Taxi companies want SPAD to take action against Uber

uber-x

This had to come sooner or later – according to a Bernama report, Gabungan Persatuan dan Syarikat-Syarikat Teksi Semenanjung Malaysia (GABUNGAN) has called on the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) to take action against Uber, the company offering transport services through smartphone app.

GABUNGAN deputy president Datuk Mohd Alias Abdul said the police, Road Transport Department (JPJ) and Malaysian Communication and Multimedia Commission should also work together to address the issue.

“The company does not have any business licence or office in Malaysia but has been operating in dozens of cities around the world through the Internet and smartphone application,” Mohd Alias told Bernama.

“What’s worrying is that Uber does not have a taxi permit issued by SPAD and it is also believed that its drivers do not have the public service vehicle (PSV) licence. This situation will cause many problems to the passengers in the event of any untoward incidents, crime cases or road accidents.”

uber-south-east-asia-michael-brown

Under its premium UberBLACK service, the San Francisco-based company currently charges RM1.15 per km of travel, with a RM3 base fare and a RM5 minimum total fare per trip.

Fixed fares include RM68 for a one-way trip from KL to Putrajaya, RM270 for premium transport services and RM80 for budget transport services from KL to KLIA, and RM150 from KL to Genting Highlands.

According to Mohd Alias, Uber’s services have affected the income of taxi drivers in the Klang Valley as the company fixes its fares based on its estimation on the distance and time of service.

Moreover, Uber service providers do not have to bear the various operational costs that normal taxi drivers do, like having to undergo periodical Puspakom inspections, he said.

uber-x-1

Meanwhile, Sunlight Radio Taxi Service executive director Ab Jalil Maarof said action against Uber was necessary as the company was using private cars and unlicensed ‘taxi’ drivers.

“It can be pretty dangerous for passengers. For their own safety, consumers are advised not to opt for the transport service offered by Uber,” he said.

Koperasi Pengangkutan Putrajaya dan Cyberjaya honorary-secretary Mohd Salleh Mat Zin said it was learnt that Uber had appointed several local companies to manage the service on its behalf.

“Our initial investigation found that the company uses private vehicles to pick up its passengers. It has clearly violated the transport law in the country because a private vehicle cannot be used as public transport because it can endanger the safety of passengers. Those private vehicles may have not undergone inspections at Puspakom,” he said.

uber-black-1

Mohd Salleh added that licensed taxi operators have to pay insurance premiums that are four times higher than those for private vehicles, which are aimed at ensuring the safety of passengers and other road users in the event of accidents.

“The Uber service, however, does not give any indication whether its vehicles are covered by insurance,” he said.

Uber’s services currently cover 57 cities in 22 countries. It launched in KL in October 2013, and recently introduced the budget UberX service here.

Our sister publication TechAttack.my interviewed Uber regional GM Michael Brown at the launch of UberX a few weeks ago. Brown says that its highest priority remains to be rider safety and satisfaction, hence each driver undergoes Uber’s screening process during hiring, which includes a criminal background check, driving history check, as well as an ongoing quality assurance via rating system (rated by passengers). Brown says if a certain driver’s ratings aren’t up to par, Uber can end the relationships with them. He also says Uber cars are covered by insurance for both the driver and passengers.

Uber only supplies the technology and the system to make the service possible, and the cars are all supplied by third party partners consisting of limousine companies. MyTeksi’s GrabCar service follows the same concept. Though Uber doesn’t reveal its partners, some of the rides we took before were operated by companies like Extreme Limousines & Tours. This information is available to you in your Uber ride’s receipt.

Read the following stories to learn more about Uber:

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• AVH (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 187
    • try and call 1st UBER and findout how u can b an UBER driver. u might withdraw your comment back.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 7
      • AVH (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Without officially submitting any documents, I had a go with the app. Apart from the fact it needs a Black car(I think), there is any form of direct requirement that enables any Licence tauting and car owning Tom, Dick and Harry to actually get a drivers account.

