantra but to see a Honda Civic or the 2014 Altis, very rare. Their sales started disappearing

Now, the Toyota salesman and Honda salesman are like dogs, they run after you. They started to panic. No more arrogant. They run after you and even offer you a drink.

Now, Japanese cars in Malaysia starting to panic big time. Your eyes don’t like. Altis already launched 1 year plus but can you even see a 2014 Altis on the road? But you see Elantra everywhere.

The Toyota salesman also, being so stupid, now see that their bad mouthing of Korean cars and lying about their RV has backfired big time.

Everyone can see mudah, carlies, oto and can see Japanese and Korean cars have SAME RV. All the lies now are in the open.

The Toyota salesman and Honda salesman are all crying for playing dirty. God has punished them so much that they run after you now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 17
          • Kanesshiro (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Well said~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
          • STOP giving false info. Hyundai DID NOT sell 10 million last year.

Toyota, being the largest, only sold 9.96 million units. How can Hyundai be fourth when it sold more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
          • dugong (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 3:15 pm

*Standing Ovation*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Toyota Salesman - Ameba on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:16 pm

I can confirm Toyota salesman in Malaysia are ameba category. They are the lowest form of lives in Malaysia.

For years they have been coming to PT to bull about RV of other cars, especially Korean cars.

The Toyota salesman are so stupid, they don’t know how to ALL WIN together. They condemn Korean cars because Korean cars are their biggest threat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
          • Toyota Salesman RV LIES on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Now Toyota salesman all crying. Toyota RV now stinks. Buyers are no more buying Toyota. 2013 August Camry 2.4 now selling for RM130k, down from RM180k.

Just 11 months, the car can drop RM50,000. That is a record!

2013 Camry 2.0 also now selling for RM105,000. My relative just bought one. No accident at all.

So who says Toyota has good RV?

Maybe last time lah Same Lor. No more. Public already aware how UMW have been cheating the consumers in Malaysia

One year already Altis has been launched, can you see the 2014 Altis on the road?

Trust your eyes. Your eyes don’t lie. We see a lot of older Altis on the road but can never see the 2014 Altis on the road.

If one year has passed, surely there will be a lot of Altis on the road. But I see every corner Hyundai Elantra on the raod. Consumers know, for about RM85k, you can get an Elantra with VSC and the car is bigger than the Altis which cost RM139 for the version with VSC.

As for Vios. Vios is dead. Completely wiped out by Honda City. No need to justify here. Everybody also admit, City wiped Vios out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
          • Ameba Salesman on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Very well said. The Toyota salesman love to like their postings. Sam Loo (ori) click like on his own posting cause showroom very free. Got no sales. Shake leg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
        • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 23, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Hyundai sold 10 million units over the past 10 years …..

Out of the 1 million units sold last year, 500k owners have traded in their cabbages after realising that they have bought themselves a vege

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Sales for Hyundai-Kia should be around 7.8 million this year.

• joule on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:41 am

these people only see badges in their eyes..lol

@(P1)_(P1)@

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • EnergyAnalyst on Aug 22, 2014 at 10:49 am

These people?

Try read about what would South Korean themselves buy given the choice

http://english.chosun.com/site/data/html_dir/2014/06/21/2014062100556.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f13_PNBFiIQ

• Korean Ninja on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:29 pm

70% of all imported cars sold in Korea were German, with BMW, VW, Mercedes and Audi in that order. Not surprising, as Korean are benchmarked against German cars and not Japanese models. Thats why their cars are now better than Japanese.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
          • IMaMan on Aug 22, 2014 at 7:33 pm

because korean people know their own car maker is using technology from German. there is no surprise this Genesis sales are lower than german car. USA also produce their own luxury car and also japanese, did u ever see their luxury car sales is better than German luxury car?

• dugong (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 3:30 pm

You are right. Koreans never benchmark with lousy toyota AKA toy-a-car. The Genesis Was benchmark to surpass the BMW 5 series while offering 7-series interior at 3-series pricing. Even the sound system for the genesis is a 17 speaker lexicon…the same brand used in roll royce phantom. Lexus was just beaten in their own game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
        • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:37 am

South Koreans themselves voted Camry as their car of the year in 2013

What does that tell you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 23, 2014 at 11:38 am

Would be better if more sales are channeled to Sonata and Elantra, being the high volume mover in the used car industry.

Less than 15 month old unit trading in for around 50% of selling price.

