Proton Compact Car (PCC) to use new 1.3 and 1.6 VVT engines – five-star ANCAP safety, three variants

Proton-Raya-06

Details of the upcoming Proton Compact Car (PCC) have emerged from official sources, with Proton chief technical officer Abdul Rashid Musa releasing juicy bits of info to Malay language dailies.

We’ve previously called the B-segment five-door hatchback Global Small Car (GSC), and the P2-30A is rumoured to carry the model name “Iriz”. After such a long period of testing and teasing, the PCC’s debut is now just around the corner.

According to a Berita Harian report, Proton focused on two main areas when developing the PCC – top level safety and fuel efficiency, at an affordable price.

pcc-melaka-1

Sitting on a new platform, the PCC will be powered by new engines, 1.3 and 1.6 litre units with variable valve timing (VVT). Not just the Campro with VVT bolted on, the PCC’s engines feature a new block, pistons and valves, and is the first of a new series of engines that will power future models and replace the long-serving Campro family.

The new mill is 10% more fuel efficient compared to the Campro, and the use of electric power steering (EPS) further aids the cause. Abdul Rashid Musa told Utusan Malaysia that the PCC can travel from Bukit Kayu Hitam to Johor Bahru (the length of the North South Expressway) with one tank of fuel. With 110 hp and 148 Nm (quoted figures likely to be for the 1.6), the PCC has a top speed of over 180 km/h.

The new engines will be paired to both manual and automatic transmissions. Will Proton continue on the CVT path (both the Preve and Suprima S come with the stepless ‘box) or will the PCC ship with a stepped automatic gearbox? Which do you prefer?

PROTON-GSC-INTERIOR-1

On the safety front, the PCC is five-star rated in both the ASEAN NCAP crash test and the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP). The hatchback comes with ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, ESC stability control and hill hold assist, as well as ISOFIX mounts for child seats. Airbags? Six in total, including front, side and curtain bags.

“Safety is very important and customers should know which car is safe and which is not. ANCAP differs from ASEAN NCAP as it takes everything into account, and we got five stars for that, so there is no issue for us,” Proton manufacturing and production COO, Khairudin Datuk Haji Yusoff told paultan.org in a recent interview.

Three trim levels will be available – Standard, Executive and Premium. The Utusan report adds that the PCC will be priced lower or equivalent to comparable models such as the Perodua Myvi. Perodua’s upcoming new model, the Axia, is an A-segment hatchback that sits below the Myvi. Not long now.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• matselfie on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:40 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 377
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:47 am

rakyat dah bosan la dgn modal kutuk lama nii setiap kali model baru keluar

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 242 Thumb down 24
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Ah Beng noticed that PCC is better than A-segment Axia. Better safety rating, better ride & handling and plus, NEW NFE VVT engine which well-known for better fuel consumption than old Campro. Now, PROTON must prove to Malaysian they are now striving to combat against poor quality. Good job PROTON. Truly Malaysian!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 14
        • Vader (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Well-known VVT engine for fuel consumption?
          It is new, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
          • ProtonGSC on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Everythings is new, now the main and most important column ‘Selling Price”.
            Tun mentioned “a bit more expensive” will be around 5k? more Or 20k?

Hope he won’t make us dissapointed.
            Proton GSC king of road and RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:48 pm

When Toyota Vios come with VVT engine, the Proton fanboys claim it is outdated, obsoleted.

When Proton come with VVT engine (finally), they act like they have never seen VVT before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 46
          • driver on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:15 am

Sam Lorr,
            No, it’s not new. CFE already has VVT (timing), but they don’t highlight it.

p/s: Remember CPS?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:48 pm

It is even more hilarious.

Proton faboys are high on old engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
          • jaggy on Aug 26, 2014 at 4:47 pm

But but but Vios engine is not Euro V compliant like CFE or NFE. Toyota VVT is too old, outdated and obsolete.

LOLOLOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Hmm..not yet launched you can already tell that it has better ride and handling, and also claiming that the NEW engine is WELL KNOWN for its advantage over the campro. Im not here to bash proton but please lah ah beng dont be such a hardcore supporter until making statement like this lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
          • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:53 pm

yeah…really hardcore salesman Ah Beng…

The R&H i can accept, no doubt…but WELL-KNOWN…wah lau…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • proton?? on Aug 26, 2014 at 2:03 am

Bila toyota guna VVT engine proton fan boys cakap engine tahun 1990 an ag. Ni bila dah gune VVT? Ape kes puji melayang minyak jimat. Ke jadah apa yang korang buat??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
          • driver on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:21 am

What about CFE? CPS?
            Just that P1 don’t use the same alphabets like Toyota. They thought people are smart enough, but now they know.. it doesn’t matter if you still using 4speed tranny as long as the car has a VVT badge, and using timing chain, everything is gooooddd..

#sarkastik

• Lorat on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:58 am

Harping like this will only make Najib and co realize there’s money to be made.
      Hush hush la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 92
      • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:14 pm

What does have PCC to do with Najib & co. Please stop the lies. At least Najib have good intention to reduce car price for Malaysian. It’s better than nothing. Action speaks louder than words!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 18
    • pui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 70
      • aso ngan on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:11 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 128
        • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:42 am

Now’s your chance, take 9 years loan. Very likely you don’t have to pay off the car b4 you die!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 4
          • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Yep…10% is consider very good liao…the real test will be on city driving in 100% city jam in Fed Highway KL. Highway test are meaningless, even Campro can have decent FC on the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
          • Protonist on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:24 pm

The Proton sue die before you die or the car loan dies. Guaranteed. It is a Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
        • !@#$%^& on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:31 am

How’s your Datsun Baulu? Don’t waste your time here.

• Low Budget on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:38 am

Why want to ‘pui’ even before the car is release to the market? Who knows if this will be the car that begin to turn the tide against Proton? Time will tell.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 12
        • rogaz on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:44 am

Don’t do that if you good compete not just use propaganda as this is what been practice in china long time ago, stop doing this or go back to the origin if you want to keep doing this tq

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 27, 2014 at 11:44 am

Typical Proton fanboys! You don’t like Proton, you get out of Malaysia.

I wonder are they trained in the China communist academy? They act alike.

• orang kena tipu on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:51 pm

When this ploton joker launched the Savy model few years back, their marketing strategy was saying the Savy model ss the best global car with what F88king lotus engine. End up? the Savy tutup kedai. So now still want to hu ha abt this new joker model and tipu money?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 61
          • Hammerclaw on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Engine Lotus? lol better do some research b4 making uself look stupid

Just sayin

• benji on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:05 am

hahahaha..ni musti suku sakat azwan ali. komen mengarut tah apa2..lps tu gila selfie.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 4
    • Ah Beng (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Matselfie, don’t be too naive and lame when commenting. PROTON already under DRB for 2 years now and it had been privatized to improve its Management. I still have hope for this company and the next model to make Malaysian proud. Come on PROTON, lets launch the car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrr on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Hope is hope, reality is reality.

