12-year old girl wins new Volvo XC60 with hole-in-one

12-yo-girl-wins-Volvo-XC60

A big, expensive car as the hole-in-one prize. Very common at golf tournaments, and we suspect that car manufacturers don’t mind sponsoring as the “risk” of someone actually claiming the prize is very low. That doesn’t mean it’s impossible though, and a 12-year old girl proved so.

At the recent 40th RSGC Ladies Amateur Open Championship held at the Royal Selangor Golf Club, Natasha Oon scored a hole-in-one to bring home a brand new Volvo XC60 T5 worth RM288,888. She would need some help with that of course, being five years away from getting a driving license.

“I didn’t realise that I scored a hole-in-one. Honestly, I was just trying to do my best,” said the Standard 6 golfer, who pulled off the money shot on the first day of the Championship. The last time this tournament saw a hole-in-one was 15 years ago, so it was no mean feat.

Volvo-XC60-Facelift

What happened next was rather cute. Oon brought her mum, Yenni Hasnawi, to the Federal Auto-sponsored XC60 and said: “this is the car that you will use to drive me to school every day.”

The Volvo XC60 T5 was launched in June in facelift form. Powered by the new Drive-E engine with 245 hp and 350 Nm (from 1,500 to 4,800 rpm), the Swede SUV does 0 to 100 km/h in 7.2 seconds with a top speed of 210 km/h. An Aisin-sourced eight-speed automatic gearbox replaces the old car’s six-speed dual-clutch PowerShift unit.

View our launch report for full specs and pics of the refreshed Volvo XC60.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• spongewai on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:37 pm

congratz to her and very lucky

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 136
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Sorry to say this but points 1-3 are all moot. It doesn’t matter whether they know the car is good or bad or not, and how would you know they won’t appreciate it? And aren’t her parents “real drivers”? For fairness’ sake, all who can participate in the tournament should be given the same chance at winning the car. If they retracted on their promise just because she’s 12 years old, they’ll be doing them an injustice and it’ll attract craploads of bad publicity.

This is a good opportunity for Volvo to gain more loyal fans and also spread awareness of their brand. Who knows? Her parents might spread the news that Volvo is good among their well-to-do friends (golf is an expensive sport so golfers are generally very loaded and some are connected) and Volvo might stand to gain a more customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Jilbaber on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Why…You Jelly?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • Butthurt idiot spotted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
    • jolly_idiot the idiot on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:19 pm

Who said a 12 yr old kid does not know about cars?You’ll be surprised.She may even be more knowledgeable than you.What is wrong about owning a car without a driving license and having someone else driving her around in it?Do you think those super rich people who buy Rolls Royces are driving the cars themselves?Pls don’t make yourself sound like an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:47 pm

what is illegal regarding this issue? A 12 year won a car but she’s not driving it. Which law allows the JPJ or Traffic police to come summon her? Or the organiser who rewarded it to her?
      If she drives it, YES. If her parents let her drive it, YES.
      Be clear that when she won the car, her name will NOT be automatically registered in JPJ as a driver. It’s just as simple as that.

People are laughing, mr jolly idiot.

• Aiyo kawan, lu punye nama pun idiot. This is very good marketing indeed as rarely such young age gets a car, let alone a hole-in-one. Kudos kiddo & volvo

• Your name speaks for itself…. What a jolly idiot comment you gave.

• xander on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:37 pm

now i know which sport my kids need to venture

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Its actually easier to strike 1st price buying 4D numbers than training hitting golf balls for years and hope for a hole in one in tournaments. Just ask any Malaysian pro. players, most of them never get a hole in one and also don’t earn enough for their upkeep, what I meant is most of the Malaysian Pro Golfers are quite ‘POK-KAI’.

• ayyam on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:54 pm

fkin lucky
    fkin jealous right now

• Money shot! Need to use these 2 words carefully.

• one word: congrats

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Bad marketing? Why is showing absolute fairness is bad marketing, mr jolly idiot?

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:50 pm

How lovely! Well done to the girl, and I’d say I am going to have to give a hats off to the parents too… Not everyday do you see a preteen (especially in the days of whatever rubbish twerking etc) actually not losing ground easily and still valuing her parents too.

And also to Volvo Cars Malaysia, thanks for not discriminating the age of the girl. Pretty sure in 5 years when this girl gets her license, that Volvo’s gonna still be there shining. It’s a Volvo after all!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:06 pm

i will disown my son now. he never win xc60 for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • EnergyAnalyst on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:32 am

Young lady, train hard for you may well be our Malaysian Tiger Wood in making. keep up the good work. And thanks Volvo for uncovering our hidden young athletic talent!!

• prabowi on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:11 am

Lucky brat

• death (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:27 am

Don’t just judge people by their cover. you never know she/he know more than us. And by the way, congratz to her by winning Volvo XC60. =D

• so it seems the jolly_idiot is now a jelly_idiot

• okbplid on Aug 27, 2014 at 9:26 am

May this girl grow up becoming among the best player in the world!