• Dua Roda Sahaja on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:48 pm

thumbs up… they just keep getting better

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 23
    • Chong Kah Kiat on Aug 21, 2014 at 8:30 pm

crazy ar? imagine the road tax of this car.. even bmw 316i or audi a3 is miles cheaper than this! and what is up with that Bentley logo!!!!! god hyundai! u could’ve used butterfly wings or unicorn wings but must’ve it be Bentley? #copypaste

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 57
      • Gargantia on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:38 pm

People that can afford/buy this car, don’t much even border the road tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
        • Chong Kah Kiat on Aug 22, 2014 at 6:29 am

true hor.. their money not mine. but at that price range.. better to buy image and class (bmw) than value-for-money car (genesis). public perception plays a very important role in our lives.. especially among businessmen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
          • kenny on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:58 am

Really? Public perception is so important to you? then you must be as handsome as tom cruise or Brad Pit, or else you have to hide yourself inside the house and better dun get out to scared people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
          • Low Budget on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:25 am

Only Malaysian public think Korean cars got no class! But they won’t hesitate to queue up buy made in Korea Samsung smart phones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
          • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:41 am

Is easy you want image and brand? just buy Proton cars.
            BMW is for cronies and Genesis for Rich.

Proton have image of built quality and price of a luxury brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • Ppl that can afford/buy this car would be looking qt other brand instead….unless they have juat enough money to spend….
          This is isn’t selling well in korea and that’s the fact…korean pick mercedes jaguar…

• Raymond_Tan on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:02 am

This car is meant to be a value for money luxury cruiser which is and alternative to those big Germans or Lexus but without such a heavy price tag.

It will appeal to people who desires a luxury transport but doesn’t want to attract all the limelight at the same time.

By the way, Chong K K when are u returning to politix?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • Chong Kah Kiat on Aug 22, 2014 at 6:25 am

iam not a politician but a geophysicist. n wayyyy younger than that politician.. just that our name is the same, thats all. imagine your colleague with najib or anuar names, would u coincide them with those politicians? nah dont think so…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • ProtonGSC on Aug 22, 2014 at 10:36 am

Luckily you’re not politics so you can own a Proton.

Luxury brands = ministers and Rich.
            Proton = Rakyat and you !!!

• Foo Kok Keong on Aug 22, 2014 at 10:37 am

I suppose your parents must be a big fan of CKK to name you after him. LoL

• it’s just a lorry size Sonata, Meant to be keep at the HQ showroom with a price of more than RM300k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • rifle on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:50 pm

one of my favourites is here!yeahh!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Fantastic.

Love the trade-in for less than RM50k a year later

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 255 Thumb down 188
    • someguyonthenet on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 168
      • Vader (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 153
        • Low Budget on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:31 am

Agree, he is just anti Korean cars kau-kau even when Korean cars have built up a very good reputation for quality worldwide since the humiliating insult by the Americans 20 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 93
        • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:53 pm

On the contrary, I love Hyundai Cars, coz they are the lifeline to my used car biz.

Trade-selling price delta is at least RM20k minimum

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 8
    • Steven on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Sam Loo, you sell the car to me at RM50K after a year. I pay cash to you. You have been always bullshitting about Hyundai and other car depreciation value! Current Toyota cars depreciate higher compare to PAST years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 79
    • Steven on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Sam Loo, you sell the car to me at RM50K after a year. I pay cash to you. You have been always bullshitting about Hyundai and other car depreciation value! Current Toyota cars depreciate higher compare to PAST years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 58
    • Kanesshiro on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Sam Loo, sell the car to me at RM50K a year later. I pay cash to you. You have been always bullshitting about Hyundai and other cars depreciation value! Toyota cars depreciation is much higher compare to PAST years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 57
    • Kanesshiro (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Sam Loo, sell the car to me at RM50K a year later. I pay cash to you. You have been always criticizing about Hyundai and other cars depreciation value! Toyota cars depreciation is much higher compare to PAST years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 56
    • lloire on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:18 pm

Sam Loo, sell the car to me at RM50K a year later. I pay cash to you. You have been always bullshitting about Hyundai and other cars depreciation value! Toyota cars depreciation is much higher compare to PAST years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 59
    • dreaming of maserati on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:19 am

HAha. Yesterday i bought 11 mths old camry 2.5v for 35k only……from Sam Loo’s hailat yard. Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 43
      • Low Budget on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:35 am

Sam Loo is well known for talk kock about Korean 2nd hand car price, we don’t have to ‘layan’ him too much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 23
      • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Hyundais are excellent trading materials in the used car market.