Proton cars 4-good quality control:
        1. Looks Good
        2. Sounds Good
        3. Promised Good
        4. But never truly Good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • OMG…gsc (GANA SAI CAR) …LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • peyno (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:42 am

good job

safety first….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 6
    • Low Budget on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:42 am

Yup, hopefully they may right the wrongs done in the past decade or so.May God bless them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 5
    • Perhaps it’s a leap and bound from previous model.I have driven numerous cars, my own and others.My standard for this segment (locally available) is still the new Picanto.Fiesta EcoBoost is a favourite,but it costs too much.and my benchmark for P1 is still the 1999 Satria GTi.all this while.always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Mozilla Chrome on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:47 am

New platform and new engine. That’s a good news. Hopefully the final design and price won’t let us down.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
  • Great! Proton car has improve their safety but now is waiting for Proton announce the car price, it must be value for money or else is very hard to compete with Competitors

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 3
  • Bravo Proton.. Its a brilliant move for emphasizing on safety when producing a car.. The 5 star safety is not merely a gimmick as it is proven in various news of accidents involving Proton.. The whole package now is getting better.. Proton scored already on handling department and safety department, now please work out more on NVH department, built quality and realibility department and fuel consumption department.. Then you can win the heart of Malaysians.. Malaysians are getting richer each year, they managed to opt on other brands so Proton needs to workd harder..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 6
    • Mozilla Chrome on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:03 am

Too many departments..I don’t think Proton has even that much departments. Lol..Jk..dont get mad :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
  • prabowi on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:56 am

Right direction. But only 10% fuel saving compared to campro is not good enough. Campro is already 10 years old and fuel efficient tech has been evolving by leaps an bounds since then. Should target EEV efficiency or at least at par with its rivals.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 7
    • qwerty on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:48 am

10% of improvement in FC is not that easy to achieve if it’s still a conventional internal combustion engine. Unless they implement direct-injection, Atkinson cycle and a gearbox with more gears, 10% is considered good.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
      • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:27 am

Yep…10% is consider very good liao…the real test will be on city driving in 100% city jam in PJ/KL. Highway test are meaningless, even Campro can have decent FC on the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • stranger on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:18 pm

what he meant is even with the 10% improvement on the old Campro technology, it is still aint par with competitors’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • danedz on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:57 am

long time no see peyno comment…

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:58 am

Ahh.. proton macai bash P2 & toyota using DVVT & VVTI.. they talk kork a lot about japs milo tin..

Eventually. . They also fllw japs milo tin..

I would like to spit them on the face..

Ptuiih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 88
    • !@#$%^& on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:00 am

Hope your ptuiih will not come down back on your moronhead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Nah.. my ptuiihh will go straight to those idiots macai.. this is a few examples what some of them wrote before on Axia engine. .

“so this new advance and state of the art 1KR engine is dumping the so called dvvt (vvt) and replace it with air intake resonator.
        what is the different about campro aifm (air intake flow modulator). The same thing right?
        so, if dumping the variable valve timing and replace it with air modulator is consider as most advanced. hence…campro aifm+ is state of the of the art and more advance lah than new agyla.
        or, perodua and daihatsu just found out the actually vvti and air intake resonator actually give same kind of fuel efficiently with lower cost?”

Eat your own sheet.

Typical macai mindset..

Org lain rebadge & use VVT = bad

Protong use VVT & also rebadge = good

Got it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
        • farghmee on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:15 pm

read between the lines la..

last time p2 diehardfans (DHFs) said p2 using latest tech vvt..later p2 drop vvt, those DHFs cannot pusing lagi..

• ayamitik on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:57 pm

dear motorhead,

I was the one whore write those. read between the line.
          the point to ponder.
          1. No body said VVT or dvvt is bad. It is solid mechanism for improving fuel effieciency and improving internal combastion in any engine.
          2. In the case if perodua, they are moving backward as they abandon the ultimate selling attaction and marketing gimmick and abandon VVTi or so called dvvd and revert to air intake resonator and while doing this, they dare to claims the engine most advance engine in it class.
          3. Air intake resonator actually are older technology than vvt technolgy.
          4. Proton is moving forward, perodua is going backward.
          5. Strip down current engine (remove dvvt) , replace it with all aluminium block and cylinder, woila…new advance engine.
          6. if you cant read my scarsm and read between the line, nothing much i can help you.
          7. Perodua is going backward…enough say.

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:23 pm

So now Proton move backwards???

Enough said..

Cheers. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
          • ayamitik on Aug 26, 2014 at 1:06 am

you never ceased to amaze me with your logic. Yeah rite. You win, perodua is the best.

Anything coming from perodua and toyalta is the state of the art and the most advance in the world. Hail perodua..

• pirlo on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:45 am

ayamitik,

layan je motorhead tu.

• Joker on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:58 am

Good job on finally introducing a new engine and the top notch safety spec..
    but 10% more fuel efficient than Campro?? I don’t honestly thinks that’s enough…
    On the exterior the front end of the car looked a bit too long and it will looked better if this was a sedan rather than a hatch..
    On the interior from the spy shot, the air cond knob looks great but the media unit disappoints.. P1 shld jz use a 5-6 inches TFT LCD instead.. It will looked way more better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • depends on what they really mean. there are 2 possibilities.

1. For example, from 9L/100KM to 8.1L/100km; which is pretty good.

2. From 10km/l to 11km/l, which is not as good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
      • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:30 am

Comparing FC like this is meaningless…it all depends on the traffic and route. Even my new Honda City can get about 11.xx km/l in the route i take…which is 100% jam and short distance…my old VIOS only managed about 9 km/l, same route same area.

So 10km/l to 11km/l, can be very good fc, depending on your route and the size of your car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:21 pm

They have had to measure the 10% increase on something. That percentage really is meaningless unless they show us how they got the 10%.

• 9l/100km = 11.1km/L
        8.1L/100km = 12.43km/L

How ur comparison make sense with point no.2?

Again, How is 12.43km/L is pretty good for a Hatchback?? omg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Campro inefficient on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:40 pm

On average, city driving for a preve 1.6 cfe does about 9.9L/100km. A 10% improvement only brings it down to about 9L/100km. Considering its a hatchback with lower weight it can probably get around 8-9L/100km. Its an improvement but now only comparable with the Myvi K3-VE14 engine which also does around 8-9L/100km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • farghmee on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:17 pm

then it’s good already la.

u compare with a-segment is it?

myvi also not EEV-class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
        • Either your maths sucks or your ability to understand a statement is poor.

• orang kena tipu on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:56 pm

before u do the booking on the new model, please always remember the Ploton Savy model case..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
      • Motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Let them book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • sutheshkumar on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Savvy is a one off Proton which the platform based on a European car, the Renault Clio. it is not a bad car and the consumption for the manual is great. The only problem the car had is the management itself. they didnt prepare much to the would be customers that this is not like any Japanese based Protons and also the spare parts, which is slightly higher than the normal Protons out there.

