DRIVEN: 2015 Mazda 2 1.5 SkyActiv-G previewed in Japan – a supermini with sports car ambitions

SONY DSC

We like to think of superminis as being ridiculously good fun to drive. And at first, the basic ingredients of a small hatchback do seem like they’d add up to a pretty exciting driving experience. A compact, lightweight body should make the car nimble, agile, manoeuvrable, with a tiny engine trading big power for a zingy, free-revving nature.

Of course, the reality is rather far from the truth, at least where Malaysia is concerned. Apart from the standout Ford Fiesta, small hatchbacks sold here tend to be tepid, rolly-polly boxes tuned more for comfort to suit the average commuter. This leaves the enthusiast buyer looking for a fun-yet-affordable machine with very little options to choose from.

Enter the new 2015 Mazda 2, which promises to “shatter your expectations of small cars.” Mazda is making monumental claims with its new B-segment hatchback in terms of driving dynamics, so is the new contender all hot air, or a complete revelation to drive? We went to Japan to find out.

SONY DSC

Judged purely by its looks, the new 2 is a success, with the company’s Kodo styling language fitting well onto the tiny body. At the front, the signature beak-like grille is accented with a red slat, and the sharp headlights feature optional projectors with four-piece LED daytime running lights. The rump sweeps down towards the Alfa-esque tail lights which contain U-shaped elements that mirror the headlights.

Special care has been made to ensure the car doesn’t simply look like a squished Mazda 3. There’s more volume centred behind, particularly around the delicious rear haunches, giving it the appearance of an athlete coiled up at the starting blocks. The intention, said chief designer Ryo Yanagisawa, was to project the feeling of bound-up energy at the moment of release, a look he calls “Pouncing Motion.”

Measuring 4,060 mm long, 1,695 mm wide and 1,500 mm tall, the new 2 is 15 mm taller and a whopping 138 mm longer than its predecessor, and is one of the few cars in its segment to break the four-metre mark in length. The wheelbase has also grown by a massive 80 mm to 2,570 mm, beating even the Tardis that is the Honda Jazz by a full 40 mm.

None of that considerable space increase shows in the cabin, however – interior space has actually shrunk compared to the older model, no thanks to the swoopy new design. The boot, in particular, is the biggest casualty, now measuring just 220 litres. That’s 30 litres less than the old 2 and well behind rivals such as the Fiesta (276 litres), the Volkswagen Polo (280 litres) and especially the Jazz (363 litres).

The attention, instead, has been placed solely on the driver. The A-pillars have been pushed back by 80 mm and the windscreen made slightly more upright for better visibility (this move also provides the 2 with a long bonnet characteristic of Mazda’s latest models).

Moving the front wheels forward by 80 mm has also freed up space in the footwell, allowing the brake and accelerator pedals to be positioned further to the right. The latter pedal is also now a floor-hinged organ-type unit that has been seen on all new Mazda models since the CX-5.

SONY DSC

There’s more – the steering wheel now has adjustment for reach as well as rake, the front seat backs and headrests have been increased in height to accommodate taller drivers, while the leading edge of the front seats are now shorter and softer to improve pedal operability for shorter drivers.

Stepping inside reveals a comfortable, almost plush ambience despite the decrease in space. Central to its appeal is a design that manages to be both sporty and airy at the same time. The driving environment is predictably a standout, with a cocooned cockpit-like sweep around the driver, twin circular air vents and an instrument cluster taken from its larger 3 sibling.

The front passenger, meanwhile, is faced with a minimalist horizontal dash with few buttons and a hidden centre air vent under the top panel. Even the hindquarters are serviceable for short- to medium-haul trips, although passengers miss out on door pockets and cupholders. All throughout the cabin, hard plastics are the norm, but they are pleasantly textured and are fastened together with reassuring solidity.

Brightening it all up are splashes of metallic trim, as well as the white-and-black leather-and-fabric upholstery of the test cars complete with gorgeous red fabric stripes on the seats. You can forget the soft-touch plastic and fake stitching on the Jazz and City, too – proper leather adorns the lower dashboard trim, door panels and the knee pads on either side of the centre console on top models.