All used car dealer that sells contis and sushis regret like hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
  • must change the name first if they want to sell here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Why ? what’s with name ? does it sound non-halal ?? no offence, just curious !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 24
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Genesis is a Greek/Latin-derived word meaning “a beginning or origin of anything”. Hyundai probably chose the name to mark its coming of age, the beginning of a new Hyundai, no longer a budget car maker but one striving to be the best.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 23, 2014 at 1:36 pm

They can change all they like, but if its a kimchi, it will never have RV

• Please don't.. on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:53 pm

The Logo : Improvised Bentley logo.
    The Front Grille : Hybrid between Audi’s signature grille and the S-Class grille.
    The Headlamps : Slightly angular Previous Generation S-Class headlamps. Even to the DRL designs on the bumper.
    Rear Lamps : Audi A8 “inspired” LED lamps. Not the housing of the rear lamps though. That one, Hyundai indeed :-)
    The Interior Door design : Previous Generation S-Class “inspired”
    The Dashboard design : Jaguar XF “inspired”
    The Cubby Compartment between the front seats : Also Previous Generation S-Class “inspired”
    Interior Analog Clock : Lexus Analog Clock design with Mercedes E-Class analog clock shape.

2015 Hyundai Genesis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 51
    • Please don't.. on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:54 pm

I missed out the Interior’s MMI System just behind the Gear Shift area. Very Very Audi “Inspired”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
      • Wow.. that’s some findings ! nevertheless doesn’t that look really awesome ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Shock Syok on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Wahh so many Inspired here and there..

But if this is proton, sure you will never ever used the inspired word.. confirm curi, copy paste tiru the words you going to use.. Funny

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
    • chill bro. whiff an air of optimism. fault finding is ok but yours is a bit excessive IMO. go have some fun this weekend

• Low Budget on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:38 am

So what?

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:53 pm

It’s still going to be the most Hyundai ever. I wonder if Malaysians are ready to put so much money up for a Korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:04 pm

Buy used mode.

Trade in 15 months later will be less than RM50k, so used car fella will make RM20-RM30k for this model.

RM80k tops if u buy a year later

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 43
      • Pororo on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Wow!! Sam Loo, if you and your gang want to sell that cheap price if the car reach or shore soon or later, pm me.. i want to buy one..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 45
      • Sam, you definitely have no idea engineers spend countless hours working on great cars. And consumers like us, are don’t mind spending money to support their diligence.

Your mind is too small to fit in the big big world. Keep an eye on Korean auto industry. You don’t see it coming, don’t you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 44
        • Foo Kok Keong on Aug 22, 2014 at 10:39 am

The person pretending to be Sam Loo seems to be talking rubbish all the time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
          • Sammy_Already_No_Value on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:49 pm

You are right Mr Foo!

By the way, we need you back in badminton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:00 pm

…the most expensive Hyundai ever***

Gosh…need to spell check more carefully.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • shawal on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:54 pm

The latest E-class here uses a 2.0 turbocharged engine…
    the genesis simply could not compete unless they follow suit the downsizing trend…

RM 5,370 in roadtax per year for a hyundai…. makes no sense in bolehland..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • Lexus Benz BMW better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • agree. That sure makes sense !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:15 pm

For the Genesis’ large displacement engine to make sense, you have to understand that it is actually in the same segment as the S-class and 7-series rather than in the same segment as the E-class since the Genesis as well as the aforementioned German cars are all classed as full-size luxury sedans. When you’re playing in that segment, it’s no holds barred and usually only large engines and refined make the cut. For reference, the S400 Hybrid’s engine is a 3.5L V6, the S400L’s engine is a 3.0L V6 and the S500’s engine is a 4.6L V8. I believe all of them have force induction to boot.

But being the underdog here, I believe Hyundai will price it much lower than the established full-size luxury sedans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • Mr. Obviously….check your fact before bullshit….this car is same segment as those of e class…5 series….the one fighting with s class and 7 series is the hyundai equus….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:35 pm

My apologies. I rechecked the facts but some of my points still stand. The E-class and 5-series are classed as mid-size luxury cars and the Genesis is classed as a full-size luxury car. This is according to the US system which classifies cars based on the volume of the interior as well as cargo space. The Genesis is so big on the inside that it receives the same classification as a 7-series and S-class even though on the outside, it is smaller than those two. Its dimensions are bigger than the 5-series, though and also heavier. They seem to want to punch really high up in the segment and some of the car’s features encroach on the segment above it.

