Honda CR-Z gets HPD supercharger kit – 197 hp!

honda-cr-z-hpd-a

US-based Honda Performance Development has released a supercharger kit for the manual-gearbox Honda CR-Z hybrid.

Apart from the blower itself, the kit includes an air-to-air intercooler, high-flow fuel injectors, a calibrated ECU and an air filter system, to bump up combined output from the stock 134 hp/190 Nm to 197 hp/210 Nm.

The suggested retail price for the kit just dips under US$5,500 (RM17,400), excluding dealer installation. HPD also offers for the CR-Z an uprated clutch, limited-slip diff, sports dampers, sports exhaust, lowered coil springs, 300-mm diameter disc brakes and 18-inch alloys shod in Michelin Pilot Super Sport rubber.

honda-cr-z-hpd-b

Additionally, emblems and decals, along with front and rear spoilers and a rear diffuser, should ensure the HPD CR-Z looks as fast as it goes.

The 197 figure reminds us of the pre-facelift Honda CR-Z Mugen, which was also supercharged and had that amount of horsepower, plus 245 Nm of torque – although those numbers didn’t include the IMA system.

With the facelift came the Japan-only limited-edition CR-Z Mugen RZ, whose supercharger gave the 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine 154 hp and 185 Nm of torque. Throw in the IMA system and you had a juicy total of 174 hp and 263 Nm of torque.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Do like. Pretty serious performance kit (uprated clutch, limited-slip diff, sports dampers, sports exhaust, lowered coil springs, 300-mm diameter disc brakes and 18-inch alloys shod in Michelin Pilot Super Sport rubber) for a hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Nothing to impress, Proton hybrid is better and GSC were even better.

Underpower car and expensive!!!!! Even our Saga SV is cheaper with more powerful.

Don’t like here just go live in U.S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 113
      • joker on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:16 pm

The biggest joke of the century goes to you. Congratulations for making us laugh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 9
        • Paul Cheah Yuh Yuan on Aug 23, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Poor poor attempt at trolling, yet ppl got baited. Moderators should wipe this kinda comments for good.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 23, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Proton still. No1 in Malaysia, like it a not???
            Rakyat drive Proton, You drive 1986 Toyota and 1990 Nissan sunny.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • Same L0rrr on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:34 pm

See the typical Proton 5S lifestyle:
          1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Semakin Mahal

GSC not even out, they are dreaming of Proton hybrid. Later you will see Proton jet fighter, Proton yacht, Proton rockets, Proton space ship etc.

Actually we do have Proton Hybrids(crap quality + fuel blackhole), don’t we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • samelorstpd on Aug 24, 2014 at 12:42 am

Toyot 7″O”s

1.Overpriced
            2.Overhyped
            3.Obsolete
            4.On garbage lorries
            5.Out of proportion
            6.Outdated
            7.Overrrated

• Hadi75 on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Dont know whether you’re being sarcastic or being honest????

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 22, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Both and just ignore Honda, buy Proton Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 33
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Don’t mind him; he’s just trolling.

• kzm (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 6:58 am

He/she probably p1 basher…what better way to annoy people with p1? Ans: just make ridiculous comment.

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 23, 2014 at 12:22 pm

True that’s why please buy more Proton.
            Support Proton, support Tun DrM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Please listen to Ah Beng and buy Proton, else Proton will beg for more money.

This time RM1.6bil, next time RM16bil.

Anyway, Proton squeeze money from you.

• Other companies got money too, jelly?

• dude… but if u crush with ur saga… its GG. but if crz crush got high chance of survival. its not always about the power but the safety and quality..

• Ah Beng ProtonFan on Aug 23, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Tun promise built quality so don’t scare about that, Proton crush with lorry also no problem. Lorry kpl pecah, Proton still can drive back to workshop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Yea, Tun also promise 2020. You better trust him rather than trust Ah Beng.

In Ah Beng’s mind, Proton cars made of diamond.

• In Same Lorrr’s mind only Japs got good RV. He dun know to count TOC

• shawal on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Thats a lot of ooommppphhh….

Manual crz owners rejoice!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Tamiya (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Big boost in HP but not so much in torque …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Torque for u to climb mountain.

Hp for The higher acceleration… Vrrroooomm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 34
    • Bob_B78 on Aug 24, 2014 at 3:02 am

crz is a light car, no need so much torque.
      Too much torque then you will have something like vw prob.
      The upgrade should be enough to dispose a standard golf.

• forest the tree on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:00 pm

good news for the lala and ah beng !!
    Now they can smoke big car like a boss!