Regardless, Uber does have its perks. But from my standpoint, it looks like a strangers Car Pool. I havn’t sat enough Taxi rides to understand how bad the Taxi situation in KL is, espacially the pricing. but of those I’ve sat(usually Exoras and Persona) they are really well maintain and MyTaxi app actually give me a petty well detail understanding of the driver, much like uber, and the one I’ve sat actually gives me an accurate pricing of the route before we go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 76
        • Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:15 pm

You my friend is what they call a Troll… you are promoting … promoting MyTeksi aps. So stop your silly innuendos

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 11
          • AVH (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:47 pm

Its call an opinion,
            Some people like Justin Bieber, I hate him. So far as per Uber I havn’t said I’am against it, I’am voicing possible concearns. One that recieve record dislikes and no solid reply as of writing.

In fact reading the comments ATM, there’s only one here who has even tried it. and based on his experience its a chauffer service than a taxi service.

I haven’t even said I like Taxis, in fact I’ll avoid Taxi more than anything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 26
          • Same L0rrr on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:24 am

At least you see the difference between Vios and the pathetic Saga blm.

In Malaysia, it is like this: you can’t compete others in terms of service quality, build quality, good features? you main belakang saying they illegal, they endanger passenger blah blah blah.

Same like Proton. Can’t sell their car? Impose more and more protection. If GSC can’t sell, Vios may cost more than RM100k, due to the high tax.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • Confession of a Woman - Sex Perverts on Aug 28, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Now everybody use UBER very simple. All our teksi drivers are so dirty. All the time digging their nore.

So many complaints that teksi drivers always digging their note, teeth of pulling their janggut with 2 ten sen coin. Most ladies and even men so difficult or geli to give money to the teksi driver because sure got gold (bugger) in his fingers.

In Malaysia, ladies always ask teksi drivers to keep the change because they really geli want to touch the change from teksi drivers.

Another matter also is that all teksi drivers in Malaysia are sex maniacs. Ask any woman, they will tell you, teksi driver always talk dirty or sex to them. Most women feel uncomfortable and scared because teksi drivers talk filth.

Malaysian teksi drivers should all be prosecuted. This is an Islamic country but they get commission by pimps to bring clients to them. Most single men, either Malaysians or tourist enter the teksi, straight away teksi driver ask whther they want prostitute or spa. Then when the passenger says yes, the teksi driver gets a commission from the brothel, rumah tumpangan or pimp. this has been going on for years and yet, the teksi drivers try to play innocent. They profit from dosa and make Malaysia the sex capital of Asia by encouraging, promoting and aiding and abetting such crime.

I hope our transport ministry see into this. Remember, our taxi drivers are promoting red light practises as well as sins of the flesh in Malaysia. Mana JAIS? JAIS got time to run around the taman bunga catching young school boys and girls kissing on the cheeks.

JAIS knows about this but close an eye. Bulan Puasa also, JAIS knows our Muslim taxi drivers are carrying prostitutes and encouraging sins of the flesh but don’t do anything. Don’t forget, they are promoting Malaysia as the sex capital of Asia.

• Regardless of it’s controversial it’s giving local taxi a good run at providing better fundamental services – using good maintained car, charging according to meter and etc. It’s good for us, the taxi riders. Bad for local taxi maybe but hey, if local taxis are better than uber, of coz go for local taxi la.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 5
      • rhino on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Exactly. They have nothing to fear if they were providing better service, of course me as a consumer would go with the licensed operators. But since the licensed operators can’t deliver to the rakyat, they can’t blame us for finding alternatives. Myteksi helped slightly but hopefully Uber will really wake them up.

!Malaysian taxi drivers, this is my personal msg to you guys: if these informal drivers can obtain more customers than you guys who are trained professionally and drive “official inspected taxis”, you guys need to rethink your life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 4
    • Super on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:37 pm

Interesting story you have, you taxi driver ah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:48 pm

dei…too much todhi la you….or u drive taxi one….don worry lose job…i also nak invest into uber…u can be part of my drivers team

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
    • Koopa on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:44 am

So you are saying the busses that crashes very frequent is safe? Taxies never cheat foreigners and we need to haggle to unpopular places is good? Illegal taxis are not run by (potentially dangerous & aggresive) syndicates?