Apart from a maximum of six airbags and stability control, the new Mazda 2 will also be available with the i-ActivSense suite of camera-based driver assist technology from its larger siblings, including automated city braking, blind spot monitoring and lane departure warning. Other optional toys include the i-stop stop-start system, the MZD Connect touchscreen infotainment system and even a head-up display.

Local distributor Bermaz has yet to finalise Malaysian market specifications and equipment, only saying that there will be low- and high-spec variants available. It has, however, confirmed that a sedan body style is on its way.

Engine choices are 1.3 and 1.5 litre direct-injected SkyActiv-G petrol four-cylinder mills and a new 1.5 litre “Clean Diesel” SkyActiv-D four-cylinder. The 1.3 petrol gets a 12.0:1 compression ratio and delivers 92 PS at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm at 4,000 rpm, while the diesel has the same impressively low compression ratio (14.8:1) as its 2.2 litre sibling and produces 105 PS at 4,000 rpm and up to 250 Nm from 1,500 to 2,500 rpm.

The sole option we’ll be getting is the 1.5 litre petrol, which as tested has the same stratospheric 14.0:1 compression ratio as on the 2.0 SkyActiv-G engine already available locally on the Mazda 3. Peak output is 115 PS delivered at 6,000 rpm and 148 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, while fuel consumption is quoted to have been improved by as much as 25%.

The six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic and SkyActiv-MT manual (which we are unlikely to get) transmissions replace the outdated four-speed auto and five-speed manual of the current model. Both drivetrains have been made smaller and lighter than their counterparts on larger models to fit the tighter engine bay of the 2. The automatic gearbox also gains a new Sport mode, a first for Mazda.

SONY DSC

Under the skin is the new SkyActiv-Body that is 22% stiffer than the outgoing model thanks to straight frame structures, ring structures around the body, increased bonding efficiency and optimal thickness of the high-tensile steel sheets. Weight figures have yet to be released, but the new 2 is expected to be lighter than its already featherweight predecessor.

Suspension remains the same MacPherson struts at the front and torsion beam at the rear, but a softer setup and revised rear mounting points are aimed to improve comfort. The front castor angle has also been increased for better stability, and the electric power steering now features a quicker ratio.

Mazda has also worked hard on improving engine response for a more linear and responsive power delivery, not only for a sportier feel, but also for smoother everyday driving. Overall, the company claims the new 2 features the highest level of car-and-driver connection, or jinba ittai (horse and rider as one) among the latest generation of Mazdas, which is a very big claim indeed.

SONY DSC

On test at the Tokachi International Speedway in Hokkaido were two Singaporean-spec, pre-production Mazda 2s with the 1.5 litre petrol engine and the automatic gearbox. We were allotted two laps on the high-speed track, followed by a lap on a smaller course that mimicked the conditions of real-world driving.

Out the gate, the engine felt sprightly, masking its modest power with a decent slug of low-end torque. The powertrain responded instantaneously and linearly to the slightest modulation of the throttle, making it incredibly easy to mete out the exact amount of acceleration needed.

The transmission was, like other SkyActiv-Drive ‘boxes, exceedingly eco-minded, shifting to the highest gear possible, but thumbing the Sport rocker switch below the gear lever made it hold onto gears for longer and downshift automatically under braking. In either mode, flooring the throttle produced an instant kickdown.

Full manual shifting (yes, no automatic upshifts at the redline) through the steering wheel paddles proved hugely enjoyable, although the shifts themselves weren’t as fast as they should be. Downshifts, however, were crisp and smooth thanks to the blipping of the throttle when rowing down the gears, which is a nice touch.

The chassis of the new 2 felt up to the task to a full neck-wringing around a track. The quick, light, accurate steering is matched to a cornering stance that is sharp and eager, yet stable and predictable, although some body roll has crept in. Despite the torrid conditions (it was raining), grip levels remained high throughout, with understeer only setting in through excessively high corner entry speeds.

Even with the rain pelting down and the track completely soaked, wind and road noise remained relatively low while travelling well past highway limits, and high-speed stability was impressive along the main straight. Braking performance was well up to snuff on the wet track despite the fitment of rear drum brakes.