This PCC is an all new model, based on a new platform. This model will strive in its class. So there is nothing to worry about. My only hopes is that they ditch the CVT for a proper stepped automatic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Maserati(Official) on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:58 am

An eye catcher!! I will certainly look out on this car on road when it launches, definitely more attractive than the Kimchis and now much safer than the Hyundais and Kias too!

Well done Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
    • beauty is in the eye of the beholder.compared to i10, maybe.but picanto, i don’t think so.safety wise, I don’t see it to be muchhh safer than Picanto.and Picanto actually comes up with 6 airbags, AND 4 stars for EURO NCAP.Repeat.EURO NCAP.but let’s see when it launches ya.Peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • AVH (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:00 am

I have to say not bad, so this will mark the debut of the ‘Family Y’ engine. If indeed 110hp and 148Nm is for the 1.6l, that puts it around the Vios(107/141) City(118/148) and Almera(99/139), thou this being slightly larger at 1.6 compared to 1.5 of the others. Also the transmission pairing and the weight of the car would be the decising factor to the performance.

Since the Preve-siblings, safety wasn’t much of a suprise and given that it is a 5-star car, looks like ESC is satndard. Now thou, the important question to quality and Price. It is rumored to have a RM48k starting price which is a cut above the Saga…..guess we will wait and see. Like the Preve and Suprima, the road to launch seems to be promising.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:12 am

There’s still no mention that the car will have ESC as standard, though. Having a 5-star ANCAP rating just shows the maximum safety potential but not the safety performance of the lowest spec they will offer.

I hope they don’t tone down the safety package for the lowest spec in Malaysia but, to make this car more achievable for the masses, they might have to do that (pulling a Honda on us).

• AVH (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:31 am

I do recall ANCAP test are done on the lowest spec car available and ESC is one of the requirement in acheiveing a 5-star car. Thats why the Axia only recieve 4-stars in the ASEAN NCAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:44 am

While that is true, the lowest spec in developed nations are usually way better equipped (I think it’s the same safety package as the top spec) in terms of safety than the lowest spec car in Malaysia.

• ruffstuff (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:36 am

The Ausralasian NCAP result mentioned above is probably internal testing. Just like previous Preve, they managed to get full start ANCAP. Unfortunately, there is some controversies with the result due to Preve sold in MY does not come with 6 airbags, after official result release on ANCAP site. Proton after that put 6 airbags and ESC as standard.

Hope they will not repeat the mistake again. It’s your homeland, just put those full safety spec as standard lah.

• Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:51 am

Why always blame Honda? Toyota also do same shitz…..KIA also do the same with the new cheap Cerato. P2…ptui…VSC pun tadak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Toyota is even worse, really. Didn’t even register on the safety radar~

• genamorima on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:50 am

Finally,an informative comment worth reading. Most of other comment only know to bash & rubbish talk.

• driver on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:24 am

I noticed that, in PT, if you want to have a more intellectual discussion, skip the first half of the page.

• ruffstuff (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:53 am

I don’t think this is the new Family Y engine. Family Y engine comes in 1.2, 1.5 and 1.8 displacement.

This is more like a further improved Pheonix project (CFE). To my surprise, the 1.3 also got treated with this new development. I do hope they put turbo on the 1.3 VVT on next upgrade. Along side with direct injection. Direct injection is also part of the plan for this engine. Hope in can make it into Saga3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • mim (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:29 pm

I don’t think Family Y engine will be produced. Campro’s modular architecture is good enough for another 10 years, but Proton needs to focus more on FC and broader torque in NA versions. If Mitsu’s 4G series can last from 1979 till now with continuous improvements and addition of MIVEC/GDI/MD/turbo, why not Campro? Previous Lotus developments on early (crappy vanilla) Campro proves that it does have capacity to run direct injection, auto stop/start, parallel hybrid and more

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:01 am

Torque converter auto? That’s a really broad term. Some CVTs are coupled to the engine with a torque converter (Honda, Nissan, Mitsu) instead of a clutch so these can be considered torque converter auto’s as well, can’t they?

• Ng Zhi Lin on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:03 am

please release it already proton… axia is slaughtering u every second u delay this car’s launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • New platform, new engine.

I think they prefer to release the car when they can be sure that all problems are solved.

Imagine the postings here, if they release the car too early and if there are problems found in the first batch of cars.

Not only the name ‘Iriz’ would be damaged for the next couple of years in Malaysia, but the brand name Proton too… ;)

• brokanjeng on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:03 am

berapa lama daa..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • kerol on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:07 am

looking forward for the 1.6 version.

• Chris (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:10 am

“the PCC can travel from Bukit Kayu Hitam to Johor Bahru (the length of the North South Expressway) with one tank of fuel”

How big is the tank and at what speed? I can easily do that in a manual Viva as well with aircond on and a 36L tank with left overs.

Need more info.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 47
    • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:44 am

Your VIVA is small car A-segment car with 3 cylinder engine and a moving coffin. Comparison is sohai.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 8
      • Chris (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:05 am

Chill. I know it’s Monday morning, but if you care to read properly I didn’t do any comparison.

I could easily swap the car model out to, say, a pickup trick with huge tank and horsepower, and still say “it goes from Kedah to Johor” in one tank.

I merely pointed out the lack of information provided to proof the fuel efficiency.

Plus, I think it’s a moving death trap. Coffins are sturdy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 18
        • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:57 am

Ok. Truce. I go find others sohai to bash.

(Not you, ok!! :D )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Julian on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:54 pm

I would have to agree. From the Bukit Kayu Hitam Checkpoint until the end of the highway in JB is approx. 805 km. Based on an estimation of a 40l tank, this means an average of 5l / 100km or 20km/l, which is not unheard of (basically puts it in the EEV category). However, EEV if I’m not mistaken has to be tested based on a combined cycle, and not purely highway driving.

A lot of new cars ie Toyota Vios and Honda City can do 5l / 100km if driven conservatively on a highway (not exceeding 100km/h). My Suprima does 7l / 100km on highways, so the PCC better be much more efficient.

5l / 100km is a good figure, but we can’t be clear just yet.

• Chris (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:26 pm

5L/100km is not hard if you go slow. I could do that in a Fiesta but only averaging 80km/h. With a 46L tank, that’s over 900km per tank.

Going fast is a different matter. Even my old viva uses 6L/100km when doing 110km/h *ahem*

• moluska on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:35 pm

but,its a small car just like myvi. how big the tank could be.