I would give them a chance.

• try UBER first …. then take a normal city taxi .
      then vomit ur comments here thereafter !!!

• SamsungFreak on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Fantastic !!! UBER is finally here… no more shitty cab services from the local CONDAMMED taxi operators

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 4
  • This is just nonsense. Anything new in this country and everyone jumps up & down complaining. You either improve your taxi services and make it a competitive level playing field or just shut up. The problem with this country is that there is no healthy competition between service providers as there are only a few to choose from i.e satellite tv , internet, phone..etc

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 3
    • Super on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Not everyone is complaining, only stupid taxi drivers and clueless politicians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Yala Good luck man! If our taxi services are really good, who would bother to use Uber?
    Anywhere, Gabungan Persatuan dan Syarikat-Syarikat Teksi Semenanjung Malaysia right, please control your taxi to:-
    1. Charge according to meter
    2. Don’t drive recklessly

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 163 Thumb down 3
  • Taxi User on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Their arguments against Uber is valid especially concerning licenses and passenger insurance. But I feel safer in an Uber car than any Taxi I have ever rode and the lower fares lets me forgive Uber for not having their cars inspected. Besides, I very much doubt the taxis’ I’ve taken and see on the road passes PUSPAKOM inspection anyway.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 3
    • For real. The fuxkng stinking Proton Saga’s with creaky sounds, and seats that look haven’t washed for 5 years

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 5
    • Ah Seng on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:04 am

Well said Taxi User. My sentiments exactly.

• Ubering on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:33 pm

we seen this situation over and over again, taxi driver pissed out about new entrant in the public transportation market area. Last time is was about the free bus usages for tourist around KL and now this?
    here’s a tip, rather than calling Union body to act on behalf of you why not improve the services. I know not all taxi drive are an arse to be with but one person negative action is enough to make all taxi driver look bad. How about teaching ‘good-ethic’ manner to taxi driver before get mad toward other competitor?
    ask you self again why you would not a cab in KL

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
  • Civilian on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Haha, as though they really complained because they care about passenger’s safety.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 210 Thumb down 4
  • seancorr on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Hah! Not safe they claim? Eat my shoes, our local taxi drivers simply charge people, pick their own customers based on distance driven and are mad demons on the road and furthermore act like thugs when people question them.

These taxi drivers ought to look in the mirror first before commenting on other people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 3
  • Anyhow I still prefer uber, the price is reasonable even at 4am midnight, luxury car provided and the most important thing is that you dont have to nego with the driver where most of the taxi drivers chop you like a fish.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:35 pm

“It can be pretty dangerous for passengers. For their own safety, consumers are advised not to opt for the transport service offered by Uber,” he said.

Our initial investigation found that the company uses private vehicles to pick up its passengers. It has clearly violated the transport law in the country because a private vehicle cannot be used as public transport because it can endanger the safety of passengers. Those private vehicles may have not undergone inspections at Puspakom,” he said.”

Inspections at Puspakom? Hello, if you have not realised, half the Proton Saga cabs running around with so-called “Puspakom approved” don’t even appear to be road worthy. Non functional seat belts, poorly maintained cars, etc. Puspakom inspections are nothing like the MOT inspections in the UK. In fact I’d trust Uber more since they are a private company, they will most likely maintain their fleet better.

“Mohd Salleh added that licensed taxi operators have to pay insurance premiums that are four times higher than those for private vehicles, which are aimed at ensuring the safety of passengers and other road users in the event of accidents.”