DSC_0390

A quick blast through the rutted service roads on the smaller course revealed a ride that is still a little stiff compared to the best in its class, although it improved considerably the faster we drove. Mazda also brought along a Thai-spec, previous-generation Jazz for us to test on the smaller course, and while the Honda still had the measure of its Hiroshima rival in terms of ride, out on the track there was no contest.

The i-VTEC mill, itself no heavy, lumbering slouch of an engine, felt slightly sluggish on full throttle next to the new 2, hesitating briefly before shooting forward with a burst of torque. Regular standing starts was also a little more jerky than on the Mazda, while in the corners the Jazz exhibited a lot more roll, a lot less body control and a much more abrupt shift from understeer to oversteer.

Leaving the race track, it was hard to shake off the feeling that Mazda is being shrewd here. It evidently knows it cannot beat the Jazz at its own game (space and versatility), so it has deftly moulded the new Mazda 2 to provide the biggest smile for your buck, because that’s what the company knows best.

SONY DSC

A more road-biased test beckons, of course, but on first blush the new 2 really does appear to have the driving dynamics to challenge the best in its class, with sweet handling and a decent ride. It’s not spacious, but it’s handsome, has a lovely interior atmosphere and stands out in a crowd of me-too competitors, which might appeal to a certain niche in the market.

The only problem concerns its pricing over here. Bermaz has admitted that, imported from Thailand, the 2 is unlikely to be priced below the RM100k mark due to the complex and expensive SkyActiv technology. This puts it above virtually all its rivals and beyond the reach of most B-segment buyers. Indeed, the pricing conundrum has already caused the local launch to be delayed from later this year to early 2015.

Will Bermaz be able to justify the premium? We’ll just have to wait and see, but one thing is clear – the new Mazda 2 certainly doesn’t want for talent.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• nabill (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:05 pm

And we thought fiesta ecoboost at rm9xk was overpriced….100k or more is rediculous pricing…..no matter how good da car is
    On a loan duration,less than rm100 a mnth wil get u a full c segment car…
    Looks nice though!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
    • ProtonGSC on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Ridiculous right? Why pay more tax for Gov?
      Buy more Proton PCC, king of road and RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 80
      • AVH (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Actually technically since Proton is asking for money from the Government thou confirm or not hasn’t been revealed. So we pay more money for cars such as this because the Guv is asking tax from it, so the money goes to the government which than goes to Proton.

So support your country, be patriotic, buy a Honda Jazz or Mazda 2 or any CKD cars, by paying more for a foreign CKD car, you are not only paying for better inter-country economic relations, providing for the welfare of thousands of CKD workers in Malaysia. You are also paying for Proton indirectly, supporting our local car makers so that they can sell cars cheaaper to the less financialy-capabled.

We are 1 Malaysia….oh I am so going to get deported to Siberia for this.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 18
        • cendol (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:38 pm

There is no 1Malaysia,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 18
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Look at this hot Mazda 2 and compare with the GSC, I really laugh non stop. This is called GAP!

And I can bet with you: When this Mazda 2 is launched in Malaysia, our fellow Proton fanboys still dreaming of GSC, because the GSC take forever to launch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
          • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:15 pm

Looking at same lorrr living like a frog under the well is much more funny than watching a comedian show.

• deported to Siberia ? LoL

• AVH (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Aren’t Proton and Toyota Fanbois the strongest opiniator here, I have a) somewhat belittled Proton and B)supported Honda, so I must have angered both parties.

• Same L0rrr on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:28 am

If you don’t like Toyota, you don’t need to get out of Malaysia/Japan. Honda is good also, they are sushi car.

As long as it is sushi cars, it will have RV and build quality.

I am not against Honda/Mazda/Mitsubishi, it is good to have more competition.

With more competition, car buyers enjoy the benefit.

With Proton, we enjoy high tax, high tax and Proton fanboys who high themselves out of nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
          • I AM NUTELLA on Jan 09, 2015 at 10:17 pm

Daihatsu got RV? I heard it gonna bankrupt. And it get no star in India NCAP crash test.