Thanks for telling me about the Equus. I’ve never actually read any news about it so its existence is not known to me until now.

• shawal on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:08 am

Yep, S400 is now powered by a turbocharges v6 as in the e400 that we have here…

In the article it is mentioned that it goes up against e-class, i tot the equus is the firm’s answer to the s class…now its sorta makes sense..

Hyundai has come a long way, it’ll take some time for the oligarchs to warm up to the idea of a luxury hyundai…

Perhaps creating a luxury brand a la lexus might be the answer

• Kimchi fan on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Ok what. So this can compete with the lexus ES

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 29
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Genesis compares with Tata, Mahindra, Geely, Great Wall etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 28
    • dreaming of maserati on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:23 am

This car will eat Lexus ES aka premium camry for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
      • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:59 pm

Agree, this kimchi will be eating dust from the Lexus and Toyota every single day and night

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • dugong (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Thats bcos the lexus and camry are rotting and rusting in the junk yard covered in dust. Hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • elson on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:33 pm

i choose audi rather then this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • thgh (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Can you afford? mind you the audi is like 2x the price of this thing for an equivalent model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:36 pm

big engine. questionable resale value. service center concerns. brand image. u have to be really eccentric to buy this here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 19
    • Joven on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Then you go and buy your boring Toyota lah!

Cakap banyak sana

Typical Toyota salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 23
      • ProtonGSC on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:01 am

Right, Toyota go back Japan.
        Proton = Rakyat.
        Don’t buy any Toyota and Honda only buy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
        • Raymond_Tan on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:19 am

Typical Proton salesman. If proton is so good, Howcome our ministers are not chauffeur driven in gen 2 or inspira to parliament

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
          • kenny on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:07 am

Our minister preferred Proton Ekordana. What a joke car of the year. Maybe Dr M asked for the billions from government so that proton can come out the new Proton Genesisdana next year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
          • Low Budget on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:44 am

What he meant Proton=Rakyat is the ordinary Malaysians to have Proton, but the Ministers and VIP to have Merz, BMW, AUDI..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:35 pm

toyota boring….my marseelee better….s400l hybrid….syok…even paultan also got s class. fact.

• Full-Value on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Almost the same thing can be said of convertibles and sports cars. Take the Z4 for example. Almost half a million RM, and you can only take 2 people, can’t haul big things, not the most reliable car, super expensive parts (RM60K just to change the hardtop). If the Z4’s brand can say “I’m an eccentric person with money to BURN”, then the Genesis can also say, “I’m willing to pay much lower than overpriced Mercedes for a huge engine and lots and lots more options to play with”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Sammy_already_no_value on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Brother, I can tell you haven’t seen the real car from those comments. I’ve seen this car during my last visit to Seoul, and I thought hey this car looks way better than all the ES GS and LS from Lexus. Apart from that, it has all the luxury features that can give Lexus a run for its money.

Let’s hope they will bring in the 2.0 turbo unit which is available in the US.

Semi, speak wisely lah next time. No wonder you don have much value these days!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
      • Raymond_Tan on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:05 am

Brand image, service centre concerns, questionable quality? Proton has all those issues u have just mentioned!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:34 am

Brand image = Proton global standard
          Service center concern = Genuine parts with higher price.
          Built quality = coming Proton GSC

Tun promise built quality with higher price, lower price means no quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
          • Low Budget on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:47 am

Who knows when one day Proton decide to re-badge Hyundai? When this day comes, Proton supporters here will ‘kecut’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • dreaming of maserati on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:28 am

Yes. Lexus got no RV too. Look at Lexus LS460. New 700k after 4 yrs selling how much? This is a LS car selling at ES pricing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
        • Foo Kok Keong on Aug 22, 2014 at 10:43 am

Normally cars above RM300k would depreciate a lot in.coz not much demand in the second hand market for such cars due to high maintenance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
          • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 24, 2014 at 11:36 pm

i think more becos big engine is a used car deterrent. people in a market for a used car are highly unlikely to be able to afford the road tax for big engines…which is the case for the 350z. shame cos its a pretty good car.

