SPIED: Hyundai to make its own hybrid Prius-fighters

Hyundai_hybrid_Prius_fighter_007

It appears that Hyundai is busy cooking up its own versions of dedicated hybrid vehicles to target Toyota’s Prius and Prius v models. What you see here are not standard i30 hatchback units, but early test bed prototypes of the Korean brand’s future Prius-fighters. Or if you will, prize-fighters.

What makes us so sure of this? Well, for starters, the fleet of test cars are traveling with not one, but two Toyota Prius models – a standard Prius and the larger MPV-esque Prius v. Looking closely at the mules, there are two models of different lengths on test here – check out the extended portions just above the rear wheel arches (below) – signalling that Hyundai may be planning to take on the Prius pair head on.

Other clues are not as subtle. Our ever-resourceful European spy photographers managed to get up close and capture very revealing pictures of the prototype’s undercarriage (with a big fat orange high-voltage cable) and even interior (complete with copper cooling wires leading to where the battery pack would be), leaving no doubts that there are hybrid modules under the skin.

Hyundai is certainly no stranger to hybrid technology – there has been a hybrid version of the Sonata for quite a while now. But making dedicated hybrid models a la the Toyota Prius range is a different ball game altogether. The unique-looking BLUE-WILL Concept from 2009 was the one and only official hint that Hyundai was ever interested in such an endeavour.

Can the Koreans actually match, or even beat Toyota at its own game? We can’t wait to find out.

2009 Hyundai BLUE-WILL Concept

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 2:19 pm

The Korea development move fast..
    How is potong commitment?
    Potong hybrid production car end of 2014.
    Potong EV production car end of 2015.
    http://paultan.org/2014/03/14/proton-hybrid-car-end-2014-miti/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 9
    • still early production unit lorr…. won’t come anytime soon… anyone want to bash copy paste design?

• Chong Kah Kiat on Aug 21, 2014 at 8:34 pm

looks like a mutated prius… what an ugly sight! and their technology is not even matured! my money is on toyota hybrid synergy drive.. all the best hyundai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • ProtonGSC on Aug 21, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Hybrid or Proton Campro is the same.
      Campro single tank can travel whole m’sia.
      Don’t believe? go Google yourself.

Tun promise built quality but not hybrid.
      Proton built quality more expensive just buy talk less.
      Tun drive Range Rover, Rakyat drive Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
    • They have started..by cancelling the subsidy for hybrid cars so that their car seems to be cheaper.

• sime pls make it CKD in M’sia hohooooo

• peynoo on Aug 21, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Proton no need to sell Preve Hybrid…gerenti tak laku…rakyat tetap takut beli, what more to say billionaire son, menteri-menteri all said mehhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Please la.
    Don’t be so kiasu.

Everything Korean also want.
    You think you can own the world ? Bunch of lousy Koreans.

Look at your country, poverty haven’t even solve yet now you all crave for more money for your ownself.

Don’t know how to reflect yourself and yet still keep going to copy other technology and force claim them as yours.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 54
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Please don’t force your lack of ambition and racism on others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
  • Hyundai KIA aka Junk on Aug 21, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Hyundai tries to copy Toyota Prius sucess you mean.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 21, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Kimchis can copy, but their RV will forever be ultra low

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 27
    • Kangkung on Aug 21, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Everything start from copy.
      Japan copy US ford made their 1st car.
      Korean copy Japan made their hybrid car
      POtong copy Mitsubishi, but come out “Renault Campro”

Japan and Korean success to copy, and learn, improve and create own technology then.
      How bout you , Potong?
      Potong learn potong duit Rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • Prius is the Latin word for Impotence on Aug 21, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Thankfully Kia didn’t copy the Prius’s ugly design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • vectorian on Aug 21, 2014 at 3:39 pm

I’m sad whenever I read the latest news or new concept cars from Hyundai or Kia cos I always associate them with our beloved Proton. The disparity in terms of technological advancements, quality and most of all market penetration globally between them and us is nothing short of scary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 21, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Great. Love to trade these rotten cabbages in 15 months later, at less than 50% trade in price.

More sorhais for me to show the Hilux to

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
    • I love Airbag &ESP on Aug 21, 2014 at 7:05 pm

hey, how about u just go buy a toyota then crash to a tree and die with the 2 air bags?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • As usual talk Cock about RV again….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 12
  • Rokuth on Aug 21, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Let’s hope they don’t catch fire like some other test mules recently…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 21, 2014 at 6:37 pm

more prius…why not follow what tesla is doing.

• Maserati(Official) on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:21 pm

I’m not sure if putting in AA batteries in a car can count as hybrid.. but they are Korean so they can say whatever they want as long as it looks good to all shallow minded driver who only care about looks and not the substance…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 7:33 am

To be specific, Koreans use reconditioned Chinese made AA batteries in their hybrids

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • dun-give-a-fxxk on Aug 21, 2014 at 9:37 pm

Toyota have 2 air bags, what this hyundai have?

• Kimchi on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:47 am

the prius has 7 airbags. please get your facts right before commenting.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 7:32 am

Hyundai/KIA have 6 airbags that don’t work

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • if the Korean utilise Tesla electric car battery formula, the hybrid car should be more toward on electric motor driven!

this round hope they do copy from Tesla !

• air jordan 11 galaxy for sale on Mar 05, 2015 at 1:00 am

on
    [url=http://www.burrowscgistudio.com/jd2.html]air jordan 11 galaxy for sale[/url]