• Viva compare with PCC on FC??.. its no an apple to apple comparison.. Myvi vs PCC.. baru la betul

• Legend (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:11 am

“Safety is very important and customers should know which car is safe and which is not. ANCAP differs from ASEAN NCAP as it takes everything into account, and we got five stars for that, so there is no issue for us,” Proton manufacturing and production COO, Khairudin Datuk Haji Yusoff told paultan.org in a recent interview”

COO make sure you make your promise on the statement you made before…
    Don’t make sudden changes to the range when it was about to launch lol
    Make it Six Airbags,
    ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, ESC stability control and hill hold assist, as well as ISOFIX mounts for child seats across the range pleaseeeee
    but just differentiate the trim level by engine capacity and all those Audio system will do, we want safety but luxury somehow can neglected a little bit nevermind
    If you do so and price it right, This will surely be the Axia Killer!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:15 am

If Axia is killed by the PCC, then that’s collateral damage. This one’s aiming to kill the MyVi. If it’s priced similar to the MyVi, it should succeed, given the equipment and features list being offered so far…but who knows, eh? Test drive and see…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • Low Budget on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:50 am

Its a competition! MyVi will be phased out and a new replacement model will be in by next year or else P1 will ‘tapau’ P2 B-segment model.

• Dear P2, when are you gonna improve your safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:52 am

They will, they will.. after the Proton GSC Bees sting them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:53 am

They don’t need to. Sohai Malaysian still think they have superior indestructible Toyota technoloy inside.

Brakes don’t have also no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
      • works on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:43 am

Call people sohai when you got nothing to prove. don’t benchmark other people weakness because it will show u r weak. Prove to the world that proton can do one of the best car to remember and they worth to exist. otherwise, it will make u look stupid for the rest of history….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • akula on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:13 am

gear lever still looks cheap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
  • intermilan on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:14 am

110bhp and 148Nm for a 1.6L with VVT is rather disappointing. That is lower output than the 1.6L Campro with CPS + VIM.

Maybe that’s why its more fuel efficient?

That aside, hopefully the power and torque delivery curve is good, i.e. without flat spot / decrease in torque delivery like suffer by earlier Campro. Delivery of max torque have to be at earlier rpm than what were achieved by Campro engine family ..

Note: Campro suffer from torque dip in the crucial 2,000 – 3,000 rpm range where the torque actually decreases before picking up back to the maximum torque at 4,000 rpm (Wiki).

Any info on the emission standard? Euro-5 compliant perhaps?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:24 am

Perhaps it’s in a lower state of tune for fuel savings? A VVT system should normalize the torque curve somewhat, if I remember my reading correctly.

To market this car globally, they have to make it at least Euro6. Europe will up their emissions standard soon (this coming September, from wikipedia) to Euro6.

• intermilan on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Probably.. but.. any manufacturer who had to lower engine output to achieve higher fuel efficiency (going leaner too far) is rather dumb.

Referring to the basic theory of engine tuning, best power is produced by getting the power at the right AFR (normally nearest to Perfect AFR as possible).

However, the ‘best’ AFR for real-world use isn’t near the Perfect AFR and should be in a tight range, for example between 12.0 – 13.0. AFR values in the AFR map depends on rpm range, air temperature, throttle position, engine load etc. Timing mapping also play a part. However, you really cannot go too far from the other (engines and manufacturers) when it come to AFR values of an engine as everyone what to achieve the best power output with the lowest fuel consumption. AFR is basically a constant components for most engine tuning.

However, AFR value could be pushed to be nearer to the perfect AFR (i.e. to produce most efficient output) when other things / areas like engine design, mechanical components, materials, VVT characteristics, air intake and so many other things is designed and manufactured at their very best as these influence the engine power output too.

Normally its the quality of work / materials on these things / areas that determine the final quality of the engine that was produced.

These factors differentiate one engine from another.

Basically, there is no excuse for producing an engine with a lower output. The only reasons for that are incompetencies and cost.

As for emission, I asked by stating Euro-5 only.. it a surprise if Proton make the Y-engine Euro-6 compliant from the start since EU6 compliant is not required here (or anywhere outside Europe).

Maybe they’ll do it later.

• AFRSS on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:10 pm

article said this “the PCC’s engines feature a new block, pistons and valves, and is the first of a new series of engines that will power future models and replace the long-serving Campro family”, so this engine is not campro tune lean or rich to get better AFR.

• the exact same figure u get from Proton 1.6 iafm. engine.

VVT?? A Rebrand takut kena bash.
      10% fuel improve? small car lighter weight maa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Abdul Rashid Musa told Utusan Malaysia that the PCC can travel from Bukit Kayu Hitam to Johor Bahru (the length of the North South Expressway) with one tank of fuel.
      Are you sure you can do this?? this is real test or just controlled environment AND at 90km/h speed? AND using modified tank (50L++)? lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
      • Chris (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:12 am

Exactly. Most cars can do that if you hypermile. Too little information given for the statement to have any weight.

Fuel tank capacity, car weight, travel speed, aircond usage, gear usage (in gear all time or pulse/glide), tire, tire pressure, weather. They all mean something.

• Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:47 am

Small difference in power is not relevant. People won’t care. What they want is kedekut FC.

• mmaker on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:15 am

1.6litre engine, arent they want to destroy saga flx sales? or proton think this car is a b-segment wannabe?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 30
    • Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:16 am

It isn’t a B-segment wannabe. It definitely is made for the B-segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Steve Jobs on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:44 am

dey..it’s already a B segment car.

• Low Budget on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:56 am

Saga FLX will be phased out and be completely ‘rebuild’ next year with new look and engine.

• ProtonGSC on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:30 pm

Saga is for poor Rakyat.
      PCC/GSC is for Global.

Is different motive, Tun say “You want built quality pay a higher price (GSC)”.
      “You want cheap and unsafe type choose Saga.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • shawal on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:22 am

I hope those interior shots are stricyly for pre production cars…..
    You dint have to benchmark the new crops of jap cars….
    Just benchmark the long serving wira for interior quality alone is enuff…. Waja n savvy’s interior is wayy below par…

• Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:56 am

Have to agreed…so far, interior shots…cheapskate.

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:24 pm

The interior shots hark back to the days before Tun M said that they’ll be raising the price in order to improve quality. HOPE HE DELIVERS.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:25 am

Engine buatan malaysia. As good as german. Macampro best. New engine will call yespro. No more macam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 31
  • YeapyEvo on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:39 am

Proton always 1o years behind in engine technology. 1.6L VVT vs Vios dinosaur 1NZ-FE, better late than never. I wonder how much money they spend on developing the engine, it will make more sense to just borrow from Toyota.

How do they expect to sell this car globally with outdated engine technology VVT? Nowadays you need at least dual vvt or downsize 1L-1.2L turbocharged to be sold in europe to comply with the emission standard. Think of VW Up and fiesta 1L ecoboost as main competitor, Proton have no chance against them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:56 am

As long as the FC can holds, nobody care if inside is run on steam engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • YeapyEvo on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Even if the engine is Euro V compliant, the fuel consumption figure from VVT engine will have no match to the likes of those 0.9L , 1L , 1.2L turbo 3 cylinder engine.

Another thing fit and finish of the so called global car Preve & Suprima is still a let down and I bet the same lousy quality will apply to PCC.

• tarpauedevo on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:34 am

Dinosaur 1NZ-FE engine is not even Euro V compliant, how can you say Proton is behind? Only because of VVT? Proton is changing from VIM (IAFM) to VVT in CFE / campro turbo and it’s is already Euro V compliant.