• DATSUN frong grille on a Genesis.

nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:03 pm

in uk , the high spec Genesis is very closly priced to the bmw 535i….which gives it no chance…but as a standalone product,its very impressive , cars like these reminds me of what buggati is to audi , thy dont make much profit from selling them , but its a showcase of the brands capabilities….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Green on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:17 pm

it’s built to attract noob buyers.

no bemeers or Lexus owner will look backward.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Keris Jawa on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:13 pm

At first I thought those people at Paultan have been drinking. Hyundai headline but with an Aston Martin car. What a joke these Korean people. What were they thinking, or rather drinking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • You must be joking … read on –

http://usnews.rankingsandreviews.com/cars-trucks/Hyundai_Genesis/

Give due credit where it deserves !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Low Budget on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:49 am

The sad thing is many Malaysians got drunk with ‘Todi’ and got so high that they thought Hyundai is like Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Hyundai is rated lower than Proton.

It is in the same ranks as China & India manufacturers

• ben yap on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:20 pm

the brand is still a hyundai. the brand name cannot command the prestige.

therefore if one can fork out RM200K+ for a car, they wouldn’t get a hyundai. might as well go all the way for a conti car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:02 pm

At least when sorhais buy Hyundai, it still can be traded in.

Those tai lang ngongs that buys KIA, OMG, will have to used their cabbages for the next 20 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 20
      • Vader (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 7:20 am

Yupe, it can drive for another 20 years!
        The spec are still equal to UMW toyo since they are selling so call proven technologies which is outdated 20 years ago.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
  • Ha Gnih on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:24 pm

If THIS reaches our shores, Im definitely placing an order. Damn Kimchiis are getting so good at this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • Joven on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Good move by Hyundai if they are bringing in this model.

It gives us more choices which we lack in Malaysia.

If boring Lexus with outdated engines and gearboxes can be recognized as German competitors I don’t see why the Genesis cannot make it.

At least this one comes with an 8 speeder, compared to those 4 and 5 speed Toyota and Lexus are still using.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
    • Lexus does not come with Dated Engine.

Just start with the simple gearbox.

Lexus come with Artificial Intelligence Gearbox.
      There is much more technology in a RWD Lexus IS250 or ES than a normal FRW Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
      • Raymond_Tan on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:08 am

Well Lexus is still using the same old n/a engines which is totally out of date. Low on torque, high on consumption and high on emissions.

Models like the Lexus RX is still using a six speed gearbox, something which the high end Europeans consider dinosaur aged!

If you want a simple gearbox, go for the 4 speed tranny found in the new Camry. You won’t find a simpler gearbox on the market. An absolute disgrace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
    • Name a Lexus model with 4-speed gearbox; or take back your unconstructive lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • Raymond_Tan on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:16 am

The writer above says 4 and 5 speed Toyota and Lexus are using. Pls read it carefully in order and you will understand. Toyota still uses 4 speeds in a few current models eg Altis and Camry.

Jap cars are lousy in technology compared to Europeans. That is my opinion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Hello, please compare kimchis with India and China makes.

This is what you call compare apple with apple

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 22
    • I know you are those typical toyota hater….but saying lexus with outdated engine?with 4-5 speed gearbox?
      And people like you called the lexus as glorified toyota but call this hyundai Genesis as Genesis….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Can’t blame kimchi owners 100% though, coz when I show them the Hilux, many of them have faces that can’t even be recognized by their mothers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • bodohppl on Aug 22, 2014 at 10:22 am

Lexus gs (same segment as this) is on 8 speed gearbox…..check your facts right

• Joven on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:31 pm

On another note, while Hyundai is capable of churning out a 5 series competitor it is really sad to see how far our dearly Proton lags behind its competitor which also established itself around the early 80’s.

At this stage, Proton could not even produce a decent Vios/ City competitor, let alone a 5 series competitor!

Proton—> national shame!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 30
    • ProtonGSC on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:07 am

This were Hyundai car Why bring alone Proton?
      PROTON = RAKYAT

Even Tun himself promise Global car and Global production and ofcourse Global Selling Price.

• Raymond_Tan on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:10 am

If Proton is so good why is the tun’s son not driving one but driving a Bugatti instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
        • ProtonGSC on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:38 am

Proton = Rakyat
          Luxury brands/cars = Rich and ministers

Tun sons not driving Proton because they’re richer then you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Tun Samba on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Howcome they are so rich? Where did their money come from?

• Low Budget on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:52 am

Good luck! Time will tell if GSC is indeed Global or Kampung.