Again, you joking bro? I would recommend you, tomorrow, go to Sunway Pyramid or KLCC. At lunch time. Go find a cab, tell them you want to go to Bangsar. You yourself observe how long it takes to get a cab, then you observe how some of them drive. Some drive like they are in GTA5 or something like that. More so in a really old Proton that’s probably not even road worthy. I can understand if Sabine Schmitz is at the wheel and the car is a BMW 5 series…

And the thing is, I don’t blame the drivers. I have met some of the nicest drivers so far with MyTeksi (never done with Uber for now), honest and punctual with well mannered driving, that I always make sure I tip and give them a thumbs up rating, but the fact still remains, when I speak to these drivers, they all tell the same, the parent company sucks up so much for rental that these people barely break even. Fix your local taxi issues before you go and meddle about with people who are doing things right like MyTeksi and Uber.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 164 Thumb down 1
  • bodoh. UBER isn’t a taxi service. Its a chauffeur service. I trust UBER a lot more than I trust the local taxis & I waited for years for it to finally come to malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 1
  • isengard12 on Aug 25, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Complete bullshit.. Local taxi operators is doesn’t even use meters to ferry passengers!! The local taxi drivers are rude & charge a “premium” whenever they like I did rather use Uber’s service

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
  • “private vehicle cannot be used as public transport because it can endanger the safety of passengers.”
    You’re saying that it’s less safer than those tin-can, less desirable, old-ish and tired taxis? I’ll rather walk/drive myself than taking local taxis who just basically rips customers off.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
  • Uber has been doing an excellent job. I never take the taxi anymore since Uber started in KL. And why should I when they are ripping us off by not using the meter, rigging the meters and refusing to take me to my destination because they are “not going that direction”?

I fully support Uber and will continue to do so! If the cabbies can’t buck up, then they should accept the competition!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
  • Siew Chin on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Dear Sunlight Radio Taxi Service Sdn Bhd executive director Ab Jalil Maarof, can you guarantee registered taxi is more safer? i have received harassment phone call from Airport Limo driver for a month long. i have filed a complaint against the driver a month ago and no news till now. i don’t feel safe being a passenger and i don’t see this licensed company ( Airport Limo)being responsible and professional.
    Cut it short, it is affected the registered taxi driver’s income. nothing to do with safety issue.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
  • Jeremy on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:10 pm

I have not tried UBER services but so far all that I heard of is good then bad. Personally local taxi services is not up to expectations. Vehicles are not well maintain, drivers are not properly dressed, driving skills are poor as in some are very elder driver. I think when there is competitions why not try to improve rather than only complaining? peace!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
  • jolly_idiot (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:27 pm

If Uber provide better service at cheaper price. Why not?

Hate those Taxi drivers who charge arm and leg and yet haggling all the time.

Furthermore, we pay the sum but the car was like junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • competition is good for us the consumer…keep it up uber guys!

• Is true that you need permit to operate as public transport and insurance will void claim if found company private car being use as income generating vehicle. Is like those illegal car rental company or kereta sapu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Congratulation to all taxi driver there, last time tak suka tak jalan, sesak, jauh, driving like racing, suka suka niak harga tidak ikut meter, especially in Penang, is 100% tak ikut meter, really a gd news, let them lost the job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Sack him now on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:48 pm

I am going to work tomorrow in a BLACK AUDI A6… SO COOL .. and I work only as a receptionist

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • BeemerFreak on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Malaysia has one of the worst taxi system on earth and taxis are ran on the hard road worthy, ugly, unsafe, often smelly, uncomfortable pathetic iswaras. Thankfully with Uber, Malaysia still has a glimmer of hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • shawal on Aug 25, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Ive used myteksi, it works brilliantly… Taxis responded within minutes…

Have yet to use uber…wilk try soon n see

• Sleeping Beauty on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:02 pm

One is fat, sloppy and thinks the country owes them a living. The other is diligent, professional and cost conscience . A metaphoric phrase? … “Local Taxi operators is MAS while Uber is AirAsia”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 11
  • Frequent traveller on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:03 pm

I had to agree with Sodonano on this issue. We have to pay higher because they are safer due to higher insurance cost???? Hahahahaha. Great joke that!!

• FURK YOU, local taxis. ESPECIALLY the airport taxi monopoly.