• Vader (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:34 pm

The exterior and interior look so nice and sexy but feel bad since it state that the space gonna shrunk some more compare to previous version.
        Another topic, already a shameless joker for the toyo salesman that spoil the toto name, now potong

• Most of the component including steering wheel, air-cond and door switches imported direct from Mazda 2 bigger siblings … cost saving.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Just days back, I manage to sit in a Mazda 3 show car in 1 Utama. It still have the usual Mazda cramp but very well built interior as its bigger brother. Visibility is also tad beat constrain than the Nissan new Sylphy I sat today. But we ignore practicality for sheer drivability and suddenly the Mazda is ahead of its pack. The interior is snug and fit while the exterior is simply stunning.

The Mazda seems to borrow the same concept as the bigger bros. Nice leather upholstery and LED lights that you dot get in the Jazz(Well technically the JDM spec hybrids gets the LEDs)and stunnigly well layout and designed interior. From the pics, the size and space seems to be constraint thou. Overall, as I type this next to a Mazda showroom, hope it comes soon with an attractive pricetag(and spec, we dont want another Mazda 3 Saga).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:14 pm

I have a bad feeling that Bermaz would have to remove the juicy features like the HUD and the iActiveSense driver assist package to make the Mazda2 viable here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
      • ZoomZoom on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:12 pm

They can remove whatever upgradable toy like those LCD screen, LED, etc etc… But not those safety features like Airbags, ABS, ESP..

Toys can be upgrade later, but safety feature wise, once you bought it you have to live with it.. no turning back to add ESP later on..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • nabill (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:54 pm

did u notice that mazda 3 , it has one of the lowest seating position…u sit very low in the car….

• AVH (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:23 pm

I always adjust the seating to my position in a showcar, to give the best feel and no I didn’t notice it is lower than other cars, I thought that it was the high windowline to blame, in all, I felt snug in with a commanding view. Thou it has rather good forward visibility, unlike Peugeout with the 208 and 2008 that blocks a certain amount of forwrad visibility with that raise meter bincale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • roxas on Aug 26, 2014 at 4:31 am

and for sure the interior is gonna be all in black as usual

• Sam loo fans on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:08 pm

This is very interesting. Sky active, full Manual shifting, paddle shift, good material interior, sport mode. Just make sure bermaz keep all the toy there and make it under 100k and it will sell like a hot cake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Sounds like you guys had fun testing this. It feels as though this car will be more like a direct competitor against the Fiesta rather than all the normal hatchbacks. With a price tag of around RM100k, it’ll have to be better than the EcoBoost to justify the cost…and even if it is, it might not have many buyers considering that it’s smaller than the EcoBoost. At least it’s more premium inside, though. A driver’s hatch, indeed.

Mazda Japan should have brought in a Fiesta instead of a Jazz. We all know that the Jazz would not handle as well as the Mazda2.

Anyways, rejoice! The SkyActiv-Drive tranny finally has Sport mode! Hope this will be the end of “my Mazda is underpowered!” complaints.

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:37 pm

It does look way, way better inside out than the Fiesta. (And of course Mazda wouldn’t want to bring the car that can actually compete…).

I recon this thing could sell rather well in Europe with crowds who want to downgrade from a nice, big car but without feeling they have stepped into a cheaper car (the interior wouldn’t look out of place in a D segment car!). This thing looks as if it can compete in the premium B segment, i.e. against Mini, Audi A1, Citroen DS3, Fiat 500 (though that’s really a A segment car, IMHO), Opel Adam, … Basically feel like driving a big, expensive car, without having the trouble finding a car park, the high fuel consumption and the high price tag (not everyone needs a D segment car).

• AVH (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:40 pm

In Japan, the 2 is going up against the Jazz hybrid and RS and itself is no slouch. The Mazda holds the triumph car against the older tech, previous generation Jazz, but the new Jazz or Fit in Japan has a newer engine(DOHC I-VTEC, and direct injection too) . I betting on the 2 for the better vehicle dynamics but the Fit might just Triumph in all other respects.

• Jaybond on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:04 pm

The new Mazda 2 hatch’s closest competitors (other than the Fiesta hatch) are the facelifted VW Polo hatch, the Renault Clio (rumoured base model CKD launched end of this year), the Pug 208 and perhaps the new Toyota Yaris. Maybe the Driven Series can pit these 6 cars against each other by early next year!

