SPIED: 2015 Toyota Mirai hydrogen fuel cell ‘future car’ keeps Toyota FCV Concept’s styling

4H6_8914-3478808519-O

When the Toyota FCV Concept was showcased at last year’s Tokyo Motor Show, Toyota announced that it would be entering production in 2015. Well, since we’re less than half a year away from 2015, it’s about time we saw prototypes of a production version of the FCV Concept on the road.

We can see that the production Toyota Fuel Cell Sedan will keep a lot of the concept car’s styling. This design has been many years in the making, first seen in 2011 in the form of the Toyota FCV-R concept. There are vertical daytime running lights integrated into the flared bumper, which appears to have swapped the concept’s mesh grille to a new design that features horizontal bars.

4H6_8905-3478808686-O

This new car – rumoured to be called the Mirai, which is Japanese for future – is not a hybrid, despite its Prius-like roofline. It uses an electric motor, but the difference is what powers those motors – not batteries, but hydrogen. The powertrain features Toyota’s proprietary compact and lightweight fuel cell stack and a pair of high-pressure (70mPa) hydrogen tanks, located beneath the four-seater body. It can go 500 km on a full tank of hydrogen.

This isn’t the first hydrogen fuel cell car to come out of a Japanese automaker. Honda was there earlier with the Honda FCX Clarity, which has had an experimental leasing run since 2008. We managed a quick drive of the Honda FCX Concept back in 2007. It’s pretty much like an electric car that you can refuel with hydrogen in a jiffy instead of having to charge it for a few hours.

Toyota Fuel Cell Sedan (FCS)

Toyota FCV Concept

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 5:38 am

The FCV at the price its selling (US$60k+, for a car about the size and power of a US$20k Camry) will probably sold in very limited numbers, thou given that it will be sold in Japan first makes me wonder if Japan will give it additional tax-bonus like how they did with their Kei-cars. I do conceit and admit it is an ugly vehicle, but given the direction of this car is headed with a name like Mirai, its design does attempt to make a statement that its different, abit like what BMW did with the i3/i8 styling direction.

Also, World’s best Automotive CEO(after Elon Munsk)and Toyota CEO Akio Toyoda just completed the most useless stunt ever, the Ice-Bucket chellenge.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 23, 2014 at 11:04 am

Those Toyota basher who often like to accuse Toyota old technology and praise Proton of new technology (e.g. noisy, fuel hunger and powerless campro engine???).

Time to open your eyes. With Toyota, you no need cakap sendiri syok sendiri, because all your family syok when you bring a Toyota home.

Toyota new or old technology, it is reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
      • Vader (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Toyota is good.
        When come to UMW toyo, it will have no technologies.
        When the shame loo (he should be call shameless) talk cock, the toyo brand spoil at ALL!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
        • No such thing as powerless fuel hunger noisy campro. At least for campro turbo. Vios city driving FC around 11km/l, Preve T around 10km/l. !.5l vs [email protected], where got guzzler?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 23, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Campro turbo is a joke, you bring it up for total humiliation only.

Preve 1.6 turbo 0 – 100 only 9.6s, our Prius C 1.5 0 – 100 also got 10.5s. Not even a second difference.

But your Preve turbo can do 24km/l or not?

Enough of Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok (Proton 5S lifestyle)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
          • 10 secs is slow, Preve can smoke those SLK alike cars (small little kontot) anyday anytime. You want to compare Prius C and Preve? Why dun you compare it with Jazz Hybrid if you are too sick with FC?

• jackq on Aug 24, 2014 at 12:27 am

We buy cars to drive, we don’t buy cars to sell, bloody salesman!

• Prius C is crampy car, Pree far more spacious, comfortable and powerful. Both not in same league only ameba salesman compare both.

• sshel on Aug 24, 2014 at 10:02 am

Toyota and Honda salesman are so jealous. Once upon a time, they were so arrogant. You walk into a Toyota showroom, you can stand there half hour also, they don’t layan you. They just sit there and chit chat. If they are not chit chatting, they are outside the showroom smoking in a group.