ALL the comments on this post so far, except for the first sohai commenter, have bad things to say about local taxis and positive things about Uber. I pity the genuinely nice local taxi driver’s, but hey, maybe they can apply to be Uber drivers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • derus lee on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:09 pm

I reckon taxi services in Malaysia are really scared at any direct competition.
    In Malaysia the customer would hv to haggle price with taxi.
    I have to pay quite hefty amount for a ride that would actually cost under RM 10 if the driver use meter.

• tishaban on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Hey, new entrant in the marketplace created by internet entrepreneurs that bypasses the crony taxi companies? What’s there not to like? :D

Seriously speaking, I’ve used the alternative ie. MyTeksi which I think is a fantastic service with courteous friendly drivers. I’ve also used the blue executive cabs which never try to extort fares from me because their metered fares are already incredibly high. Taxi drivers don’t make a lot of money, part of the reason is because only cronies get taxi licenses and these drivers have to pay daily rentals to enrich already rich cronies. There are honest ones out there and I’ve met them via MyTeksi.

I support Uber because it bypasses all these cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • taxi user on Aug 25, 2014 at 7:46 pm

I enjoy using Uber. I once rode in a Merc S Class from KL Sentral to Grand Hyatt next to KL Convention Centre. Cost me RM7, deducted directly from my credit card. No cash transaction. My family and I now use Uber whenever we need a taxi in KL. Much more convenient than having to haggle the price to ride in a non roadworthy saga/iswara with a reckless driver at the helm!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • Jared on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:10 pm

The local taxis are a joke. If UBER can offer better service at a lower cost with better cars, why can’t the local taxis do that? Because they are too busy cut-throating the locals and foreigners. Want to earn a fast buck but not wanting to work hard. UBER drivers gave me their phone no. so I can even keep track of them with my guest in it.

One time I saw a group of taxis driver hanging out at the taxi stand, a couple of foreigners came to catch the ride for to their hotel from PWTC. It was just a close distance, the minimum charge was RM50 for them. The taxi driver who offered them was disrespectful towards them too. While they tried to get another taxi, the one from the stand signaled the one the couple had just stopped for RM50. This was one of the worst experience I ever seen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Painter on Aug 25, 2014 at 8:38 pm

Competition is good. Look at how telcos try to outdo each other. Before Myteksi, no taxi wants to use meter, because no pressure from public.

Now, Myteksi and technology become a de facto enforcement agency. If Teksi driver refuse to use meter, they can piss off.

• John Cooper on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:11 pm

So what our taxi companies have proper business licence or office in Malaysia and our taxi have valid taxi permit issued by SPAD…. but they refused to use meter, want to charge fixed price, refuse to go to traffic jam area, car is small, car is dirty, drivers drives like shit and the car probably is not road worthy too! If our taxi is so damn good, you reckon a Uber can move the customers? Its because of otherwise that we seek alternative.

• Uber User on Aug 25, 2014 at 9:15 pm

I always use “executive” taxi to the airport, because the luggage is bigger than budget taxi. The normal taxi they just use rubber robe to close the boot if it cant be close perfectly. I just dont want to take any risk for that of solution. It really made me think twice for the “executive” title, i dont get where it came from. Maybe it bigger(mpv), but i also used to get Kia optima and i dont think it as executive. In other country, executive taxi they will give you as bad as mercedes c-class, e-class, or t. alphard. The rate after i convert to Malaysia Ringgit it is more reasonable than malaysian executive taxi. After trying uber app, i will using their service as long as it exist in Malaysia. I think competitive is great for Malaysia taxi, so they can improve their ride not like now. I’m paying less than executive taxi but getting better in all term.

• UBER actually shows how is it like when some group in the country monopoly the taxi industry. It has been more than 20 yrs our taxi system remained the same without any significant improvement although some law and enforcement has been made to ensure passengers safety. Apart from that, no experience improvement has been made, every time we are getting in to a smelly taxi and sometimes rude taxi drivers that doesn’t follow the meter if we hire them.