• YeapyEvo on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Before you think you can tapau an Evo parking at roadside , Euro 6 standard is coming into force starting 1st September 2014. Still talking about Euro 5 now? You don’t call it global car when it can’t sell in Europe, Ford don’t call their Focus global car for nothing.

• JeremyNg on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:39 am

VW UP also using 3 cyclinder NA engine …….

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:42 am

Europeans care more about the safety rating/or rather they expect a very good rating before considering a car.

You are right that emissions and FC are important, then again those engines you’ve mentioned aren’t standard on those cars, AFAIK. In base spec these cars come with rather dated engines. We will have to see.

And global can also mean other markets apart from Europe.

• ruffstuff (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:44 am

This is somehow i agree. To put this car on the same marquee globally, it just not enough with vvt. They some more fancy tech on the engine. Even the interior, especially the meter panel, i would not say outdated, but not modern enough. Look at the upcoming B segment hatch from mazda, hyundai interior.

But to fight against myvi, this is just enough. With other modern features unavailable on myvi and other cars sold in MY within that price range, it can compete.

Well, engine R&D is whole another level. The cost can be double of cost of building new car models. Proton just could not afford that at this moment.

• Garfield on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:00 pm

Ford first developed EcoBoost in 2009, so it’s a 5 year old technology. Previously they used DuraTec since 1993. So they used that engine family for 16 years. Prior to that, Ford Europe developed their Kent 4-cylinder engine in so many iterations, from 1959! So that was 34 years!

While Proton may not be capable yet to develop engines at a pace that we like, a 10 year old engine technology then is not unheard of in the car industry. But yes it would be smarter to co-develop with a higher technology partner. And reverse engineering can be done; a 5 year old technology is still not too shabby if peppered with ingenuity.

• Aero (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:46 am

Very curious to know whether the safety equipment will be standard across the 3 variants or not. I hope the Standard variant doesn’t lose out on too much, because most people would be buying the cheapest spec anyway, and that’s where the impressions are strongest felt by the owners community.

Also, I hope Proton can hurry up and export this as soon as possible. The Prevé and Suprima S still haven’t reached China yet, what’s the hold up ?

• kadajawi (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:39 am

They sound that way, by the amount of stress they put on mentioning the car is safe. It would be weird if the car would just have the equipment in the highest spec then…

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Hopefully Proton bucks the trend. It is sad that they’ll have to put an asterisk ( * ) next to the ASEAN NCAP rating and say “only applies to ___ variant”.

• Hamdi on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:47 am

Nice. Will put on hold my intention to purchase a new car for my wife, to replace her ageing yet loyal Kancil 850A. It’s either this or Axia (the RM40K range model)

• Green on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:12 am

Proton Iriz 6airbags + VSC +etc = 5stars Asean Ncap
      Perodua aXia 2airbags + ABS + EBD = 4Stars Asean Ncap
      Hyundai i10 2airbags + ABS + EBD = 2stars Asean NCAP
      Kia Picanto 0safety = 0stars Asean NCAP

aXia has good body strength. Koreans Seems like a Milo Tin in Comparison.

Better u buy aXia with 20km/L.
      Iriz City = 10-12km/L only.

buy aXia = use 10 years
      buy Iriz = use 5 years.

interested at Iriz? better u looks further, 9 years loan with Honda Jazz is more affordable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 40
      • Iriz not only asean Ncap… Australian Ncap also… How sure that Iriz will break down after 5 years?

Axia…? Don make me laugh la… only test front impact… sei lo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
        • Iriz may not break down after 5 years.

but we have seen many proton after 5 years feel like an old car already.

Here loose there Loose. Button here rosak there rosak etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
          • AFRSS on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:16 pm

so, P2 after 5 years don’t feel old, wow…………..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • ‘Iriz City = 10-12km/L only.’

How do you know? Have you tested the car already somewhere?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
        • farghmee on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:55 am

if that figure is right,

it doesn’t deviate much with Jazz GE 1.5L L17A in KL-PJ peak hour jam.

• Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:08 pm

Another idiot comparing A seg 3 cylinder car with Bseg 4 cylinder car. ..and that 21km/l ..see if you can get that in KL jam…Lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • aaaa..excuse me.Korean Milo Tin?Picanto 0 safety?

http://press.kia.com/eu/press/corporate/11_08_26_picanto%20awarded%204-star%20euro%20ncap%20rating/

And this is Euro NCAP we are talking about,one of the most stringent CAP.Please get your facts right before typing.Search column is on top on the page.

• Picanto full safety = 4stars Asean Ncap.

I think it make u happy enough.

Picanto Asean 0safety, no airbags an safety features, obtained 0stars in Asean Ncap.

• farghmee on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:19 am

Picanto:

EuroNCAP : -ESP got 4*
            ANCAP: +ESC got 5*
            AseanNCAP: +ESC got 4* (My)
            AseanNCAP: -ESC, -airbag got 0* (Thai)

note:
            1. there is slightly difference result (refer pic in their webs) between Adult Occupant Protection points between Euro and Asean NCAP.
            2. Euro will test basic car for rating.
            3. i dont know why Australasian give 5* although it based on the Euro result.

• Aaaaa…excuse me Mr/Miss Green.Picanto 0 safety?Tin milo?

http://www.euroncap.com/results/kia/picanto.aspx

http://press.kia.com/eu/press/corporate/11_08_26_picanto%20awarded%204-star%20euro%20ncap%20rating/

And it’s EURO NCAP we are talking about for Picanto.Please get your facts right before commenting. The Search column is at the top of the page FYI.Type “kia picanto NCAP”.Thank you.

• driver on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:48 am

I won’t risk safety of my life for some fuel efficiency. think twice.

• Hamdi on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:18 am

Thanks for the suggestion / comment / sharing your opinion.

However, I prefer to get my facts correct. And most importantly, will bring my wife to test drive both cars for herself. My job is only to filter what I believe are suitable cars for her to choose. And to pay for it, of course :)

As for the loan, the max I will take is for 7 years. I don’t like taking long car loans.

• agree!!!

• CFE = Turbo + VVT.

and VVT was the curse of CFE engine.
    Proton Recalled Preve and Exora because of VVT issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
    • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:55 am

Wow…you have VVT in Campro since Exora??? Can i buy from you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Exora Campro CFE engine = Turbo + VVT
        Exora Campro CPS = NonVVT.

Proton Recalled both Exora CFE and Preve CFE due to VVT problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
        • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:55 am

You are right. I was wrong. Didn’t realized the CFE has VVT all this while.

Sorry for my stupid sarcasm earliar.

:thumbs up:

• peyno (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:32 pm

vvt on cfe preve exora is bolt on vvt…. new iriz engine is totolly new with build in vvt

pls read above paultan article

• pirlo on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:54 pm

what is bolt-on VVT? VVT can bolt-on like turbo?

Iriz, preve and exora all use same VVT. only intake. if not mistaken, VVT in Iriz has different cam-phase angle for better engine output (need to double confirm).