• thgh (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Awesome car, but the high capacity engine and brand image would make it hard to sell. Unless there will be a 2.0 or 3.0 model (which I think is impossible).

For those bashing the car for copying others, please create a side to side comparison before you talk nonsense. Those Audi nonsense never get tired, google the designer then only talk la.

Aston martin? how about ford?

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:42 pm

If you think about it… suddenly it seems possible. The Sonata could be actually killed off in Malaysia and replaced by the i40 in the near future. The most expensive i40 tapers at about 180k (in Tourer form). This Genesis could potentially come in about 230k or so, which is a good 50k increase from the i40 and about the money of the 320i. Considering this is a car that is essentially similar to the Lexus ES it makes sense really. You really get a lot of metal for the money, and the V6 is said to be pretty good too. Not to mention, if you look at it at a distance it will not strike you as a Hyundai.

You’d be surprised, but suddenly, you could see all those coming now from a Sonata/Optima/Accord/Camry who need the space but can’t go to the price of a 5 series coming for this instead.

• seancorr on Aug 21, 2014 at 8:58 pm

I came to know this car through Korean shows and for the spec vs price I think its a good proposition. I wouldn’t mind having one of these as my main ride as it does look nice but this kind of car, u’d rather be seen in the rear seats rather than the driver seat.

• joe1209p on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Hope the Genesis Coupe 2.0 will be coming to our shore as well. .

• Sack him now on Aug 21, 2014 at 8:21 pm

I will buy this over the INFINITY or the LEXUS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Aug 21, 2014 at 8:40 pm

If the Hyundai i10 with a small engine makan petrol like a 2.5l car, I assume this will match a Humvee…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 30
  • Ainon on Aug 21, 2014 at 8:55 pm

It’s sister car the Kia Quoris also looks good. Maybe Naza will bring it here. But if the price is on the wrong side of 250k then maybe it’ll be mostly be bought as company cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:54 pm

At least the smarter sorhais will by Genesis, and they can be traded in

For KIA Quoris, yell hailat oso no one will tiu you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
      • Raymond_Tan on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:12 am

I notice you KL people like to use the word Sohai all the time.

So rude and low class. Please show some respect to yourselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 32
        • yellow on Aug 22, 2014 at 11:37 am

Raymond Tan, mind your word.. not all KL people like this.. don’t blame it on KL people..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
          • Sammy_Already_No_Value on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Please mind your language and respect each other. Well at least respect yourselves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 7:30 am

Teach you another canto word, tai lan ngong. Its for KIA owners that would not be able to trade their cabbages in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • Foo Kok Keong on Aug 22, 2014 at 10:44 am

Yes you are the real tails gong and so hai speaking in such way. You are displaying your foolishness in public!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
      • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:31 am

I only respect my business.

When sorhais want to buy Hyundai brand new only to realise that they have bought a vege, this is where i make my money.

If you want respect, get smart and get a real car instead

• iskhalifah (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:04 pm

At 5 meters long & 3 meters wheelbase, this one is already a class above D segment size. It rivals the S-Class, 7ers & XJ space-wise. If priced RM200k, definitely worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
  • shawal on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:16 pm

1 quick solution is for Hyundai to plonk their 2.2 cdri engine with 445nm of twist to move the luxobarge…..
    Keep the price low…and refinement intact…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Diesel kimchis seems to command slightly higher RV, especially Sanata Fe

Dun think that they will use an oil burner for a sedan though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • jay8393 on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:39 pm

As far as I remember, Genesis was never made in RHD guise. Guess that’s going to change?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
  • Jimmy on Aug 21, 2014 at 10:59 pm

I doubt anybody will care about the sales in Malaysia for this kind of car. Our market is already so small for ordinary cars.

• roxas on Aug 21, 2014 at 11:48 pm

awesome car!but wont be cheap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • Lorry Sonata = Genesis

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 7:47 am

It will be a bargain 15 months later when the trade in price is RM50k and used car dealer selling price RM80k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • ss427 on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:28 am

Ahhh nice… the Genesis is already on sale in SG… 3.8L GDI V6. Come to SG for a test drive before yakking Koreans cannot make it etc… !@#$%

The Genesis main target is the E350, 540i and Lexus GS 350 in SG.. at a fraction of their prices of cos.. And parts will be far less expensive too

http://www.hyundai.com/sg/en/Showroom/Passenger/Genesis-2014/PIP/index.html

Toyota can forget about selling the GS or ES in SG… LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • Saw this car in real flesh early this year Feb in korea. I can said that if u dont see the brand, u will thought that this car is as expensive as merc bmw or Jag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Well, if you don’t see the hailat faces of kimchi owners when I show them the Hilux everytime, you will not understand how pathetic they can get when trying to get rid of their rotten cabbages

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • car industry on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:45 am

Noticed alot of cucuk cucuk here and there amongst the comment-ers. Nevertheless…

Nice car IMO, typical Korean to sell on beauty. As for RV, yeah Koreans are still not on par with the Japs but it all depends on the buyer him/herself.