So typical malaysian style, when the monopoly group feel threaten by outsider who provide better service, ride experience and even they charged more expensive than normal spad taxi.
    The taxi service has to improve, we are moving closer towards 2020 and yet taxi service here in malaysia still feel like in the 90s.
    Bottom line, competition promote improvement and innovation that strike for thr best to earn passengers business. Same goes to other industries in this very country, Malaysia.

So, stop monopoly industries, Malaysian deserve better and this taxi issue is just one of the many that the government should look into. Fair competition and credit should given to those who are capable and credible. Wake up Malaysian, stop living in the 80s, the world is getting smaller.

• My experience riding a cab in KL is a mix. Pickup places like Shopping Malls and LRT station consist of cab drivers who sometimes ready to rip customers off! Penang is one of the worse I’ve ever seen, every time I get a cab the driver always ask me to pay fixed price or they won’t let you ride on their cab.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:13 pm

unsafe? by using uber, the passenger can immediately send details of the driver/car plate immediately to anyone. plus, no cash is required for transaction thus i can safely travel without bringing out too much cash.

in comparison, there are so many taxi colours on the road nowadays, i dont even know if the taxi is real or not. rape and robbery cases have happened in the past. other than that, uber drivers are polite and treat me with the utmost respect. add to that uber uses better cars than the average proton saga stuck in the 80’s.

in short, welcome uber. R.I.P TAXI MALAYSIA

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Coolguru on Aug 25, 2014 at 10:59 pm

I’ve used UBER in many countries and never failed me both in safety and won’t at all feel cheated. Most local taxis just have themselves to blame. Normal taxis in most (repeated most not all) countries have problems such as don’t use taxi meter, use meter but purposely use different longer route if you’re not local, poor services, lousy cars, etc.

UBER sets the standard. If local taxis can beat it there is no reason why people choose not choosing taxi.

Please ask yourself first, mr taxi driver!!!

• Samuel on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Nothing stopping the taxi drivers to register as uber drivers since they complain about the rental. And they claim their taxi is so safe and the drivers are so good, then it should be easy to qualify as uber drivers.

• uuuuber on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Now they are going to put a sodomy case on uber…so Malaysia..

• ben yap on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Even before I read the entire article, when I read GABUNGAN wants SPAD to take action against UBER, i knew from the start that the excuse of passengers safety is pure bullshit. all they care about is their revenue. UBER stole their market share. It’s not about passengers’ safety, it’s about their pocket. these local taxi drivers wouldn’t care about passengers safety.

• Peter on Aug 25, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Fxcking losers are complaining again. As if the ‘real’ taxi are all ethic & safe! M’sia 1 of the few countries where the REAL taxi drivers refuse to take you because of traffic jam!

• submarine on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:30 am

So non-uber taxis are safer?? I’ve seen so many 20 year old sagas driven by maniac cab drivers darting in and outta traffic, with the passenger holding on to dear life! Now with uber these losers are feeling the pain of losing business. Then they shd ask themselves what have they done to lose the biz, how can they improve to pull back customers!

• rchoo on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:35 am

Wow, I know nothing about UBER but it sure is eye opener since this topic is brought up and sounds interesting, if they don’t bring it up I sure don’t know about it. Will find out how it works and try it out when needed.

There goes another business from crony company, ha ha……

• kusochon on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:44 am

taxi company all over the world also complaining about uber lah.. of course la their periuk nasi kena kacau.. but i can agree taxi in malaysia is shit.. even indonesian taxi is much better.. both the driver and the car.

• Fight by improving your service lah, Gabungan!. Jgn asyik mengadu. Spad cancel semua lesen syarikat. Bagi mereka 3 tahun period. Bagi kat individu dalam masa 3 tahun.

• Naik tambang now got alternative, complain pulak teksi tu..

• okbplid on Aug 26, 2014 at 7:21 am

Please follow the rules….