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:12 pm

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • AVH (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:22 pm

I believe the CrZ is still the only hybrid in the world that is available with a manual transmission. The problem lies not so much that it’s a hybrid but the hybrid system itself, it’s an old IMA system that was introduced way back at the turn if the century in the 1st gen Honda insight. Now given that the CRZ was meant for a more sporting credentials, the IMA has always felt lackluster in the competition, and even with the new upgrade kit, I’am just not sure weather it’s te right way for the IMA. Honda has 2 Powerplant that can replaced the 1.5l IMA, the new EarthDream 1.5l I-DCD in the new Jazz/Vezel hybrid which mind you, is able to keep up with the likes of polo GTI on the sprints, and the 1.5l turbo which is said to be powering the rumored 2016 Jazz/Fit type-R, but currently sees no action in any of Hondas line-up.

The 1.5 I-DCD may make it sort of a Polo GTI rival with its dual-clutch transmission and a more potent electric motor, an anti-thesis to the Polos force-fed layout, thou both are design to give high-torque at low revs. Than there’s the more traditional 1.5l force-fed engine thou as of now there is no mention of what transmission would that be paired with. Either way I do wish to see these engine in the next-gen CRZ, which is rumored to be develope with input from the 2015 Civic Type-R development, so that will be nice. Either way, the current gen appeals in Malaysia where what was the tax-cut makes it a budget alternative against rival. Bit in US and Europe where it’s going against the likes of the Polo GTI, Scirocco and the Veloster Turbo, it’s tough given that the IMA system ,even blow as it is, is going to give much of a fight against the factory-refine and fresh rivals.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 3:53 pm

The IMA is old tech. I guess that’s why we don’t see it being used in any of Honda’s new vehicles now.

This is probably a last ditch effort to squeeze all the life they can out of the current CR-Z so that it can compete in the very competitive US market while they’re waiting for the next-gen CR-Z.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 6:24 pm

I think the reason is not that it’s old-tech but rather it’s no way built for performance. The IMA is also more engine bias than Electric motor bias like Toyota’s HSD, as in motion is relied mostly on the 1.5l engine than the electric motor. As the name suggest, intelligent Motor Assits, the motor only ‘Assits’ the engine rather than providing additional significant moving force. And given the fact that the 1.5l is not a hum strung, high revving VTEC gem but rather an engine tune for maximum efficiency….. There’s nothing much going to squeeze out really.

The new I-DCD has a new electric motor integrated to the dual-clutch, it acts as the 1st gear of the transmission couple with the 2nd-7th gears from the transmission itself. Compared to the IMA puny motor which has 14hp and 79nm at max, the new I-DCD motor is a monster, with still very small 30hp, but 160Nm if torque and that combines with the 156nm 1.5l EarthDream DOCH engine provides an you’re getting, at full chat, 66Nm more than the 250Nm you get from the 1.4 turbo of the polo GTI. There’s a big but however and the reason why the Fit hybrid does average 8 sec to 60 and not 6.9 like the polo GTI, the first gear only consists of the electric motor….which mean you have only 160Nm from the get go before the full oomph comes at 2nd gear.

The I-DCD setup allows the car to crawl through traffic using only the electric motor. Also dual clutch is chosen because the fact that the even gears are connected directly to the motor. The setup is very complicated and I suggest you watch a video to understand the full complexity of it. Also the recall of the system is not the fact that the gearbox jerks at low speed like other DCT, as Honda tried to bypass that system with the EV 1st gear setup, but rather the power unit won’t engage the electric motor due to programming error.

All in all, the I-DCD is a very complex gearbox and if Honda can change te system to a manual like how Porsche changed their 7-speed PDK to the 7-speed manual in the new 991 911, the CRZ, with an buff up EV mode and more potent gas engine, should prove a gem…..that said there’s been no official date set for a CRZ successors thou sources says that it’s already in development.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:23 pm

Good info. Will try to look up. Just one thing, though. IMA is Integrated Motor Assist, like how the electric motor is integrated into the powertrain by being sandwiched between the engine and gearbox.

It looks like they’re taking it a step further, based on what you’ve told me.

• Battu on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:57 am

bro, i like ur comments, but u should keep it short and simple, like this Obviously dude. yours is too long and full of fancy mancy english that doesn’t help in delivering any meaningful points except for just being fancy.
          just a comment from Paultan Ahli Tidur

• pxp154 on Aug 22, 2014 at 6:47 pm

sadly wont be appearing in any honda(m) showrooms… must source aftermarket :(

• It’ll be interesting on how they couple a manual tranny to the earth dream system as 1st to last to 2nd gear is on electric while last gear is on full engine.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:33 pm

ditch the hybrid. make it cheap. add back supercharger. settled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • shawal on Aug 22, 2014 at 3:45 pm

yeah , with improved interior space and practicality

just name it CR-X ….the true pocket rocket

supercharge the 1.8 vtec from the civic

• chrismas (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:23 pm

you sir are a genius

• Ong Chee Boon on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Please do not flame me, but all the things that are added on a HYBRID?