That being said, Sam Loo does make a point (just the way he puts it is a lil shitty). Buying a car IS and forever is a loss-making investment. So ultimately when ppl wanna dispose their vehicle, they ought to get the best value out of it.

Now…I’m sure I’ll get some replies on what I just said in the earlier paragraph, but if you think back to the past, I’m sure if you’ve traded in a car before, you’ll go like : “Har? 30k only ar? I might as well make it my sofa at home!” instead of “Oh I don’t care what value you give my old car, cuz not my concern. I only want the new car now.” Makes sense? So yes, RV is not EVERYTHING, but it sure is SOMETHING to EVERYONE, unless you’ve like a BILLionaire (even millionaires do calculate alot sometimes).

On another thought, noticed some ppl commented on the lack of more gears on the Lexus-s and Toyotas. Just curious, what are your takes on the number of gears in a gearbox? My best guess would be the more gears, the better the FC?

Now..I’m neither a Lexus nor Toyota salesperson here, just a plain engineer on the automotive mechanical parts. But what I would like to point out is that the number of gears (after a certain number) DOES NOT impact FC largely/at all. It’s just a plain marketing strategy to give out the perception to ppl that the more the better.

Take for example…cycling a bicycle. You start off on low gear up till the highest gear. At the highest gear, you could push as much as you want, but you simply can’t get much/at all more speed. Cuz that’s the optimum level. Same goes to gearboxes vs engines. Yes, some may argue that RPM drops and all, but as a matter of fact, the engine is actually still at same work rate to keep the momentum going for the highest gear. Try noticing the amount of RPM drops from 5th to 6th or 7th to 8th gear, it may drop only by 300rpm (in my case).

So yeah, no pin-pointing here, just my plain thoughts on this write-up and comments.

Cheers :) and thoughts to the victims of MH17 :’)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Trading kimchis (Hyundai only) on the other hand is a pretty exclusive and profitable venture.

That’s why you see this kimchi used car dealer driving a Camry

• Hadi75 on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:45 am

It seems the korean are doing what the japanese are doing in the States…..toyota with their lexus…nissan with their infiniti…honda with their acura….now hyundai with their genesis….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • They will probably follow the same US strategy if this is brought here (priced to compete against the smaller premium segment with a host of extra features).

Is there enough premium-car-shopping Malaysians willing to forgo brand name for this? The same people who will consider buying a Lexus or an Infiniti (A lot of people only see the big 2 German marks; even Audi does not exist to them)? The small fragmented pie is getting more fragmented.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • 4G63T DSM on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Not with greedy Sime Darby.

Wont hold my breath for this to happen.

In US yes. Probably not in Malaysia due to various unique malaysian peculiarities.

Im not surprised to see so many detractors. They are using the same formulae as the Japanese did some 20 odd years ago with Lexus, Acura and Infiniti. Back then, the same was said.

Lexus ES or this? In fact, the entry price is only a few thousand much more than a fully loaded Camry V6 in the states.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • 4G63T DSM on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Incidentally, I was piqued enough to look up US sales figures of this car.

As it turns out, The Genesis (and it includes the 2 door coupe) outsells the Lexus GS, Audi A6, Volvo S60, and the Acura TL. By quite a big margin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • blacky on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:50 am

they just copied innova grille lol

• Loenardo on Aug 22, 2014 at 9:22 am

Wow…nice silhoutte and proportions. Good stance too.My only comment is that while most car manufacturers are downsizing their engines, but increasing power and reducing fuel consumption, like Ford Eco engines, Hyundai is still using big engines. Maybe they have already something in the pipeline soon?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • This is a great car however the “value for money: formula wont work in Bolehland. Because Boleh ppl are mostly brand conscious. This car might be selling for RM240k but Malaysian typically will say better go for BMW or Merc. In the US, ppl buy high power or cc with as low price as possible. Malaysian willing to spend huge sum of money to buy luxury cars but with a 4-cly engine. Besides, Boleh ppl love to complain about roadtax when they can buy a luxury model. In the US however, ppl usually go for high power be it luxury or mainstream.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • cendol (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 10:39 am

See how much Hyundai has improved and compare it to our local car industry.
    Pathetic POS!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • yellow on Aug 22, 2014 at 11:43 am

it is nice.. but do not like the badge design, very old school..