• The problem with local taxis is they cant make enough to pay for the cost. Imagine they need to pay for the car loan, insurance , repair n daily license fee. If car broke down no income for them . We should emulate sg system . Taxis are under comp . Driver just need to pay daily rental . If car broke down , repair cost borne by comp n driver gets another car . Its a hassle free win win system . Their fleet of cars are also the latest model , passenger are happy , driver makes good money and company profits.

• Passenger on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:20 am

How dare they criticise Uber. I had enough of ordinary taxies because they

are overpriced and refusing to use the meter
    have dirty old cars in a bad mechanical condition
    have air condition that does not work
    have smelly drivers
    have rude grunpy drivers
    make women feel unsafe
    drive dangerously
    break traffic laws
    play loud music in the car
    take private phone calls while driving
    have cars that break down on the road
    caugh and spit
    pick up other people on your trip (wife, friends, other passengers)
    are asleep in the car when you need them
    don’t help you with the luggage
    have frequent accidents
    demand a higher price than agreed when the trip started
    form a mafia in places like Bukit Bintang
    harrass tourists walking by for business
    but can’t speak understandable English

Just to mention a few of the things I have seen. This with my apologies to the good taxi drivers, who I wish there were more of in Malaysia.

• As a UBER user, I’ve got to say this service rocks. I know the picture, name and phone # of the driver, the number plate and location of the car. The drivers are nicer too, they speak proper English, and driver better cars. I even had a fare dispute once and was overcharged and they returned the overpaid fare in a day. I’ve used UBER in multiple countries with a similar experience.

Would I like a little more safety built into the system? I sure would but then again I tend to trust UBER to vet their drivers better than a local public agency (sadly).

• Gabungan what? … all these rent seeker Gabungan this, Gabungan that… cannot provide good service but want to complaint competition.

• This is funny….Malaysian taxi should b upgraded for ages ago. Now someone have a smarter planet to do business n u have to complain them? Just do better than uber n u maybe will gain from what u complain about. If there’s no competing Market they won’t be any upgrades for u taxi drivers. So do better n make urself proud n not making complaints only.

• the best service that you can get … in kl now
    drivers are courteous and cars ante in good shape.
    they follow traffic rules and speed limits.
    complimentary bottled water and feel safe.
    my wife who never dared take city taxis fearing for woman safety now takes uber with a peace of mind.

• Finally there is some light at the end of the tunnel.
    Sick & tired of the local taxi’s, give bad name to the country and they are blady thugs where we got to beg them for their miserable service. Go & rot la…

• first things first….get those normal taxi to use meter instead of charging fare by “mouth” all around malaysia…n give a better service…before start complaining about Uber….in fact normal taxi who uses meter tend to take longer route in order to make more money too….

• There is definitely a reason as to why Taxis in Malaysia is not doing well. Some are not charging according to the meter and a short distance can cost you RM20, which is ridiculous considering that if I add another RM10 more, I can take a bus from KL to Taiping, Perak.

Another thing is, look at the condition of the Taxis. Its ridiculously sad and depressing to even get into the cab, and looking at how taxi drivers drive in KL – some reckless and some are inconsiderate, stopping anywhere they like without even the courtesy of turn on their signal.

Tell me why should we pay so much for these kind of crappy service?

• Qingyin on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Puspakom inspection is not that pricey and that doesn’t make our local taxis any safer, the condition of the red taxis is not that good either… Smelly, dirty, roof leaking, air-conditioning not working and ‘rickety’.

If Uber goes through the bureaucracy of getting the public transport license, costs might go up too. Hope someone can enlighted us on why taxi charges are so high? Is it because the authorities and taxi company owners over charge?

Malaysia needs to be more transparent on the public cabs, if Uber can operate with good service, good cars… there must be something wrong with the public cab regulations.

• uberism on Aug 28, 2014 at 10:29 pm

so uber can give low cost service with premium car, then those taxi company who feels threatened, u need to revise ur charges.. the main reason people avoiding taxi is because of cost.. me once kena, rm40 from puduraya to sri permaisuri cheras. the reason is nobody from there want to go back to puduraya. wtf, gov already help u guys with so many things.. even with rm20 wont affect u much with the NGV based car.