ALtis already 1 year now, Vios will follow. How many of them are on the road? Noone wants overpriced and outdated specs cars.

Say bye bye to T

• Albert Lee on Aug 23, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Same Lorr,I have just joined Club Toyota 8months ago.
        No sendiri syiok,khayalan,perlindungan stigma.
        The engine is fuel eficient,quiet,and car interior comfortable.
        Toyota produces a new car on hydrogen tech.Proton has been producing cars with “syiok” psychology absorbed into its hard core diehards who are still waiting for GSC while perodua salespeople got no time to eat lunch cos busy collecting thousands of orders for Axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • salese on Aug 24, 2014 at 12:05 am

Sam Loo Ori, Shame Loo, Same Loor and all the low life Toyota salesman are all like cockroach, running for their lives when faced with Mortein.

Disgraceful salesman. Always talking bad about Korean RV and spreading lies about Korean RV.

Halo, Toyota got the worst RV lah. Now, every single of the 30 million Malaysian know how UMW have short changed them and disregarded the importance of our lives by taking out the VSC in the Camry just to make more money.

All Malaysians now know, UMW took VSC out in the Camry initially just to Untung Lebih at the expense of Toyota owners dying and meeting more accidents.

Even in the Altis, VSC is taken out. Even in the Vios VSC is taken out.

Sam Loo, you are commenting so much here because you are like the cockroach. takut. Running wild because scared Toyota sales so low now.

Why would people want to buy Toyota when they know the car is so cheap in the US with 9 airbags but come to Malaysia, UMW sells the car 4 times the price with only 2 airbags and no VSC?

• reiss on Aug 24, 2014 at 1:01 am

You butthurt coz your overpriced car been smoked by Preve? Kaakaakakakakak

• ProtonGSC on Aug 23, 2014 at 11:20 am

With this car after excise duty tax will be around 300k !!!!
      Why pay more to taxes ????
      Ignore Japan conti buy more Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
      • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 2:22 pm

You ve forgotten Perodua aka Daihatsu aka Toyota? Why buy Proton when you can buy japs thru P2? Any logic?

Ahh yess.. making lost.. so can ask more money from gov. Sorry. . I get it. Mmg logiclah.

Where’s GSC anyway? Scrapped?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • P2 Japs celup got tin milo, thinner than ori, scared to be coffin

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • ProtonGSC on Aug 23, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Proton is Proton, Perodua is Perodua.
          Toyota is Toyota, Daihatsu is not Toyota. Even is under same family.

So Lexus is Toyota??? Then why people still buy Lexus???

• contr on Aug 24, 2014 at 12:06 am

Because they got conned, it’s just glorified Toyo

• kzm (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 2:36 pm

this car dont have petrol engine..it has electric motor

• ProtonGSC on Aug 23, 2014 at 6:20 pm

It maybe different but Bolehland will 100% tax it same like Hybrid car.
          Same question Why pay more tax to buy a Japan conti????
          Proton without any taxes. Tun will be happy you buy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • kzm (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 6:28 am

This type of EV is more practical than battery based EV..the onli let down is that most hydrogen production still using natural hydrocarbon eventhough hydrogen is naturally abundant.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 11:25 pm

I agree. When I first heard of FCVs I thought that this was the answer to future mobility. No range anxiety due to the ability to refuel quickly. No harmful emissions. Renewable fuel source.

Unfortunately, technology is not at the point yet whereby hydrogen can be extracted from a renewable source efficiently. Water electrolysis is very energy intensive and, if using electricity alone, the energy you gain from it in the form of extracted hydrogen gas might not justify the energy cost of the electrolysis itself. Efforts are still being made to find a way to make electrolysis of water commercially viable but until then, FCVs will remain impractical for many places around the world.

• roxas on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:08 am

what kind of proportions is this.. so fugly

• Sam Loo (ori) on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:35 am

And copycat kimchis will come out with a similar version that only sells 100 odd units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 47
  • Toyota took inspiration from proton evo ricers.

• ProtonGSC on Aug 23, 2014 at 11:17 am

You say it right, Proton can produce “future car” too.