Hybrid is meant for driving and braking for it to maximize its potential.

No offense, but if i am Honda development US team, i will make sure the CR-Z is not hybrid first before slapping all those mouth drooling items onto it. Some sort of improved 2.0 V-TEC anyone?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • JeremyNg on Aug 22, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Obviously U never heard of car like Mclaren P1 or 918 or i8? all are hybrid too. Hybrid system can b use for efficiency or extra boost

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Not trying to flame but I want to point out that that is a very narrow view of hybrids. A hybrid system can increase a car’s energy efficiency but that same tech can also be used to boost performance, as we can see in BMW’s hybrids. And after having a performance boost, they can still be efficient when you want them to. That’s progress.

hm…2.0L i-VTEC coupled with an IMA system + 6 speed MT…

• Give or take, he’s kinda right about the CR-Z, it was build on the mindset of making it economical. Making it somewhat very awkward (and stupid). The other supercar hybrids are to add on performance.

But with this power kit, this is more like a true sports hybrid. :)

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 8:28 pm

From my impression of it, it’s designed to be economical while serving up a pleasurable drive for the masses (hence the option for a manual transmission…on a hybrid!).

It is no sports car but it is clear to me that it has sporty intentions, but it isn’t a hot hatch. Not even sure if it qualifies for a warm hatch. This kit changes everything, however. Even threw in an LSD! Awesomesauce.

• Ong Chee Boon on Aug 23, 2014 at 1:14 am

Noted, i admit myself not familiar with the hybrid tech. You do make some good points.

Perhaps perception wise, i always think current age hybrid commonly = fuel consuption, even for CR-Z. As you has said, it is designed to be economical first, then for the power increase.

On another case, 2.0 litre VTEC with turbo with a 6 speed MT would be very very nice, but majority malaysians do not appreciate the old school.

Thanks for the reply though, way better than the person who flame me and misuse my name. I think i have a idea of his identity though…. he crashed his vios years ago.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 10:51 pm

Don’t mention it. ;)

Btw, look up BMW i8. You will either be left speechless or the purist blood in you will scream NO. Either way, it is an impressive carbon fibre monster.

• Ong Chee Bai on Aug 22, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Your mind is narrower than kancil’s 145/70R12 tyres.

• Kan Ni Nia on Aug 23, 2014 at 12:11 pm

And your’s must be like kap chai’s puny little bicycle tyre.

• krizalid88 on Aug 22, 2014 at 2:43 pm

This is the true performance kit, not the stupid performance package that comes with stupid aero kit, spoiler, sport rim etc. like in Toyota or Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Honda dreamt right

• niterunner99 on Aug 22, 2014 at 3:45 pm

whatever it is, it’s a better deal than installing AUDI’s RM$13k GPS system!

• flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Finally some decent power numbers. This would be a great weekend car to zip around and have some great fun.

• samlok on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Fuyoh!

• chrismas (Member) on Aug 22, 2014 at 4:27 pm

should have kept it simple 1.5L with turbo charger or offered both, i dream for the day honda made a 1.5 turbo without a hybrid

• Baja Lapis Seng on Aug 23, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Now we’re talking *rub hands like evil genius*

• casio edifice on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Obviously centrifugal type supercharger. Centrifugal supercharger rob less power from engine, more reliable, cheaper to manufacture, and produce less heat than other type of supercharger.

Downside is its poor low/mid rpm boost n torque, so you wont really feel its power until you rev it hard.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 24, 2014 at 3:03 am

This is what i call major upgrade..I dun mind if no supercharger but a little bit of tweaks that added up 20% of power and torque for a non aspirated engine rather than slapping with a bodykits and bigger rims and charge extra few thou for so called upgrade..Kudos
    Ive driven the standard Neo cps 125hp/150nm and the R3 tweaked Lotus edition Neo 145hp/168nm and boy its a huge world of differences..Maybe Proton can fit those R3 tuned N/A engines into their CPS Exora and Preve executive with a more lower rpm?Anyway good job Honda!

• TheFact on Aug 24, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Alot of u might think that CRz is an underpowered car but if u havent try it you wouldnt know that the fact that its power is adequate to its size and CC compared with others. If u compare a saga FL with this car then u must be an idiot comparing an apple with a orange. Its two different thing.

From my experience of driving this car, it is indeed a fun car with fancy interior and complete safety equipment.

Anyway just my 2 cent

• waikit2283 on Nov 01, 2014 at 12:56 pm

where can i get this hpd supercharged kits ??
    i’m from malaysia