• the genesis are targeted for north american mkt & its doin well there….just looks at its displacemt…huge cc for those mkt while for euro, hyundais are shoving very nice TDI engines..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loo(ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:28 pm

I love korean car. Best value for money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Correction

I love used korean car. Best value for money

• Sam Loo(ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Why did u guy buy japanese car? Do u know japanese kill ur ancestor? What korean did wrong? They just steal our culture. But japanese trying to kill our culture and our race.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Fake fellas ……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Tun Samba on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Speak some sense lah Sam Loo fake. We want to talk abt cars, not meaningless rubbish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Agreed. Fake fellas please speak some sense like RV.

• Raymond_Tan on Aug 23, 2014 at 12:58 am

We buy cars to drive, we don’t buy cars to sell, bloody salesman!

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Fact of the matter is, Hyundai cars are by far the most profitable for the used car industry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Correct, how does this possible::

1. Korean Second hand cars = no Demand.
      2. 2nd hand dealer need several months to clear the stock.
      3. TO overcome the long time lacking of cash flow or turnover, 2nd hand dealer has to raise the profit margin.
      4. Therefore, high profit margin to sell a low demand korean car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:34 am

This is where you are telling me you are new to the forum.

I export used kimchis to third world RHD markets

• samlok on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Why does this genesis carries a mini badge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • Sam Sam Sam Samsung is korean on Aug 22, 2014 at 7:46 pm

OMG, this car is shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • iskhalifah (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 12:44 am

So many thumbs up for sam loo..
    So many thumbs down for toyota criticizers.
    So fishy… hmm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 28
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 23, 2014 at 1:46 pm

That is because many people have learnt the hard way about Korean Cars.

Instinctive buy, 100% of the time coz its supposed to be feature packed, looks OK when first viewed and convincing salesman/woman that behaves like a MLM sales person.

Right after you place the deposit/down payment, on the next day looking back, remorse sets in.

When collect car, the natural word used is fark/tiu lor/puki lor.

After being looked down by colleagues, denied promotions, having to park far far away at family gatherings, at least 50% will opt to sell their cabbages off within 6 months

After checking out the used car market for the next 6-12 months, cannot tahan oledi, come and see me and I will show them the Hilux

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:35 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV.

If its a KIA, it cannot even be traded in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • IMaMan on Aug 23, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Sam ar Sam 够钟食饭啦

• tmsoo on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:05 am

I went to Korea b4 and I remember the tour guide told me about their Korean cars. They said comparison with Korean car and Conti cars, the different price is around 5% to 10% same as the maintenance cost. However Korean still prefer Korean cars are because of Korean cars service centers are everywhere in their country but not for conti cars. This is whey Korean prefer to choose Korean cars. About the warranty period, they are almost the same, only servicing is not convenient. Korean choose not the brand, they choose easier n convenient for services.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Nadim Najib on Oct 14, 2014 at 12:50 am

Hai there,
    I could see a lot of positive & negative comment on the Genesis
    I Nadim from Sime Darby Auto Hyundai and I’m and the one of the Sales person to be selected for Genesis
    Yes the Genesis will be on sale here in Malaysia my first training session will be schedule by end of this month and can’t wait to know the specs and the variant that will becoming in to Malaysia
    If there anyone is on the interested please PM or contact me via my mobile at 012-3740828

Cheers

• Kumar Perumal on Oct 25, 2014 at 12:29 am

People in malaysia looking more on the brandings. Toyota and Honda are massive producer but their kingdom if ruined nwdays. Prices are higher like hell but technologies and system even the engines are still same…look on the camry X. it has the rim same like old vios…look at vios..same engine…honda city using fan blade on rim oni the full touch system is the newer…kia and hyundai has the wireless entry since 2010. Korean cars are way more better than Toyota or Honda. honda city with i-vtec lose with kia forte 4-speed…and honda accord 2.0 lose with forte 1.6 6speed…hyundai genesis and k5 in malaysia are better than camry or accord…