Rakyat keep on buying Proton car.
      Proton GSC will be best selling in coming year. Built quality with better price(Tun love increase price).

• Very ugly look

• farghmee on Aug 23, 2014 at 11:39 am

70mPa? 70miliPascal?
    Or 70MPa? 70MegaPascal?

• hidrogen fuel? do you think oil & gas capitalist will allow this technology expanding?

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Come on.. pakai otak lah.. fossil fuel is non replaceable. . It ll dry out one day, soon.. so Toyota already prepare for it.. hydrogen can be reproduced from water..

It’s a huge step forward.

• 98% of the hydrogen produced worldwide (mostly for the chemical industry) is made of natural gas and not water.

Of course it could be made of water, but it doesn’t make any sense. It’s simply much too expensive because of the huge losses during the electrolysis.

• motorbart on Aug 23, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Motorhead doesn’t use head but always ask others to do so.

Ptuihh

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Its still can reproduce idiots. . Try reproduce fossil fuel if you can.. cubalah.. once finished.. finish.. zero.. government also warn this.. we can’t rely on fossil fuel forever. . That’s what all the EEV cars all about. Didn’t you read this news when oil price was up? It ll keep increasing. . Trust me..

Bodo nak mampus…

Buntut motorhead is back.

Mcm biasa.. Proton macai dictionary. .

Kuat minyak & lost making, no innovation = good

Save minyak profit making innovative = bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 23, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Everytime you couldn’t understand Motorhead, you come out and bark. And I don’t see any point in your comment.

You need any English class?

• ellix on Aug 24, 2014 at 12:09 am

Toyota and Honda salesman are so jealous. Once upon a time, they were so arrogant. You walk into a Toyota showroom, you can stand there half hour also, they don’t layan you. They just sit there and chit chat. If they are not chit chatting, they are outside the showroom smoking in a group.

Their sales started to disappear. That is why you see everywhere there is Hyundai Elantra but to see a Honda Civic or the 2014 Altis, very rare. Their sales started disappearing

Now, the Toyota salesman and Honda salesman are like dogs, they run after you. They started to panic. No more arrogant. They run after you and even offer you a drink.

Now, Japanese cars in Malaysia starting to panic big time. Your eyes don’t like. Altis already launched 1 year plus but can you even see a 2014 Altis on the road? But you see Elantra everywhere.

The Toyota salesman also, being so stupid, now see that their bad mouthing of Korean cars and lying about their RV has backfired big time.

Everyone can see mudah, carlies, oto and can see Japanese and Korean cars have SAME RV. All the lies now are in the open.

The Toyota salesman and Honda salesman are all crying for playing dirty. God has punished them so much that they run after you now.

• motorheadsark on Aug 24, 2014 at 12:15 am

Motorhead will reproduce hydrogen from its own fart. That’s way he can beat all world class scientists, very innovative indeed.

Haha!

• dualclutch on Aug 24, 2014 at 12:23 am

@Same Lorrr
            Why are you very sorhai and tai lan ngong?

• waxxe on Aug 24, 2014 at 12:25 am

As long as it is Motorhead’s comment, don’t bother to read.

• thgh (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 4:54 pm

Can someone ban the Samloo (ori or not or whatever). so annoyed with him now, not even funny at all seeing him trolling everywhere.

• elson on Aug 23, 2014 at 5:41 pm

toyota future just like Nokia .

• mr.annonymouse on Aug 23, 2014 at 7:10 pm

I can see some people condemns Toyota. If you don’t like the car, then better dont buy. There are many people using Toyota. Are the blind? Lol.
    Toyota provides good quality, long lasting, reasonable service & repairing cost. Easy to get parts, high resell value. Even after 5 years, the car will be smooth… Tq

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 8:25 pm

They are blind indeed.. & Toyota delivers..

5 years? My Vios 8 years dy.. My Myvi going to finish loan soon.. 7 years.. only changed motorfan.. cost me RM180…

Thx Daihatsu. . Toyt..