• Green on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:06 am

City Mode:
      Preve 1.6 IAFM+ Manual = 9.9km/L
      Preve 1.6 IAFM+ CVT = 8.9km/L
      Exora 1.6 CFE = 9km/L
      Suprima CFE CVT = 8.6km/L

source: Australia unique car sales website.
      not going to mention highway mode, as most car high way fuel consumption good enough, not a concern.

CFE already come with VVT.
      but it doesnt seem any good to PRoton engine.
      Reliablity Issue till recalled.

http://www.yuen89.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/proton-preve-and-proton-exora-bold-recall-due-to-the-cfe-engine.jpg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Great piece of information ! thanks.
        And i think one tank of fuel from Bkt Kayu Hitam to JB is really nothing to shout about, as many other car can achieve it (easily)as well. Even C segment cars, if u drive with lighter foot, can make it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • 1 tank from BKH to JB? on Aug 25, 2014 at 2:17 pm

that’s 20km/l wei, you sure or not many car can do it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
      • farghmee on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:43 pm

those recall is latest news or old?

ever heard or design revision? ;-)

• perutdua on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Haiya.. bold cfe n preve using the old continental ecu. Ini pakai comeni lain ma.. bosch.. tp xtau made in mana.. walaupun vvt. Tp kompenen utama enjin da lain..

• peyno (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:00 am

DRL, maniverter, passive keyless entry,
    this is what rakyat urban ppl want

good job

• cendol (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:10 am

It will fail like the Sawy vegetable car.
    It will fade to oblivion like the Juara Kampung car.
    It will die natural cause like the Putra car.
    Then Potong will ask for another 1.9Billion from you all suckers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 52
    • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Yes…you are absolutely right…and the Rm 1.9bil will be donated by Vios buyer who pays Rm30k for each car to the Gov. Thank you for supporting Proton!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
    • kamacako on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:39 pm

talk like bomoh kampung…go home and eat cendol la u…

• GrayImports on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:15 am

PCC = pak chew cheng aka play handgun or masturbation in hockien
    Bravo proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • moluska on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:45 pm

PCC= pasti cun & cantik in malay. LOL…its can be interpreted into many with different language also. why bother

• normal_user on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:34 am

During an open house, I’ve met a Proton Chassis QC staff, and based on his insider info:
    1. Its basically a heavily revised Campro engine with 1.3cc & 1.6cc. Not an all new engine.
    2. Super strong chassis with same hot steel press stamping process like the Preve.
    3. Its going to be priced within RM45K-60K.
    4. Proton management overhauled & terminate Vendor contracts due to quality issues. That’s why its delayed.

That’s all that I think is worth sharing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 0
    • Low Budget on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:17 pm

I think point number 4 is the most important for Proton to implement, Proton’s image in the past was spoiled by the cheapo inferior parts such as door handle, lamp cap, power windows assemblies, plastic strips and out of spec. moulding etc..

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Hahaha…they finally did #4…finally…That should have happened during the Gen2 era.

• GayDrivingProton on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:37 am

PROTON SCRAPS CAR.

Latest creation from proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 35
  • kadajawi (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:38 am

I have mentioned it before, Proton is not the one behind ASEAN NCAPs decision to not take into account the side impact tests that they are doing. They are suffering from that decision, and always point out that ASEAN NCAP is not as harsh/important as ANCAP.

Hopefully with so much stress on safety in their marketing all models will be getting the full set of safety equipment. It isn’t that expensive.

• Eyeball on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:51 am

Will they change PReve to this new engine too ???

• Sam Lorr MC today? Why no one bashing this car yet?

• Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Sam Lorr in hospital…his VIOS no VSA/ESC, car skidded and hit lorry. Hope he gets well soon.

• Eyeball on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:53 am

will this new engine power the refreshed PREVE too ?

• cendol (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:53 am

Potong cannot produce their own car,
    Potong can only rebadge other people’s car.
    It is a disease of our country, endemic just like dengue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
    • ruffstuff (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Only Perodua is capable of producing own car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Jonathan on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:45 am

Perodua also rebadge cars by other manufacturer namely Daihatsu for all their cars. Get your facts right.

• Jonathan on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:49 am

Perodua also rebadge cars by other manufacturer namely Daihatsu. Get your facts right.

• kuah kacang on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:59 pm

hmm interesting an Orc is giving advice on Proton

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Talk kork only.. where’s GSC anyway? Ada org booking kah? Cakap byk.. siapa dah booking raise their hands. . Ada berani booking? Bagi figure booking sikit?

As usual. . Motorhead support beli.. belilah.. beli dua tiga.. I suka lu beli..

Leave the japs milo tin to me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
    • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:38 pm

SOHAI:BELUM LAUNCH.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
      • Paultan Admin,

You should reject all “user name” and comments with elements of
        a) racist remarks
        b) rude / swears words
        c) immature comments

This is ridiculously marring the Paultan website.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
        • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:42 pm

If you censored Sam Lorr, nobody will visit this site.

So keep trolling people!

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Now2.. don’t be a sulking girl.. sob2… why not you go play cooking. . Ahh come on.. huhuhu. .

Well.. The real motorhead is bold & ..hmmm rude??.. try Google the name Motorhead… & listen to the music.. they are loud.. & not very polite. Hahaha. .

Well if want to ban better ban possers, stalkers & those who likes to hide behind an identity. . Changing names..

Motorhead is always the same person.. no very polite. . But honest. . We can exchange words here.. but outside. . Mari minum teh.. let’s talk about cars.. foul words also no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • motorbart on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Most of your comments are sucky, talk kok sing song only

• chef poodah on Aug 25, 2014 at 2:28 pm

ni lagi satu…open for booking pon belom brader…mcm mana mau bagi booking figure…next time read lah…lol.

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Hahaha. . Good!! you said it yourself. . Teaser dah dekat 2 thn.. booking pon belum boleh..

Mau talk kork lagi??

Sorry.. too many teasers. . I thought suda bole book.. haha

Axia coming… next month.

Huahaha. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
        • peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:22 am

nak murah n un safe car… beli la axiah.. nobody force u to buy iriz

iriz for urban n educated ppl choice… safety first
          axia for poor ppl who cant afford real JDM n hybrid car

• peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 7:07 am

ko salesman ke???
      org nak brli tak beli tu right dia

atleast proton dah provide better spec n features

kita pengguna fikir sendiri la

• GrayImports on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:26 pm

PCC = Pak Chew Cheng (play handgun aka masturbate in Hockkien)

Bravo proton for the name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • kuah kacang on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Imbecile. this can easily be translated as Pergi Cantas Cina

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • CAM TAK PRO AGAIN !!! on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Only 10% more fuel efficient compared to the Campro….you got to be kidding proton, I mean a reduction of 10% is good to compare if the engine is a already a fuel efficient engine, like in the Honda or Toyota engine but campro is an old engine and a fuel guzzler as well, so achieving 10% is really bad, looks like you all are heading down the path of failure again proton !! SHAME on all the R&D you all have been doing and only getting 10% better, what a waste of time & rakyat’s money !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 37
  • Alex Y on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:36 pm

why proton car always have this ugly cheap design look? why cant u design exterior nicely. just a get japanese concept designer as leading and use local designer to following the new design concept learn from it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
    • abah loo on Aug 25, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Dude, look at the nissan micra 1st b4 bashing.. that car was designed by one of the leading japanese automaker in which it looks like it is already 20yrs old in the market when it was launched few years ago.. haha..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:40 pm

No word on da engine block is stil cast iron or aluminum??

