Chevrolet Malibu Malaysia specs revealed in brochure

CHEVROLET-MALIBU-MALAYSIA-BROCHURE-SPECS-0009

Chevrolet Malaysia has opened up registration of interest for the eight generation D-segment Chevrolet Malibu in Malaysia, and today we have scanned copies of a Chevrolet Malibu brochure to show you.

The Malibu’s 2.4 litre Ecotec DCVCP engine does 165 horsepower at 5,800 rpm, and 225 Nm of torque at 4,600 rpm. It drives the front wheels via a six-speed automatic gearbox. It’s built on GM’s Epsilon II platform, shared with the Opel/Vauxhall Insignia and the Buick Regal.

From what we hear, the Malibu will get four airbags, StabiliTrak electronic stability control, keyless entry and push start, a remote engine start system, a six-speaker Chevrolet MyLink Radio audio system with a 7 inch colour touch screen with a behind-screen storage compartment, HID automatic headlamps with washers, a leather interior, 8-way electrically adjustable front seats, a 60/40 split foldable rear bench, cruise control and single-zone automatic climate control.

Last month, we saw a black example at Naza Automall PJ, and a check with sales personnel yielded an estimated price of RM175k, with a discount for early bird bookings.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 4 airbags, 175k ?

good luck. this 1 will be a rare sight on the road just like sonic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 19
    • 4G63T DSM on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Right.

Probably going to be discounted fleet sales.

6 airbags… 2.0L turbo at same price. They will move a lot more with that than what they are planning to bring in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 16
      • Gargantia on Aug 26, 2014 at 1:11 pm

Another company that didn’t do marketing research.
        Malibu was a nice car back in USA when come to Bolehland the safety standard drop like cheap empty box.
        RIP m’sia Chevrolet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 19
        • kamarul on Aug 26, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Do you know that GM bought over Daewoo. So all these Chevy model such as Aveo, Optra, Malibu, Sonic, etc are from Korea not from US maa. Tolong jangan jual harga mahal la Naza Motors…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 20
          • Operation-Manager (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:45 pm

To be 100% HONEST to Msian

Hyundai is 200% better buy than this lousy Korean tech@brand that bankrupted once upon a time ago

In terms of RV & fuel consumption

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
          • SUVobserver on Aug 27, 2014 at 10:59 am

Anything from NAZA .. I will avoid like a PLAGUE… shitty after sales and you can forget about the warranty. Anyone who buy a Peugeot from them .. regret forever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 16
        • davdream on Aug 27, 2014 at 2:49 am

If you research mid size sedan’s comparison, malibu is among the worse in it’s class. my personal choice Mazda 6 > Nissan Altima > Ford Fusion > VW Passat > Honda Accord > Kia Optima > Hyundai Sonata > Toyota Camry > chevy Malibu
          And yes, I have driven some of these cars personally as I rent cars during long working assignment; namely Altima, Passat, Malibu, Camry. Still trying to get my hand on M6, not available by Hertz :(

• rifle on Aug 26, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Agree…it has the looks, but the price is off

• sutrak on Aug 26, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Just send it back to Malibu. Naza has their brains in their asses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 21
      • Lpost on Aug 26, 2014 at 9:04 pm

agreed! yup just like Tan chong, selling low specs products.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • the latest tan chong models are not low spec at all

umw, now that is call low spec

• Lpost on Aug 26, 2014 at 11:55 pm

Oh ya.. Plz compare to honda, kia, hyundai or mazda. Plz compare teana & mazda6. Tan chong worse.

• shawal on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:28 pm

price it below the optima to find new buyers..

• Datuk on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:29 pm

boleh jual kah? if lucky Chevrolet Malaysia only can sell this car 1 unit per month

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
  • Still with Naza? Should end up like Cruze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
  • AVH (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 12:33 pm

I actually went and see it in Naza World the other day and ot was conveniently parked next to a XV40 Camry for comparison. Not something that stand out I would say. It looks bigger thou. But not much USP to drag you away from an Asian brand.

• Haha.if want to sell here better change the name.Chevrolet Selayang ke..Chevrolet Port Dickson ke..then can sell well.haha.just kidding.nice car anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • sutheshkumar on Aug 26, 2014 at 1:15 pm

When Chevy was introduced in malaysia, they brought along a huge along along with the models we can see it here. Cant remember the name but it has a 3.8 V6. Rare sight indeed. I dont know what they have in mid for this but looks like with such specs and price, its going to be a rare sight indeed.

• Fahmi on Aug 26, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Its called Chevrolet Lumina.. Based on the Australian Holden Commodore..

• Norman J on Aug 26, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Why are we getting pre-facelift version?
    Read http://paultan.org/2013/06/01/2014-chevrolet-malibu-facelift/

• Jaybond on Aug 26, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Compared to Chevy Malibu, Opel Insignia is the better choice – German badge factor..

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 29, 2014 at 1:19 pm

they’re both based on the epsilon 2 platform. a german badge perhaps may command better but even opel didn’t do terribly well here when it was available.

• Why bring this and not the Impala? Chevy malaysia is stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Jaybond on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:32 pm

The Chevy Impala was enginereed in US and I think there’s no RHD version yet for this car. It’s bigger than the Chevy Malibu and actually in a different class compared to our local D-segment(same story as Ford Taurus, Hyundai Azera & Toyota Avalon). I’ve seen these cars upclose though in Saudi Arabia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Ah that makes sense, but even for D segment i have a feeling it will sell better than the malibu which looks boring.

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:56 pm

then don’t lah say people stupid before knowing the facts. not too fair right? pretty sure they would have done the market research and pretty sure too that like all automakers which aren’t japanese, have a lot of constraints to deal with.

• theanswer on Aug 26, 2014 at 3:18 pm

4 airbags at 175k? should sell it cheaper than accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
  • nabill (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 4:20 pm

With that price…even the sonata/optima 2.4 r better buys let alone the japanese brands….that price is so close to da passat its frightening….
    Personally though , favourite car of this bunch is da pug 508 at rm16xk …..

• superdriver on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:54 pm

This car looks at malaysia and says “I no like you people” but for the right price you can ride my ass till kingdom come. Hence the over price of RM 175K. Seriously stealing from malaysians pocket and livehood. If they could hire people as slaves to pay of their cars, they will do it and honestly speaking they have done it already via bank loans that charges high interest for and already overpriced car in malaysia. Like it or not we have to go to work and spend our lives paying up the bank loan like hamster running on a wheel in a cage. Hidup malaysia. The merging of the banks in malaysia is not a good thing.seriously… good bye liberty , good bye freedom. Hello monopoly est.1957

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • sudonano (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Good luck Naza. with 4 airbags at that price, no need to even bother launching.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 26, 2014 at 8:33 pm

unproven yet so expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • submarine on Aug 26, 2014 at 10:53 pm

I kinda stopped reading at “4 airbags” but i went on until i really stopped at “RM175k”…

• lowprofile (Member) on Aug 27, 2014 at 6:55 pm

then don’t lah say people stupid before knowing the facts. not too fair right? pretty sure they would have done the market research and pretty sure too that like all automakers which aren’t japanese, have a lot of constraints to deal with.

• Errenh Lim on Dec 11, 2014 at 11:08 am

Add on a few K, i can buy myself a 1-series BMW :)