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Very good point. I’ve forgotten about the continental hatches. I wonder if the Peugeot 208 would handle as well as the Mazda 2. I doubt the Polo 1.6 hatch would handle as well as the Mazda2, though. It isn’t made to be a driver’s hatch like the Mazda 2 is. It’d be more interesting with the Renault Clio, I think. Looking forward to more information about it coming up closer to CKD launch date.

• PJSalt on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Looks like the >100k asking price for this little cutey will be the downfall for Bermaz. ❎REKT

• tishaban on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Aside from the Mazda CX5 none of the other Skyactiv products are particularly popular in Klang Valley which makes me believe that the main reason for the CX5’s popularity is price.

CKD and EEV tax breaks might lower the price of the Mazda 2 and produce another popular winner compared to the other superminis around. Let’s hope for a price war without any reduction in specs, that way the buyer benefits in the long run.

I’m hoping for a Mazda 2 with a manual transmission, a cheap man version of the MX5 :D but I guess that won’t happen anytime soon :D

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Didn’t analysts claim the Mazda 3 (!) could be sold for less than 90k?
    http://paultan.org/2014/04/10/mazda-3-ckd-1-5/

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Needs a smaller engine and a good dose of CKD. Giving the Mazda2 the same treatment might make it a lot more reasonably priced.

• ben yap on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:45 pm

1.5 @ 115hp / 148 Nm torque is not very powerful.

even honda city also develop more horses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Enthu on Aug 26, 2014 at 2:13 pm

Numbers don’t tell the whole story. The 1.5 i-VTEC engine from Honda is lethargic and slow. Mazda’s SkyActiv has direct injection and revvy.

• I really love the interior design, the leather stitching, MZD Connect touchscreen infotainment and i-Active-sense.

And the car are nice to drive .. but the price are to high and the space were too compact for this Mazda

Been admire Mazda for quite while now, there were the alternative car maker others then ford for me personally.

• Bermas on Aug 27, 2014 at 5:47 pm

ya, that was until bermas decided to screw the malaysia mazda enthusiast again just like the CBU mazda 3

• prabowi on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Mazda 2 is 25% more fuel efficient compared to the previous model. Proton PCC 10% fuel efficiency improvement is obviously not good enuf. Should be like 50% just to be at par with mazda 2. Bare in mind, campro is not a fuel efficient engine.

• peynoo on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:05 pm

“The only problem concerns its pricing over here. Bermaz has admitted that, imported from Thailand, the 2 is unlikely to be priced below the RM100k mark due to the complex and expensive SkyActiv technology.”

Maybe Bermaz takut Proton marah if price RM60K, nanti Iriz gerenti tidak laku.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • it’s not apply only for Mazda.. every foreign car maker CAN’T reduce their price tag lower then PROTON & Perodua.. not going to happen in anytime sooner or later.

• Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:28 pm

RM100K …for a small b-seg car. Confirmed failure. But maybe can steal some sales from Fiesta with he problematic gearbox….this is definitely niche market car….

• You will need special care for Ecoboost. Is a turbocharged engine afterall. In our climate, things can go wrong in 4 years time with the wear and tear rate. Better off with a NA mazda. Above RM100K is just too much to ask for. Is not even the same league as the Suzuki Swift Sport. So why should it cost more?

• Is it hard for proton to at least produce something nice as this?

• sudonano (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:39 pm

100k is too steep…. Got to be joking at that price for this little fella since for 30-40k more you can get a much larger CX5 2WD which also has good dynamics and SkyActiv too…

• seancorr on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:43 pm

So the price of the lower spec already crossed RM100k? Wow then the high spec price must be sky high for this segment.

Guess we’ll have to stick to the Jazz for space and Fiesta for fun driving…

• W204 C63 AMG on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:44 pm

I can totally see Mazda being the Japanese counterpart of VW. They should sell a fully specced Mazda2 at the 1.2TSI Polo price and at the same time sell a cheaper, emptier version at around 90-100k.

• i’ll wait for the upcoming new proton hehehehehe.

• this car for rm100k? definitely a NO.

• TBC (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Since new car delivery, my CX-5 is giving me noise issue. When my car accelerate up to 80KM/H and above, I can hear air turbulence inside the cabin. Bermaz has repaired my car for three times but the problem still remain. During third repair, Bermaz changed total of ten improvement parts. Now, I can hear air turbulence when my car accelerate up to 80-90KM/H. According to Bermaz, air turbulence is caused by Mazda car design and it is happen to all Mazda CX-5. Bermaz informed me no further repaired can be done by Bermaz and furthermore this issue does not cause safety issue.