Loan finishing.. Time to move to other japs brand..

• How can you be so sure other cars won’t bang you and you dun lose control? Your car en dun VSC

• wsss2 on Aug 24, 2014 at 9:57 am

Only idiots thank T and D, safety like moving coffin, price like shiatt

• bndai on Aug 24, 2014 at 1:59 pm

Toyt is overpriced, picanto can be sold cheaper even if ameba salesman talk kork about condom and protection on proton.

Only idiots will buy Toyt

• Can’t really imagine this succeeding.

1) As an introductory model into the mainstreaming of hydrogen cars, it’s ugly as sin.

2) More importantly, you’re still tied to buying the fuel from ‘The Man.’ It’s impossible to produce hydrogen in your own home on a feasible scale, and as Mohd pointed out, most of it is currently made using fossil fuels, meaning that the big oil companies are in control and can set whatever prices they want for natural gas/hydrogen, much like they’re doing now with traditional fuels. Why else are they supporting hydrogen? End of the day, you’re still a slave to the system, forced to accept whatever price hikes for the fuel that come your way.

It’s just more straight-forward and cost-effective with electricity. Either get it from the grid (which removes much of the costs associated with transporting and distributing it. e.g: franchising ) or from dedicated low-maintenance solar power stations like Tesla’s doing with their superchargers: free to use for life to all Tesla owners. Also, faster charging batteries are already in development so it should make electric cars more practical.

• battery tech will improve,but u cant go long distance will that,even with fast charging.
      hydrogen fuel cell is the future,simple because its renewable,for producing it,you just need bettery way,like harnessing sun/river to electrolysis water.
      its doable,but for now,its not really efficient,but sooner or later,the fuel will run out,and there are no fuel company to stop renewable hydrogen cell to run.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 23, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Try google there are 1001 ways to produce hydrogen. . Yes.. now using gas.. but what happens when the gas ran out? Still can reproduce from something that is not available?

By then they still ve 1000 ways to produce hydrogen (effectively). . It ll take some time for H2O to dry out on earth.. loooong time.

& by that time.. Toyota is already ahead of this technology.. the fact is.. they always do.. & that killed American car giants.

Why so skeptical? Why can’t you just observe & learn?

I ve seen fuel cell demonstration. . It is indeed good technology. . Pure electric car use highly toxic batteries. .& these batteries ve life cycle. . Fuel cell is more environmental friendly.. no emissions. . No toxic batteries. .

• Toyota is joke when it comes to bolehland.
        Still using 4 speed gearbox, ancient engine and the latest tech is zinc roofed Vios!

Hahahahahahahhahah

• ‘Toyota is already ahead of this technology’

Really?

List of fuel cell vehicles:

Audi:
        2004 – Audi A2H2-hybrid vehicle
        2009 – Audi Q5-FCEV[2]
        BMW:
        2002 – BMW 750hl
        2010 – BMW 1 Series Fuel-cell hybrid electric[3]
        Chrysler:
        2000 – Jeep Commander II-hybrid vehicle-Commercial
        2001 – Chrysler Natrium-hybrid vehicle
        2003 – Jeep Treo-Fuel cell
        Daimler:
        1994 – Mercedes-Benz NECAR 1
        1996 – Mercedes-Benz NECAR 2
        1997 – Mercedes-Benz NECAR 3
        1999 – Mercedes-Benz NECAR 4
        2000 – Mercedes-Benz NECAR 5
        2002 – Mercedes-Benz F-Cell based on the Mercedes-Benz A-Class
        2005 – Mercedes-Benz F600 Hygenius
        2009 – Mercedes-Benz F-CELL Roadster
        2009 – Mercedes-Benz F-Cell based on the Mercedes-Benz B-Class[4]
        Fiat:
        2001 – Fiat Seicento Elettra H2 Fuel Cell-hybrid vehicle
        2003 – Fiat Seicento Hydrogen-hybrid vehicle
        2005 – Fiat Panda Hydrogen-Fuel cell
        2008 – Fiat Phyllis-Fuel cell
        2008 – Fiat Panda-Fiat Panda HyTRAN[5]
        Ford:
        2000 – Ford Focus FCV. Note however that Ford Motor Company has dropped its plans to develop hydrogen cars, stating that “The next major step in Ford’s plan is to increase over time the volume of electrified vehicles”.[6]
        2006 – F-250 Super Chief a Tri-Flex engine concept pickup.
        General Motors:
        1966 – GM Electrovan-Fuel cell
        2001 – HydroGen3-Fuel cell
        2002 – GM HyWire-Fuel cell
        2005 – GM Sequel-hybrid vehicle
        2006 – Chevrolet Equinox Fuel Cell[7]
        2007 – HydroGen4[7]
        Honda:
        2002 – Honda FCX – hybrid vehicle
        2007 – Honda FCX Clarity – Hydrogen Fuel cell – Production model
        Hyundai:
        2001 – Hyundai Santa Fe FCEV-Fuel cell
        2010 – Hyundai Tucson-ix35 FCEV-Fuel cell[8]
        2014 – Hyundai Tucson Fuel Cell [9]
        Lotus Engineering:
        2010 – Black Cab-Fuel cell[10]
        Kia:
        2009 – Kia Borrego FCEV-Fuel cell[11]
        Mazda:
        1991 – Mazda HR-X Hydrogen Wankel Rotary.
        1993 – Mazda HR-X2 Hydrogen Wankel Rotary.
        1993 – Mazda MX-5 Miata Hydrogen Wankel Rotary.
        1995 – Mazda Capella Cargo, first public street test of the hydrogen Wankel Rotary engine.
        1997 – Mazda Demio FC-EV Methanol-Reducing Fuel Cell
        2001 – Mazda Premacy FC-EV – First public street test of the Methanol-Reducing Fuel Cell vehicle in Japan
        2003 – Mazda RX-8 Hydrogen RE Hydrogen \ Gasoline hybrid Wankel Rotary.
        2007 – Premacy Hydrogen RE Hybrid
        2009 – Mazda 5 Hydrogen RE Hybrid[12]
        Mitsubishi:
        2004 – Mitsubishi FCV
        Morgan:
        2005 – Morgan LIFEcar-hybrid vehicle-concept car
        Nissan:
        2002 – Nissan X-Trail FCHV-hybrid vehicle. In 2009, Nissan announced that it’s cancellation of its hydrogen car R&D efforts.[13] However, in January 2013, Daimler AG, Ford Motor Company and Nissan Motor Co., Ltd., under the Alliance with Renault, have signed a unique three-way agreement for the joint development of common fuel cell system. The goal of the collaboration is to jointly develop a common FCEV system while reducing investment costs associated with the engineering of the technology, and deriving efficiencies through economies of scale, and will help to launch the world’s first affordable, mass-market FCEVs as early as 2017.[citation needed]
        Peugeot:
        2004 – Peugeot Quark
        2006 – Peugeot 207 Epure
        2008 – H2Origin-Fuel cell
        Renault:
        Scenic ZEV H2 is a hydro-electric MPV co-developed by Nissan.
        Riversimple:
        2009 – Riversimple Urban Car
        Ronn Motor Company:
        2008 – Ronn Motor Scorpion
        Volkswagen:
        2000 – VW Bora Hy-motion-Fuel cell
        2002 – VW Bora Hy-power-Fuel cell
        2004 – VW Touran Hy-motion-Fuel cell
        2007 – VW space up! blue

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_fuel_cell_vehicles

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 24, 2014 at 11:29 pm

yes….but which of these is production ready

• Heng Lee on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:42 am

BMW produced 100 750hl already in 2002.

So Toyota is only 12 years behind BMW (which is not too bad, as until today Toyota was not able to design and produce a modern turbo diesel. They source their turbo diesels for Europe from Peugeot and BMW)… ;)

• the design still like hovercraft, for see the price still will be expensive like Prius, hopefully will not follow Prius always have “Call back Campaign”! for those Toyota owner the nightmate is “Call Back”.

• Whatever said, 1 ugly looking car.