• mayonis13 on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:53 pm

why keep comparing with P2 only? if PCC concept is successful, i believe that P1 is ready to compete with global car group such as Ford Fiesta, Kia Rio, Opel Corsa, Peugeot 207, Volkswagen Polo. the PCC spec and pricing might good enough to compete with these group for international market.

• ae101 on Aug 25, 2014 at 12:53 pm

From paper spec it looks very good. I will wait for 2nd batch if want to buy because too many new things on this car put by proton.

• Good move from proton to grab some market share back from the B segment

I really really hope they could have done more on the FC and improve on the reliability and refinement issue.

I own the Preve CVT version and quality issue is a big problem… Seats and plastic rattling sound within 1 year of usage, engine noise is getting louder and harsher. The refinement issue needs to be addressed.

And of cos the FC is terrible… I drive 100% city and the preve cvt only manages around 8km per litre. That’s worst than a 2.4L Camry or accord or many other SUVs.

If proton claimed a 10% better FC than it’s still very very bad. Especially nowadays car can manage at least 15-17km per litre of fuel.

New vios and city can manage 17km per litre and almera 14-15km.

Even the myvi 1.5 I use to own can manage at least 13km per litre of fuel 100% city driving.

I really regretted buying the preve and told myself never ever to buy proton ever again in my life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 16
    • mmaker on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:52 pm

new vios still hard to get 14km/litre even we drive on highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Bataman on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:43 pm

My old VIOS only 9km/l in 100% city jam…Have you drive any other cars before or not? Don’t just tok cok man…Your previous car is a what?? Mawi??? :x

• Obviously (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Friend owns 2.4L Camry. He says he gets around 8km/l quite often.

• Preve 1.6 also 8km/L

lighther and smaller engine same like big car with big CC.

facepalm proton.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 7:04 am

small cc with big out put 138hp 203 Nm is acceptable

but small cc low output.. but still cant beat attrage n daihatsu japan.. is unacceptable

• car-taker on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:06 am

Nope, preve turbo (2.0l equivalent)can easily achieve 9-10km/l.

8 km/l is for bigger vehicle like exora turbo. Can you carry 7 people in a Camry? Unless you are willing to sit in crampy position it’s big NO. LOL

• gummy on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Lol another uncle talk kork sing song

• iskhalifah (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Dude. Any car driven on city start & stop with KL traffic jam, its impossible to achieve 13km/l even with an A segment picanto or mirage. If its mix 50% city-extraurban then maybe can achieve. Truth to be told, i owned persona & almera, the fuel consumption is not far different from each other (almera only 5-8% more efficient). The almera fc also 9-10kml in city driving, similiar to persona. Highway 100kmh constant, almera can go up to 16.5kml while persona is 15.5kml.

• bullcrap, my CFE preve consistently hit 9.6l/100km about 10km per liter in 100% city driving, stuck in jam for at least 1 hour somemore. That reading is not from the dashboard but based on my own calculation.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:59 pm

bagus i get byk profit dari ini…walaupun great wall m4 lagi best.

• 1 tank from BKH to JB? on Aug 25, 2014 at 2:15 pm

True or not? BKH to JB is about 800km.
    If PCC has the same fuel tank as Saga, which is 40 litre, theoretically the fuel consumption is 20km/l.
    TRUE OR NOT?

I will buy if the new PCC can do 20km/l.

• Jonathan on Sep 02, 2014 at 12:46 am

I also dont believe their claim on the fuel efficiency as if it is true they should have gotten the EEV status just like the Perodua Axia.

• let’s hope that all the mentioned safety features
    – ABS, EBD, BA, ESC, ISOFIX, 6-Airbags, are standard across all trim levels and not just on the top of the line / special editions

else that statement is very misleading

• MoFaz on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:41 pm

they have to offer those safety features in all range because Asean NCAP and ANCAP will test the lowest / cheapest variant only.
      However, Asean NCAP will only do front collision only. Even with only 2 or 4 airbags, this car could probably score 5 stars for Asean NCAP.
      However, ANCAP have side impact test. so they have to offer 6 airbags as standard in Australia, or maybe Proton will only bring the highest spec to Australia. mu guess only… we’ll see about it later when it launch. I do hope they offer full safety as standard and reduce other gizmo to lower the price in cheaper variants.

• there is difference between vvt and dvvt. dvvt varies the timing of the intake valves by adjusting the relationship between the camshaft drive (belt, scissor-gear or chain) and intake camshaft while vvt is the process of altering the timing of a valve lift event only.

• gotodmc on Aug 25, 2014 at 2:45 pm

PCC!!!???? Pak chiew cheng! Lol!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • azhar on Aug 25, 2014 at 2:46 pm

from black plastic bumper in wira era which will fall off even if u hit a rock, to 5 star ANCAP..thats what u call improvement..good job proton..and im not even a proton fan!

• Propan on Aug 25, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Proton IRIZ is dangerous name…please change…if not Malaysian call it
    HIGH RISK.LOL.My small suggestion .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Heard its NFE 1.3 100hp/122nm
    1.6 120hp/153nm…Unconfirmed but definately a new engine..

• 1 tank from BKH to JB? on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:13 pm

That’s a good figure.

The question is, what rpm is the stated torque kicks in?

If they can kick in between 1500-2000rpm, the PCC can be a fun car to drive, as well as economical.

• nanda on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:28 pm

nantikan la kedatangan kereta proton baru.
    tipu rakyat.
    proton should stop producing cars and do hari raya banners or ketupats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 35
  • old dog on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:28 pm

ladies and gentlemen….$60K! (LOL)…

• nanda on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:31 pm

testing it for years then come up with yet another rubbish rotten cars.testing done in overseas but then having those idiotics in proton who lack of automotive design ideas will again come up with non appealing looking cars.mahathir is still supporting this rubbish rotten tipu rakyat company.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 33
  • kantamrobot on Aug 25, 2014 at 3:31 pm

selamat pengantin baru neo + savvy.