Bermaz informed me Mazda car should only compared with Mazda car only not any other brand. Mazda CX-5 was awarded Japan’s Car of the year 2013, during evaluation for Japan’s Car of the year 2013, are they comparing between CX-5 with CX-5? An 8 year old Proton Waja is providing better quality than new Mazda CX-5. I didn’t hear single air turbulence when old Proton Waja accelerate up to 100-110KM/H.

What should I do? any comment?

• iluvcar on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:58 pm

100k? Remember 100k jazz? And cerato?

• 9852174563 on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:32 am

I remember they were flops. Hardly see any on the roads.

With a price of > 100K, this M2 also gonna be REKT.

• Legend (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:23 pm

hope that Mazda 2 Sedan will be priced identical to Honda City
    only then Mazda 2 will still be competitive on the market with lots of other technology

• Omg, a minimalist interior..so gooding I loikee.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:40 pm

Malaysia car companies can charge any amount they want and there is NOBODY to stop them.
    Take it or leave it.
    Don’t like it? Emigrate lah

• In my opinion, the best thing Mz2 has against the Polo & Fiesta is the regular torque converter gearbox, NOT the problematic dual clutch nightmare of VW & Ford.

• Mazda should go one level higher with a premium edition with 4 beautiful sport seats, soft touch leather & plastic, brushed aluminium, improve sound insulation & electronics, bigger wheels & slightly more powerful engine tuning to beat the Audi A1 interior

• gavint on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:03 pm

above 100k is really much too steep for a compact car

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:49 pm

over 100k. eh vincent tan…we need to talk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • NISSpengAN on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:08 pm

My mighty Nissan Almera still the best of the best!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • Jimmy on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:10 pm

BS.
    I thought it is CBU Japan.
    Below RM95K should be possible, even with 6 airbags & ESP + leather seats.
    Don’t follow the behaviour of UMW.

• How is this compared to sss?

Both cbu japan.. Both around 100k ofr auto

• elson on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:37 am

the rear bottom black plastic cover make the overall rear look ugly

• neemfa on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:49 am

Best looking small hatch, in and out.. shame about the price though.

• sepul on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:41 am

100k I think is the possible price if the car was imported from Japan. But if from Thailand, I think it should be lower, maybe around 95k with all the toys and safety feat. We have AFTA right?

• samlok on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:19 am

if only this mazda 2 price below 90K worth considering othewise it is better go for suzuki swift sport.

• Hope RM100k price tag is only for Japan imported highest spec Mazda2.

• Bernard on Aug 26, 2014 at 1:49 pm

It should be priced below 80k!!

Also, no manual transmission??

Will it be sold in Malaysia without the six air-bags and safety features ??:(

• leonardo on Sep 01, 2014 at 5:08 pm

How did Suzuki managed to sell the 1.4L Swift at RM65K? Maybe Bermaz is making a huge margine and shifting the blame on Govt taxes?

• awitgg on Sep 02, 2014 at 11:04 pm

The looks is too much korean which o dont like. The more i look, the uglt they are. The front, cabin and back not proportionately well layout. Power for 1.5 petrol variant was so so only. Price tag if around 100k is rediculous for 100hp car… for me no no. If selling at 60+k maybe i will consider due to japan car for just 10k expensive than myvi… just my 2cents though

• dont think it’s a fair comparison between the previous gen jazz which is a 6 yr old design/chassis/engine. However a comparison between a malaysian spec jazz wouldn’t be fair either because we only have the CKD version which tbh sucks balls. The Jazz sold in other markets have so much technology and goodies AND lastly has the proper LED headlights not like the retarded cheapo lights we got here

• Brian Dy on Sep 17, 2014 at 4:26 pm

In the Philippines this would be sold at PHP825,000 or approximately RM63,500

• acolyte on Jan 09, 2015 at 7:41 pm

please be sure to include this babe in the next season of driven!!!! :DDDD

• joshboy on Jan 10, 2015 at 12:12 pm

Please bring In the diesel