• cendol (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Sime Darby bought Potong for 1.2billion.
    After few years, asking government for 1.9billion.
    This kind of business I also want.
    But I can’t get.
    The reason is obvious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 24
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:48 pm

sime darby ke drb hicom???
      fakta pon kelaut ada hati nak sembang pasal kereta

hahaha

prfffhhh

• cendol (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Since Potong is already in private hands, why on earth is it still asking for government handout?
    Can a local kopitiam ask for government handout saying they need the money to research new teh tarik?
    You answer me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:07 pm

DRB ppl must be laughing at u
      they are enjoying selling honda, proton..
      they have new jazz n iriz now

• ben yap on Aug 25, 2014 at 4:50 pm

not interested in any protons even if it can travel from Phuket to singapore with just 1 tank of fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 28
  • Savvy88 on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Bukit Kayu Hitam – JB = 878 KM
    Iriz fuel tank capacitiy = 40 litre (assume as sama as saga)
    fuel consumption = 878 KM / 40 l
    = 21.95 KM/L

Whoa. even beat the Axia’s FC. So this PCC also declared as EEV car la.

What? Highway driving only can get the figure? What about Axia? their FC also for highway driving la..

• peyno (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:46 pm

eev just a gimmick… small cc less than 1000 under power 60hp n claim fuel economy 20km/l??? wtf

in japan daihatsu claim their eev 30km/l

even mitsu attrage 1.2l 80hp can get 21km

• Mirage City driving = 18.5km/L
        Combined = 21km/L
        attrage is 17km/L.

aXia FC better than Mirage.
        aXia city = 20km/L

• peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:58 am

nak protect perodua pon tak yah la sampai mau tipu
          read previous paultan article pasal attrage
          yet all these car are bigger cc more than 1000cc snd more poweful 80hp than aziah

• axia FC city driving 20km/L??.. P2 yet to reveal that the figure is city driving or combine cycle

http://cdn.paultan.org/image/2014/08/lagi-axia-3.jpg

• Green on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:10 pm

aXia FC is not highway FC.
      it’s city drive FC.

but any how. I am proud to have Proton in Malaysia.
      it’s not good and I will never buy it. But hope Dr. M can raise it much better in the coming years.

Later when u see Proton Iriz is Non-EEV.
      then u understood.

• heyday on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Yes not good enough. Many bigger cc cars easily tapaued by Preve anyday anytime. The figure on paper is not really right

• farghmee on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:48 am

im gonna wait official FC figure for these PCC and Axia.
      what standard are they adhere to for FC calc.
      euro cycle, jap cycle?

• peyno (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:25 pm

cvt transmission,
    come to papa baby

• Annoynimouse on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:37 pm

A head to head comparison of cars in the same category… bring it on…

• NurburgringDriver (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:06 pm

EPS? Oh dear. How is it going to handle like? How about steering feel? Just nice or overly-light steering?

• farghmee on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:53 am

from my reading somewhere else, its stated electrohydraulic, E+H PS? im maybe wrong.

but with lotus (proton) tuning, i think it’ll be ok!

• ok lah tu on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:12 pm

big NO for punch CVT!!!

• peyno (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:32 pm

smart alternator, DRL, passive keyless entry, ESC, 6 airbags

u make me horny iriz

• If got HOnda Brio 1.2L 20km/L.
      I will get horny..

now no more.

• peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:01 am

we have 1.2l 80 hp of mitsu attrage… 21km/h

haaahaha aziah just 956cc 60hp 20km/l is fuel saving??

prffhhhh

• aXia power to weight ratio is more than PReve 1.6 IAFM.

Preve 1.6IAFM is the joke of the century with such low power to weight ratio. feel like driving a viva 660cc.

• muyasuck on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:19 pm

Viva is crampy for 5 people, feels like flying at high speed. You want to compare it with Preve?

• Why PRoton make it fat ass?

Because, when it is fat ass, can cover the ugly side:::fail to provide a Good Engine with Great FC.

Good Luck PRoton.
    Hearing about VVT problem, Not Going to recommend a PRoton.

I support U PRoton, Dr M. Continue to work hard.
    I wont buy, but i hope u can success out of Malaysia first. Dont bully us with lousy engine and car that doesnt last.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:46 pm

nowadays.. everything about safety

safety is urban choice

• Abah Ko on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:36 pm

eeeee i can’t wait for this car lah.. i mesti test drive it! but dun forget, must test drive axia also hehehe.. 2015 is the year for me to buy car.. new or recond or 2nd hehehe..

• ionlaw on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Kesian…Perodua launching Axia next month, and Proton minta tolong paultan iklan free? free ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • peyno (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 6:02 am

rakyat lak kesian kat ko… macam tertekan jeee

tettekan ke

• Motorhead (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 7:42 am

Unfortunately. . Nak booking pon x boleh.. ramai nak booking ni.. Unfortunately also.. not me.

Hehe…

• motorbart on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:03 pm

It’s only for people who have enough awareness of safety.

• I think the engine come from china car company.
    Proton have a collaboration with a china car company. What do you think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • MoFaz on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:39 am

I think you’re crazy or you don’t know anything about Proton

• I want your logic comment , not just hantam saja.

• farghmee on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:45 am

then where’s u supporting details?

pandai cakap tp xbagi “bukti” pn? ;-)

backfire, eh?

• Bataman on Aug 26, 2014 at 3:13 pm

If you post sohai comment, getting hentam left, right and centre is extremely logic.

• aweqs on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:02 am

i think you should go to china and please come back with the factory photo as evident

• lousy proton on Aug 26, 2014 at 4:35 pm

a chap-p-lang plastic cabin paired with the error-prone-made campro engine. BUY AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • NurburgringDriver (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Proton should get a 6-speed auto. There’s no harm in it, right?

• hafizan89 on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Why do I think it’s going to be launched on Merdeka day?
    Well, we all can dream

• pak mat tempe on Aug 28, 2014 at 2:42 pm

Nice looking design, if got rear discs brakes for both 1.3 and 1.6 models would be a plus plus plus buying deciding factor when compared to MYVI

• armour on Aug 28, 2014 at 7:22 pm

TAK PAYAH NAK IRIZ KE IRIS SANGAT!!! Tata motor yang di india tu dah buat name tu.. Tukar nama lain..

• Jonathan on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:40 am

I dont believe Proton’s chief technical officer – Abdul Rashid Musa claim that the Proton Iriz can travel from Bukit Kayu Hitam to Johor Bahru with one full tank. Even Toyota dare not make such claim for their Toyota Prius!!!!

• Jonathan on Sep 01, 2014 at 11:54 am

I dont believe Proton’s cheif technical officer – Adbul Rashid Musa’s claim that the Proton Iriz cam travel from Bukit Kayu itam to Johor Bahru with one full tank. Even Toyota dare not make such claim for their Toyota Prius!!!

• Wao, Bkt kayu hitam? Kedah? Serious?

• Khalfan Ali on Sep 02, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Oil is getting expansive and for sure will go up and up..to break the market with 1.3 and 1.6 forget about it..it will face the same fate as other models eg inspira, suprima etc..etc..more and more malaysian realize that car is just a necessity..hence pro dua seems to understand more about the realistic need of the masses..although axia is 1000 cc it still smaller than 1.3..i still go for axia..i have booked 1 already..i would not if it was above 1000 cc.

• Preve owner on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:19 am

Well I will go for this Proton, I don’t want my money to go to Japan.